Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Apex Paul
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission

Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission Tune and diagnostics for engines and auto transmission.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-22-2012, 11:20 AM   #1
2012 2SS
I wanna go fast "mama"
 
2012 2SS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 2 SS Camaro Black
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Apple Valley, Ca
Posts: 33
Send a message via Yahoo to 2012 2SS Send a message via Skype™ to 2012 2SS
Exclamation TPMS LIGHT IS COMING ON!!!

OK I posted somewhere in this forum that my TPMS light is coming on at random times. I took it to my dealership where I bought my 2012 2SS camaro (800 Miles) and they checked all my wheel sensors and said they were all good and told me because I have had a aftermarket alarm system 5901 with remote start put in + I changed out the head deck with a scosche kit and a Pioneer Double Din 8400BH unit that my car is not covered under my warranty. I know the TPMS light wasn't coming on before I brought it to the Alarm store place. Does any body know why this light would come on do to the mods and what would cause this??? I appreciate all of your help on this. Thanks for all info.
__________________


I cant see why anyone would own a Camaro V6... Go BIG or go HOME!!!
2012 2SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 11:54 AM   #2
Mr_Draco


 
Mr_Draco's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS/RS
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 6,284
Go to another dealer.

Also can you describe what the light is doing?

If it is staying on then it's saying you have a low tire. My sensors constantly read 4-5 psi low so I mostly ignore when it comes on. You could try a sensor relearn to help fix this issue or put 2-3 psi in your tires. When I increased my pressure to 36 psi my light stopped coming on.

If the light flashes for a minute then stays on for a few and constantly repeats this cycle (flashes, stays on, flashes, stays on, etc) then you have a bad sensor.
Mr_Draco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 12:11 PM   #3
2012 2SS
I wanna go fast "mama"
 
2012 2SS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 2 SS Camaro Black
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Apple Valley, Ca
Posts: 33
Send a message via Yahoo to 2012 2SS Send a message via Skype™ to 2012 2SS
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_Draco View Post
Go to another dealer.

Also can you describe what the light is doing?

If the light flashes for a minute then stays on for a few and constantly repeats this cycle (flashes, stays on, flashes, stays on, etc) then you have a bad sensor.
It is comes on and flashes for a minute and stays on... The pressure its all above 36psi... The dealership said they tested all the sensors and there good. Can me changing out the stuff I did effect the TPMS???
__________________


I cant see why anyone would own a Camaro V6... Go BIG or go HOME!!!
2012 2SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 12:57 PM   #4
Mr_Draco


 
Mr_Draco's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS/RS
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 6,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012 2SS View Post
It is comes on and flashes for a minute and stays on... The pressure its all above 36psi... The dealership said they tested all the sensors and there good. Can me changing out the stuff I did effect the TPMS???
Then you have an issue with the sensors. Since it is an intermittent issue it will be hard for the dealer to catch which one it is at the time it is acting up. So it might have an issue on the road but may be good when you get to the dealer.

As inaccurate as the sensors are anyway, I just use them as a early warning system to catch any problems before they get worse. As intermittent as the issue is, you could wait until the problem becomes a steady one and a surefire chance for the dealer to find the bad sensor. However it's your decision on try to find it now or wait.

Did any of the things you did involve removing the wheels, taking the tires off of the rims, and do something with the sensors? No you might say, well then you just answered your own question. Go to a different dealer that actually wants your business instead of giving you the run around.
Mr_Draco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 01:00 PM   #5
2012 2SS
I wanna go fast "mama"
 
2012 2SS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 2 SS Camaro Black
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Apple Valley, Ca
Posts: 33
Send a message via Yahoo to 2012 2SS Send a message via Skype™ to 2012 2SS
OK I will do that but the dealership said that if the wires were spliced into and I was thinking what does the TPMS have anything to do with putting in a alarm system :(
__________________


I cant see why anyone would own a Camaro V6... Go BIG or go HOME!!!
2012 2SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 01:18 PM   #6
Mr_Draco


 
Mr_Draco's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS/RS
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 6,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012 2SS View Post
OK I will do that but the dealership said that if the wires were spliced into and I was thinking what does the TPMS have anything to do with putting in a alarm system :(
Please ask them to remove one of the tires and bring it to you then ask what wire is running from the wheel sensor in that tire to the BCM that you could possibly splice into unless they are referring to the magical, invisible wire made out of Unobtainium and insulated in Unicorn hair and come back here and report cause I would love to hear what they say.
Mr_Draco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 01:21 PM   #7
2012 2SS
I wanna go fast "mama"
 
2012 2SS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 2 SS Camaro Black
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Apple Valley, Ca
Posts: 33
Send a message via Yahoo to 2012 2SS Send a message via Skype™ to 2012 2SS
LMAO!!!! OK I will. Let you know what there reply is Monday Thanx Mr_Draco
__________________


I cant see why anyone would own a Camaro V6... Go BIG or go HOME!!!
2012 2SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 01:26 AM   #8
monSSter
 
monSSter's Avatar
 
Drives: VICTORY RED/CYBER GREY
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: BOYNTON BEACH,FL
Posts: 132
Do you have an aftermarket radio?
__________________
CAI,VMAX TB, JBA SHORTIES,JBA HI-FLOW CATS, STRAIGHT PIPES,DYNO TUNE,GRANT STEERING WHEEL,ALPINE AVIC-Z130,SCHOSCHE DASH KIT, DASH ABL, HUD MOD,ACS T3 PORTS
monSSter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 09:14 AM   #9
2012 2SS
I wanna go fast "mama"
 
2012 2SS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 2 SS Camaro Black
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Apple Valley, Ca
Posts: 33
Send a message via Yahoo to 2012 2SS Send a message via Skype™ to 2012 2SS
Yesss Double din Pioneer AVH-p98400BH... I had it installed with a 5901 Clifford alarm system
__________________


I cant see why anyone would own a Camaro V6... Go BIG or go HOME!!!
2012 2SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 01:23 PM   #10
monSSter
 
monSSter's Avatar
 
Drives: VICTORY RED/CYBER GREY
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: BOYNTON BEACH,FL
Posts: 132
Some of the scosche kits have been know to throw tpms lights and cause issue with the distance in which u can remote start. Personally mine fine. But I've read threads on here regarding the issue. You may want to call scosche( or metra) and see if they can offer any Insight. Hope this helps
__________________
CAI,VMAX TB, JBA SHORTIES,JBA HI-FLOW CATS, STRAIGHT PIPES,DYNO TUNE,GRANT STEERING WHEEL,ALPINE AVIC-Z130,SCHOSCHE DASH KIT, DASH ABL, HUD MOD,ACS T3 PORTS
monSSter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 02:47 PM   #11
Sikoriko

 
Sikoriko's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 V6 IOM
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,388
If you have onstar you'll get these nasty messages about your sensors.
Sikoriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 08:38 AM   #12
Rizzo
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SIM 2SS/RS
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 424
Hi Guys,

This is a known issue with Scosche. Please reference this thread:
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?p=5619150
__________________
========================
Rizzo is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.