Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Rick@Livernois
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-14-2012, 05:52 PM   #15
Jeffm
ICANHAZ
 
Jeffm's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 CRT 1SS/RS
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Skiatook, Ok
Posts: 983
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sales @ CAI Inc View Post
I am assuming by "older model" you mean a used one or one before the design change (which happened about 8 weeks ago). That being said you have 3 options:

1. Figure out how to re-route your battery ground cable by-passing the box (we have never done this firsthand but was told it is fairly easy)

2. Create a small notch in the box for the ground cable to travel through. This could be done fairly easily by use of a Drill, Dremel, file, or any metal cutting device. The grrove it needs is not large, so it should be relatively easy to create.

3. Sell that system and buy a new one that has the design change. (Everything that CAI has on the shelf is new design, if purchasing through a dealer you may want to confirm that in case they have old stock sitting on their shelf.

I hope this info helps! Thanks for choosing CAI Inc.!
Can i get a big pic of the part that needs to be cut so i can show it to my guy that does that?
Jeffm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 06:55 AM   #16
Sales @ CAI Inc



 
Sales @ CAI Inc's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS/RS Supercharged 427 Build
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 4,798
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricamaro View Post
Hello CAI Bill;

Any retrofit option forthcoming that will allow a '10 LS3 unit to be used in a '13 ZL1 LSA?
We should have our ZL1 system wrapped up very soon. Once we do we can look at an upgrade option, similiar to our other S/C upgrade system. Until the design is finished I can't be sure.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffm View Post
Can i get a big pic of the part that needs to be cut so i can show it to my guy that does that?
Look at the 2 pics in my original thread above, there is a picture showing the notch from each side. You could even get it made a little smaller and still have it fit.
Sales @ CAI Inc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 11:25 PM   #17
Mgizzle

 
Mgizzle's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro 1LE 1SS
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Detroit
Posts: 866
Do you offer your systems with a dry cone filter? I have used oiled filters before on other cars and had nothing but bad luck. I hate "recharging" a filter because you never know if you have too little oil or too much.

How bad would the flow be reduced going to a dry type cone filter?
__________________
I work for General Motors and am not an official spokes person for General Motors. My views and opinions are my own and not those of General Motors.
Mgizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 12:57 PM   #18
Sales @ CAI Inc



 
Sales @ CAI Inc's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS/RS Supercharged 427 Build
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 4,798
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mgizzle View Post
Do you offer your systems with a dry cone filter? I have used oiled filters before on other cars and had nothing but bad luck. I hate "recharging" a filter because you never know if you have too little oil or too much.

How bad would the flow be reduced going to a dry type cone filter?
We do not offer dry filters nor have we testet our specific filter in a dry filter media. If you don't like to recharge the filter you don't need to, our filter comes pre-oiled and we offer replacement filters and you will still get around 25k miles or so out of it before having to replace it. It's not just about the fact that it is oiled, it is about the fact that our filters have unique design elemts as shown in the video above and have been custom engineered around our CAI and your engine. We sell about 3k oiled filters every year and have never had a single issue. Hopefully that helps.
Sales @ CAI Inc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 01:27 PM   #19
GEEKFREEKSCOTTY
Autoboticus Roboticus
 
GEEKFREEKSCOTTY's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 1,293
It's WORTH IT to get the scoop and washer bottle relocation kit. Don't cheat yourself, just do it.

Chase at Apex did an awesome job of hooking me up with a great deal on the package.

Love my CAI!
__________________
GEEKFREEKSCOTTY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 10:30 AM   #20
Rornls3
 
Drives: 2010 RJTC 2SS RS/SS LS3
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 165
Thumbs up

Great product! I was amazed at the quality of the product the minute I opened the box. It's not the same quality as 15 years ago with intakes and smooth intake lids for LS1s - hahaha! No cheap plastic or anything flimsy. It is worth every penny in function and form. Awesome job CAI Inc.
__________________
Rornls3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 10:40 AM   #21
MrWray
SYBIL
 
MrWray's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 2SS/RS, silver ice metallic
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,444
mine will be in tomorrow, as soon as i get home from work it will be going on along with the apex air scoop, cant wait!!
__________________
MrWray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 11:12 AM   #22
Sales @ CAI Inc



 
Sales @ CAI Inc's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS/RS Supercharged 427 Build
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 4,798
Quote:
Originally Posted by JEEPFREEKSCOTTY View Post
It's WORTH IT to get the scoop and washer bottle relocation kit. Don't cheat yourself, just do it.

Chase at Apex did an awesome job of hooking me up with a great deal on the package.

