Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Nickey Chicago
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission

Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission Tune and diagnostics for engines and auto transmission.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-01-2012, 07:24 PM   #1
gdheri
 
Drives: 2012 Chevy Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 88
Unhappy problem with tuning please help

Hi all i hope someone car help me with the problem im having with my car. I just got custom tune from Jannettyracing.com. The tune is for long tube cold air intake and exhaust. After i put the tune in i can really feel the extra gain and my engine check light is gonne, but now my car takes about 2 to 3 seconds longer to start. I email jannettyracing.com Ted there told me to disconnect the battery for 10 min and i did that. Well car start fine but my engine check for cats came back on, so i download the tune to car again. Check engine is gonne again but car taking longer to start again. Is anyone out there experienced same problem with there car? Please help thanks all
gdheri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 07:28 PM   #2
vroomapunk
[COTW 5/12/14]
 
vroomapunk's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 CRT NF Cammed 2SS/RS
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: New Orleans, Louisiana
Posts: 5,424
From what ive heard Ted will take care of you, whatever your problem is, he really knows 5th gens, so let him help you out
__________________
vroomapunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 07:34 PM   #3
gdheri
 
Drives: 2012 Chevy Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by vroomapunk View Post
From what ive heard Ted will take care of you, whatever your problem is, he really knows 5th gens, so let him help you out
thanks hes looking into it as of yesterday hopefully some ans by tuesday
gdheri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 08:06 PM   #4
ParkerB57
COTW 11/12/12
 
Drives: 1SS RS IBM
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 203
In my experiance when u upload a new tune the car will be slow to start for the first few starts then go back to normal, how many times have u started and restarted it
__________________
ParkerB57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 08:56 PM   #5
Coyotekiller
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2012 AGM 2SS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Beaufort, NC
Posts: 1,389
I've been told this is only on the first time you start the car after you upload the tune. I myself know that's not true from my experience using HP tuners to tune my car.

What fixed it for me was a simple little sequence of things:
First you upload the tune. Turn the car on, shut it off again. Hard to start correct?
Turn the key to the one position. Open the door and close it. Wait til the dome light goes out, then count to ten slowly. Start the car and it should start normally now. Worked like a champ for my car.
Coyotekiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 09:00 PM   #6
Run4two
 
Run4two's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro 2SS Transformer Edition
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Temecula, Ca
Posts: 452
Coyotekiller,
You might have come up with a real winner. Where did you hear of this? It can't be trial and error.
Run4two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 10:32 PM   #7
gdheri
 
Drives: 2012 Chevy Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by ParkerB57 View Post
In my experiance when u upload a new tune the car will be slow to start for the first few starts then go back to normal, how many times have u started and restarted it
Atleast 10 or more time
gdheri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 10:34 PM   #8
gdheri
 
Drives: 2012 Chevy Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coyotekiller View Post
I've been told this is only on the first time you start the car after you upload the tune. I myself know that's not true from my experience using HP tuners to tune my car.

What fixed it for me was a simple little sequence of things:
First you upload the tune. Turn the car on, shut it off again. Hard to start correct?
Turn the key to the one position. Open the door and close it. Wait til the dome light goes out, then count to ten slowly. Start the car and it should start normally now. Worked like a champ for my car.
Thanks for advise I will try that
gdheri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 06:15 AM   #9
Higgs Boson
in the ZL1 Market
 
Drives: Mercedes
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,236
The hard to start after uploading issue is well known and well documented among tuners. You do not have to go through any Up Down Up Down Left Right Left Right A B A B Select Start routines to make it easy to start.

All you need to do is turn the key off and wait 15 seconds. If you want to stand on one foot and chant while you wait, it might be fun, I guess. Or you can just hard start it once and go on about your day.

If you have a CEL for cats (it would be much better if you post the actual code) then either something may be plugged in or screwed in wrong or it could be in the tune (don't see why JRE would miss something like that though, good rep)...
Higgs Boson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 09:09 AM   #10
Coyotekiller
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2012 AGM 2SS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Beaufort, NC
Posts: 1,389
Quote:
Originally Posted by Run4two View Post
Coyotekiller,
You might have come up with a real winner. Where did you hear of this? It can't be trial and error.
I found it on HP tuners forum. I thought it was bull too but it worked on my car...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Higgs Boson View Post
The hard to start after uploading issue is well known and well documented among tuners. You do not have to go through any Up Down Up Down Left Right Left Right A B A B Select Start routines to make it easy to start.

All you need to do is turn the key off and wait 15 seconds. If you want to stand on one foot and chant while you wait, it might be fun, I guess. Or you can just hard start it once and go on about your day.

