Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Hines Performance (HPE)
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Forced Induction - V8

Forced Induction - V8 V8 Supercharger, turbo, nitrous discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-21-2012, 08:47 AM   #51
MANNYS2SS/RS

 
MANNYS2SS/RS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS,LS3
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,143
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
Good enough. The 7.5"x7.5" is what I needed.

Thank you.

What did you cut it with?
If you think this is for you, when you decide to replace your fuel pump. I recommend having it done by a professional while the tank is out of the way. Their is not to much room between the floor and the fuel tank, fuel lines, and wires. The metal is pretty thin, so you can use any cutting tool. I used a air tool with a cutting wheel. You will only go thru the trouble once, after that anytime you need to replace your fuel pump for what ever reason it will only take minutes.
__________________

LS-3, ProCharger D1SC
665. rwhp /562. rwtq @ 9.3 psi
MANNYS2SS/RS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 06:52 PM   #52
gwbates3
Ruby & Blu Imp
 
gwbates3's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 LS3 2SSRS M6 & LLT RS A6
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 293
Bump...
__________________
Ruby
2SSRS M6 - Blown & LLT RS A6
gwbates3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 11:13 AM   #53
dookie454
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS LS3
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 89
It actually costs allot of money to add a trap door/access panel to the fuel pump from factory... then you have to worry about it leaking, someone to install/seal the panel up on the assy line... etc. And, based on the failure rate (125-150,000 miles), the dealer would never have to replace a fuel pump under warranty... so... without an access panel GM saves allot of $$.
dookie454 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 12:07 PM   #54
Chris-HPS
 
Chris-HPS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008Corvette
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ga
Posts: 691
We use the GM ZL1 Fuel pump on all our turbo builds we do. So far we have gone up to 725rwhp with the ZL1 Fuel pump and 80lb. injectors. The duty cycle was 60% on the injectors. No BAP either.

Chris
Chris-HPS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 12:15 PM   #55
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,878
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris-HPS View Post
We use the GM ZL1 Fuel pump on all our turbo builds we do. So far we have gone up to 725rwhp with the ZL1 Fuel pump and 80lb. injectors. The duty cycle was 60% on the injectors. No BAP either.

Chris
Wow. So with only 52# injectors and 9 psi I should be fine then.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 12:20 PM   #56
Chris-HPS
 
Chris-HPS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008Corvette
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ga
Posts: 691
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
Wow. So with only 52# injectors and 9 psi I should be fine then.

I would recommend going up on the injector size. No need in maxing the duty cycle out.

Chris
Chris-HPS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 12:22 PM   #57
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,878
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris-HPS View Post
I would recommend going up on the injector size. No need in maxing the duty cycle out.

Chris
You are quite right. And I will but I have no one here that can tune it.

First thing is first though, I gotta get my pressure to stay up. It drops to 48 psi at WOT and at only 7 pounds of boost.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 12:30 PM   #58
LyonsViper27
 
Drives: 2011 1SS/RS - JRE 415
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 26
Can you read fuel pressure with a scanner on our cars? would save me some money i already have HP tuners and could just use the scanner.
__________________
Black '11 SS/RS JRE 415 - 1 7/8 Dynatech Stainless Headers, Cold Air Inductions CAI, 100 shot ZEX, JRE Tune
LyonsViper27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 12:40 PM   #59
Chris-HPS
 
Chris-HPS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008Corvette
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ga
Posts: 691
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
You are quite right. And I will but I have no one here that can tune it.

First thing is first though, I gotta get my pressure to stay up. It drops to 48 psi at WOT and at only 7 pounds of boost.

What type of FI do you have? What fuel pump are you using.
Chris-HPS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 12:46 PM   #60
Chris-HPS
 
Chris-HPS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008Corvette
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ga
Posts: 691
Quote:
Originally Posted by LyonsViper27 View Post
Can you read fuel pressure with a scanner on our cars? would save me some money i already have HP tuners and could just use the scanner.

Yes, Under your PID's there is:

Desired Fuel Pressure
Injector Delta Pressure
Requested Fuel Pressure
Fuel Pump Commanded DC.

Scan all 4 of these and this will give you the info needed for you to tell if your FP is dropping.


Chris
Chris-HPS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 01:33 PM   #61
NWSleeper
 
NWSleeper's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS RS
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Covington, WA
Posts: 15
I have a ZR1 MAP sensor coming and plan to install once I get the ZL1 pump and perform that install. Can I drive safely to the tuner with the ZR1 MAP and have him perform the tune or do I need to install the sensor at the tuners to avoid driving it without the tables in the ECM corrected?
NWSleeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 02:13 PM   #62
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,878
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris-HPS View Post
What type of FI do you have? What fuel pump are you using.
Mine are the stock TVS2300 Magnuson injectors.

Stock fuel pump with a KBB BAP.

