Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
HeadlightArmor
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission

Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission Tune and diagnostics for engines and auto transmission.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-19-2012, 09:32 PM   #1
Slickcas
 
Drives: 12' 2SS/RS LS3 IBM
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Paris. ILL
Posts: 233
SCT Wideband data log.

I am trying to datalog my Wideband for Ted. All I can get it to log is volts. Looking at the livelink2 software Under the tools tab in equations/analogs I have analog channel 1 set to (v*2)+10 but I can't get it to convert it to AFR on my graph and my log file.

Little info to help some people. Widebands out put is 0-5 volts. My gauge and most have a range from 10-20AFR 0 volts is 10 AFR and 5 volts is 20 AFR.

Any one know what I am doing wrong? Or what to change to get it work.

Last edited by Slickcas; 09-19-2012 at 09:35 PM. Reason: iPhone
Slickcas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 10:28 PM   #2
Badbubba
GrINned & JUICEd
 
Badbubba's Avatar
 
Drives: EB Expedition, 2010 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 661
You are doing nothing wrong. It just logs the raw voltage. It's a defect in the SCT software. I have communicated many times with the tech's about this and other issues. They know about it, but have yet to fix it. My Autometer Cobalt has a 0-4 volt output and the level and span are adjustable. My equation is (v*2.5)+10. I logged and had a small chart made up for easy reference when I sent the files to Ted. When I struggling with the SCT months ago, nobody had the answers to these questions, even the techs. Sorry about the whiny little b!+<h comment.
__________________
Nitrous Outlet Plate (progressive, fuel hose upgrade, remote opener, heater, filter, console switches), LNC2000, ARH 1 7/8" LTs/gutted cats/X pipe/mufflers, Jet Hot coated LTs, JRE SCT Tune, CAI, Scoop, Rx Catch Can, Gates heater hose relocation, Remote clutch & auto brake res, Metco loop, Momentum Tunnel Brace, TSW Nurb 18" 555 & 555R, Pfadt trailing arms & toe rods, Autometer wideband, Fesler Pillar Pod, LED strips (int), Lloyds floor & trunk mats, LED DRL/front turn & license plate, DRL harness, VLEDs tail lights, Plasticoat Bowties. Ord: Oct 5, 2009 Rec: Nov 19, 2009 13.17 @ 112.6 stock
Badbubba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 11:41 PM   #3
Crime2
Got Boost?
 
Crime2's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 1SS RS
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 609
Popcorn


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk. If is spelllled wrong deal with it.
Crime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 07:31 AM   #4
JustaCamaro
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 146
I finally got mine to work correctly-reads out in AFR.

I have an Innovate LC1 wideband controller-programmed with the default out puts on the analog out that is sent to the SCT device. I select the analog equation for my LC1 from the dropdown in Livelink.

I only got it to work after getting the latest firmware from SCT (version 1.2.137.11) and using Livelink Gen II.
JustaCamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 06:34 PM   #5
sting808

 
Drives: 4 wheels
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Posts: 783
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustaCamaro View Post
I finally got mine to work correctly-reads out in AFR.

I have an Innovate LC1 wideband controller-programmed with the default out puts on the analog out that is sent to the SCT device. I select the analog equation for my LC1 from the dropdown in Livelink.

I only got it to work after getting the latest firmware from SCT (version 1.2.137.11) and using Livelink Gen II.
I never got my LC1 working right with the original SCT Livelink. HP tuner worked with the beta versions. I need to take a second look at SCT's genII version.
sting808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 07:01 AM   #6
Badbubba
GrINned & JUICEd
 
Badbubba's Avatar
 
Drives: EB Expedition, 2010 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 661
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustaCamaro View Post
I finally got mine to work correctly-reads out in AFR.

I have an Innovate LC1 wideband controller-programmed with the default out puts on the analog out that is sent to the SCT device. I select the analog equation for my LC1 from the dropdown in Livelink.

I only got it to work after getting the latest firmware from SCT (version 1.2.137.11) and using Livelink Gen II.
I have that firmware & Livelink Gen II, tried all the pre-installed equations, tried logging on analog 1 & 2, tried with a different voltage source (feed back from LNC), no good.
__________________
Nitrous Outlet Plate (progressive, fuel hose upgrade, remote opener, heater, filter, console switches), LNC2000, ARH 1 7/8" LTs/gutted cats/X pipe/mufflers, Jet Hot coated LTs, JRE SCT Tune, CAI, Scoop, Rx Catch Can, Gates heater hose relocation, Remote clutch & auto brake res, Metco loop, Momentum Tunnel Brace, TSW Nurb 18" 555 & 555R, Pfadt trailing arms & toe rods, Autometer wideband, Fesler Pillar Pod, LED strips (int), Lloyds floor & trunk mats, LED DRL/front turn & license plate, DRL harness, VLEDs tail lights, Plasticoat Bowties. Ord: Oct 5, 2009 Rec: Nov 19, 2009 13.17 @ 112.6 stock
Badbubba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 07:56 AM   #7
JustaCamaro
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 146
Aren't computers wonderful? Actually they are, but they can frustrate the hell out of you.