If you have a CEL for cats (it would be much better if you post the actual code) then either something may be plugged in or screwed in wrong or it could be in the tune (don't see why JRE would miss something like that though, good rep)...
Apparently you do. Explain to me why nothing else fixed my hard start but that little routine did? I didnt believe it either but it worked.
Coyotekiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 09:34 AM   #11
Higgs Boson
in the ZL1 Market
 
Drives: Mercedes
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coyotekiller View Post
Apparently you do. Explain to me why nothing else fixed my hard start but that little routine did? I didnt believe it either but it worked.
cause it takes 15 seconds to go through those motions! I flash my ECM at least once every other day and the 15 second rule works every time. normally though, i just hard start it once and go on about my day. whatever works for ya, just do that. it doesn't really matter, does it? all i am saying is that it is not some secret code to get around the issue.
Higgs Boson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 11:51 AM   #12
E.T.


 
E.T.'s Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 3,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Higgs Boson View Post
The hard to start after uploading issue is well known and well documented among tuners. You do not have to go through any Up Down Up Down Left Right Left Right A B A B Select Start routines to make it easy to start.

All you need to do is turn the key off and wait 15 seconds. If you want to stand on one foot and chant while you wait, it might be fun, I guess. Or you can just hard start it once and go on about your day.

If you have a CEL for cats (it would be much better if you post the actual code) then either something may be plugged in or screwed in wrong or it could be in the tune (don't see why JRE would miss something like that though, good rep)...
Wait. What? That code doesn't work on our Camaros??

__________________

E.T. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 12:19 PM   #13
Higgs Boson
in the ZL1 Market
 
Drives: Mercedes
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by E.T. View Post
Wait. What? That code doesn't work on our Camaros??

Higgs Boson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 10:55 PM   #14
Coyotekiller
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2012 AGM 2SS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Beaufort, NC
Posts: 1,389
When I retune my car again for the idle issue, I'll check on your 15 second theory.
Coyotekiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 06:11 PM   #15
JANNETTYRACING
PRESIDENT CALIBRATOR JRE

 
JANNETTYRACING's Avatar
 
Drives: YELLOW 2013 ZL1 AUTO
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ON THE DYNO WATERBURY CT.
Posts: 9,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdheri View Post
Hi all i hope someone car help me with the problem im having with my car. I just got custom tune from Jannettyracing.com. The tune is for long tube cold air intake and exhaust. After i put the tune in i can really feel the extra gain and my engine check light is gonne, but now my car takes about 2 to 3 seconds longer to start. I email jannettyracing.com Ted there told me to disconnect the battery for 10 min and i did that. Well car start fine but my engine check for cats came back on, so i download the tune to car again. Check engine is gonne again but car taking longer to start again. Is anyone out there experienced same problem with there car? Please help thanks all
This is Highly Unusual with SCT tuning and I expect something else is going on.

I need the codes your getting to better help you, I asked in an email but got no reply.

I will help you get to the bottom of this.

Please read the codes and email them to me.

Ted.
__________________
Technical information, Parts Sales, Professional Installation, and Custom Dyno Tuning.
Please vist our web sites for all your performance needs!
Ted Jannetty
Jannetty Racing Ent Inc.
2984 East Main St.
Waterbury Ct. 06705
203-753-7223
tedj@jannettyracing.com
www.jannettyracing.com
www.turboaddictionparts.com
Performance Parts
JANNETTYRACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 06:28 PM   #16
Tampa Tuning
Like us on Facebook!

 
Tampa Tuning's Avatar
 
Drives: C5 Corvette/ 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tampa, Fl
Posts: 2,540
Tampa Tuning Camaro Corvette GTO GM Trucks performance tuning

I see this as a factor with HP Tuner after each upload of a new tune on 2010-2011 Gen 5s. Its gotten better with the newer BETA versions, but alot has to do with tables that HP Tuners has than other cheaper handheld units dont have. I dont experience it with 2012 models, but have with the 2010-2011s.

Once the vehicle goes into a total reset mode, the 2 second starts never return. Its just the computers way of saying you are uploading a ton of new data mapping, and WTF. Once the PCM resets, it issue doesnt return. Ive never pulled a batterycable to fix it, I just let the car reset like normal after being prefessionally being tuned.
www.TampaTuning.com
Phil
__________________

Read this :
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showth...20#post7838320

www.TampaTuning.com
Camaro Corvette CTS GTO Tuner Tampa Orlando Bradenton
Tampa Tuning is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 06:32 PM   #17
Coyotekiller
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2012 AGM 2SS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Beaufort, NC
Posts: 1,389
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tampa Tuning View Post
I see this as a factor with HP Tuner after each upload of a new tune on 2010-2011 Gen 5s. Its gotten better with the newer BETA versions, but alot has to do with tables that HP Tuners has than other cheaper handheld units dont have. I dont experience it with 2012 models, but have with the 2010-2011s.

Once the vehicle goes into a total reset mode, the 2 second starts never return. Its just the computers way of saying you are uploading a ton of new data mapping, and WTF. Once the PCM resets, it issue doesnt return. Ive never pulled a batterycable to fix it, I just let the car reset like normal after being prefessionally being tuned.
www.TampaTuning.com
Phil
It did it with my 2012. Wondering if it will still do it when I redo my tune with the new Beta software though.
Coyotekiller is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.