Quote:
Originally Posted by NWSleeper View Post
I have a ZR1 MAP sensor coming and plan to install once I get the ZL1 pump and perform that install. Can I drive safely to the tuner with the ZR1 MAP and have him perform the tune or do I need to install the sensor at the tuners to avoid driving it without the tables in the ECM corrected?
I'd just drive it there with the existing sensor. You can swap it out in 5 minutes when you get there.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 02:33 PM   #63
Chris-HPS
 
Chris-HPS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008Corvette
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ga
Posts: 691
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
Mine are the stock TVS2300 Magnuson injectors.

Stock fuel pump with a KBB BAP.

I'd just drive it there with the existing sensor. You can swap it out in 5 minutes when you get there.

I would get rid of the bap and switch to the ZL1 fuel pump and upgrade the injectors to 80's.

Chris
Chris-HPS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 02:39 PM   #64
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,878
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris-HPS View Post
I would get rid of the bap and switch to the ZL1 fuel pump and upgrade the injectors to 80's.

Chris
ZL1 pump is coming.

Injectors, gonna be a bit. Mainly because I have to find someone to tune them when I swap them.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 03:11 PM   #65
VanquisherSS
Hasbin of Stock Bottom HP
 
Drives: CTS-V Coupe, 04 TT Viper
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,561
Gonna run a ZL1 Pump with my BAP on my setup. I'm loosing fuel pressure as well.
VanquisherSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 03:18 PM   #66
nyny69

 
nyny69's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IOM SS
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 1,312
I'm another that is dropping to 48psi. I found a good deal on the fastlane pump and put that in instead of the zl1. My fuel pressure is still dropping to 48Psi. This is with just the supercharger and bolt-ons
nyny69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 03:20 PM   #67
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,878
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyny69 View Post
I'm another that is dropping to 48psi. I found a good deal on the fastlane pump and put that in instead of the zl1. My fuel pressure is still dropping to 48Psi. This is with just the supercharger and bolt-ons
Really?

Reading from the rail or from the OBD?
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 03:23 PM   #68
nyny69

 
nyny69's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IOM SS
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 1,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
Really?

Reading from the rail or from the OBD?
Reading from the OBD. I do have the ZR1 map sensor. I was confused also.
nyny69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 03:30 PM   #69
Chris-HPS
 
Chris-HPS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008Corvette
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ga
Posts: 691
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyny69 View Post
I'm another that is dropping to 48psi. I found a good deal on the fastlane pump and put that in instead of the zl1. My fuel pressure is still dropping to 48Psi. This is with just the supercharger and bolt-ons

What size injectors you running.

Chris
Chris-HPS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 03:33 PM   #70
nyny69

 
nyny69's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IOM SS
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 1,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris-HPS View Post
What size injectors you running.

Chris
The one's that came with the kit. I think the 63lb. I have no internal mods.
nyny69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 03:40 PM   #71
Chris-HPS
 
Chris-HPS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008Corvette
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ga
Posts: 691
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyny69 View Post
The one's that came with the kit. I think the 63lb. I have no internal mods.

When you are dropping pressure are you seeing your duty cycle go up as well?

Chris
Chris-HPS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 03:43 PM   #72
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,878
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Hey, Chris, if the injectors are smaller the fuel pressure should stay up even better right?

I mean, I get that they may not stack quick enough for a full fire because of maxing the duty but the pressure should still stay up right?

BTW, How do we measure duty cycle?
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 03:46 PM   #73
nyny69

 
nyny69's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IOM SS
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 1,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris-HPS View Post
When you are dropping pressure are you seeing your duty cycle go up as well?

Chris
I should not be out of injector. The car has less then 550 rwhp. I've tried to find a pid for duty cycle but have had no luck with the sct.
nyny69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 03:55 PM   #74
nyny69

 
nyny69's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IOM SS
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 1,312
I've put calls into fastlane for support. I've heard conflicting stories where a value has to be changed in the tune or it's an early vin problem happens to 1 in 100.
nyny69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 04:05 PM   #75
Chris-HPS
 
Chris-HPS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008Corvette
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ga
Posts: 691
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
Hey, Chris, if the injectors are smaller the fuel pressure should stay up even better right?

I mean, I get that they may not stack quick enough for a full fire because of maxing the duty but the pressure should still stay up right?

BTW, How do we measure duty cycle?

Correct, If your injector is to small and fuel pump is large enough/flows enough then your fuel pressure should not drop. In the pids section on HPtuners you can log duty cycle for your injectors.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nyny69 View Post
I should not be out of injector. The car has less then 550 rwhp. I've tried to find a pid for duty cycle but have had no luck with the sct.
The max power using a stock pump is around the 550rwhp pump with a supercharger. The supercharger takes some HP as well to make the HP so generally a supercharged car will require more fuel than a turbo for the same hp. I know you said you have a BAP, are you sure it is operating properly under boost?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nyny69 View Post
I've put calls into fastlane for support. I've heard conflicting stories where a value has to be changed in the tune or it's an early vin problem happens to 1 in 100.
I noticed in your signature Janetty built the car. Have you called Ted and talked with him about this as well?



Chris
Chris-HPS is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.