Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Nightowl LED
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-28-2012, 10:39 AM   #1
Rizzo
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SIM 2SS/RS
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 432
ATTN Scosche Users

Hi all,

I am troubleshooting an issue that seems to be related to a Scosche kit install on my 2012 ZL1. I had posted an earlier thread related to an "electrical gremlin" and was able to narrow it down to the Scosche kit install.

I have had three other members PM me with similar issues, so I want to see if there are others seeing issues with their Scosche kit.
=================================================
Here are my issues:

Issue #1:
Both of the key FOB would only work when I was within 8 feet or so of the car. Page 2-3 says it should be 65 feet. I changed the battery on both FOBs and the issue persisted. The FOBs were also replaced. Here is a video showing the issue

Issue #2:
I programmed my Universal Remote System to work with my garage door. This is also a feature I had on my 2010 Camaro SS. The signal of the URS is limited to approx. 8 feet from the antenna of the garage door.

Issue #3:
I intermittently receive an alert for the tire pressure monitoring system. Both rear tires sometimes lose signal with the vehicle. The reading was displayed as “—“

Issue #4:
Sometimes when opening the trunk with the FOB, the locking mechanism engaged twice. (Unlock then lock). This prevents the trunk from latching closed. I have to hit the FOB again to unlock the latch before it would close.

Issue #5:
The "auto door unlock" settings always default back to "driver door" once the menu is exited.
=================================================

When the Scosche kit is disconnected from the car, issue#1 immediately goes away. Issues 2,3,and 4 have not reoccured after two weeks of waiting.

As best as I can tell:
It appears that the Scosche kit is sending some sort of signal down the communication bus that is interfering with the "Remote Door Lock Controller Module" (RDLCM) via the Body Control Module (BCM).

Are any other Scosche users having weird electronic-like issues?
__________________
=================================================

Last edited by Rizzo; 08-31-2012 at 09:58 AM.
Rizzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 01:27 PM   #2
Wuiquen


 
Wuiquen's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Summit White 2LT/RS
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NorCal
Posts: 2,928
This is exactly why I am still skeptical about changing my radio... I have the stock one and the sound of it. but man, most people seems to be having issues with all the kits.. either the kits mess with the car systems or the kits arent really reliable.. All I want is to keep my back up sensors but have aftermarket stereo and speakers..
__________________
Wuiquen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 02:04 PM   #3
darkrider01
Aural Assault Vehicle
 
darkrider01's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IBM 2SS/RS, 2014 Cruze 1LT/RS
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Garner, NC
Posts: 697
I have Issue #1 and Issue #3. Issue #1 doesn't really bother me so much, but #3 happens almost every time I drive it now, though only on the rear passenger side wheel.

Issue #3 only showed up after I unmounted the kit to experiment with/troubleshoot the OnStar stuff for some other folks here. I believe that the issue is with the antenna/s in the dash cavity. If they are tucked in the wrong way, you'll have issues. I will be removing it again this weekend to see if I can fix #3 by retucking the antenna. The antenna I am referring to is to the right of the radio.
__________________
My amplifier pop/click/thump solution thread
Power Mods * K&N Typhoon CAI, Flowmaster American Thunder cat-back exhaust, Hurst Short Throw Shifter Visual Mods * Black Phantom Grille * 22" T.I.S. 537MS wheels w/ Nitto INVO rubber Suspension Mods * BC Racing Coilovers * Lakewood Strut Tower Brace Audio Mods * Stinger SPP 2250 Battery * Pioneer DEX-P99RS * Pioneer AVH-X7500BT * Scosche Dash Kit * 2 - Mosconi AS200.4 * 2 - JL Audio 13W6v2 * Focal 165KRX2 Power (active) * Mosconi Gladen One 240.2 * Rockford Fosgate Power T1692
darkrider01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 02:10 PM   #4
Pace
Lifestyle = Deathstyle
 
