Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
JDP Motorsports
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-13-2013, 12:14 AM   #137
camarograna2
Car Enthusiast
 
camarograna2's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Rally Yellow Camaro 2SS A/T
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Keller, Texas
Posts: 756
Send a message via MSN to camarograna2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drago77 View Post
Not difficult at all.


With all due respect this is BS

I had my system professionally installed and I just received my HVAC touch screen that scosche is replacing to try to fix the TMPS issues. I didnít want to pay the shop hours to have this replaced but I should have.
As far as your other instructions I would add some more input. The 4 gauge cluster and the Scosche kit fit really really really ( and I repeat) really tight in there so I recommend you remove your shifter (in my case automatic shifter knob). This is really important for the removal and putting back the center console. Put the gear in M and take it off.

To remove the scosche kit angle the kit out and push as far down as possible. When you pull out you are making it go over your double din and push the top down so it can be towards the top of your double din. Be very careful to not scratch your Double din! Once youíve done this you can put your hands under the kit and push as hard as you can up. This will make it go over the trim plate as quick as possible.

Putting the center console back in was the worst part of this process. I scratched my shifter bezel horriblyÖ luckily I donít give a D*** because im going to convert it to a leather cover instead of that plastic piece hopefully by next week just waiting for parts to arrive. 15 scratches later I finally decided to remove the shifter knob. Even with the knob off I had a difficult time setting the console but it became much easier. Once you have the center console past the light and traction control piece you need to grab that center console from the very back and pull up and in as hard as you can. Keep lifting it up even if its squeezing your fingers, just move your fingers a bit more back and lift and push up again. Your basically pushing the 4 gauge piece up against the scosche kit and pushing it up. Without pulling up an d pushing in the center console will NOT go into its place.

Thatís my additional advice to those of you who will be replacing the HVAC soon. Just save your self the headache and have your audio shop do them. Donít waste 2 hrs of your time.. its not worth the time or the possible scratches.

To those who sayÖ but you have the pleasure of doing It yourself.. BS I donít feel good at all. My 2 cents

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drago77 View Post
Yeah... here's a better update... I was typing from my phone before, this is a little better..
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drago77 View Post
Unsnap the center console plate... once you get one tab out, work your way around with either your fingers or a trim tool... the 4 pack cluster will pop out with it (if equipped.)
If you do have the gauges, there's a wire harness plug to disconnect before you can get the trim piece out, never dealt with non gauges,assume it's still there for the ac plug and trak. controlls.
There are two screws directly at the back of the dash below the radio that need to be removed
The Scosche plate snaps on. Its cheaply made... and you've got to lift the far back portion (where the screws were) up and over the trim plate in the back but be careful not to break the incredibly cheap plastic weld they used to join the two pieces together... I broke mine on both sides... a lil JB Weld on the inside reinforced w Gorilla tape took care of this.
The unit itself attaches with (4) small phillips head screws, one at each of the furthest outward points. Simply unscrew those and the unit seperates from the plate. Then just unplug the 2 harnesses and your set. Pix below from tonight as I tried "loosening the rear screws" - technical instructions from customer service on how to "fix" my sticking buttons... didn't work, big surprise, huh?
Pic 1: Center console trim removed, with 4 gauge cluster
Pic 2: Harness under trim plate that needs to disconnect (My harness has an additional "segment" which controls my dashboard ABL.)
Pic 3: Rear view of Scosche kit still installed in face plate- note the outer most corner screws that need to be removed (3rd from center top/bottom)
Pic 4: Close up of (2) screw holes that were removed behind cluster before scosche plate removal
Pic 5: Scosche unit removed from trim (screws also removed) and 2 harnesses that need to unplug.
In case anyone is wondering... the black tape on the rear is covering the speaker for the door chimes/turn signals... the beeping annoyed me. This "queted" it. and the black cable is the USB extention to maintain the factory USB hub in the console.

__________________
2010 Rally Yellow 2SS/RS
Performance Upgrades: Custom Flowmaster X system Exhaust Audio Upgrades: Too much to write down. Visit http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=206016
camarograna2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 01:44 PM   #138
camarograna2
Car Enthusiast
 
camarograna2's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Rally Yellow Camaro 2SS A/T
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Keller, Texas
Posts: 756
Send a message via MSN to camarograna2
so just wanted to report that the new HVAC screen that schosche sent me saturday has been working good.

the TPMS issue i havent seen - but that takes a while to show up. its always random when it shows up

the remote start distance doesnt appear to be an issue anymore. I need to test the range but compared to what i had its definately working better.
__________________
2010 Rally Yellow 2SS/RS
Performance Upgrades: Custom Flowmaster X system Exhaust Audio Upgrades: Too much to write down. Visit http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=206016
camarograna2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 04:02 PM   #139
Rizzo
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro ZL-1 SIM
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 453
Quote:
Originally Posted by camarograna2 View Post
so just wanted to report that the new HVAC screen that schosche sent me saturday has been working good.

