Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
HAVOC
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > Camaro ZL1 Forum - ZL1 Specific Topics > ZL1 Wheels/Tires

ZL1 Wheels/Tires Wheels and tires discussion for ZL1

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-10-2012, 05:20 PM   #1
ZL1 TIBS
 
ZL1 TIBS's Avatar
 
Drives: 1968 Camaro, 2012 ZL1
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Aston, PA
Posts: 235
Winter tires and wheels

Well, I swapped over to my winter tires and wheels today and got a very pleasant surprise. FIrst for the background. I made a deal for a set of stock SS wheels shortly before taking delivery of the ZL-1. I fully expected that I would have to get the TPMS reset when I changed over to those wheels. Well I mounted them today with my General G Max tires and the computer automaticaly recognized the sensors in the tires and read the pressures. What a difference to have all season tires in the cold weather. The OEM tires are like hockey pucks when they are cold.
__________________
Alan Tibbetts
Aston, PA
1968 Chevrolet Camaro getting an LS-1/T56 transplant
2012 CRT 6 SP ZL-1
ZL1 TIBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 05:39 PM   #2
RobZL1580
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro ZL1
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: PA
Posts: 62
Would you please post pictures of the way your car looks with the SS wheels and also what size tires did you go with in the front and rear thank you
RobZL1580 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 06:50 PM   #3
ZL1 TIBS
 
ZL1 TIBS's Avatar
 
Drives: 1968 Camaro, 2012 ZL1
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Aston, PA
Posts: 235
I'll try to do that soon. I went with the stock SS sizes.
__________________
Alan Tibbetts
Aston, PA
1968 Chevrolet Camaro getting an LS-1/T56 transplant
2012 CRT 6 SP ZL-1
ZL1 TIBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 06:53 PM   #4
ckaram

 
ckaram's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS RS, 1968 ragtop
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,625
That surprises me. When I put my spare SS winter wheels with TPMS on my car, I had to use the $50 tool to re-set the sensors during the learn process. Mine's a late 2011.

Check again tomorrow or next time you drive it to be sure it's still not showing the previous tire pressure (that's what mine did before it error'd out).
__________________
1968 Camaro convertible, LS1 & T56, Texas Speed 228R cam, 3.42 posi, 17" Torque Thrusts
2011 2SS/RS, LS3, M6, IOM in and out, factory Hurst short throw, GMPP axleback exhaust
ckaram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 09:41 AM   #5
Deke736
COTW 12/3/12
 
Deke736's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Ashen Gray ZL1
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Glen Carbon, IL
Posts: 3,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckaram View Post
That surprises me. When I put my spare SS winter wheels with TPMS on my car, I had to use the $50 tool to re-set the sensors during the learn process. Mine's a late 2011.

Check again tomorrow or next time you drive it to be sure it's still not showing the previous tire pressure (that's what mine did before it error'd out).
I agree with this! I think your car is still showing the old pressure from your original wheels. I know when I put my drag radials on it will show pressure in them even without TPMS until I run them for a while. Then I will get the error.

Also, you don't need a tool to reset the TPMS. There is a relearn procedure that you can Google that involves letting air out and adding it back in to reset the sensors.
__________________
Deke736 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 10:43 AM   #6
HDRDTD


 
Drives: 2013 Triple Black ZL1 Vert M6 ECF
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Trenton, Michigan
Posts: 4,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deke736 View Post
I agree with this! I think your car is still showing the old pressure from your original wheels. I know when I put my drag radials on it will show pressure in them even without TPMS until I run them for a while. Then I will get the error.

Also, you don't need a tool to reset the TPMS. There is a relearn procedure that you can Google that involves letting air out and adding it back in to reset the sensors.
The reset procedure changed in 2011, From 2011 on, you'll need to take it to the dealer, and they'll just use a hand-held gadget to re-cal the TPM sensors. It only takes about 5min, and my dealer does it for free any time I change my wheels.
HDRDTD is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 03:40 PM   #7
ZL1 TIBS
 
ZL1 TIBS's Avatar
 
Drives: 1968 Camaro, 2012 ZL1
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Aston, PA
Posts: 235
I was wondering about whether it didn't reset yet. I guess I'll find out soon.
__________________
Alan Tibbetts
Aston, PA
1968 Chevrolet Camaro getting an LS-1/T56 transplant
2012 CRT 6 SP ZL-1
ZL1 TIBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 07:09 PM   #8
HDRDTD