I have both of my analog outs from the LC1 going to livelink. I let the one that runs my gauge just log voltage because I don't know the formula. The other uses livelinks LC1 equation that I have modified to correct for ground offsets. So far it has worked every time. (only about 5)

Innovate thinks the problem I had programming their wideband controller is a flaky USB to Serial port adapter. I got another one, but haven't tried it yet.
JustaCamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 12:46 AM   #8
Badbubba
GrINned & JUICEd
 
Badbubba's Avatar
 
Drives: EB Expedition, 2010 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 661
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustaCamaro View Post
Aren't computers wonderful? Actually they are, but they can frustrate the hell out of you.

I have both of my analog outs from the LC1 going to livelink. I let the one that runs my gauge just log voltage because I don't know the formula. The other uses livelinks LC1 equation that I have modified to correct for ground offsets. So far it has worked every time. (only about 5)

Innovate thinks the problem I had programming their wideband controller is a flaky USB to Serial port adapter. I got another one, but haven't tried it yet.
No flakey for me. If Livelink Gen II can aquire the voltage, then why can't it convert it to afr? Firewire directly from afr meter to analog input. Makes no sense.
__________________
Nitrous Outlet Plate (progressive, fuel hose upgrade, remote opener, heater, filter, console switches), LNC2000, ARH 1 7/8" LTs/gutted cats/X pipe/mufflers, Jet Hot coated LTs, JRE SCT Tune, CAI, Scoop, Rx Catch Can, Gates heater hose relocation, Remote clutch & auto brake res, Metco loop, Momentum Tunnel Brace, TSW Nurb 18" 555 & 555R, Pfadt trailing arms & toe rods, Autometer wideband, Fesler Pillar Pod, LED strips (int), Lloyds floor & trunk mats, LED DRL/front turn & license plate, DRL harness, VLEDs tail lights, Plasticoat Bowties. Ord: Oct 5, 2009 Rec: Nov 19, 2009 13.17 @ 112.6 stock
Badbubba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 01:22 AM   #9
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,694
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
SCT SUCKS THE BIG DONKEY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I'll never use this crap product again. Not for logging anyway.

Some like it but if you actually need it and it doesn't work (which it rarely does for me) then you better be able to spend time during bankers hours to call them.

The whole platform is shit. In my opinion.

I've spent HOURS on different laptops with different uploads and was only able to get 2 good logs. It sucks. It's like trying to watch satellite TV in a hurricane.

Get the Blue Tooth OBD adapters and log with your phone. MUCH MUCH MUCH better and easier. No cables and no computer. E-Mails your logs directly to your computer. It reports in REAL terms. Not terms you have to convert or figure out. You tell it to log in metric or standard or whatever. Boost is boost and fuel pressure is fuel pressure. I am blown away that it isn't used more.
__________________

Last edited by PQ; 09-22-2012 at 01:52 AM.
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 08:15 AM   #10
JustaCamaro
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by Badbubba View Post
No flakey for me. If Livelink Gen II can aquire the voltage, then why can't it convert it to afr? Firewire directly from afr meter to analog input. Makes no sense.
I don't understand that one either.

I never had any problems logging with LiveLink until I wanted to use one of the analog inputs for AFR.

I use the USB to Serial adapter to program the Innovate wideband controller, not with the SCT.

I don't know how the analog inputs get through the SCT device, is it just a straight hard wire through the device? Or is it modified some how on its way to the computer and LiveLink?
JustaCamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 01:02 AM   #11
Badbubba
GrINned & JUICEd
 
Badbubba's Avatar
 
Drives: EB Expedition, 2010 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 661
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustaCamaro View Post
I don't understand that one either.

I never had any problems logging with LiveLink until I wanted to use one of the analog inputs for AFR.

I use the USB to Serial adapter to program the Innovate wideband controller, not with the SCT.

