Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
autoguy
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-26-2012, 05:21 PM   #1
murdered
 
Drives: 2012 2SS 45th Ann. Edition
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 108
Question Would this be everything?

I'm compiling a list of parts for adding in a sub. I also want to get a nicer Amp and someone said the HD900/5 fits in the BA spot with the amp mount. Currently I have:
  • HD900/5
  • FARK and Amp mount from subthump.com
  • Passenger side 10" enclosure
  • JL 10W3v3

Is that all I would need to get up and running? Should I worry about the amp overheating in the stock location w/ a mount, or is there decent air flow through there?
__________________
2012 2SS 45th Anniversary Edition
murdered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 06:30 PM   #2
lscamaro


 
lscamaro's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 CGM Camaro LS A6
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 10,101
The amp should be fine. A bunch of members have replaced the stock amp with an amp from jl in the stock location and been fine. I don't see why yours would be any different.

And to answer your question, it looks like you have everything you need except for power and ground wire that you need to power the amp
__________________

Click Picture for Build Thread
lscamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 06:44 PM   #3
murdered
 
Drives: 2012 2SS 45th Ann. Edition
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by lscamaro View Post
The amp should be fine. A bunch of members have replaced the stock amp with an amp from jl in the stock location and been fine. I don't see why yours would be any different.

And to answer your question, it looks like you have everything you need except for power and ground wire that you need to power the amp
Awesome, thanks! Now I just need to hope the 10W3 is loud enough
__________________
2012 2SS 45th Anniversary Edition
murdered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 06:45 PM   #4
lscamaro


 
lscamaro's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 CGM Camaro LS A6
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 10,101
Have you ever heard one in person?
__________________

Click Picture for Build Thread
lscamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 06:47 PM   #5
jeepguy_1980

 
jeepguy_1980's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1SS
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Newport News
Posts: 1,311
Here is an older post of mine that compares the dimensions of the stock location and the HD900.5.

Also, you're going to need an amp install kit, think power, speaker wires to go to your sub, and some fuses.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepguy_1980 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyer08 View Post
Thanks, the stuff is in the mail so I havnt had a chance to check to see what fits where
While I'm sure you could force it to fit on in the factory location, I don't think it's ideal. If you want all the materials ready for your install just check out the specs below. The HD900/5 is .24"x.54" too big. This is how mine looks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by subthump.com
2010 & Up Camaro Factory Fit Amp Mount
Effective mounting area: 7.75" x 10.5"
Amps larger than this will not fit
Quote:
Originally Posted by JLAudio.com
HD900/5: 5 Ch. Class D System Amplifier, 900 W
Height (H) 1.93 in / 49 mm
Width (W) 10.74 in / 273 mm
Depth (D) 8.29 in / 211 mm
Net Weight 6.85 lb / 3.11 kg
jeepguy_1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 06:54 PM   #6
murdered
 
Drives: 2012 2SS 45th Ann. Edition
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by lscamaro View Post
Have you ever heard one in person?
Nope. I haven't found a good audio shop in the area, and I'm not a fan of BestBuy.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepguy_1980 View Post
Here is an older post of mine that compares the dimensions of the stock location and the HD900.5.

Also, you're going to need an amp install kit, think power, speaker wires to go to your sub, and some fuses.
Guess I should have stated that I'd get fuses, etc. I've done an audio install before, but that was 8 years ago.

Would you recommend mounting the amp somewhere else? I originally had picked the HD900/5 because I thought it could be mounted in the stock location. If I'm mounting it somewhere else I'm willing to get a bigger/better amp.
__________________
2012 2SS 45th Anniversary Edition
murdered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 07:00 PM   #7
Caddyroger

 
Caddyroger's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 RJT Camaro LT2 RS auto shift
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Washington state
Posts: 1,727
The only problem you is have is the rca cables for the input. It would be doubtful it will fit the stock opening. I have the JL XD400/4 installed. It is 73/8 wide. I had to mount the amp all the way to the top of the board so I could get the amp and RCA cables to fit. The RCA cables are at a sharp 90 degree angle after fitting it in.
__________________
Caddy

Last edited by Caddyroger; 11-27-2012 at 12:46 AM.
Caddyroger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 07:25 PM   #8
lscamaro


 
lscamaro's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 CGM Camaro LS A6
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 10,101
If you want to mount in the stock location, the jl audio xd 700/5 will fit if you want a 5 channel.

What are you looking for as far as bass output goes?
__________________

Click Picture for Build Thread
lscamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Tags
fark, jlaudio, subthump

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.