Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Vector Motorsports
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission

Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission Tune and diagnostics for engines and auto transmission.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-02-2012, 07:55 PM   #1
JustaCamaro
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 186
Anyone Data log AFR with the SCT?

I have the ADM gauge set that displays AFR and Boost. The AFR gauge uses Innovates LC1 wideband controller that has two programmable analog connections. The first one is used to run the digital AFR gauge. I am trying to use the second to data log AFR along with the PIDS on my SCT setup.

I found a tutorial at Innovates website that describes how to wire it up and program the Innovate controller.

The problem I am having is, the LC1 won't program, or won't stay programmed.

I have been using just the gauge function for more than a year with no problems.

Anyone have experience with making this work.

?
JustaCamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 07:21 PM   #2
JANNETTYRACING
PRESIDENT CALIBRATOR JRE

 
JANNETTYRACING's Avatar
 
Drives: YELLOW 2013 ZL1 AUTO
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ON THE DYNO WATERBURY CT.
Posts: 9,844
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustaCamaro View Post
I have the ADM gauge set that displays AFR and Boost. The AFR gauge uses Innovates LC1 wideband controller that has two programmable analog connections. The first one is used to run the digital AFR gauge. I am trying to use the second to data log AFR along with the PIDS on my SCT setup.

I found a tutorial at Innovates website that describes how to wire it up and program the Innovate controller.

The problem I am having is, the LC1 won't program, or won't stay programmed.

I have been using just the gauge function for more than a year with no problems.

Anyone have experience with making this work.

?
The LC1 has a 5V output wire that will go in to the SCT tuner via a Firewire we offer along with a wire diagram.

SCT also has a tutorial on setting up the SCT to log the 5V anolog signal and convert it to AFR which you can log along with your PIDs.

Ted.
__________________
Technical information, Parts Sales, Professional Installation, and Custom Dyno Tuning.
Please vist our web sites for all your performance needs!
Ted Jannetty
Jannetty Racing Ent Inc.
2984 East Main St.
Waterbury Ct. 06705
203-753-7223
tedj@jannettyracing.com
www.jannettyracing.com
www.turboaddictionparts.com
Performance Parts
JANNETTYRACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 07:44 PM   #3
JustaCamaro
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 186
Thanks Ted for the info.

I did finally get the LC1 to program, and am getting a voltage out to the SCT device. The problem now is that LiveLink seems to take just one "look" at the voltage and doesn't seem to log in real time. The AFR that LiveLink displays stays constant and doesn't update.

If I can't figure it out tonight I will give SCT a call tomorrow.
JustaCamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 05:14 PM   #4
Badbubba
GrINned & JUICEd
 
Badbubba's Avatar
 
Drives: EB Expedition, 2010 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 709
SCT is still working on the equation and units issue. Livelink, for now, will only log raw voltages from analog 1 and analog 2. Unless SCT released new updates very recently, you will need to convert the voltages to afr. Not sure why it only takes a snapshot of the voltage, mine logs voltages throughout the run. I just move the cursor along the timeline and Livelink returns a value. Are your min and max values filled?
__________________
Nitrous Outlet Plate (progressive, fuel hose upgrade, remote opener, heater, filter, console switches), LNC2000, ARH 1 7/8" LTs/gutted cats/X pipe/mufflers, Jet Hot coated LTs, JRE SCT Tune, CAI, Scoop, Rx Catch Can, Gates heater hose relocation, Remote clutch & auto brake res, Metco loop, Momentum Tunnel Brace, TSW Nurb 18" 555 & 555R, Pfadt trailing arms & toe rods, Autometer wideband, Fesler Pillar Pod, LED strips (int), Lloyds floor & trunk mats, LED DRL/front turn & license plate, DRL harness, VLEDs tail lights, Plasticoat Bowties. Ord: Oct 5, 2009 Rec: Nov 19, 2009 13.17 @ 112.6 stock
Badbubba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 08:14 PM   #5
JustaCamaro
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 186
I get min, max and average values-they are all the same. The formula works, the output is displayed as an AFR that jives with the one displayed on my in car gauge.

I measured the voltage out with my voltmeter, and it varies like it would with changing AFR. Either something in LiveLInk or in the SCT device itself isn't working-the only out put I get is the one it sees when I start datalogging. The other PIDS log normally.