the TPMS issue i havent seen - but that takes a while to show up. its always random when it shows up

the remote start distance doesnt appear to be an issue anymore. I need to test the range but compared to what i had its definately working better.
This makes me think that the HVAC connection is causing some sort of interference with the Body Control Module. (BCM)
__________________
=================================================
Rizzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 06:23 PM   #140
camaro104
 
camaro104's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 CGM Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Woodland Park, N.J.
Posts: 299
Send a message via AIM to camaro104
How was it that we can go about getting a new HVAC screen????? should we call or send them an email?????
camaro104 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 07:15 PM   #141
camarograna2
Car Enthusiast
 
camarograna2's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Rally Yellow Camaro 2SS A/T
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Keller, Texas
Posts: 756
Send a message via MSN to camarograna2
Quote:
Originally Posted by camaro104 View Post
How was it that we can go about getting a new HVAC screen????? should we call or send them an email?????
Yes email them and cc their ceo.then George barrios will reply
__________________
2010 Rally Yellow 2SS/RS
Performance Upgrades: Custom Flowmaster X system Exhaust Audio Upgrades: Too much to write down. Visit http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=206016
camarograna2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 12:01 AM   #142
Drago77
Treasure Coast Camaro 5
 
Drago77's Avatar
 
Drives: SW 11' 2SS/RS LS3 Vert, Blk/Blk
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Posts: 4,554
Quote:
Originally Posted by camarograna2 View Post

With all due respect this is BS

I had my system professionally installed and I just received my HVAC touch screen that scosche is replacing to try to fix the TMPS issues. I didnít want to pay the shop hours to have this replaced but I should have.
As far as your other instructions I would add some more input. The 4 gauge cluster and the Scosche kit fit really really really ( and I repeat) really tight in there so I recommend you remove your shifter (in my case automatic shifter knob). This is really important for the removal and putting back the center console. Put the gear in M and take it off.

To remove the scosche kit angle the kit out and push as far down as possible. When you pull out you are making it go over your double din and push the top down so it can be towards the top of your double din. Be very careful to not scratch your Double din! Once youíve done this you can put your hands under the kit and push as hard as you can up. This will make it go over the trim plate as quick as possible.

Putting the center console back in was the worst part of this process. I scratched my shifter bezel horriblyÖ luckily I donít give a D*** because im going to convert it to a leather cover instead of that plastic piece hopefully by next week just waiting for parts to arrive. 15 scratches later I finally decided to remove the shifter knob. Even with the knob off I had a difficult time setting the console but it became much easier. Once you have the center console past the light and traction control piece you need to grab that center console from the very back and pull up and in as hard as you can. Keep lifting it up even if its squeezing your fingers, just move your fingers a bit more back and lift and push up again. Your basically pushing the 4 gauge piece up against the scosche kit and pushing it up. Without pulling up an d pushing in the center console will NOT go into its place.

Thatís my additional advice to those of you who will be replacing the HVAC soon. Just save your self the headache and have your audio shop do them. Donít waste 2 hrs of your time.. its not worth the time or the possible scratches.

To those who sayÖ but you have the pleasure of doing It yourself.. BS I donít feel good at all. My 2 cents

I don't really understand what you claim was "BS" about my post? It took me all of 5 minutes to pull/reinstall the unit while addressing my sticking button issue... yes; its a significantly tighter fit than stock, but its a bigger unit, and in taking the extra few seconds to observe the pinch points while re-installing, I had no issues. Mind you, I did mention the cheap plastic welds broke; but that was a simple fix, and probably stronger now than factory. Doesn't make it right; but not the end of the world. If you thought the Scosche was a pain, be VERY glad you didn't do the actual head unit! I found that significantly more difficult to install.

I cant vouch for an auto tran; Although removing the shifter seems kinda common sense. As my photos and description show; I have an LS3 manual. My shift plate removes around the shift knob.

Mines been on/off 3 times; no scratches in the custom paint. Worked well for me. Each their own I guess.

Anyone need any specific pictures or questions, PM me. I gotta pull it again eventually to do the "hard" firmware update one of these days.

BTW-

As for common issues (I DID run a separate ground):
Drastically reduced lock/unlock/trunk release range.
Occasional (15%) "ghost chime"... door ding when doors closed, seatbelts latched. Remove/reinsert key clears.
NO (knock on wood) TPMS errors
Don't have remote start...

@Camaeograna2- your not far from me; if I read your location right; id be glad to help if you have other issues vs paying a rediculous shop fee
Drago77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 12:03 AM   #143
Drago77
Treasure Coast Camaro 5
 
Drago77's Avatar
 
Drives: SW 11' 2SS/RS LS3 Vert, Blk/Blk
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Posts: 4,554
My bad on the location...

You ARE far from me....
Drago77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 09:29 AM   #144
camarograna2
Car Enthusiast
 
camarograna2's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Rally Yellow Camaro 2SS A/T
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Keller, Texas
Posts: 756
Send a message via MSN to camarograna2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drago77 View Post
I don't really understand what you claim was "BS" about my post?
The it was easy part.. Lol

It was allot of shoving to have to fit the parts. This being my first time removing/adding it was a 2 hr job. Now I know where to push and shove so I'm sure it will take me shorter time but as a newbee it's not easy.

