Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

PFYC
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > V8 and V6 Transmissions / Driveline (6L80 / 6L50 / TR6060 / AY6)

V8 and V6 Transmissions / Driveline (6L80 / 6L50 / TR6060 / AY6) Driveshafts | Differentials | Gears | Rearends | Clutch | Shifters

Old 10-01-2012, 07:05 PM   #1
JohnNitecki

Drives: 12 black Camaro 2SS/RS Convertible
Automatic shifter rattling/ moving while in drive!

This is my first time posting! I bought this car brand new. Iíve had it for about 5 months now; just recently Iíve been noticing a couple rattling noises and squeaks. First the shift moves while in drive, is this normal? Itís an automatic. Itís not a lot but while driving you can see it moving which is causing the shift indicator plate to rattle which is extremely annoying! If itís in neutral or manual itís not as bad very faint. Itís a hassle every time I go to the dealer I would like to know a little more before I go in. Thanks in advance!
JohnNitecki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 07:30 PM   #2
CFD

Drives: 2SS/RS L99 BLACK
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnNitecki View Post
This is my first time posting! I bought this car brand new. Iíve had it for about 5 months now; just recently Iíve been noticing a couple rattling noises and squeaks. First the shift moves while in drive, is this normal? Itís an automatic. Itís not a lot but while driving you can see it moving which is causing the shift indicator plate to rattle which is extremely annoying! If itís in neutral or manual itís not as bad very faint. Itís a hassle every time I go to the dealer I would like to know a little more before I go in. Thanks in advance!
The shifter(handle) normally does not have any movement, it may be that the mounting screw is loose.
CFD is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 07:38 PM   #3
JohnNitecki

Quote: