Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Vararam
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > Camaro ZL1 Forum - ZL1 Specific Topics

Camaro ZL1 Forum - ZL1 Specific Topics Camaro ZL1 specific topics

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-21-2012, 11:46 AM   #1
Blown355
 
Blown355's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 ZL1 Black M6
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 613
Fuse pull highly recommended

After seeing some discussion on this forum about the fuse pull. I decided to give it a try. I pulled fuses 5 and 20 overnight. Took the car out to my favorite "closed course" and opened it up this morning. First thing, I can't get the tires to hook up at all in first. I used to be able to roll into the throttle, and it would spin some but catch and pull hard to redline. Now immediately hits the rev limiter.
Then, in second gear, I had figured out exactly where to shift using the onboard shift light. When all dots turn solid. Now, nope hit the rev limiter everytime. Engine is just reving too quickly.
Thirdly, I got a forth gear chirp, at 98mph.
__________________
2012 ZL1 #1092
Black on Black
10 spoke
M6
ECF

Mods: 8.6" lower pulley, Kooks LT w/cats, Hx, Tune
560 rwhp

11.73@122, 1.91 60ft. "DA 1529"

Last edited by Blown355; 10-17-2012 at 07:41 PM.
Blown355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 12:10 PM   #2
snapp32e
 
snapp32e's Avatar
 
Drives: '81-Z28/'07-Tundra/'12-ZL1/'13-Jeep
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 512
Awesome, I'm trying it when I get home.
__________________
ZL1 #612
snapp32e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 12:12 PM   #3
PsychoRS
Camaro Addict
 
PsychoRS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Sunset, UT
Posts: 838
Interesting that the fuse pull even works on the ZL1! Can't say I'm really surprised though. It definitely wakes these cars up!
__________________
The Red Devil
Drop a gear and disappear!!!


Mods:
Cold Air Inductions CAI // Magnaflow Competition Cat-back #16580 // VMAX Ported TB // Elite Engineering Catch Can // SLP Skip Shift Eliminator
PsychoRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 12:49 PM   #4
mrquick68
 
Drives: 1968 Pro Touring SS Camaro
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blown355 View Post
After seeing some discussion on this forum about the fuse pull. I decided to give it a try. I pulled fuses 5 and 20 overnight. Took the car out to my favorite "closed course" and opened it up this morning. First thing, I can't get the tires to hook up at all in first. I used to be able to roll into the throttle, and it would spin some but catch and pull hard to redline. Now immediately hits the rev limiter.
Then, in second gear, I had figured out exactly where to shift using the onboard shift light. When all tots turn solid. Now, nope hit the rev limiter everytime. Engine is just reving too quickly.
Thirdly, I got a forth gear chirp, at 98mph.
I'd love to hear a detailed explaination of what pulling fuse 5 and 20 does? It it just the exhaust flap or something else?
__________________
2012 ZL1 Camaro - 6 speed, IOM, Black 20s, Ambient Lighting, Exposed CF Hood, #486.

2008 DMAX - Modded, lifted, smokin w/ 900 ft/lbs!
2009 335i - Modded, 425 whp
2012 X5 35D - Diesel, JBD chipset coming soon (550 ft/lbs)
mrquick68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 12:55 PM   #5
KKreme15

 
KKreme15's Avatar
 
Drives: C6 Z06
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dayton, MD
Posts: 1,638
Pull them and leave them out? Or pull and put back in?
KKreme15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 12:58 PM   #6
lil_red_v6
one wheelin
 
lil_red_v6's Avatar
 
Drives: 2004 yamaha r6
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: saginaw
Posts: 2,214
Send a message via Yahoo to lil_red_v6
i think its pull and leave out.
lil_red_v6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 01:00 PM   #7
The Stig



 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Drives: out of the ashes
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 26,649
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrquick68 View Post
I'd love to hear a detailed explaination of what pulling fuse 5 and 20 does? It it just the exhaust flap or something else?
There is a sticky in the V8 sub forum that goes into detail what the fuse pull does. But in short, the Camaro isn't capable of re-learning fuel trims. So once you're in the low octane table you're stuck there. Fuse pull resets the fuel map.
__________________
Click to view my build thread
The Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 01:06 PM   #8
CAM....ZL1
 
CAM....ZL1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 ZL1
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: BENTON, IL.
Posts: 706
what does it do. and does it make a diff. if you have ran 93 oct.
form day 1. or if you had a tune
CAM....ZL1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 01:06 PM   #9
ICTsccaCamaro
 