Pace's Avatar
 
Drives: 11 SIM 2SS/RS
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 379
Send a message via AIM to Pace
I am having issue 1. Never thought it could be the Scosche KIT. Hmmmmm. Its a pita as sometimes I want to remote start.
__________________
11 2SS/RS
Pace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 02:14 PM   #5
Supermaro585HP
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro SS RS
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,188
I have no issues at all. I didn't install mine but I'm very happy with everything... Good luck.
Supermaro585HP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 02:40 PM   #6
Amarr014
BAD BEE
 
Amarr014's Avatar
 
Drives: very fast!
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Daytona
Posts: 686
i have issue 1.. pisses me off all the time
__________________
2011 V6 LS M6 | straight piped | HIDs | Injen CAI| 75 Shot NX nitrous|Trifecta Tune|RX ported TB,IM and matched heads, Isolator| RX Catch Can | AAC Red Halos | AAC Red interior lighting | Red bowties | 15% tint | Tinted Tails | SS wheels and tires | SS tips| Cat delete| Arc audio 10's| subthump box|Scosche&kenwood|
Amarr014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 02:46 PM   #7
tjbtexas
 
tjbtexas's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro 45th Anv. v6 vert
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 62
I have issue #1. Drives me crazy when it happens. sometimes I have to be standing by one of the doors to get the trunk open
__________________
Mods:CAI,RxCatchCan,Ported TB,Solo-CatBck,Razzi, Technostalgia tail lights,Prado wheels,Escort 9500ci w/ DashTronix HUD projector,AVIC -z140,Scosche,JL Audio Sub/Amp/Spkrs
tjbtexas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 03:16 PM   #8
camarograna2
Car Enthusiast
 
camarograna2's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Rally Yellow Camaro 2SS A/T
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Keller, Texas
Posts: 737
Send a message via MSN to camarograna2
1,2, & 3 for me
__________________
2010 Rally Yellow 2SS/RS
Performance Upgrades: Custom Flowmaster X system Exhaust Audio Upgrades: Too much to write down. Visit http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=206016
camarograna2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 04:30 PM   #9
Rizzo
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SIM 2SS/RS
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 432
Thanks for the feedback fellas. I will be pushing these issues from my end and report back as progress is made.

Please let me know if anybody else is seeing issues so I can get tracking info.
__________________
=================================================
Rizzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 08:54 PM   #10
Rcfiddy1

 
Rcfiddy1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Rally Yellow 2SS/RS #37115
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Manalapan, New Jersey
Posts: 1,924
I have issue 1 also. Thought it was battery but when changed out seems to be the same.
__________________
Build Thread
ECS Supercharged, LS3 conversion, Blower Cam, Alky Meth, 3:45 rear, BMR Suspension parts, 1LE Sways, Billy Boat ZL1 dual mode exhaust.
Rcfiddy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 09:01 PM   #11
Horriblecreation
 
Horriblecreation's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 1LT/RS
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 148
holy shit.... I definitely have issues 1 and 3, I never even thought of the scosche kit being the culprit.... They definitely started soon after. Man that key fob distance thing kills me! What is the point of a remote start if I start it from arm's length now?!?
__________________
A little go, mostly show
Horriblecreation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 10:17 PM   #12
puzzzeler
 
puzzzeler's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 2LS Inferno Orange
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: toledo oh
Posts: 250
Hmmm i have issue #1 thought it was my tinted windows but now not so sure
puzzzeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 09:02 AM   #13
Rizzo
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SIM 2SS/RS
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 432
Good updates. Please keep them coming.