With my additional suggestions to ur dyi hopefully other newbees won't run into the same issues as me.
__________________
2010 Rally Yellow 2SS/RS
Performance Upgrades: Custom Flowmaster X system Exhaust Audio Upgrades: Too much to write down. Visit http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=206016
camarograna2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 09:54 AM   #145
2012 2SS
I wanna go fast "mama"
 
2012 2SS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 2 SS Camaro Black
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Apple Valley, Ca
Posts: 33
Send a message via Yahoo to 2012 2SS Send a message via Skype™ to 2012 2SS
Ok today I will take my car to my installer and get the scosche kit replaced and I will let you know how it turns out.
__________________


I cant see why anyone would own a Camaro V6... Go BIG or go HOME!!!
2012 2SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 12:24 PM   #146
Drago77
Treasure Coast Camaro 5
 
Drago77's Avatar
 
Drives: SW 11' 2SS/RS LS3 Vert, Blk/Blk
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Posts: 4,554
Quote:
Originally Posted by camarograna2 View Post
The it was easy part.. Lol

It was allot of shoving to have to fit the parts. This being my first time removing/adding it was a 2 hr job. Now I know where to push and shove so I'm sure it will take me shorter time but as a newbee it's not easy.

With my additional suggestions to ur dyi hopefully other newbees won't run into the same issues as me.
Yeah; definitely a tight fit... but i have the added luxury of a convertible; so I get a lot more light in there to work with... I was able to see where it was catching and adjust accordingly. I anticipated some resistance after watching the YouTube video review the guy did after installing the Pioneer Avic and Scosche. Fitting the head unit over that enormous wiring harness was a lot.worse for me
Drago77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 10:43 AM   #147
2012 2SS
I wanna go fast "mama"
 
2012 2SS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 2 SS Camaro Black
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Apple Valley, Ca
Posts: 33
Send a message via Yahoo to 2012 2SS Send a message via Skype™ to 2012 2SS
OK I haven't posted for a while just to make sure the new Scosche kit fixed all the previous problems and behold it DID!!!! The update was already installed in the new kit so I just had to plug and play so to speak. No TPMS light, key-fob range is like it was before the kit install in the first place and the battery is staying charged I am really happy that Scosche sent me a new kit no questions asked and I didn't even have to send back the other one. If you are still having trouble I would recommend contacting Scosche directly via email and request a new kit.
__________________


I cant see why anyone would own a Camaro V6... Go BIG or go HOME!!!
2012 2SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 09:55 PM   #148
erftbll81
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro LT
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012 2SS View Post
OK I haven't posted for a while just to make sure the new Scosche kit fixed all the previous problems and behold it DID!!!! The update was already installed in the new kit so I just had to plug and play so to speak. No TPMS light, key-fob range is like it was before the kit install in the first place and the battery is staying charged I am really happy that Scosche sent me a new kit no questions asked and I didn't even have to send back the other one. If you are still having trouble I would recommend contacting Scosche directly via email and request a new kit.

What can I do if i have the Alpine kit?
erftbll81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 10:30 AM   #149
2012 2SS
I wanna go fast "mama"
 
2012 2SS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 2 SS Camaro Black
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Apple Valley, Ca
Posts: 33
Send a message via Yahoo to 2012 2SS Send a message via Skype™ to 2012 2SS
Contact Alpine and request a new kit.
__________________


I cant see why anyone would own a Camaro V6... Go BIG or go HOME!!!
2012 2SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 11:05 AM   #150
Blues45th
.........................
 
Drives: 45th anniversary edition v6 3.6L
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Dunedin, Florida
Posts: 920
So fin the market should I just walk away lol.
Blues45th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 07:38 PM   #151
erftbll81
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro LT
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012 2SS View Post
Contact Alpine and request a new kit.
I cant find the serial number for mine on the box nor the actual kit itself, im sure they'll ask for it, what can i do?
erftbll81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 03:07 PM   #152
2012 2SS
I wanna go fast "mama"
 
2012 2SS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 2 SS Camaro Black
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Apple Valley, Ca
Posts: 33
Send a message via Yahoo to 2012 2SS Send a message via Skype™ to 2012 2SS
Where did you buy your kit from? If all else fails just tell them that the kits in your car and you dont know what the s/n is. I didn't have to give any information when I wrote them an email about the issues I was having.
__________________


I cant see why anyone would own a Camaro V6... Go BIG or go HOME!!!
2012 2SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 01:12 PM   #153
erftbll81
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro LT
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012 2SS View Post
Where did you buy your kit from? If all else fails just tell them that the kits in your car and you dont know what the s/n is. I didn't have to give any information when I wrote them an email about the issues I was having.
I got it from http://creativecaraudio.net/c/alpine. I guess ill try to get in contact with them (alpine). Thank You.
erftbll81 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.