 
Drives: 2013 Triple Black ZL1 Vert M6 ECF
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Trenton, Michigan
Posts: 4,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZL1 TIBS View Post
I was wondering about whether it didn't reset yet. I guess I'll find out soon.
I just changed my wheels/tires and I had to drive more than 10 miles before th eTPM error came up on the DIC.
HDRDTD is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 07:21 PM   #9
Deke736
COTW 12/3/12
 
Deke736's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Ashen Gray ZL1
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Glen Carbon, IL
Posts: 3,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDRDTD View Post
The reset procedure changed in 2011, From 2011 on, you'll need to take it to the dealer, and they'll just use a hand-held gadget to re-cal the TPM sensors. It only takes about 5min, and my dealer does it for free any time I change my wheels.
Thanks. I did not know that. I guess I'll be making that trip here soon when I switch to my winter wheels and tires.
__________________
Deke736 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 07:47 PM   #10
knitetrain05
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro SS 45th Anniversary Edi
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Rochester, New York
Posts: 526
Are you saying you have a ZL-1 your going to drive this winter?
knitetrain05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 07:54 PM   #11
HDRDTD


 
Drives: 2013 Triple Black ZL1 Vert M6 ECF
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Trenton, Michigan
Posts: 4,053
I just installed the American Racing Torque Thrust wheels/tires I had on the 2011 2SS/RS Vert that I traded in for a 2013 ZL1 Vert.

The Torque Thrusts were 20x8.5 with 245/45R20 P0's on the front, and 20x10 with 275/40R20 P0's on the rear.

With stock wheels/tires
Name:  DSC_1130 (Large).jpg
Views: 805
Size:  164.1 KB

View down the right side of the car with the stock wheels/tires
Name:  DSC_1132 (Large).JPG
Views: 766
Size:  136.5 KB

Comparision of the front tires
Name:  DSC_1138 (Large).jpg
Views: 885
Size:  173.4 KB

rear brake clearance with stock ZL1 wheel
Name:  DSC_1141 (Large).jpg
Views: 764
Size:  70.1 KB

Comparision of the rear tires
Name:  DSC_1142 (Large).JPG
Views: 768
Size:  153.0 KB

rear brake clearance with Torque Thrust wheel
Name:  DSC_1148 (Large).jpg
Views: 856
Size:  82.8 KB

With Torque Thrust wheels/tires
Name:  DSC_1149 (Large).jpg
Views: 1274
Size:  169.2 KB

View down the right side with the Torque Thrust wheels/tires
Name:  DSC_1150 (Large).JPG
Views: 786
Size:  147.5 KB
HDRDTD is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 08:46 AM   #12
grimmace
 
Drives: 2012 ZL1
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: new york
Posts: 109
is this the right tool for the ZL1 to reset the sensors yourself?

https://gmspecialservicetools.spx.co...s.aspx?id=5677
grimmace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 10:38 AM   #13
HDRDTD


 
Drives: 2013 Triple Black ZL1 Vert M6 ECF
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Trenton, Michigan
Posts: 4,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by grimmace View Post
is this the right tool for the ZL1 to reset the sensors yourself?

https://gmspecialservicetools.spx.co...s.aspx?id=5677
Good question. When I bought my 2011 2SS/RS Vert and changed the wheels/tires, I went to the dealer to have them re-learn the sensors. When I found out you had to have a special hand-held gadget to do it, I told the service advisor I'd be willing to buy one so I could do it myself in the future.
He pointed out that the gadget theyhad at the time to do it cost around $600, but GM was working on a smaller version that would probably be in the $50 range.

Maybe this gadget is what he was referring to.

If I can remember, the next time I'm at the dealer I'll ask about this gadget.
HDRDTD is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 04:52 PM   #14
c4maroboy
[HOONIGAN]
 
c4maroboy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 ZL1 #1848[The HOONIGAN MOBILE]
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 640
winter tires you say?? i drove my car with the stock supercars on..it was 30 degrees in the morning..didnt have any problems
__________________
2012 ZL1 BLack M6 ECF
c4maroboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 06:22 PM   #15
ckaram

 
ckaram's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS RS, 1968 ragtop
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,625
Quote:
Originally Posted by grimmace View Post
is this the right tool for the ZL1 to reset the sensors yourself?

