Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Bigwormgraphix
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-29-2012, 06:41 PM   #18
jeffa
 
Drives: 2014 2LT/RS Ashen Gray Metallic
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 519
I have the chime issue from time to time. I shut off the car and restart, it goes away. Happens very infrequently.

As to the other issues above, have not had any....have plenty of range on the key fobs, well over 40 feet.
jeffa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 08:04 PM   #19
darkrider01
Aural Assault Vehicle
 
darkrider01's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IBM 2SS/RS, 2015 Kia Forte5 SX
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Garner, NC
Posts: 773
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffa View Post
I have the chime issue from time to time. I shut off the car and restart, it goes away. Happens very infrequently.

As to the other issues above, have not had any....have plenty of range on the key fobs, well over 40 feet.
This is good for me to hear. That would reinforce my belief that part of the issue is the location of the antennae. I'll find out more this weekend when I dismantle it all again.
__________________
My amplifier pop/click/thump solution thread
Power Mods * K&N Typhoon CAI, Flowmaster American Thunder cat-back exhaust, Hurst Short Throw Shifter Visual Mods * Black Phantom Grille * 22" T.I.S. 537MS wheels w/ Nitto INVO rubber Suspension Mods * BC Racing Coilovers * Lakewood Strut Tower Brace Audio Mods * Stinger SPP 2250 Battery * Pioneer DEX-P99RS * Pioneer AVH-X7500BT * Scosche Dash Kit * 2 - Mosconi AS200.4 * 2 - JL Audio 13W6v2 * Focal 165KRX2 Power (active) * Mosconi Gladen One 240.2 * Rockford Fosgate Power T1692
darkrider01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 09:42 PM   #20
camarograna2
Car Enthusiast
 
camarograna2's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Rally Yellow Camaro 2SS A/T
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Keller, Texas
Posts: 756
Send a message via MSN to camarograna2
im wondering if we are all over the place with issues or there is a similarity by our specific model/year?
__________________
2010 Rally Yellow 2SS/RS
Performance Upgrades: Custom Flowmaster X system Exhaust Audio Upgrades: Too much to write down. Visit http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=206016
camarograna2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 09:59 AM   #21
Rizzo
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro ZL-1 SIM
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 453
Quote:
Originally Posted by camarograna2 View Post
im wondering if we are all over the place with issues or there is a similarity by our specific model/year?
That is a good point. I am running a 2012 ZL1.
__________________
=================================================
Rizzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 10:56 AM   #22
overhaulengines

 
overhaulengines's Avatar
 
Drives: Red 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 4,147
Not only #1 issue, but my infrared 2.0 AAC remote has the same distance issue. i have to have it like 2 feet for it to work:(

lupe
__________________
Custom painted Bowties, Tail light bezels, engine covers, strut braces, emblems and custom painted interior parts.
Installation of vertical doors, lighting, reverse hood kits, hex vents, ACS product etc.

Visit www.camarocustoms.com for all our products and services...like us on Facebook.....check out photo albums here for lots of pics and ideas
overhaulengines is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 09:56 AM   #23
Rizzo
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro ZL-1 SIM
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 453
Video Added

Here is a quick video of the issue.

__________________
=================================================
Rizzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 11:34 PM   #24
=Stephens=


 
=Stephens='s Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 LS
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Kearney, Nebraska
Posts: 3,464
Get rid of it and get the Alpine dash kit. I havent had any issues with it. Nice to meet u in person.
__________________
=Stephens= is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 12:28 AM   #25
darkrider01
Aural Assault Vehicle
 
