Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
sjm autoprod
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > Camaro ZL1 Forum - ZL1 Specific Topics > Engine | Exhaust | Bolt-On | Drivetrain Modifications


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-22-2012, 11:11 AM   #15
SamHouseIII
I Carry!
 
SamHouseIII's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 CRT ZL1
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Fletcher, Ok
Posts: 2,645
remove plugs, screws and back panel cover, fold back carpeting (Pass Side) and expose fuse box.
__________________
I am a Modaholic!! Please Help!! Do Not feed my addicition....See build...
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=261540

From Oklahoma, Join us on Facebook
https://www.facebook.com/groups/okcamaros/

SamHouseIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 12:12 PM   #16
SamHouseIII
I Carry!
 
SamHouseIII's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 CRT ZL1
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Fletcher, Ok
Posts: 2,645
To run wire remove upper console, install switch and run wiring towards back window using a snake.

I ran wires down along passenger rear corner of window and into trunk behind the carpeting, to fuse box.

Made a dummy blank for a fuse (spades connectors) to the fuse and soldered all wires and heat shirnked them.

you really hear this when running then letting off the gas....nice rumbles then..
__________________
I am a Modaholic!! Please Help!! Do Not feed my addicition....See build...
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=261540

From Oklahoma, Join us on Facebook
https://www.facebook.com/groups/okcamaros/

SamHouseIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 12:31 PM   #17
SamHouseIII
I Carry!
 
SamHouseIII's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 CRT ZL1
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Fletcher, Ok
Posts: 2,645
pics
Attached Images
          
__________________
I am a Modaholic!! Please Help!! Do Not feed my addicition....See build...
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=261540

From Oklahoma, Join us on Facebook
https://www.facebook.com/groups/okcamaros/

SamHouseIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 04:23 PM   #18
One-Bad-ZL1
So easy to love Camaros
 
One-Bad-ZL1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1 VR #3457
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Marlborough, CT
Posts: 3,526
Send a message via Yahoo to One-Bad-ZL1
Sam's the man!

Pics are worth a 1000 words....thank you!
__________________
One-Bad-ZL1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 07:39 PM   #19
Skylane765
Splitter washers, jack pd

 
Skylane765's Avatar
 
Drives: 14 Z/28, Challenger Hellcat.
Join Date: May 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 3,023
A cool thing to do is use a switch that goes into the sunroof slot, then you do not cut up the panel and look stock.
Skylane765 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 11:21 PM   #20
Camaro Fred
2012 ZL1 VIN 150
 
Drives: 1973 RS LT Camaro 4 Speed
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 237
An alternative approach is to buy a wireless 12 V 10A switch from Amazon for $5.00, an inline fuze cable for $3.00 from Radio Shack and hook it up to the fuze box in the trunk. Use a factory installed Home link remote button near the rear view mirror instead of the remote that came with the wireless switch. No manual switch required, no wires to run, no Mild to Wild switch cost, total job was $8.00. It works great.
__________________
Camaro Fred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 01:26 PM   #21
evonschu
 
evonschu's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaro ZL1
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hillsboro
Posts: 99
Has anyone thrown any codes since doing this? I put in a toggle switch that I've mostly left off cuz I like it loud and now about 3k miles later I'm throwing p0015b and p0015d codes. The dealer updated the ECM to adress the issue and the codes are back again. I think its coincidence since I've had this mod on here since like 100 miles were on it. But wanted to be sure since those codes are o2 sensor related. They are going to have the vehicle a couple days at the dealer now to track this down and don't want to look like an idiot cuz I put this toggle switch on and it caused the prob.
evonschu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 01:31 PM   #22
v8

 
v8's Avatar
 
Drives: GT500 and 14 ZL1
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Oakville Ont.
Posts: 1,253
subscribed as a task to look into once the ZL1 arrives home
__________________
Gone but not forgotten:
1974 Corvette Stingray 454
1986 Z28
2009 Mustang GT convertible
2012 45th 2SS Vert
2013 ZL1 M6