Love my CAI!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rornls3 View Post
Great product! I was amazed at the quality of the product the minute I opened the box. It's not the same quality as 15 years ago with intakes and smooth intake lids for LS1s - hahaha! No cheap plastic or anything flimsy. It is worth every penny in function and form. Awesome job CAI Inc.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrWray View Post
mine will be in tomorrow, as soon as i get home from work it will be going on along with the apex air scoop, cant wait!!
Thank you! We really appreciate your support and are glad that you are so happy with your Cold Air Intake kits from Cold Air Inductions Inc.!
Sales @ CAI Inc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 12:43 PM   #23
Jeffm
ICANHAZ
 
Jeffm's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 CRT 1SS/RS
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Skiatook, Ok
Posts: 983
the top right hand part of the housing i had to bend all the way in so that it would fit into the bay and over the screw. the rubber part along the edge of the lid i had to remove so that it would fit on top of the housing. worst fitting thing i have ever dealt with the little indention part for the grounding cable wasnt even an issue. IM wondering if the guy who sold me this thing sold me a v-6 unit and not a v8 unit.
Jeffm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 12:45 PM   #24
Silver-SS
 
Drives: 2012 2SS RS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Orlando
Posts: 231
I'd like to add 2 things. I have your CAI with a scoop and we relocate and think its great. Top notch quality and easy to install. My other statement concerns your thermal image. I use it for work and something I was and probably others might be surprised to find out is that thermal imaging can't see through objects that are clear like glass or plexi. Makes sense once you think about it, but it reads the surface temp of the plexi/glass. So how are you reading the temp of the inside of the intake with the top on in that pic? Just a question I always wanted to ask when I see that pic. Thanks.
Silver-SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 01:03 PM   #25
Sales @ CAI Inc



 
Sales @ CAI Inc's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS/RS Supercharged 427 Build
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 4,798
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffm View Post
the top right hand part of the housing i had to bend all the way in so that it would fit into the bay and over the screw. the rubber part along the edge of the lid i had to remove so that it would fit on top of the housing. worst fitting thing i have ever dealt with the little indention part for the grounding cable wasnt even an issue. IM wondering if the guy who sold me this thing sold me a v-6 unit and not a v8 unit.
The box and lid fitment should be identical for the V6 or V8. When we ship the unit out the lid is attached to the CAI box, meaning that our box and lid align with eachother correctly. If you bought your system used there is a chance that something was bent a bit causing the fasteners to not line up properly. Also sometime the edge trim that wraps the engine bay of the vehicle is pushed to far up along the driver side making it to where the lid can not fit properly into the groove on the inner fender well, causing it to not align properly with the airbox.

Nothing should ever need to be modified on our CAI for proper fitment. We sell thousands upon thousands of Camaro CAI's every year and have never had one that will not fit properly when installed correctly. There are some troubleshooting and installation techniques as well as some images that can be supplied from our customer support which always solves the problem. The problem is that before people call us and get the help they need to install it easily and properly, people assume something is wrong with the CAI and start changin it or forcing it which causes things to bend and not align properly.

I am not saying that you did this, but maybe the person before you did. Regardless, our systems will always fit correctly because they are made to the identical spec, so if one didn't fit then none of them would fit. If you want some assistance in getting it installed properly give us a call next week after the Holiday and we can take care of you!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Silver-SS View Post
I'd like to add 2 things. I have your CAI with a scoop and we relocate and think its great. Top notch quality and easy to install. My other statement concerns your thermal image. I use it for work and something I was and probably others might be surprised to find out is that thermal imaging can't see through objects that are clear like glass or plexi. Makes sense once you think about it, but it reads the surface temp of the plexi/glass. So how are you reading the temp of the inside of the intake with the top on in that pic? Just a question I always wanted to ask when I see that pic. Thanks.
I would have to ask the engineer to be sure, I was not there and the specific picture you are referring to is quite old! I am 99% sure that they had everything closed up and running with the glass on top of the lid rather than the normal bottom placement, opened up the hood, removed the glass, and did the thermal imaging. I will try and verify that for you next week, we are on a limited time schedule this week due to the holiday. Hopefully that helps!
Sales @ CAI Inc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 02:48 PM   #26
Silver-SS
 
Drives: 2012 2SS RS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Orlando
Posts: 231
Makes sense to me. Thanks for the explanation, always wanted to ask but never remember unless I see the pic.
Silver-SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 03:05 PM   #27
Berzek
 
Drives: Black 2011 2SS Camaro
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
Posts: 28
Bill, great post. I also lovemy CAI.

Can you comment on the scoop some of your vendors crosssell with the CAI? I actually bought the combo but was afraid to install the scoop. Was worried about water coming in the intake.
Berzek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 05:27 PM   #28
MrWray
SYBIL
 
MrWray's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 2SS/RS, silver ice metallic
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,444
Name:  uploadfromtaptalk1353367434187.jpg
Views: 775
Size:  57.6 KB

i just got inside the house from installing my CAI, ran out of daylight so i didnt install the apex scoop yet. i took her down the road and she screams! whenever you are sitting still and you just give the gas pedal a quick press there is a puffing noise, is that normal?
__________________
MrWray is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.