darkrider01's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IBM 2SS/RS, 2015 Kia Forte5 SX
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Garner, NC
Posts: 773
Quote:
Originally Posted by =Stephens= View Post
Get rid of it and get the Alpine dash kit. I havent had any issues with it. Nice to meet u in person.
Eh, Alpine kit is just the Scosche kit with a paint job and a curve. I've seen people with the Alpine kits have similar issues. You're just one of the lucky ones without the issue. I didn't have the TPMS issue until I took it out to research OnStar issues for some other members here, so it's an install issue - at least that is my belief. i'll know more after i work on mine this weekend.
__________________
My amplifier pop/click/thump solution thread
Power Mods * K&N Typhoon CAI, Flowmaster American Thunder cat-back exhaust, Hurst Short Throw Shifter Visual Mods * Black Phantom Grille * 22" T.I.S. 537MS wheels w/ Nitto INVO rubber Suspension Mods * BC Racing Coilovers * Lakewood Strut Tower Brace Audio Mods * Stinger SPP 2250 Battery * Pioneer DEX-P99RS * Pioneer AVH-X7500BT * Scosche Dash Kit * 2 - Mosconi AS200.4 * 2 - JL Audio 13W6v2 * Focal 165KRX2 Power (active) * Mosconi Gladen One 240.2 * Rockford Fosgate Power T1692
darkrider01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 09:06 AM   #26
=Stephens=


 
=Stephens='s Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 LS
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Kearney, Nebraska
Posts: 3,464
The was actually a recall on the dash kits, and alpine gave me a new kit. Was there a recall on the scosche kits? Im not knocking it, just stating i have had my alpine kit for over a year with no problems.
__________________
=Stephens= is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 12:12 PM   #27
RedRyder
 
RedRyder's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 VR 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 433
Glad to see a consolidated thread about the issues. I really want to put a double din in with this kit but these bugs make it hard to pull the trigger. I might do it anyway and hope they're resolved later. They're not totally deal breakers
RedRyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 02:32 PM   #28
camarograna2
Car Enthusiast
 
camarograna2's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Rally Yellow Camaro 2SS A/T
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Keller, Texas
Posts: 756
Send a message via MSN to camarograna2
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkrider01 View Post
Eh, Alpine kit is just the Scosche kit with a paint job and a curve. I've seen people with the Alpine kits have similar issues. You're just one of the lucky ones without the issue. I didn't have the TPMS issue until I took it out to research OnStar issues for some other members here, so it's an install issue - at least that is my belief. i'll know more after i work on mine this weekend.
interesting. Let us know what you find out. Note that the issue comes and goes. Mine didnt start acting up till like 2 months after initial install
__________________
2010 Rally Yellow 2SS/RS
Performance Upgrades: Custom Flowmaster X system Exhaust Audio Upgrades: Too much to write down. Visit http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=206016
camarograna2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 02:49 PM   #29
darkrider01
Aural Assault Vehicle
 
darkrider01's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IBM 2SS/RS, 2015 Kia Forte5 SX
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Garner, NC
Posts: 773
Quote:
Originally Posted by camarograna2 View Post
interesting. Let us know what you find out. Note that the issue comes and goes. Mine didnt start acting up till like 2 months after initial install
It's definitely an issue with the kit and not the install. We rearranged the wiring and took a little ride (30-40 miles) and the TPMS warning came on again. So we stopped in a parking lot and disconnected the kit. We then rode back home (roughly same distance) and the TPMS warning did not come back on. That would lead me to believe that the kit is causing some type of interference itself, maybe after a component within the kit reaches a certain temperature.

As far as the remote activation distance, I have noticed that when approaching the car from the rear, I must be within 10-15 feet for the remote to work. However, the activation distance from the front seems to be well over 60 feet. I didn't test it any farther than 65 feet or so because I was standing in the street at that point. Also, if you know the chin/jaw trick, that can really help when extend your range.
__________________
My amplifier pop/click/thump solution thread
Power Mods * K&N Typhoon CAI, Flowmaster American Thunder cat-back exhaust, Hurst Short Throw Shifter Visual Mods * Black Phantom Grille * 22" T.I.S. 537MS wheels w/ Nitto INVO rubber Suspension Mods * BC Racing Coilovers * Lakewood Strut Tower Brace Audio Mods * Stinger SPP 2250 Battery * Pioneer DEX-P99RS * Pioneer AVH-X7500BT * Scosche Dash Kit * 2 - Mosconi AS200.4 * 2 - JL Audio 13W6v2 * Focal 165KRX2 Power (active) * Mosconi Gladen One 240.2 * Rockford Fosgate Power T1692
darkrider01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 03:21 PM   #30
camarograna2
Car Enthusiast
 
