Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Grabiak Performance Center
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Forced Induction - V8


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-18-2012, 04:02 PM   #35
PQ
Booooosted.
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Supercharged SS
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,704
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jayrcr3 View Post
They do have to adjust the MAP scale in the tune for the ZR1 MAP sensor.

Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 2
Ok. But if mine has already been tuned with the ZR1 MAP sensor I can now just plug and play with a ZL1 pump correct?
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 06:30 PM   #36
ITGuy11
Burning up tires
 
ITGuy11's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1SS/RS
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Macomb Twp, MI
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
Ok. But if mine has already been tuned with the ZR1 MAP sensor I can now just plug and play with a ZL1 pump correct?
Yep!
__________________
Blower, cam, supporting mods 644RWHP 615RWTQ
My Build Thread COTW 11/19/12
Detroit 5th Gen Camaro Club
ITGuy11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 10:55 AM   #37
LyonsViper27
 
Drives: 2011 1SS/RS - JRE 415
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 29
What did you use to cut the tank access with?
__________________
Black '11 SS/RS 1 7/8 Dynatech Stainless Headers, Cold Air Inductions CAI, E-force, JRE Tune - SOLD
LyonsViper27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 02:59 PM   #38
camarostar2010
 
Drives: 2011 SS
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: new jersey
Posts: 373
ok I am lost....since I am not a learned as you gys. So let me : " you are saying with a zl1 map sensor and pump....u can run how much boost in that motor max, ...and with what injectors. Please clarify this for me. again I am not really to keen on it it.
camarostar2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 03:23 PM   #39
PQ
Booooosted.
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Supercharged SS
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,704
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by camarostar2010 View Post
ok I am lost....since I am not a learned as you gys. So let me : " you are saying with a zl1 map sensor and pump....u can run how much boost in that motor max, ...and with what injectors. Please clarify this for me. again I am not really to keen on it it.
Well I am running a ZR1 (LS9) MAP sensor.

It's a 3 Bar sensor. Meaning it can be tuned for higher boost.

If I'm not mistaken a 'Bar' is 1 atmosphere at sea level. (14psi-ish) So a 3 Bar sensor can be tuned for boost levels two times the barrometric pressure. or up to 28 psi??? (The atmospheric bar or 'Barrometric Pressure' being one bar and the two bars of boost)

I bet I got that totally wrong. LOL
__________________

Last edited by PQ; 10-20-2012 at 03:37 PM.
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 08:00 PM   #40
AngelSpeedFreak
Most hated in NM....
 
AngelSpeedFreak's Avatar
 
Drives: Sold the 6POINT2, went to a 50THZ06
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 2,911
Thanks so much for the pics Manny.... If I have to do anything else with the pump I am going to cut that hole. It looks so much easier and no one will ever see under the seat or even know its there but you.

Very very nice
__________________
AngelSpeedFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 08:45 PM   #41
MANNYS2SS/RS

 
MANNYS2SS/RS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS,LS3
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngelSpeedFreak View Post
Thanks so much for the pics Manny.... If I have to do anything else with the pump I am going to cut that hole. It looks so much easier and no one will ever see under the seat or even know its there but you.

Very very nice
Angel your welcome, if you ever decide Pm me and I will give you messurements and some more Pic's.
__________________

LS-3, ProCharger D1SC
665. rwhp /562. rwtq @ 9.3 psi
MANNYS2SS/RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 09:11 PM   #42
partymn

 
partymn's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 1ss 1LE
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Goose Creek, SC
Posts: 873
I dont understand why they wouldnt make an access to the fuel pump from the factory. I never thought about putting in an access, this might have to happen when I change my pump.
__________________
2014 1SS 1LE, bone stock for now.
partymn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 09:15 PM   #43
PQ
Booooosted.
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Supercharged SS
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,704
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by MANNYS2SS/RS View Post
Angel your welcome, if you ever decide Pm me and I will give you messurements and some more Pic's.
I have a ZL1 pump on the way. If you take those measurements I'd vey much be interested. I'll be cutting mine soon.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 09:19 PM   #44
partymn

 
partymn's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 1ss 1LE
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Goose Creek, SC
Posts: 873
Yes please
__________________
2014 1SS 1LE, bone stock for now.
partymn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 09:22 PM   #45
Kronix
NJ/SoCal HT5 COTW 3/25/12
 
Kronix's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 Z06/14 C7/08 Z06/07 Tahoe Z71
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: South Jersey & SoCal
Posts: 1,965
Nice move cutting the access door, I dropped my tank to install the ZL1 fuel Pump. It's plug & play and doesn't need to be retuned just fir that addition.

