Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Grabiak Performance Center
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > Camaro ZL1 Forum - ZL1 Specific Topics > Engine | Exhaust | Bolt-On | Drivetrain Modifications


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-20-2013, 09:34 PM   #29
evonschu
 
evonschu's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaro ZL1
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hillsboro
Posts: 95
Dealer has had my ride for 3 days. Came back and said there was a faulty O2 sensor. The first one before the cat. Probably explains why I've been backfiring a bit more often than most ZL1s I've heard on youtube and had bad gas mileage, even for this car.
evonschu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 03:39 AM   #30
mlee
Charter Circle Member
 
mlee's Avatar
 
Drives: Number Twenty-Three
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Conroe, TX
Posts: 28,077
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonpope2003 View Post
Just thinking.. can we force the butterflies completely closed somehow? for like creeping through neighborhoods so they dont open automatically based on RPM?
A couple shops have done this, but it requires some re-wiring. Not a simple DIY process, but works great for taming cars with headers.

If you want to go Wireless for 20 bucks... I have this version programmed to my Homelink buttons.
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=249118
__________________
.
mlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 09:20 PM   #31
Th3Beast
 
Th3Beast's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1 #659
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlee View Post
A couple shops have done this, but it requires some re-wiring. Not a simple DIY process, but works great for taming cars with headers.

If you want to go Wireless for 20 bucks... I have this version programmed to my Homelink buttons.
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=249118
For the wireless setup, does it require taking up two of the Homelink buttons (one for on and one for off)?
Th3Beast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 11:59 PM   #32
Ricamaro

 
Drives: RocketZed Red13
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Center of the known Universe
Posts: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camaro Fred View Post
An alternative approach is to buy a wireless 12 V 10A switch from Amazon for $5.00, an inline fuze cable for $3.00 from Radio Shack and hook it up to the fuze box in the trunk. Use a factory installed Home link remote button near the rear view mirror instead of the remote that came with the wireless switch. No manual switch required, no wires to run, no Mild to Wild switch cost, total job was $8.00. It works great.

Could you oblige us with a detailed write-up? I love this wireless option.
Ricamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 08:10 PM   #33
Ricamaro

 
Drives: RocketZed Red13
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Center of the known Universe
Posts: 850
* BUMP *
no one?
Ricamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 08:35 PM   #34
mlee
Charter Circle Member
 
mlee's Avatar
 
Drives: Number Twenty-Three
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Conroe, TX
Posts: 28,077
Quote:
Originally Posted by Th3Beast View Post
For the wireless setup, does it require taking up two of the Homelink buttons (one for on and one for off)?
Yes... but it also comes with two key fobs so you don't really have to use homelink at all.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricamaro View Post
Could you oblige us with a detailed write-up? I love this wireless option.
I already did... in the link above. http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=249118

The homelink setup is in your owners manual.
__________________
.
mlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 10:46 AM   #35
Ricamaro

 
Drives: RocketZed Red13
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Center of the known Universe
Posts: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlee View Post

I already did... in the link above. http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=249118

The homelink setup is in your owners manual.
I are chagrined - I totally missed that.
Thanks!!
Ricamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 07:12 PM   #36
mlee
Charter Circle Member
 
mlee's Avatar
 
Drives: Number Twenty-Three
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Conroe, TX
Posts: 28,077
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricamaro View Post
I are chagrined - I totally missed that.
Thanks!!
LOL...
__________________
.
mlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 08:13 AM   #37
Th3Beast
 
Th3Beast's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1 #659
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 99
Is there a way to get the exhaust flaps to be closed at idle, but retain how the rest of the system works? With the headers and high flow cats on my car having the flaps open on startup makes a cold start just straight obnoxiously loud.
Th3Beast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 08:44 AM   #38
One-Bad-ZL1
So easy to love Camaros
 
One-Bad-ZL1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1 VR #3457
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Marlborough, CT
Posts: 3,468
Send a message via Yahoo to One-Bad-ZL1
You're gonna need the Helms manual for the wiring diagram too see if there is a relay controlling the 0-1000rpm range that tells the vacuum pump to operate and open the valves. Hopefully it's not on an integrated circuit.
__________________
One-Bad-ZL1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 08:52 AM   #39
DuskSS
Bayou City Muscle Cars
 
DuskSS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 2SS Dusk Edition
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 1,443
Quote:
Originally Posted by Th3Beast View Post
Is there a way to get the exhaust flaps to be closed at idle, but retain how the rest of the system works? With the headers and high flow cats on my car having the flaps open on startup makes a cold start just straight obnoxiously loud.
I want a keep it closed function myself for creeping though neighborhoods or late at night.

There has to be a way to force them closed

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk 2
__________________
2013 2SS Dusk Edition
Lethal Racing Stage V
PER 418ci Forged LS3
530/520 SAE
DuskSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 09:05 AM   #40
SamHouseIII
I Carry!
 
SamHouseIII's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 CRT ZL1
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Fletcher, Ok
Posts: 2,645
Quote:
Originally Posted by DuskSS View Post
I want a keep it closed function myself for creeping though neighborhoods or late at night.

There has to be a way to force them closed

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk 2
There are adjusters on the butterflies, you could adjust them to stay shut I guess.
__________________
I am a Modaholic!! Please Help!! Do Not feed my addicition....See build...
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=261540

From Oklahoma, Join us on Facebook
https://www.facebook.com/groups/okcamaros/

SamHouseIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 09:07 AM   #41
DuskSS
Bayou City Muscle Cars
 
DuskSS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 2SS Dusk Edition
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 1,443
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamHouseIII View Post
There are adjusters on the butterflies, you could adjust them to stay shut I guess.
Um that sounds like too much work I want to basically turn them into electric cut outs.
With a toggle loud or quiet.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk 2
__________________
2013 2SS Dusk Edition
Lethal Racing Stage V
PER 418ci Forged LS3
530/520 SAE
DuskSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 09:16 AM   #42
Th3Beast
 
Th3Beast's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1 #659
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamHouseIII View Post
There are adjusters on the butterflies, you could adjust them to stay shut I guess.
That sounds like they would always be closed then. I like the functionality of them opening at higher RPM... it's just the cold start that kills me.

Does anyone have a wiring diagram and location of the control module for the flaps?
Th3Beast is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.