camarograna2's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Rally Yellow Camaro 2SS A/T
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Keller, Texas
Posts: 756
Send a message via MSN to camarograna2
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkrider01 View Post
It's definitely an issue with the kit and not the install. We rearranged the wiring and took a little ride (30-40 miles) and the TPMS warning came on again. So we stopped in a parking lot and disconnected the kit. We then rode back home (roughly same distance) and the TPMS warning did not come back on. That would lead me to believe that the kit is causing some type of interference itself, maybe after a component within the kit reaches a certain temperature.

As far as the remote activation distance, I have noticed that when approaching the car from the rear, I must be within 10-15 feet for the remote to work. However, the activation distance from the front seems to be well over 60 feet. I didn't test it any farther than 65 feet or so because I was standing in the street at that point. Also, if you know the chin/jaw trick, that can really help when extend your range.

The chin/jaw thing does work.. just makes us look funny
__________________
2010 Rally Yellow 2SS/RS
Performance Upgrades: Custom Flowmaster X system Exhaust Audio Upgrades: Too much to write down. Visit http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=206016
camarograna2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 09:15 AM   #31
Rizzo
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro ZL-1 SIM
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 453
Update

As of 9/5/2012, I am still awaiting an update from Scosche engineers (via my Installer)

I will update this thread once I know more info.
__________________
=================================================
Rizzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 07:51 PM   #32
cybercoaster

 
cybercoaster's Avatar
 
Drives: '12 ZL1 AGM
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 1,549
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkrider01 View Post
Eh, Alpine kit is just the Scosche kit with a paint job and a curve. I've seen people with the Alpine kits have similar issues. You're just one of the lucky ones without the issue. I didn't have the TPMS issue until I took it out to research OnStar issues for some other members here, so it's an install issue - at least that is my belief. i'll know more after i work on mine this weekend.
is the Alpine kit really just the Scosche?
__________________
APEX catch can, ROTOFAB, noweeds. Kooks 2" LT headers. BMR 1" drop to be installed
cybercoaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 08:31 PM   #33
darkrider01
Aural Assault Vehicle
 
darkrider01's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IBM 2SS/RS, 2015 Kia Forte5 SX
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Garner, NC
Posts: 773
Quote:
Originally Posted by cybercoaster View Post
is the Alpine kit really just the Scosche?
Yes. The ONLY differences are the curve of the lower part of the double din opening and the color of the plastic. The Scosche kit matches the interior plastics, the Alpine looks like it has a blue tint to it. The curve on the Alpine unit is to more closely match their double din head units. Otherwise, they are identical in operation and guts.
__________________
My amplifier pop/click/thump solution thread
Power Mods * K&N Typhoon CAI, Flowmaster American Thunder cat-back exhaust, Hurst Short Throw Shifter Visual Mods * Black Phantom Grille * 22" T.I.S. 537MS wheels w/ Nitto INVO rubber Suspension Mods * BC Racing Coilovers * Lakewood Strut Tower Brace Audio Mods * Stinger SPP 2250 Battery * Pioneer DEX-P99RS * Pioneer AVH-X7500BT * Scosche Dash Kit * 2 - Mosconi AS200.4 * 2 - JL Audio 13W6v2 * Focal 165KRX2 Power (active) * Mosconi Gladen One 240.2 * Rockford Fosgate Power T1692
darkrider01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 09:38 PM   #34
insomniac2k2
 
Drives: 2012 2SS/RS IOM
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Concord, Ca
Posts: 194
I have issue #1 and #2. SO ANNOYING! It never occured to me that it was the scosche kit that was causing it. It used to work perfectly until the scosche install, in retrospect...
insomniac2k2 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.