I have forwarded your feedback to my installer so they can send it up to the Scosche engineers.
__________________
=================================================
Rizzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 09:08 AM   #14
Horriblecreation
 
Horriblecreation's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 1LT/RS
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 148
Not sure if this is universal, but mine has a tendency to never shut off the warning dings after I start the car. Its the same sound as the seatbelt warning, but it will not shut off. Figured out that if I flash my hazard lights, it stops the chime, but it will run for as long as the car is on unless you do that. This is probably half the time I start my car.
__________________
A little go, mostly show
Horriblecreation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 09:10 AM   #15
Rizzo
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SIM 2SS/RS
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 432
Quote:
Originally Posted by Horriblecreation View Post
Not sure if this is universal, but mine has a tendency to never shut off the warning dings after I start the car. Its the same sound as the seatbelt warning, but it will not shut off. Figured out that if I flash my hazard lights, it stops the chime, but it will run for as long as the car is on unless you do that. This is probably half the time I start my car.
Wow...that's a new one.
__________________
=================================================
Rizzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 09:28 AM   #16
darkrider01
Aural Assault Vehicle
 
darkrider01's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IBM 2SS/RS, 2014 Cruze 1LT/RS
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Garner, NC
Posts: 697
Quote:
Originally Posted by Horriblecreation View Post
Not sure if this is universal, but mine has a tendency to never shut off the warning dings after I start the car. Its the same sound as the seatbelt warning, but it will not shut off. Figured out that if I flash my hazard lights, it stops the chime, but it will run for as long as the car is on unless you do that. This is probably half the time I start my car.
You should def. have yours replaced. That is not normal.
__________________
My amplifier pop/click/thump solution thread
Power Mods * K&N Typhoon CAI, Flowmaster American Thunder cat-back exhaust, Hurst Short Throw Shifter Visual Mods * Black Phantom Grille * 22" T.I.S. 537MS wheels w/ Nitto INVO rubber Suspension Mods * BC Racing Coilovers * Lakewood Strut Tower Brace Audio Mods * Stinger SPP 2250 Battery * Pioneer DEX-P99RS * Pioneer AVH-X7500BT * Scosche Dash Kit * 2 - Mosconi AS200.4 * 2 - JL Audio 13W6v2 * Focal 165KRX2 Power (active) * Mosconi Gladen One 240.2 * Rockford Fosgate Power T1692
darkrider01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 09:33 AM   #17
Pace
Lifestyle = Deathstyle
 
Pace's Avatar
 
Drives: 11 SIM 2SS/RS
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 379
Send a message via AIM to Pace
Quote:
Originally Posted by Horriblecreation View Post
Not sure if this is universal, but mine has a tendency to never shut off the warning dings after I start the car. Its the same sound as the seatbelt warning, but it will not shut off. Figured out that if I flash my hazard lights, it stops the chime, but it will run for as long as the car is on unless you do that. This is probably half the time I start my car.

I have gotten that a few times. If I start the car with the door open it happens. It will not stop until I shift out of Park.

I supposedly have a unit with the upgraded firmware (sent my original back).

But definitely the most annoying is Issue 1. Do you guys have the AMP wire hooked up or not (if stock speaker setup)?
__________________
11 2SS/RS
Pace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 06:41 PM   #18
jeffa
 
Drives: 2014 2LT/RS Ashen Gray Metallic
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 378
I have the chime issue from time to time. I shut off the car and restart, it goes away. Happens very infrequently.

As to the other issues above, have not had any....have plenty of range on the key fobs, well over 40 feet.
jeffa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 08:04 PM   #19
darkrider01
Aural Assault Vehicle
 
darkrider01's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IBM 2SS/RS, 2014 Cruze 1LT/RS
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Garner, NC
Posts: 697
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffa View Post
I have the chime issue from time to time. I shut off the car and restart, it goes away. Happens very infrequently.