ICTsccaCamaro's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro RS
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 566
Quote:
Originally Posted by lil_red_v6 View Post
i think its pull and leave out.
car more than likely will not start with those fuse left out this fuse pull just clears the PCM tables so it will be in high octane vs. regular octane fuel table definatly need to reinstall the fuses after the pull just do a search if you don't know vs. guessing false info
__________________
2012 Black 2LT/RS
GM strut bar,MRT V2, FE5 ZL1 sway bars, RX can, Brembo swapped, ZL1 Pedals, ZL1 Splash guards, Plastidipped RS wheels, 4300K LED DRL's, SLP Blackwing, VMax TB, 1LE suspension swapped
ICTsccaCamaro is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 01:10 PM   #10
lightning
Lightning & Thunder
 
lightning's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SIM 1SS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Utah
Posts: 2,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by KKreme15 View Post
Pull them and leave them out? Or pull and put back in?
Quote:
Originally Posted by lil_red_v6 View Post
i think its pull and leave out.
Nope, it's pull, leave out overnight, put back in.
lightning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 01:10 PM   #11
lil_red_v6
one wheelin
 
lil_red_v6's Avatar
 
Drives: 2004 yamaha r6
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: saginaw
Posts: 2,214
Send a message via Yahoo to lil_red_v6
Quote:
Originally Posted by ICTsccaCamaro View Post
car more than likely will not start with those fuse left out this fuse pull just clears the PCM tables so it will be in high octane vs. regular octane fuel table definatly need to reinstall the fuses after the pull just do a search if you don't know vs. guessing false info
aahhh now i understand, i thought it was pull and leave out, thank you.
lil_red_v6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 01:12 PM   #12
ShnOmac


 
ShnOmac's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 Silverado SS, 2009 G8 GT
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: PNW
Posts: 13,192
Quote:
Originally Posted by stieger View Post
There is a sticky in the V8 sub forum that goes into detail what the fuse pull does. But in short, the Camaro isn't capable of re-learning fuel trims. So once you're in the low octane table you're stuck there. Fuse pull resets the fuel map.
ShnOmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 01:18 PM   #13
zl1bro
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1 M6 SIM AGM mono stripe
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Boston
Posts: 449
Quote:
Originally Posted by stieger View Post
There is a sticky in the V8 sub forum that goes into detail what the fuse pull does. But in short, the Camaro isn't capable of re-learning fuel trims. So once you're in the low octane table you're stuck there. Fuse pull resets the fuel map.
What are fuel trims? How do you "get stuck" in the low octane table? Does one tank of 91 octane gas reset the map at that lower level?
zl1bro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 01:19 PM   #14
s_c5519
 
s_c5519's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1, 2012 ZR1 & GS, 2008 H2
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Manchester NH
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by CAM....ZL1 View Post
what does it do. and does it make a diff. if you have ran 93 oct.
form day 1. or if you had a tune
From what I have read if you have been using 93 from the start, it will not require the fuse pull...

But the cars arrive to the dealers with very little gas. Do you think that the little it comes with from GM is 93 though? I'm talking before the dealer fills it...
s_c5519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 01:23 PM   #15
The Stig



 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Drives: out of the ashes
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 26,649
Quote:
Originally Posted by zl1bro View Post
What are fuel trims? How do you "get stuck" in the low octane table? Does one tank of 91 octane gas reset the map at that lower level?
Yes. Even if it was only that one time, the ECM moves down to the low fuel table and once it's there it's stuck there until you a fuse pull.
__________________
Click to view my build thread
The Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 01:29 PM   #16
SlingShot


 
SlingShot's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 ZL1 - #670
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Seminole, Fl.
Posts: 6,874
Quote:
Originally Posted by stieger View Post
There is a sticky in the V8 sub forum that goes into detail what the fuse pull does. But in short, the Camaro isn't capable of re-learning fuel trims. So once you're in the low octane table you're stuck there. Fuse pull resets the fuel map.

It's more than just the fuel maps, it resets the entire ECM. The ECM in our cars are adaptive. They learn your driving habits and adjust themselves based on how you drive your car. If you took it easy during the first 1500 miles, that's how the ECM adjust itself based on how you drove. If you just start driving it harder it will adapt itself, but will just take a bit longer to relearn your habits. If you reset the ECM it just starts from scratch and takes less time to learn your new habits and driving style.
__________________
SlingShot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 01:36 PM   #17
strych9
Nice rear end!
 
strych9's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 2SS/RS/TF3
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 2,810
Quote:
Originally Posted by s_c5519 View Post
From what I have read if you have been using 93 from the start, it will not require the fuse pull...

But the cars arrive to the dealers with very little gas. Do you think that the little it comes with from GM is 93 though? I'm talking before the dealer fills it...
My current understanding is that 91 octane places the ECM into its highest performance mode. 93 octane is not programmed into the ECM, so its use will make no direct increase in performance over 91 octane.
__________________
475RWHP/427RWTQ via: SP 1 7/8" LT Headers w/ Offroad Pipes | Flowmaster AT Cat-back | CAI Intake | JRE Scoop | Roto-Fab Washer Relocate | JRE 480RWHP Cam | Comp Cams Springs, Pushrods, Trunnion Upgrade | C5-R T/C | Melling O/P | 3.91 LPE Gears | JRE Posi-Mod | LPW Ultra Pro Diff Cover| BMR Diff Race Bushings| All mechanical work done by me, Tuned by Ted Jannetty @ 93 Octane
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Bumblebee: the real deal. **1 of 371 total TF3 SS 6-speeds built**
strych9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 01:42 PM   #18
Deke736
COTW 12/3/12
 
