Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Apex Paul
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > Camaro ZL1 Forum - ZL1 Specific Topics

Camaro ZL1 Forum - ZL1 Specific Topics Camaro ZL1 specific topics

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-24-2012, 08:42 PM   #1
Modern07
Mid-Florida Camaro Club
 
Modern07's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1 #2303
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Heathrow, FL
Posts: 2,935
Nav Voice Command Problems

Wondering if anyone else that has Nav in their ZL1 is having the same issue as I am.

Basically, if I try to use the voice command to add an address on the fly, it cuts straight back to the radio before giving me chance to speak, therefore meaning I can't add an address whilst driving because it won't let you type it into the unit (for safety reasons)

I say Navigation, Address, the woman then says please say the address, but before I have chance to say anything it goes off and back to the radio - really frustrating, especially when I had to pull over specifically just to add an address earlier

Anyone else with Nav got the same issue, or can test to see if they have?

Cheers
__________________
Modern07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 08:48 AM   #2
Chevrolet Customer Svc


 
Chevrolet Customer Svc's Avatar
 
Drives: GM Vehicles
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 8,656
Quote:
Originally Posted by Modern07 View Post
Wondering if anyone else that has Nav in their ZL1 is having the same issue as I am.

Basically, if I try to use the voice command to add an address on the fly, it cuts straight back to the radio before giving me chance to speak, therefore meaning I can't add an address whilst driving because it won't let you type it into the unit (for safety reasons)

I say Navigation, Address, the woman then says please say the address, but before I have chance to say anything it goes off and back to the radio - really frustrating, especially when I had to pull over specifically just to add an address earlier

Anyone else with Nav got the same issue, or can test to see if they have?

Cheers
If you would like, I can set up a case with GM customer service and then hand you off to the appropriate group that handles specific Infotainment questions. I just need your first and last name, address, phone number, VIN, mileage, and involved dealership name.

Brandon
Chevrolet Customer Service
Chevrolet Customer Svc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 06:09 AM   #3
rpepka

 
rpepka's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1 # 2195
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 965
I have the same problem. I was waiting to take her in until I have another reason.
rpepka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 08:05 AM   #4
Chevrolet Customer Svc


 
Chevrolet Customer Svc's Avatar
 
Drives: GM Vehicles
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 8,656
Quote:
Originally Posted by rpepka View Post
I have the same problem. I was waiting to take her in until I have another reason.

Please let us know when you get a diagnosis if your dealership was able to correct the concern. We are here if you have any questions at all!

Brandon
Chevrolet Customer Service
Chevrolet Customer Svc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 09:38 AM   #5
rpepka

 
rpepka's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1 # 2195
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 965
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chevrolet Customer Svc View Post
Please let us know when you get a diagnosis if your dealership was able to correct the concern. We are here if you have any questions at all!

Brandon
Chevrolet Customer Service
THANKS BRANDON!
rpepka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 04:30 PM   #6
Skylane765
Splitter washers, jack pd

 
Skylane765's Avatar
 
Drives: 13 ZL1, 14 Z/28, Cessna 182T
Join Date: May 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,704
I did a upload from onstar to the voice turn by turn. It says to cancel by hitting bottom on the car, well I hit the steering wheel button and it would never cancel NAV. I was yelling trying all kinds of voice commands. Well I was a dummy, what you hit to cancel it the Onstar on the mirror not the wheel. There are 2 voice commands one in the radio and one for onstar.

Bandon, that needs to be made clear that there is two voice commands in the ZL1
Skylane765 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 06:46 PM   #7
EVoLGRiMM
 
EVoLGRiMM's Avatar
 
Drives: Pleasure aka ZL1
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: DaLLaS, TeXaS
Posts: 81
I have the same issues. It is right when you try to say the first part of the address. It just completely cancels and go silent. Like I hit the cancel but no voice "goodbye". Weird that the 3 of us were the same TPW.
__________________
ZL1 I <3 you ....