I couldn't get through to SCT today to see what they thought.
JustaCamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 09:03 PM   #6
94guy

 
Drives: 99 Camaro; 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: louisiana
Posts: 1,472
when i log a/f it will only log a/f. i can't log a/f with any other pids it wont work? this is with live link
94guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 09:13 PM   #7
JustaCamaro
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 186
I didn't try just logging the AFR, always tried it with other pids. I'll try it by itself and see what happens.
JustaCamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 11:39 AM   #8
Badbubba
GrINned & JUICEd
 
Badbubba's Avatar
 
Drives: EB Expedition, 2010 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 709
I have to log a few pids, can't just log 1. I get a "failed" from live link if I just choose 1. Strange that your equation works. Any idea of what firmware you have?
__________________
Nitrous Outlet Plate (progressive, fuel hose upgrade, remote opener, heater, filter, console switches), LNC2000, ARH 1 7/8" LTs/gutted cats/X pipe/mufflers, Jet Hot coated LTs, JRE SCT Tune, CAI, Scoop, Rx Catch Can, Gates heater hose relocation, Remote clutch & auto brake res, Metco loop, Momentum Tunnel Brace, TSW Nurb 18" 555 & 555R, Pfadt trailing arms & toe rods, Autometer wideband, Fesler Pillar Pod, LED strips (int), Lloyds floor & trunk mats, LED DRL/front turn & license plate, DRL harness, VLEDs tail lights, Plasticoat Bowties. Ord: Oct 5, 2009 Rec: Nov 19, 2009 13.17 @ 112.6 stock
Badbubba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 12:46 PM   #9
JustaCamaro
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 186
I have firmware and LiveLink from Feb 2010. Updated it once and everything stopped working-went back to the old stuff.
JustaCamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 12:08 AM   #10
Badbubba
GrINned & JUICEd
 
Badbubba's Avatar
 
Drives: EB Expedition, 2010 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 709
Believe it or not, it took a couple of months to get mine to mostly work. I got the SCT in March 2012. Nothing but problems. You will need to call SCT and have them install the latest updates. With the latest updates, it works fairly well. Except the units can not be chosen and the equation(s) do not function.
__________________
Nitrous Outlet Plate (progressive, fuel hose upgrade, remote opener, heater, filter, console switches), LNC2000, ARH 1 7/8" LTs/gutted cats/X pipe/mufflers, Jet Hot coated LTs, JRE SCT Tune, CAI, Scoop, Rx Catch Can, Gates heater hose relocation, Remote clutch & auto brake res, Metco loop, Momentum Tunnel Brace, TSW Nurb 18" 555 & 555R, Pfadt trailing arms & toe rods, Autometer wideband, Fesler Pillar Pod, LED strips (int), Lloyds floor & trunk mats, LED DRL/front turn & license plate, DRL harness, VLEDs tail lights, Plasticoat Bowties. Ord: Oct 5, 2009 Rec: Nov 19, 2009 13.17 @ 112.6 stock
Badbubba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 08:46 AM   #11
JustaCamaro
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 186
I believe it alright!
I have read many of the horror stories about SCT firmware and software updates. I plan on keeping what I got, it works good except for the analog input parts.
JustaCamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 06:58 PM   #12
JustaCamaro
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 186
Ted Jannetty does my tunes for me and this is what he uses.

The LiveLink software does have canned formulas for the different wideband controllers.

I did talk to SCT today, they said I needed to upgrade my firmware and use the newest version of LiveLink. They said this was a known issue and that I should not have any problem upgrading.

I may try it, but after I am done datalogging for the tune we are working on.
JustaCamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 04:39 PM   #13
JustaCamaro
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 186
OK-making some progress!

Updated to the latest firmware and LiveLink Gen II V2.
I can datalog my wideband now in real time. Livelink has formulas to convert voltage into AFR for a bunch of wideband controllers including Innovate.

I am again lost in the sea of PIDS-trying to find ones that work and are useful to Ted. Anyone have experience with this LiveLink and know the ones to select?
JustaCamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 05:11 PM   #14
JANNETTYRACING
PRESIDENT CALIBRATOR JRE

 
JANNETTYRACING's Avatar
 
Drives: YELLOW 2013 ZL1 AUTO
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ON THE DYNO WATERBURY CT.
Posts: 9,844
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustaCamaro View Post
OK-making some progress!

