Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Classic Design Concepts
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-02-2009, 02:11 AM   #1
Adam
You Said Member
 
Drives: 2010 SIM 2LT Auto RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Why is this required?
Posts: 326
how hard to hook up a sub?

I would like to hook up a couple subs, are the sub hookups already routed to the trunk or do you have to run cable and is there an easy way to do this?
Adam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 02:01 PM   #2
drummerstevey
 
drummerstevey's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 VW GTI
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Sayreville, New Jersey
Posts: 88
from what i've heard, their might be pre outs in the trunk already, and the battery is there too, so it should be pretty easy
__________________

Good things are worth waiting for...
drummerstevey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 08:57 PM   #3
2010SSRS

 
2010SSRS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2000 Silverado
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Southern WI
Posts: 1,246
there's an amp in the trunk behind the drivers side panel. i haven't looked at it yet to see what connections are there.

i've posted and emailed GM and a few dealers for instructions on how to hook up the MTX sub accessory...........................i have gotten NO replies from ANYONE.

if you find out anything, please shoot me a p/m!
__________________
IOM 2SSRS LS3 R6P - VIN 7553 Delivered 5/22/2009 Kooks, Corsa and Roto-Fab - SOLD 9/2010

VR 2SSRS LS3 - Borla, SLP CAI
2010SSRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 09:43 PM   #4
ZZcamaro


 
Drives: 2SS w/ ZZ427 Package!!
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 2,706
Check out the wiring info that i posted...it is now a sticky in the electronics forum.
ZZcamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 12:25 AM   #5
Adam
You Said Member
 
Drives: 2010 SIM 2LT Auto RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Why is this required?
Posts: 326
ok I don't know if that chart really tells me much, maybe condense it for me for my purposes?

I found the battery under the hood you guys lol, not the trunk.

I took off the spare tire cover in the trunk, and underneath was absolutely nothing, except for an air pump where the spare tire would normally sit.

I don't know, I can look again tomorrow but I think I need to hear from someone who has figured this out firsthand.
Adam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 12:55 AM   #6
Sterling


 
Sterling's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1LT/RS M6
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Fairhaven, MA
Posts: 5,903
Take that air pump out and you'll find the battery underneath it.
Sterling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 01:02 AM   #7
Adam
You Said Member
 
Drives: 2010 SIM 2LT Auto RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Why is this required?
Posts: 326
ah ok that helps thank you. I wonder what I thought was the battery under the hood.

Anyone know about the hookups?
Adam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 01:17 AM   #8
Sterling


 
Sterling's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1LT/RS M6
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Fairhaven, MA
Posts: 5,903
There is a positive post under the hood so that it can still be jumped from the front end. Not sure about any pre-amp wiring, but it would make sense since there is a sub package available.
Sterling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 08:48 AM   #9
Coop 2010
Delivered 05/20/2009
 
Coop 2010's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2010 2SS RS
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Allen, TX
Posts: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
ah ok that helps thank you. I wonder what I thought was the battery under the hood.

Anyone know about the hookups?
There is a black box with a battery symbol on it on the passenger side of the engine compartment. (probably what you saw)


I realize it's not ideal but a line level converter could be connected very easily to the rear speaker leads, they are very accessible from there.
Coop 2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 12:36 PM   #10
Adam
You Said Member
 
Drives: 2010 SIM 2LT Auto RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Why is this required?
Posts: 326
I can't find the sub hookups still. I'm not a fan of using the method above. Me installing subs is pretty much contingent upon doing it the right way.

If anyone can figure out how they expected the dealers to install subs, let me know.
Adam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 06:01 PM   #11
Adam
You Said Member
 
Drives: 2010 SIM 2LT Auto RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Why is this required?
Posts: 326
I just thought of something else, if you wanted to use a line converter on the back, couldn't you possibly be missing the lower frequencies? If it's filtered at the amp and never transmitted to the speakers, then that would defeat the purpose.
Adam is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How hard is it. . . 09fathomgreen Off-topic Discussions 7 10-13-2010 11:03 PM
Hard top--> top hard top convert YaKKO21 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 12 04-13-2009 05:57 PM
Reno hook up anyone? Iroczlover USA - Southwest 2 09-29-2008 05:49 PM
Coupe, Vert, Hard Top Vert, T-Tops, or Removable Roof Panel? TAG UR IT 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 42 08-02-2007 10:46 AM
Camaro pulls a Z06 hard on the highway. onilmaruri General Automotive + Other Cars Discussion 6 03-28-2007 06:19 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.