Quote:
Originally Posted by EVoLGRiMM View Post
Now to the facts.... I am certain the 18k difference is TOTALLY worth the happiness I get when I drive/wash/see/think/dream/WOT the ZL1.
EVoLGRiMM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 07:05 PM   #8
Skylane765
Splitter washers, jack pd

 
Skylane765's Avatar
 
Drives: 13 ZL1, 14 Z/28, Cessna 182T
Join Date: May 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,704
Quote:
Originally Posted by EVoLGRiMM View Post
I have the same issues. It is right when you try to say the first part of the address. It just completely cancels and go silent. Like I hit the cancel but no voice "goodbye". Weird that the 3 of us were the same TPW.
Do you wait for the tone to sound before you talk?
Are you using onstar or the NAV system?
I have had the b!!ch in the box say there is to much back round noise GoodBy.
And to think in aircraft we are working on voice navigation, I am not a fan for it there.
Skylane765 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 08:19 PM   #9
Modern07
Mid-Florida Camaro Club
 
Modern07's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1 #2303
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Heathrow, FL
Posts: 2,935
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skylane765 View Post
Do you wait for the tone to sound before you talk?
Are you using onstar or the NAV system?
I have had the b!!ch in the box say there is to much back round noise GoodBy.
And to think in aircraft we are working on voice navigation, I am not a fan for it there.
This is with the built in Nav not the OnStar

So that's 3 of us with the same problem...wondering if anyone actually has it working or if it's an issue with the Nav period.

I've not taken it to the dealer yet, but will do at some point in the next few weeks
__________________
Modern07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 08:26 PM   #10
Skylane765
Splitter washers, jack pd

 
Skylane765's Avatar
 
Drives: 13 ZL1, 14 Z/28, Cessna 182T
Join Date: May 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,704
I will test my car tomorrow, I have NAV.
Skylane765 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 08:38 PM   #11
Modern07
Mid-Florida Camaro Club
 
Modern07's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1 #2303
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Heathrow, FL
Posts: 2,935
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skylane765 View Post
I will test my car tomorrow, I have NAV.
Let us know how you get on

Hopefully a simple software update will fix it for those of us affected
__________________
Modern07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 10:19 PM   #12
EVoLGRiMM
 
EVoLGRiMM's Avatar
 
Drives: Pleasure aka ZL1
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: DaLLaS, TeXaS
Posts: 81
No it's when trying to tell the nav option by voice command an address. It also messes up on another nav voice command. Its also very difficult to get to a POI by voice. I think it should also just beep instead of saying anything.

I hope this makes sense I'm trying not to lose my money in poker.
__________________
ZL1 I <3 you ....

Quote:
Originally Posted by EVoLGRiMM View Post
Now to the facts.... I am certain the 18k difference is TOTALLY worth the happiness I get when I drive/wash/see/think/dream/WOT the ZL1.
EVoLGRiMM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 10:30 PM   #13
Skylane765
Splitter washers, jack pd

 
Skylane765's Avatar
 
Drives: 13 ZL1, 14 Z/28, Cessna 182T
Join Date: May 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,704
Remember the NAV was on constraint, so I just got my car. Maybe it will work.
Skylane765 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 02:08 AM   #14
HashimAzzouz
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS IOM ~ 2009 Traverse LT
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Posts: 514
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chevrolet Customer Svc View Post
Please let us know when you get a diagnosis if your dealership was able to correct the concern. We are here if you have any questions at all!

Brandon
Chevrolet Customer Service
Brandon, good morning

Do these issues occur on ZL1s here in Saudi too! I'm trading in my 2011 2SS in couple of weeks with a 2013 ZL1.

As far as I know, our dealer here said it has no Nav. First time I know that the ZL1 comes with Nav reading the guys threads!

So do we have Nav here or no?

Guyswith Nav in ur ZL1 can u post pics of ur Nav screen?

Thanks
HashimAzzouz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 05:36 PM   #15
Skylane765
Splitter washers, jack pd

 
Skylane765's Avatar
 
Drives: 13 ZL1, 14 Z/28, Cessna 182T
Join Date: May 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,704
Quote:
Originally Posted by Modern07 View Post
Wondering if anyone else that has Nav in their ZL1 is having the same issue as I am.

Basically, if I try to use the voice command to add an address on the fly, it cuts straight back to the radio before giving me chance to speak, therefore meaning I can't add an address whilst driving because it won't let you type it into the unit (for safety reasons)

I say Navigation, Address, the woman then says please say the address, but before I have chance to say anything it goes off and back to the radio - really frustrating, especially when I had to pull over specifically just to add an address earlier

Anyone else with Nav got the same issue, or can test to see if they have?