The ZL1 Pump is supposed to be able to handle up to 650RWHP, if not more and so far it's doing it's job. I'm running a ZR1 3 Bar Map, ZL1 Pump, OD Cog Drive, 3.6 pulley, ALKY Meth, Kooks LTs with no cats & SLP Loudmouth II exhaust. So I think the ZL1 pump will fit your needs
__________________

Built by Late Model Racecraft
Fastest C7 in Tri-State 10.13 @ 134mph
7/26/14 Corvette Challenge Raceway Park, E-Town, NJ
Kronix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 09:28 PM   #46
MANNYS2SS/RS

 
MANNYS2SS/RS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS,LS3
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,158
The hole has to be 7.5" X 7.5" to get the tool in. Take a look at the taped picture you can see the lines where I messured from.
__________________

LS-3, ProCharger D1SC
665. rwhp /562. rwtq @ 9.3 psi
MANNYS2SS/RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 10:07 PM   #47
PQ
Booooosted.
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Supercharged SS
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,704
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by MANNYS2SS/RS View Post
The hole has to be 7.5" X 7.5" to get the tool in. Take a look at the taped picture you can see the lines where I messured from.
Good enough. The 7.5"x7.5" is what I needed.

Thank you.

What did you cut it with?
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 10:45 PM   #48
Cpanthers85
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 2SS RS
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 457
The Eforce uses the 3 bar map, correct? I'm also going to be running a 3.5" pulley with the eforce 60# injectors...

I already have the ZL1 pump in. Hope it's enough...
__________________
2011 2SS/RS L99
2013 Cadillac ATS 2.0 AWD Replaced- 2009 Cobalt SS- SOLD!
1979 Z28

Mods: Kooks Long Tube Headers, RotoFaB EForce CAI, American Thunder Catback Exhaust, PFADT Stage 1 Drag Kit + Front Sway Bar, GM Strut Tower Bar. ZL1 Fuel Pump. Nitto NT05R. RX Catch Can.LS9 Cam and Springs.LS3 Conversion.JRE Fuel Rail Upgrade.Edelbrock Eforce.60# Eforce Injectors.Extreme Racing Tune. 523/495

MY BUILD THREAD
Cpanthers85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 11:55 PM   #49
Nessal


 
Drives: Lotus Exige
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: CA, Bay Area
Posts: 2,308
Quote:
Originally Posted by NWSleeper View Post
Do you actually have to drop the tank. Someone said that there is an access panel under the back seat that allows you to access from above without dropping the tank.

Currently I am at 505 WHP and the 52 lb injectors that came with the Maggie. I just ant to get my AFR to the high 11 maabe 12 at WOT.


The engineers at Chevy were not smart enough to do that...
Nessal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 09:12 AM   #50
MANNYS2SS/RS

 
MANNYS2SS/RS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS,LS3
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nessal View Post
The engineers at Chevy were not smart enough to do that...
They are smart... That way you have to go to the dealer and pay for all that labor.
__________________

LS-3, ProCharger D1SC
665. rwhp /562. rwtq @ 9.3 psi
MANNYS2SS/RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 09:47 AM   #51
MANNYS2SS/RS

 
MANNYS2SS/RS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS,LS3
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
Good enough. The 7.5"x7.5" is what I needed.

Thank you.

What did you cut it with?
If you think this is for you, when you decide to replace your fuel pump. I recommend having it done by a professional while the tank is out of the way. Their is not to much room between the floor and the fuel tank, fuel lines, and wires. The metal is pretty thin, so you can use any cutting tool. I used a air tool with a cutting wheel. You will only go thru the trouble once, after that anytime you need to replace your fuel pump for what ever reason it will only take minutes.
__________________

LS-3, ProCharger D1SC
665. rwhp /562. rwtq @ 9.3 psi
MANNYS2SS/RS is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.