https://gmspecialservicetools.spx.co...s.aspx?id=5677
That's the one!
__________________
1968 Camaro convertible, LS1 & T56, Texas Speed 228R cam, 3.42 posi, 17" Torque Thrusts
2011 2SS/RS, LS3, M6, IOM in and out, factory Hurst short throw, GMPP axleback exhaust
ckaram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 06:29 PM   #16
HDRDTD


 
Drives: 2013 Triple Black ZL1 Vert M6 ECF
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Trenton, Michigan
Posts: 4,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckaram View Post
That's the one!
Just checked at the local dealer, and yes that is the exact one the service dept uses.
I had them order me one.
HDRDTD is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 06:30 PM   #17
HDRDTD


 
Drives: 2013 Triple Black ZL1 Vert M6 ECF
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Trenton, Michigan
Posts: 4,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by c4maroboy View Post
winter tires you say?? i drove my car with the stock supercars on..it was 30 degrees in the morning..didnt have any problems
Goodyear recommends you don.t even store them at less than 20 degrees f.
I just took my off to store them in the basement for the winter.
HDRDTD is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 07:13 AM   #18
ZL1 TIBS
 
ZL1 TIBS's Avatar
 
Drives: 1968 Camaro, 2012 ZL1
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Aston, PA
Posts: 235
You guys were right. TPMS error went on last night. Time to go to the dealer or buy that tool.
__________________
Alan Tibbetts
Aston, PA
1968 Chevrolet Camaro getting an LS-1/T56 transplant
2012 CRT 6 SP ZL-1
ZL1 TIBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 08:58 AM   #19
HDRDTD


 
Drives: 2013 Triple Black ZL1 Vert M6 ECF
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Trenton, Michigan
Posts: 4,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZL1 TIBS View Post
You guys were right. TPMS error went on last night. Time to go to the dealer or buy that tool.
My dealer does it for free and it only takes 5 min.
HDRDTD is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 09:06 AM   #20
ZL1 TIBS
 
ZL1 TIBS's Avatar
 
Drives: 1968 Camaro, 2012 ZL1
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Aston, PA
Posts: 235
I called the dealer. My car club president is parts manager and they still want to charge me $17, so I am buying the tool. I may start doing it for other people and turn a profit.
__________________
Alan Tibbetts
Aston, PA
1968 Chevrolet Camaro getting an LS-1/T56 transplant
2012 CRT 6 SP ZL-1
ZL1 TIBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 06:28 PM   #21
c4maroboy
[HOONIGAN]
 
c4maroboy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 ZL1 #1848[The HOONIGAN MOBILE]
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 640
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDRDTD View Post
Goodyear recommends you don.t even store them at less than 20 degrees f.
I just took my off to store them in the basement for the winter.
Im just kidding man haha sarcasm was implied
__________________
2012 ZL1 BLack M6 ECF
c4maroboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 06:39 PM   #22
HDRDTD


 
Drives: 2013 Triple Black ZL1 Vert M6 ECF
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Trenton, Michigan
Posts: 4,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by c4maroboy View Post
Im just kidding man haha sarcasm was implied
HDRDTD is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 06:40 AM   #23
ZL1 TIBS
 
ZL1 TIBS's Avatar
 
Drives: 1968 Camaro, 2012 ZL1
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Aston, PA
Posts: 235
Received my tool last night and reset all the TPMS'. I had a little trouble becase I didn't realize you had to hold the Set button on the stalk to get it into TPMS relearn mode. After that it was a snap.
__________________
Alan Tibbetts
Aston, PA
1968 Chevrolet Camaro getting an LS-1/T56 transplant
2012 CRT 6 SP ZL-1
ZL1 TIBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 11:33 AM   #24
ckaram

 
ckaram's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS RS, 1968 ragtop
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,625
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZL1 TIBS View Post
Received my tool last night and reset all the TPMS'. I had a little trouble becase I didn't realize you had to hold the Set button on the stalk to get it into TPMS relearn mode. After that it was a snap.
Glad to hear. I see you also have a '68 (me too).

If you drive the Z when it snows, please post pics!
__________________
1968 Camaro convertible, LS1 & T56, Texas Speed 228R cam, 3.42 posi, 17" Torque Thrusts
2011 2SS/RS, LS3, M6, IOM in and out, factory Hurst short throw, GMPP axleback exhaust
ckaram is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.