Deke736's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Ashen Gray ZL1
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Glen Carbon, IL
Posts: 2,836
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlingShot View Post
It's more than just the fuel maps, it resets the entire ECM. The ECM in our cars are adaptive. They learn your driving habits and adjust themselves based on how you drive your car. If you took it easy during the first 1500 miles, that's how the ECM adjust itself based on how you drove. If you just start driving it harder it will adapt itself, but will just take a bit longer to relearn your habits. If you reset the ECM it just starts from scratch and takes less time to learn your new habits and driving style.
I didn't even think about all that! My car has only had 93 ran in it (to my knowledge) and I picked it up from the dealer with 9 miles on it and I was with him when he filled it. Still, after reading this, I may do the fuse pull just to see if it changes anything. If it doesn't, I guess it won't hurt anything.
__________________
Deke736 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 01:42 PM   #19
The Stig



 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Drives: out of the ashes
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 26,649
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlingShot View Post
It's more than just the fuel maps, it resets the entire ECM. The ECM in our cars are adaptive. They learn your driving habits and adjust themselves based on how you drive your car. If you took it easy during the first 1500 miles, that's how the ECM adjust itself based on how you drove. If you just start driving it harder it will adapt itself, but will just take a bit longer to relearn your habits. If you reset the ECM it just starts from scratch and takes less time to learn your new habits and driving style.
Yes, pulling fuses #5 and #20 resets the entire ECM. Yes, the ECM does adapt to your driving style. However, once you are in the low fuel table you are stuck there. The only way to get back up to the high fuel table is to do a fuse pull.
__________________
Click to view my build thread
The Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 01:50 PM   #20
zl1bro
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1 M6 SIM AGM mono stripe
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Boston
Posts: 449
Quote:
Originally Posted by stieger View Post
Yes, pulling fuses #5 and #20 resets the entire ECM. Yes, the ECM does adapt to your driving style. However, once you are in the low fuel table you are stuck there. The only way to get back up to the high fuel table is to do a fuse pull.
I purchased my car from a dealer in Phoenix, AZ. They put the first tank of premium gas in there prior to shipping. Here in Massachusetts we have 93 octane gas. Does anyone know whether premium gas in Arizona is 91 or 93 octane?
zl1bro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 01:52 PM   #21
s_c5519
 
s_c5519's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1, 2012 ZR1 & GS, 2008 H2
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Manchester NH
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by strych9 View Post
My current understanding is that 91 octane places the ECM into its highest performance mode. 93 octane is not programmed into the ECM, so its use will make no direct increase in performance over 91 octane.

I just found this in the manual...

Required Fuel (ZL1 Only)
If the vehicle has the 6.2L V8 engine
(VIN Code P), use premium
unleaded gasoline with a posted
octane rating of 91 or higher. For
best performance, use premium
unleaded gasoline with a posted
octane rating of 93.
s_c5519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 01:56 PM   #22
s_c5519
 
s_c5519's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1, 2012 ZR1 & GS, 2008 H2
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Manchester NH
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by zl1bro View Post
I purchased my car from a dealer in Phoenix, AZ. They put the first tank of premium gas in there prior to shipping. Here in Massachusetts we have 93 octane gas. Does anyone know whether premium gas in Arizona is 91 or 93 octane?
AZ and CA are both 91...
s_c5519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 01:58 PM   #23
mlee
H-Town Camaro Club
 
mlee's Avatar
 
Drives: Number Twenty-Three
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Conroe, TX
Posts: 22,743
Are we SURE this applies to the LSA? ...or event the 2013 SS?

Just a bit skeptical at this point but it doesn't hurt to try.
__________________
.
mlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 02:21 PM   #24
SlingShot


 
SlingShot's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 ZL1 - #670
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Seminole, Fl.
Posts: 6,874
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlee View Post
Are we SURE this applies to the LSA? ...or event the 2013 SS?

Just a bit skeptical at this point but it doesn't hurt to try.

Refer to post #3 ...

http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=249520
__________________
SlingShot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 02:29 PM   #25
mlee
H-Town Camaro Club
 
mlee's Avatar
 
Drives: Number Twenty-Three
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Conroe, TX
Posts: 22,743
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlingShot View Post
Yeah.. I read everything and had an L99 back when all this surfaced. Not that I discount anything said, I just can't hang my hat on butt dyno fixes. I can't believe these cars would still have this problem. There must be thousands of cars out there who don't read forums with the octane table issue.

By all means I'm going to pull my fuses anyway and had planned to do it since I accidentally put a tank of 87 in on the way back from C5fest. Pump handles were reversed from what I was used to and didn't notice til it was too late..

Maybe I can do a little butt dyno test before I pull the fuses or better yet put it on a real dyno.
__________________
.
mlee is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.