v8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 04:24 PM   #23
DangerZL1

 
Drives: Accord
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Memphis, TN Area
Posts: 1,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by evonschu View Post
Has anyone thrown any codes since doing this? I put in a toggle switch that I've mostly left off cuz I like it loud and now about 3k miles later I'm throwing p0015b and p0015d codes. The dealer updated the ECM to adress the issue and the codes are back again. I think its coincidence since I've had this mod on here since like 100 miles were on it. But wanted to be sure since those codes are o2 sensor related. They are going to have the vehicle a couple days at the dealer now to track this down and don't want to look like an idiot cuz I put this toggle switch on and it caused the prob.
I don't see how it could cause a problem with the O2 sensors. I have an exhaust commander on mine and leave it open or closed depending on my mood and haven't thrown a code. Other's have just pulled the fuse completely and haven't reported a problem. All it does is leaves the flaps open post CAT, so it really has no effect on their operation. It just directs the air full time through a less restrictive path in the muffle4r and makes more rumble. You may need some new O2(s).
DangerZL1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 07:45 PM   #24
SamHouseIII
I Carry!
 
SamHouseIII's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 CRT ZL1
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Fletcher, Ok
Posts: 2,645
Never threw a code with mine. Also this flapper is past the cats....so no way this throws a code.
__________________
I am a Modaholic!! Please Help!! Do Not feed my addicition....See build...
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=261540

From Oklahoma, Join us on Facebook
https://www.facebook.com/groups/okcamaros/

SamHouseIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 08:22 PM   #25
DuskSS
Bayou City Muscle Cars
 
DuskSS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 2SS Dusk Edition
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 1,442
mines been out since day 1 but i'm an SS not a ZL1.

no codes.

like the wireless Idea posted above!
might do that far cheaper than the kit at 100 bucks.

specially after the cam and header install wonder how quiet it will keep it..
doubt much since its open at idle and WOT.
__________________
2013 2SS Dusk Edition
Lethal Racing Stage V
PER 418ci Forged LS3
530/520 SAE
DuskSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 08:37 PM   #26
DuskSS
Bayou City Muscle Cars
 
DuskSS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 2SS Dusk Edition
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 1,442
Just thinking.. can we force the butterflies completely closed somehow? for like creeping through neighborhoods so they dont open automatically based on RPM?
__________________
2013 2SS Dusk Edition
Lethal Racing Stage V
PER 418ci Forged LS3
530/520 SAE
DuskSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 01:08 AM   #27
evonschu
 
evonschu's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaro ZL1
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hillsboro
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamHouseIII View Post
Never threw a code with mine. Also this flapper is past the cats....so no way this throws a code.
Ya I know its past them. Just speculated that the increased "flow" might be tripping out the O2 sensors. Doubtful I agree. Just want all my bases covered in case GM comes back with oh thats totally it. GUess I could just be like ok, let me put the fuse back in and I'll see ya tomorrow when the CEL is back on.
evonschu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 02:36 PM   #28
wakespeak

 
Drives: 2013 2SS LS3/NPP
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 927
Quote:
Originally Posted by evonschu View Post
Has anyone thrown any codes since doing this? I put in a toggle switch that I've mostly left off cuz I like it loud and now about 3k miles later I'm throwing p0015b and p0015d codes. The dealer updated the ECM to adress the issue and the codes are back again. I think its coincidence since I've had this mod on here since like 100 miles were on it. But wanted to be sure since those codes are o2 sensor related. They are going to have the vehicle a couple days at the dealer now to track this down and don't want to look like an idiot cuz I put this toggle switch on and it caused the prob.
I think it could run a little leaner since there is less back pressure. I actually had some pinging on acceleration under 3k rpm, even though I have been running premium. I have not had a CEL with fuse pulled for about last 1K miles.

Those codes are for a camshaft position sensor if Google is correct. Perhaps you have a faulty sensor (assuming there is one).
wakespeak is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.