Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
SDPC
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V6 LLT Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-03-2016, 08:39 PM   #1
GhostOutlaw
 
Drives: Black 2011 2LT/RS
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 243
Camaro lost engine power while driving?

Story time! Would love an explanation if anyone has one!

So I'm about 2 blocks from my house driving home from work. 2011 V6 2LT RS, 83k miles. Cross over the train tracks (low speed maybe 25 mph) and all of the sudden every light on my dash lights up.

Warning: Engine Power Comprised.

WTF is this a video game? My shields are down and my engine is losing power!?!?

Service stabilitrack is also on. Traction Control and Stabilitrack are off.

I hit the gas, barely any power there. I go through the gears, make it home mostly coasting doing about 10-15 mph, pull out the laptop and check the OBD.

P0221.

A google search actually doesn't really give me much info. I kill the engine, restart it. Same thing, though.

Kill it and give it 2 minutes. Cycle the engine again and it fires up seemingly like normal. Rev it, all the power seems to be there.

Back out, take it around the block, no issues, all the lights go off. Check the laptop again, all the codes are gone and I didn't reset anything.

Anyone have an idea wtf just happened?
GhostOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2016, 09:07 PM   #2
Candr3535
 
Candr3535's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1 Triple Black Vert M6 #5591
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Galloway,NJ
Posts: 533
Check for loose connection at the battery or if you have some aftermarket stereo equipment in the trunk that could of caused a short of some kind. Just a thought
__________________
695 RWHP / 660 RWTQ @ 13.5 PSI
Dyna-Tech Headers Ceramic Coated w/Super Flo Cats, JRE Custom Rough Idle Racing Cam Package and 125 RWHP Pulley Kit w/ 28% pulley, Custom Tune by Ted, JMS Fuel Booster, NGK Plugs, MSD Plug Wires, Roto-Fab CAI, Elite Catch Can, Mild to Wild, 90mm VMaxx Ported Throttle Body, Skip Shift Elim., D3 Coolant Resevoir, Separated Clutch Resevoir, and Fuzzy Red Dice for a lil extra Horsepower .....
Candr3535 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2016, 09:18 PM   #3
clashley1976
 
clashley1976's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 2LT RS M6
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Albany, GA
Posts: 386
Do you have a VTC and/or ported throttle body? The description of the code you provided relates to "Throttle/Petal Position Sensor/Switch 'B' Circuit Range/Performance Problem." Considering that you said you had a hit a rough stretch of road right before you got the code, my first thought is that maybe there is a loose connector at the accelerator and/or throttle body harness.
__________________
-Cameron Lashley
Albany, GA
2011 Camaro 2LT/RS 3.6L M6 Summit White w/silver rally stripes
CAI intake, VTC, VMax PTB, VMax Iceolator, Apex intake scoop, Roto-Fab washer bottle relocate
Build Journal: http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=419992

.
clashley1976 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2016, 09:59 PM   #4
GhostOutlaw
 
Drives: Black 2011 2LT/RS
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 243
Bone stock, everyone! Loose connection makes sense though.
GhostOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2016, 12:04 PM   #5
Evil-Bee-NH
Impatiently waiting GM!
 
Evil-Bee-NH's Avatar
 
Drives: 2017 NGM I4 1LT Coupe
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Concord, NH
Posts: 3,112
Like your C5 Handle these cars sometimes have little ghost incidents be happy it was a passing one and didn't decide to haunt you.

On a more serious note i'd check the connections seems like the most logical cause.
__________________
2017 Nightfall Gray Metallic I4 1LT | Sunroof | Black Interior Trim | 20" Black 5-Spoke Wheels | Sto-N-Sho Plate Holder | Novistretch Car Bra | RPI Stealth Splash Guards | Rockford Fosgate Subwoofer
Evil-Bee-NH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2016, 03:22 PM   #6
redleader
redleader
 
redleader's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 V6 3.6L Auto 1LT
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 2,091
Send a message via MSN to redleader
Camaro lost engine power while driving?

i had that about 3 months ago after hard acceleration, eased off, then floored it again and it got stuck in second and stuttered and lost power.

I pulled over and turned it off for a few minutes. Powered up fine after that and no problems since.

2010 V6 1LT + a few MODs inc PTB.
24k miles.
__________________
redleader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2016, 09:21 AM   #7
GhostOutlaw
 
Drives: Black 2011 2LT/RS
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 243
Yea, Sounds like me and a more skilled mechanic friend of mine will take a closer look when it's time to do brakes and CAI.

Glad to hear it seems like it's ok that it was just a passing issue. Being less then 3 months out of warranty can be scary sometimes!
GhostOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2016, 05:22 PM   #8
Mattchew
 
Mattchew's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaro 2011 RS
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Anaheim
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostOutlaw View Post

WTF is this a video game? My shields are down and my engine is losing power!?!?
only if you have the HUD
__________________
Sometimes Rattlecan rims look good...
Mattchew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2016, 05:56 PM   #9
MD LF SS
 
MD LF SS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IOM 2SS/RS
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Houston
Posts: 51
That happened to me on the freeway and scared the crap out of me. Safely got to shoulder turned off then restarted no issues. Then about a month or two later died pulling in driveway. No power after that. Main cable to battery on bottom of fuse box had come loose


Sent from my AGM 2013 SS/RS
MD LF SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2016, 01:49 PM   #10
GhostOutlaw
 
Drives: Black 2011 2LT/RS
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 243
Wow!

Will check battery cables! Thanks!
GhostOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2016, 07:24 AM   #11
GhostOutlaw
 
Drives: Black 2011 2LT/RS
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 243
Update to this!

So apparently it is something with the throttle or the throttle position sensor. Connections have been checked, everything is good. Going to try and replace the sensor and see if it goes away.
GhostOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.