Updated to the latest firmware and LiveLink Gen II V2.
I can datalog my wideband now in real time. Livelink has formulas to convert voltage into AFR for a bunch of wideband controllers including Innovate.

I am again lost in the sea of PIDS-trying to find ones that work and are useful to Ted. Anyone have experience with this LiveLink and know the ones to select?
The PIDs I need are listed in my instructions and in this tuning section under JRE SCT Custom Tune instructions
__________________
Technical information, Parts Sales, Professional Installation, and Custom Dyno Tuning.
Please vist our web sites for all your performance needs!
Ted Jannetty
Jannetty Racing Ent Inc.
2984 East Main St.
Waterbury Ct. 06705
203-753-7223
tedj@jannettyracing.com
www.jannettyracing.com
www.turboaddictionparts.com
Performance Parts
JANNETTYRACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 05:41 PM   #15
JustaCamaro
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 186
Thanks Ted, I read your instructions.

I selected the ones you listed and I get Something like PIDS failed when I click start datalog.

Only one or two of the ones I select work.

I tried using my old config file that worked so well for so long with an old version of LiveLink, with the same negative result.

Something must still be messed up.

The analog inputs from my wideband work good now.
JustaCamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 08:30 PM   #16
JANNETTYRACING
PRESIDENT CALIBRATOR JRE

 
JANNETTYRACING's Avatar
 
Drives: YELLOW 2013 ZL1 AUTO
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ON THE DYNO WATERBURY CT.
Posts: 9,844
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustaCamaro View Post
Thanks Ted, I read your instructions.

I selected the ones you listed and I get Something like PIDS failed when I click start datalog.

Only one or two of the ones I select work.

I tried using my old config file that worked so well for so long with an old version of LiveLink, with the same negative result.

Something must still be messed up.

The analog inputs from my wideband work good now.
If you select the Processor ID, Key on engine off, and select your PIDs then save the config file.

Load the config file start the car and connect, this Sometimes works better than trying to select them live.
__________________
Technical information, Parts Sales, Professional Installation, and Custom Dyno Tuning.
Please vist our web sites for all your performance needs!
Ted Jannetty
Jannetty Racing Ent Inc.
2984 East Main St.
Waterbury Ct. 06705
203-753-7223
tedj@jannettyracing.com
www.jannettyracing.com
www.turboaddictionparts.com
Performance Parts
JANNETTYRACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 09:02 AM   #17
JustaCamaro
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 186
I'll give that a try-thanks.

I will win!

Anyone else have trouble with the PIDS failing when they push start datalog?

This is with LiveLink Gen II.
JustaCamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 10:05 AM   #18
Badbubba
GrINned & JUICEd
 
Badbubba's Avatar
 
Drives: EB Expedition, 2010 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 709
Use the search feature, the google one, at the top. Type "SCT logging issues"
__________________
Nitrous Outlet Plate (progressive, fuel hose upgrade, remote opener, heater, filter, console switches), LNC2000, ARH 1 7/8" LTs/gutted cats/X pipe/mufflers, Jet Hot coated LTs, JRE SCT Tune, CAI, Scoop, Rx Catch Can, Gates heater hose relocation, Remote clutch & auto brake res, Metco loop, Momentum Tunnel Brace, TSW Nurb 18" 555 & 555R, Pfadt trailing arms & toe rods, Autometer wideband, Fesler Pillar Pod, LED strips (int), Lloyds floor & trunk mats, LED DRL/front turn & license plate, DRL harness, VLEDs tail lights, Plasticoat Bowties. Ord: Oct 5, 2009 Rec: Nov 19, 2009 13.17 @ 112.6 stock
Badbubba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 10:40 AM   #19
JustaCamaro
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 186
I have read those threads, and those are the problems I am having now.

I talked to SCT yesterday and they updated my device. I am assuming they loaded the lates and best firmware-maybe not!

I followed their instructions exactly, and everything seems good right up til the start datalogging step.

