Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions

Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions All DIY projects & discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-09-2012, 04:55 AM   #1
redleader
redleader
 
redleader's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 V6 3.6L Auto 1LT
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 1,732
Send a message via MSN to redleader
12v : Footwell, UnderCar, Engine Bay, Wheel Arches...

So, my issue is ... if I am going to plan a lot of lighting MODs on my car, surely there is a way, or an electrical kit, that can supply me 6, 8, 12 connectors for 12v from just one Wire Tap or perhaps a direct connection to the battery?

I don't want to have to find a new (local) 12v source every time I want to do 12v (usually LED).

Surely we can have a centralised 12v, multi terminal, 12v power source to wire into each time?

Would be great if each connection had a switch option too?

Has anyone done this, or does anyone sell such an item?

Thanks,
redleader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 07:17 AM   #2
AKA
Go SteeleRS/SS
 
AKA's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by redleader View Post
So, my issue is ... if I am going to plan a lot of lighting MODs on my car, surely there is a way, or an electrical kit, that can supply me 6, 8, 12 connectors for 12v from just one Wire Tap or perhaps a direct connection to the battery?

I don't want to have to find a new (local) 12v source every time I want to do 12v (usually LED).

Surely we can have a centralised 12v, multi terminal, 12v power source to wire into each time?

Would be great if each connection had a switch option too?

Has anyone done this, or does anyone sell such an item?

Thanks,
Like this? emblem pros has this one.

__________________
K&N typhoon intake
Straight pipes
Pfadt springs
AAC lighting, 2 sub thump boxes with Rockford 10s
4 20x9" factory wheels powder coated Satin Black
AKA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 09:29 AM   #3
babytiger
it's hers...
 
babytiger's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 2SS/RS Convertible
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: katy, tx
Posts: 1,206
Pep Boys sells a 'block' for exactly what you need. I'm sure other parts stores do as well. Some of very things you need are at the cheapest places. Good luck.
babytiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 01:25 PM   #4
redleader
redleader
 
redleader's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 V6 3.6L Auto 1LT
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 1,732
Send a message via MSN to redleader
Thanks AKA, link please, I'm hopeless, can't find it on their site.

Thanks, babytiger, but http://www.pepboys.com keeps asking me for a ZIP, and being UK I don't have one of those, and cant search their site, can you find me a link?

Is 'block' the term I should be searching for ?

#electircal-phobe
__________________
redleader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 05:57 PM   #5
AKA
Go SteeleRS/SS
 
AKA's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 301
No problem, I remembered seeing it while looking for a way to keep my foglights on. The one I posted is pricey but they have others

http://emblempros.com/inc/sdetail/3436/19923
__________________
K&N typhoon intake
Straight pipes
Pfadt springs
AAC lighting, 2 sub thump boxes with Rockford 10s
4 20x9" factory wheels powder coated Satin Black
AKA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 04:33 PM   #6
redleader
redleader
 
redleader's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 V6 3.6L Auto 1LT
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 1,732
Send a message via MSN to redleader
http://emblempros.com/inc/sdetail/3436/2842 :-) Nice
I could wire this into the battery, then on to the LED lighting devices...
redleader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 08:10 PM   #7
KMAN114
 
Drives: 2010 Black LS
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Buffalo
Posts: 289
are you looking for something like this?
http://www.oznium.com/quick-wire-splice-connector
I used these and emblem pros switch plate when installing all my LED's.
KMAN114 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 08:52 PM   #8
Superfly1
 
Superfly1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2LT #2197
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 749
Go here for cheap alternatives.

Radio Shack Terminal Blocks

I have used these in several applications over the years without fail. Just remember that if you want the lines fused you have to add an inline fuse, or use something like this instead... Fuse Block

These are just Radio Shack's examples. Any place that sells electrical components should have them in case you don't have Radio Shack over there. Hope this helps...
__________________

CAI intake | OBX LT Headers | Flowmaster AT Exhaust | Trifecta Tune | SS Rear Diff, Axles & Driveshaft
Zex 100 Shot Nitrous | Konig Airstrike Wheels | Custom Engine Cover, Fuse Box & Underhood Bowtie
Eibach Springs & SS Sway Bars
| BMR Strut Brace | Drake Shifter | Vitesse Paddles | 13.26 @ 105.88 mph
Superfly1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 02:21 PM   #9
redleader
redleader
 
redleader's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 V6 3.6L Auto 1LT
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 1,732
Send a message via MSN to redleader
Thank you all ! :-)

I'll try a wire Tap from the left side fuse box of the steering wheel


to power this


and ground/negative to the nearest bolt


Yes ? :-O
redleader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 06:23 PM   #10
KMAN114
 
Drives: 2010 Black LS
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Buffalo
Posts: 289
Well each swtich will need a power and ground wire so you will need to splice in a few other wires or use one of the terminal/quick splice connectors
KMAN114 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 03:13 AM   #11
redleader
redleader
 
redleader's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 V6 3.6L Auto 1LT
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 1,732
Send a message via MSN to redleader
Yes, thanks KMAN114, I would use your http://www.oznium.com/quick-wire-splice-connector then also :-)
redleader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 06:11 AM   #12
garcmol


 
garcmol's Avatar
 
Drives: 10 1LT SIM; 91 B4C sleeper Z
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ft. Mitchell, Alabama
Posts: 7,382


Under that panel there is a hot lead off of the fusebox. You'll see it. It looks like a single blade with nothing on it and it's constant 12v. I ran a lead from that to an inline fuse then to my switch. You don't have to tap in or jump off another fuse.
__________________
Pedders Pace Car Package, Injen CAI, Flowmaster AT, AAC Lighting, ZL1 fascia/skirts, RKSport Ram Air hood, vented fenders, painted stripes (Gary's Customz), Honor and Valor badged (Thank you, John)
garcmol is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.