As to the other issues above, have not had any....have plenty of range on the key fobs, well over 40 feet.
This is good for me to hear. That would reinforce my belief that part of the issue is the location of the antennae. I'll find out more this weekend when I dismantle it all again.
__________________
My amplifier pop/click/thump solution thread
Power Mods * K&N Typhoon CAI, Flowmaster American Thunder cat-back exhaust, Hurst Short Throw Shifter Visual Mods * Black Phantom Grille * 22" T.I.S. 537MS wheels w/ Nitto INVO rubber Suspension Mods * BC Racing Coilovers * Lakewood Strut Tower Brace Audio Mods * Stinger SPP 2250 Battery * Pioneer DEX-P99RS * Pioneer AVH-X7500BT * Scosche Dash Kit * 2 - Mosconi AS200.4 * 2 - JL Audio 13W6v2 * Focal 165KRX2 Power (active) * Mosconi Gladen One 240.2 * Rockford Fosgate Power T1692
darkrider01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 09:42 PM   #20
camarograna2
Car Enthusiast
 
camarograna2's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Rally Yellow Camaro 2SS A/T
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Keller, Texas
Posts: 737
Send a message via MSN to camarograna2
im wondering if we are all over the place with issues or there is a similarity by our specific model/year?
__________________
2010 Rally Yellow 2SS/RS
Performance Upgrades: Custom Flowmaster X system Exhaust Audio Upgrades: Too much to write down. Visit http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=206016
camarograna2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 09:59 AM   #21
Rizzo
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SIM 2SS/RS
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 432
Quote:
Originally Posted by camarograna2 View Post
im wondering if we are all over the place with issues or there is a similarity by our specific model/year?
That is a good point. I am running a 2012 ZL1.
__________________
=================================================
Rizzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 10:56 AM   #22
overhaulengines

 
overhaulengines's Avatar
 
Drives: Red 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 3,741
Not only #1 issue, but my infrared 2.0 AAC remote has the same distance issue. i have to have it like 2 feet for it to work:(

lupe
__________________
Custom painted Bowties, Tail light bezels, engine covers, strut braces, emblems and custom painted interior parts.
Installation of vertical doors, lighting, reverse hood kits, hex vents, ACS product etc.

Visit www.camarocustoms.com for all our products and services...like us on Facebook.....check out photo albums here for lots of pics and ideas
overhaulengines is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 09:56 AM   #23
Rizzo
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SIM 2SS/RS
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 432
Video Added

Here is a quick video of the issue.

__________________
=================================================
Rizzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 11:34 PM   #24
=Stephens=


 
=Stephens='s Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 LS
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Kearney, Nebraska
Posts: 3,460
Get rid of it and get the Alpine dash kit. I havent had any issues with it. Nice to meet u in person.
__________________
=Stephens= is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 12:28 AM   #25
darkrider01
Aural Assault Vehicle
 
darkrider01's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IBM 2SS/RS, 2014 Cruze 1LT/RS
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Garner, NC
Posts: 697
Quote:
Originally Posted by =Stephens= View Post
Get rid of it and get the Alpine dash kit. I havent had any issues with it. Nice to meet u in person.
Eh, Alpine kit is just the Scosche kit with a paint job and a curve. I've seen people with the Alpine kits have similar issues. You're just one of the lucky ones without the issue. I didn't have the TPMS issue until I took it out to research OnStar issues for some other members here, so it's an install issue - at least that is my belief. i'll know more after i work on mine this weekend.
__________________
My amplifier pop/click/thump solution thread
Power Mods * K&N Typhoon CAI, Flowmaster American Thunder cat-back exhaust, Hurst Short Throw Shifter Visual Mods * Black Phantom Grille * 22" T.I.S. 537MS wheels w/ Nitto INVO rubber Suspension Mods * BC Racing Coilovers * Lakewood Strut Tower Brace Audio Mods * Stinger SPP 2250 Battery * Pioneer DEX-P99RS * Pioneer AVH-X7500BT * Scosche Dash Kit * 2 - Mosconi AS200.4 * 2 - JL Audio 13W6v2 * Focal 165KRX2 Power (active) * Mosconi Gladen One 240.2 * Rockford Fosgate Power T1692
darkrider01 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.