Cheers
My NAV does the same thing! Soon as you start to say a address it goes to the radio.
Skylane765 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 05:22 AM   #16
rpepka

 
rpepka's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1 # 2195
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 965
It might take them a while to work this one out?
rpepka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 08:30 AM   #17
Kvapil28
 
Kvapil28's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Chevrolet Tahoe LTZ
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 453
It's not just the Camaro the voice command sucks it never works right in any of the new cars.
Kvapil28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 07:41 PM   #18
Skylane765
Splitter washers, jack pd

 
Skylane765's Avatar
 
Drives: 13 ZL1, 14 Z/28, Cessna 182T
Join Date: May 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,704
Yes, voice command is a fickle thing, so I will just wait till I hear of some fix or service bulletin.
Skylane765 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 08:03 PM   #19
Vroom
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro ZL1
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 226
I can report that I have the same problem. If you say "navigate", then do "help", then say "address", it says something like "say address blah blah" then it goes straight to radio.
__________________
  • 2013 Victory Red ZL1 - 68k+ miles. Mods: Who needs mods...its a freaking ZL1 - Last car: 2006 GTO
Vroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 12:25 PM   #20
Skylane765
Splitter washers, jack pd

 
Skylane765's Avatar
 
Drives: 13 ZL1, 14 Z/28, Cessna 182T
Join Date: May 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,704
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vroom View Post
I can report that I have the same problem. If you say "navigate", then do "help", then say "address", it says something like "say address blah blah" then it goes straight to radio.
Yes, that's why I am not taking it in. There is nothing that can be done until they find a fix for it. No big deal just use onstar it talks very good. The map ia mainly what I wanted in the NAV.
Skylane765 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 10:54 PM   #21
Vroom
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro ZL1
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 226
*UPDATE*
I went to get my various fluids changed and I was told that there was a software fix for the nav, so I got it. The update takes about 30 minutes.

I can happily report that this problem is fixed...the bad news is the address thing sucks. I couldn't for the life of me get it to navigate to the right address. I'd give it a full address and it'd just pick some random place somewhere in the country. The best I could do is get it to navigate to a specific city.
__________________
  • 2013 Victory Red ZL1 - 68k+ miles. Mods: Who needs mods...its a freaking ZL1 - Last car: 2006 GTO
Vroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 11:31 PM   #22
Skylane765
Splitter washers, jack pd

 
Skylane765's Avatar
 
Drives: 13 ZL1, 14 Z/28, Cessna 182T
Join Date: May 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,704
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chevrolet Customer Svc View Post
If you would like, I can set up a case with GM customer service and then hand you off to the appropriate group that handles specific Infotainment questions. I just need your first and last name, address, phone number, VIN, mileage, and involved dealership name.

Brandon
Chevrolet Customer Service
Been there done that, gave a video of the problem and they wanted me to take the car to the dealer, why take it to a dealer and waist my time and GM if there is no fix? Yes I will take it in if they know they have a fix. GM knows the problem and I have given a video of the problem.
Also you will see the date is never right, it is one day ahead even if you try to set it. I have given that video also.

Yes I do not want to mess with the dealer until they know they have a fix.

You will find the APP will not load a in car nav route unless the car is on. It will load a turn by turn on onstar, that is what I use anyway. I am happy just got the NAV I do not care if the voice command does not work. I have no complaints

There is no voice command that really work in any car. That is why it is not used in aircraft at this time. It is very hard to get to work.
Skylane765 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 12:59 AM   #23
Vroom
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro ZL1
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skylane765 View Post
Been there done that, gave a video of the problem and they wanted me to take the car to the dealer, why take it to a dealer and waist my time and GM if there is no fix? Yes I will take it in if they know they have a fix. GM knows the problem and I have given a video of the problem.
Also you will see the date is never right, it is one day ahead even if you try to set it. I have given that video also.

Yes I do not want to mess with the dealer until they know they have a fix.

You will find the APP will not load a in car nav route unless the car is on. It will load a turn by turn on onstar, that is what I use anyway. I am happy just got the NAV I do not care if the voice command does not work. I have no complaints

There is no voice command that really work in any car. That is why it is not used in aircraft at this time. It is very hard to get to work.
so...my post was to let you know they have a fix...
__________________
  • 2013 Victory Red ZL1 - 68k+ miles. Mods: Who needs mods...its a freaking ZL1 - Last car: 2006 GTO
Vroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 05:55 AM   #24
Jeff65SS
 
Jeff65SS's Avatar
 
Drives: 1965 Chevelle Malibu SS
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vroom View Post
so...my post was to let you know they have a fix...
Great news! Thanks for letting us know.
Jeff65SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 06:50 AM   #25
DarinU
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro ZL1
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 38
I have not had problems with the nav but my date was always one day ahead of the actual date. This update with also fix that issue. All total there are 16 updates that get loaded during this update. I tried to grab a copy but they did not have a spare thumb drive.
DarinU is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.