I will get back to them today and see what they have to say.
JustaCamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 04:13 PM   #20
Badbubba
GrINned & JUICEd
 
Badbubba's Avatar
 
Drives: EB Expedition, 2010 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 709
I follow the Livelink GenII guide just like you. Logging works about 85% of the time. When it doesn't, I don't back the whole way out. I believe I need to acknowledge that the pids failed, by hitting yes or ok (maybe wrong on that) and then hitting the green log button again. Then, it will usually work. I'm still waiting on yet another update to correct my existing issues. Can you check and list your SCT handheld firmware version? I have saved my pids into a config file. It has about the same success rate of just choosing your pids eveytime. Sadly, your get to know all the techs at SCT.
__________________
Nitrous Outlet Plate (progressive, fuel hose upgrade, remote opener, heater, filter, console switches), LNC2000, ARH 1 7/8" LTs/gutted cats/X pipe/mufflers, Jet Hot coated LTs, JRE SCT Tune, CAI, Scoop, Rx Catch Can, Gates heater hose relocation, Remote clutch & auto brake res, Metco loop, Momentum Tunnel Brace, TSW Nurb 18" 555 & 555R, Pfadt trailing arms & toe rods, Autometer wideband, Fesler Pillar Pod, LED strips (int), Lloyds floor & trunk mats, LED DRL/front turn & license plate, DRL harness, VLEDs tail lights, Plasticoat Bowties. Ord: Oct 5, 2009 Rec: Nov 19, 2009 13.17 @ 112.6 stock
Badbubba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 06:16 PM   #21
JustaCamaro
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 186
My Firmware version is 1.2.136. Sct sent me a config file that they got from Jannetty with just the PIDS he wants, and it didn't work either.

When I push start datalog I get the message 'Items failed setup, No valid items', or something very similar. I have gotten a few PIDS to log, but it just seems random. SCT's GM expert is supposed to call me tomorrow afternoon.
JustaCamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 11:47 PM   #22
Badbubba
GrINned & JUICEd
 
Badbubba's Avatar
 
Drives: EB Expedition, 2010 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 709
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustaCamaro View Post
My Firmware version is 1.2.136. Sct sent me a config file that they got from Jannetty with just the PIDS he wants, and it didn't work either.

When I push start datalog I get the message 'Items failed setup, No valid items', or something very similar. I have gotten a few PIDS to log, but it just seems random. SCT's GM expert is supposed to call me tomorrow afternoon.
That doesn't seem like the correct firmware. I'll double check, but I'm fairly certain mine is 1.2.137.11. It is an unreleased version. Possibly your older hand held can not support this version???? I believe it should but I don't know.

Edit: That is the correct firmware on my SCT handheld at the present.
FW Version 1.2.137.11
FW Type GM
OS Part# 12635863
__________________
Nitrous Outlet Plate (progressive, fuel hose upgrade, remote opener, heater, filter, console switches), LNC2000, ARH 1 7/8" LTs/gutted cats/X pipe/mufflers, Jet Hot coated LTs, JRE SCT Tune, CAI, Scoop, Rx Catch Can, Gates heater hose relocation, Remote clutch & auto brake res, Metco loop, Momentum Tunnel Brace, TSW Nurb 18" 555 & 555R, Pfadt trailing arms & toe rods, Autometer wideband, Fesler Pillar Pod, LED strips (int), Lloyds floor & trunk mats, LED DRL/front turn & license plate, DRL harness, VLEDs tail lights, Plasticoat Bowties. Ord: Oct 5, 2009 Rec: Nov 19, 2009 13.17 @ 112.6 stock

Last edited by Badbubba; 09-11-2012 at 11:57 PM. Reason: Confirm
Badbubba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 08:02 AM   #23
JustaCamaro
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 186
I thought I had read that others had newer firmware. They must have loaded mine with the most current 'released' firmware.

We'll see what the GM guy at SCT comes up with today.
JustaCamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 08:10 AM   #24
JANNETTYRACING
PRESIDENT CALIBRATOR JRE

 
JANNETTYRACING's Avatar
 
Drives: YELLOW 2013 ZL1 AUTO
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ON THE DYNO WATERBURY CT.
Posts: 9,844
If SCT Provides you with a Firmware Via Remote Link, Do NOT Do an Automatic update, it will put back an older version of the firmware.

Ted.
__________________
Technical information, Parts Sales, Professional Installation, and Custom Dyno Tuning.
Please vist our web sites for all your performance needs!
Ted Jannetty
Jannetty Racing Ent Inc.
2984 East Main St.
Waterbury Ct. 06705
203-753-7223
tedj@jannettyracing.com
www.jannettyracing.com
www.turboaddictionparts.com
Performance Parts
JANNETTYRACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 08:21 AM   #25
JustaCamaro
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 186
Outstanding info!

Thank you Ted!
JustaCamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.