Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Hurst Shifters
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission

Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission Tune and diagnostics for engines and auto transmission.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-01-2012, 09:56 AM   #1
jmontalvo

 
jmontalvo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Rally Yellow 2LS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Pharr, TX
Posts: 1,039
Windows on Mac Trifecta tune help

Ok so I installed Parallels which lets me install other OSs on my Mac. Since I have a Windows XP disc, I installed it on my mac. So now I can run both simultaneously. I installed all the drivers and stuff that require EZ Flash to work. I connected the cable to my car and laptop and I was trying to get it to read some codes but it kept crashing.

Has anybody ever done this/had this problem or should I just go out and ask a friend for their Windows laptop?
__________________
|Trifecta Tune|Custom Magnaflow Exhaust|Cold Air Inductions C.A.I.|BBK LTs w/ HFC|Anvil Rear Notch Glossy CF Spoiler|Body Color Heritage Grille|10 spoke polished ZL1 replica wheels|VMAX ported TB|RS Headlights|Night Owl RGB Halos
jmontalvo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 10:01 AM   #2
Blade


 
Blade's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro 2SS SIM RS
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 4,632
Send a message via AIM to Blade
Are you saying that Parallels is crashing or is the laptop crashing?
__________________
Blade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 10:12 AM   #3
The Stig
knows 2 facts about ducks
 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Drives: ...and they're both wrong
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The HMS Invincible
Posts: 26,675
I use Parallel to run XP on my MacBook when I need to do data logging stuff with my Diablo Predator.

Have you tried getting Parallel booted up and running before plugging in the tool? That's the only way I can get mine to be recognized.
__________________
Click to view my build thread
The Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 11:48 AM   #4
Archonlord
 
Archonlord's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Black 1LT
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Douglassville,PA
Posts: 274
I run bootcamp for my XP then use vmware to mount simultaneously when needed, had no issues with that. Did have an issue with loading a tune downloaded from gmail using the chrome browser. Downloaded same file using email client and tune loaded fine.
__________________
BBK LT Headers, Injen CAI, PYPES cat back, Trifecta Tune, Mike Norris Catch Can
Archonlord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 11:59 AM   #5
jmontalvo

 
jmontalvo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Rally Yellow 2LS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Pharr, TX
Posts: 1,039
Parallels and XP work excellently. It's EZ Flash that I'm having trouble with. XP picks up the cable so it's not a problem of it not recognizing it. What I would do is I would press on Code Scanner and it would give a dialog saying to connect the cable and have the key on the on position. I do and press OK. Then EZ Flash crashes and asks if I want to send the error report to Microsoft. I've tried it several times. I have no idea what I'm doing wrong.
__________________
|Trifecta Tune|Custom Magnaflow Exhaust|Cold Air Inductions C.A.I.|BBK LTs w/ HFC|Anvil Rear Notch Glossy CF Spoiler|Body Color Heritage Grille|10 spoke polished ZL1 replica wheels|VMAX ported TB|RS Headlights|Night Owl RGB Halos
jmontalvo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 01:00 PM   #6
Blade


 
Blade's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro 2SS SIM RS
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 4,632
Send a message via AIM to Blade
You may have the incorrect .net framework installed. You need the correct version for XP, make sure you follow step 1 on this page: http://www.wot-tuning.com/files/file/1-ez-flash/
__________________
Blade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 02:29 PM   #7
Can't_C_Me
Don't Sleep on My V6
 
Can't_C_Me's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 1LT M6 TT/ NEW 2013 Malibu 1LT
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Oxford, GA
Posts: 3,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blade View Post
You may have the incorrect .net framework installed. You need the correct version for XP, make sure you follow step 1 on this page: http://www.wot-tuning.com/files/file/1-ez-flash/
When I first started using Trifecta on Windows 7 on my MacBook Pro I had these same issues. And after playing around with the install found out that .net framework was the issue. So make sure it is the correct .net your installing like said by Blade.
__________________
Can't_C_Me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 04:08 PM   #8
jmontalvo

 
jmontalvo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Rally Yellow 2LS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Pharr, TX
Posts: 1,039
Well I installed that last night and I installed the 4 as well because I thought the updated one wouldn't hurt. I installed 3.5 again and made sure the driver for the cable was installed. I'll try the cable again when I get home.

I'm pretty sure I'm getting some misfires on cold start. Would there be any problem if the misfires continued for a while until I get a solution for it? Would the misfires be related to a tune/messed up sensor? Just asking since I barely got my headers installed Friday evening.
__________________
|Trifecta Tune|Custom Magnaflow Exhaust|Cold Air Inductions C.A.I.|BBK LTs w/ HFC|Anvil Rear Notch Glossy CF Spoiler|Body Color Heritage Grille|10 spoke polished ZL1 replica wheels|VMAX ported TB|RS Headlights|Night Owl RGB Halos
jmontalvo is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.