I don't know how the analog inputs get through the SCT device, is it just a straight hard wire through the device? Or is it modified some how on its way to the computer and LiveLink?
Don't know for sure, but my bet is that the handheld converts the voltage from the afr meter. I would not plug the firewire from the afr meter directly into the laptop.
__________________
Nitrous Outlet Plate (progressive, fuel hose upgrade, remote opener, heater, filter, console switches), LNC2000, ARH 1 7/8" LTs/gutted cats/X pipe/mufflers, Jet Hot coated LTs, JRE SCT Tune, CAI, Scoop, Rx Catch Can, Gates heater hose relocation, Remote clutch & auto brake res, Metco loop, Momentum Tunnel Brace, TSW Nurb 18" 555 & 555R, Pfadt trailing arms & toe rods, Autometer wideband, Fesler Pillar Pod, LED strips (int), Lloyds floor & trunk mats, LED DRL/front turn & license plate, DRL harness, VLEDs tail lights, Plasticoat Bowties. Ord: Oct 5, 2009 Rec: Nov 19, 2009 13.17 @ 112.6 stock
Badbubba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 03:30 AM   #12
sting808

 
Drives: 4 wheels
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Posts: 783
Quote:
Originally Posted by Badbubba View Post
Don't know for sure, but my bet is that the handheld converts the voltage from the afr meter. I would not plug the firewire from the afr meter directly into the laptop.
The SCT device uses a firewire connector/cable on the unit for ease of connection, but all it does is connects the device to the wideband with pigtails on the other end. The signal is a standard analog DC output into the SCT. You can get a 6-conductor firewire(1394) cable and cut the connector off one end and use that. I would only suggest this if you are comfortable with identifying the proper pinout for the signal.
sting808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 08:04 AM   #13
Southern Comfort
No Tags/Habitual Violator
 
Southern Comfort's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 SIM 1LE & 2010 ABM/LT/RS
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 1,982
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
...Get the Blue Tooth OBD adapters and log with your phone. MUCH MUCH MUCH better and easier. No cables and no computer. E-Mails your logs directly to your computer. It reports in REAL terms. Not terms you have to convert or figure out. You tell it to log in metric or standard or whatever. Boost is boost and fuel pressure is fuel pressure. I am blown away that it isn't used more.
Blue Tooth? Are you talking about an SCT Blue Tooth or something else?
I have been using a DashDaq to log. ~$500 for straight OBDC connection. It's a standalone unit that provides connectors for analog inputs, but I havent tried any yet.
__________________

2010 2SS Vortech (sold).... 2010 2LT ABM (sweet).... 2013 1LE 2SS (sold)... 2013 1LE possibly 44 of 44
Check out the Atlanta area A.C.E.5 events page
Southern Comfort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 01:38 PM   #14
JustaCamaro
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 146
I bought a firewaire cable at Radio Crap-sorry shack-and modified it in accordance with this tutorial.http://innovatemotorsports.com/resou...T_tutorial.pdf.

The pinouts into the SCT device were correct.
JustaCamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 11:22 PM   #15
Badbubba
GrINned & JUICEd
 
Badbubba's Avatar
 
Drives: EB Expedition, 2010 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 661
Quote:
Originally Posted by sting808 View Post
The SCT device uses a firewire connector/cable on the unit for ease of connection, but all it does is connects the device to the wideband with pigtails on the other end. The signal is a standard analog DC output into the SCT. You can get a 6-conductor firewire(1394) cable and cut the connector off one end and use that. I would only suggest this if you are comfortable with identifying the proper pinout for the signal.
Yes I have one. Although doubtful, I was concerned that Justacamaro may want to connect the signal from the metering device directly to the computer. Although the cable would have to be a 4 pin USB type A and not the firewire 400 cable which is a 6 connector. When things don't work and I get desperate, I'll try anything.
__________________
Nitrous Outlet Plate (progressive, fuel hose upgrade, remote opener, heater, filter, console switches), LNC2000, ARH 1 7/8" LTs/gutted cats/X pipe/mufflers, Jet Hot coated LTs, JRE SCT Tune, CAI, Scoop, Rx Catch Can, Gates heater hose relocation, Remote clutch & auto brake res, Metco loop, Momentum Tunnel Brace, TSW Nurb 18" 555 & 555R, Pfadt trailing arms & toe rods, Autometer wideband, Fesler Pillar Pod, LED strips (int), Lloyds floor & trunk mats, LED DRL/front turn & license plate, DRL harness, VLEDs tail lights, Plasticoat Bowties. Ord: Oct 5, 2009 Rec: Nov 19, 2009 13.17 @ 112.6 stock
Badbubba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 12:26 PM   #16
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,694
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Southern Comfort View Post
Blue Tooth? Are you talking about an SCT Blue Tooth or something else?
I have been using a DashDaq to log. ~$500 for straight OBDC connection. It's a standalone unit that provides connectors for analog inputs, but I havent tried any yet.
Mine is BlueTooth. They have WiFi ones as well.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.