Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Anthony @ LG Motorsports
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-24-2012, 01:28 PM   #1
ss/rs-matt

 
ss/rs-matt's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, Ca
Posts: 1,718
Measure boost in SCT data log?

Is there a way to calculate boost from the SCT data log?
__________________
"Want to know whats cooler than your murdered out Honda Civic? ...Any Audi." Daniel Tosh

ss/rs-matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 06:30 PM   #2
2SSCAMARO

 
2SSCAMARO's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro Auto
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fl
Posts: 1,161
logging boost

Just include the "MAP" pid in your log. It will log in Kpa. If you want to convert it to PSI, multiply the Kpa times .145 and subtract 14.7 and that result will be your "boost" in PSI.
2SSCAMARO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 07:12 PM   #3
ss/rs-matt

 
ss/rs-matt's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, Ca
Posts: 1,718
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2SSCAMARO View Post
Just include the "MAP" pid in your log. It will log in Kpa. If you want to convert it to PSI, multiply the Kpa times .145 and subtract 14.7 and that result will be your "boost" in PSI.
Awesome...thank you!
__________________
"Want to know whats cooler than your murdered out Honda Civic? ...Any Audi." Daniel Tosh

ss/rs-matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 07:31 PM   #4
ss/rs-matt

 
ss/rs-matt's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, Ca
Posts: 1,718
I logged "intake manifold absolute pressure" in SCT LiveLink data log. At full throttle I logged 61. Which works out to be -5.8. That can't be right. I have the ZR1 map sensor, does that change the equation?
__________________
"Want to know whats cooler than your murdered out Honda Civic? ...Any Audi." Daniel Tosh

ss/rs-matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 08:12 AM   #5
2SSCAMARO

 
2SSCAMARO's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro Auto
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fl
Posts: 1,161
I do not believe the ZR-1 map sensor is the problem. The pid you selected is more than likely not correct for your vehicle. Make sure you have the latest SCT Device Updater updates and the latest Live-Link updates. Plug your device into the car and choose the option to create a data log configuration file. Go down the list of pids that can be verified for your vehicle. You may find that the pids for MAP are listed more than one time and not all of them will work on your vehicle. By trial and error, you need to find the MAP pid that will work on your vehicle, then you'll be good to go.
2SSCAMARO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 11:58 AM   #6
ss/rs-matt

 
ss/rs-matt's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, Ca
Posts: 1,718
I have all the latest updates and I'm running LiveLink gen 2. I'll go through all the PID's again just to be sure I didn't miss one.
__________________
"Want to know whats cooler than your murdered out Honda Civic? ...Any Audi." Daniel Tosh

ss/rs-matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 12:29 PM   #7
2SSCAMARO

 
2SSCAMARO's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro Auto
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fl
Posts: 1,161
If you connect the device to your laptop and to your car to choose validated pids, you should find a manifold pressure pid that is labeled "map". I think the one you chose that was labeled "intake manifold absolute pressure" is causing the inaccurate data analysis. Keep us posted. Good luck.
2SSCAMARO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 05:29 PM   #8
ss/rs-matt

 
ss/rs-matt's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, Ca
Posts: 1,718
That's it. That's the one. I opened up the pid list "intake manifold absolute pressure" is "MAP". I'm thinkin the 3 bar zr1 sensor is throwing off the equation. If I multiply 61 times 3 I get 183. 183 times .145 equals 26.5 minus 14.7 comes out to 11.83. Could I have almost 12psi of boost?? It's a Maggie with only a 3.4 pulley.
__________________
"Want to know whats cooler than your murdered out Honda Civic? ...Any Audi." Daniel Tosh

ss/rs-matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 06:41 PM   #9
2SSCAMARO

 
2SSCAMARO's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro Auto
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fl
Posts: 1,161
Did you view the pid list while connected to a lap top and the OBD port and select to view only validated pids? It's been a while since I have had the need to create a new data log configuration file but I believe I viewed more than one map pid. Tomorrow I'll connect mine up and take a look. Regarding the map sensor, I run a ZR-1 sensor with a 2300 maggie with a 3.6 pulley. For reference, my SCT logs show about 151Kpa at WOT which is about 7psi. If you have selected a "validated" MAP pid and still are not able to log accurate data, you're probably going to have to contact the techs at SCT. The only time I log using a lap top is when I track the car and have the need to log and save multiple logs. On a very frequent basis, I log using the handheld only and if I want to keep the log, I download it to my desk top when I get home. Have you tried logging both ways....handheld only and "pass through" using a lap top?
2SSCAMARO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 06:50 PM   #10
Jayrcr3

 
Jayrcr3's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 IOM 2SS/RS
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Chatham, Illinois
Posts: 757
Is this a new ZR1 sensor install? If it is you have to make adjustments to the tune for proper function.

Linear 312.50
Offset. -11.25


Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 2
__________________
American Racing 1 7/8" Headers and Hi-Flow Cats, CAI cold air intake, Flowmaster AT exhaust, Vengeance Racing Stage 2 cam, VMax ported throttle body, TEA valve springs and titanium retainers, Trick Flow hardened pushrods, 180* T-stat, Comp Trunion kit, ZL1 Fuel Pump, ADM Fuel Pump Control Module, 20% window tint, Whipple Supercharger. Tuned by Mike Norris Motorsports. 656rwhp/584rwtq @10 PSI.
Jayrcr3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 07:01 PM   #11
ss/rs-matt

 
ss/rs-matt's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, Ca
Posts: 1,718
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2SSCAMARO View Post
Did you view the pid list while connected to a lap top and the OBD port and select to view only validated pids? It's been a while since I have had the need to create a new data log configuration file but I believe I viewed more than one map pid. Tomorrow I'll connect mine up and take a look. Regarding the map sensor, I run a ZR-1 sensor with a 2300 maggie with a 3.6 pulley. For reference, my SCT logs show about 151Kpa at WOT which is about 7psi. If you have selected a "validated" MAP pid and still are not able to log accurate data, you're probably going to have to contact the techs at SCT. The only time I log using a lap top is when I track the car and have the need to log and save multiple logs. On a very frequent basis, I log using the handheld only and if I want to keep the log, I download it to my desk top when I get home. Have you tried logging both ways....handheld only and "pass through" using a lap top?
I am logging with the my laptop, the SCT is just being used as a pass through. The LiveLink gen 2 works much better then the old one. You can only check validated pid's when building a configuration file.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jayrcr3 View Post
Is this a new ZR1 sensor install? If it is you have to make adjustments to the tune for proper function.

Linear 312.50
Offset. -11.25


Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 2
Well Ted at JRE is doing my tune via email so I would think he knows to do that. Ill ask him though.
__________________
"Want to know whats cooler than your murdered out Honda Civic? ...Any Audi." Daniel Tosh

ss/rs-matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 07:23 PM   #12
2SSCAMARO

 
2SSCAMARO's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro Auto
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fl
Posts: 1,161
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss/rs-matt View Post
I am logging with the my laptop, the SCT is just being used as a pass through. The LiveLink gen 2 works much better then the old one. You can only check validated pid's when building a configuration file.



Well Ted at JRE is doing my tune via email so I would think he knows to do that. Ill ask him though.
What I was asking is, did you have the device connected to the car with the engine runing when you created your configuration file and selected the pids or did you choose generic pids from the LiveLink program while the device was not connected to the vehicle? If you did the latter, then the "generic" non-validated MAP pid could still be the problem.
2SSCAMARO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 09:20 PM   #13
Jayrcr3

 
Jayrcr3's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 IOM 2SS/RS
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Chatham, Illinois
Posts: 757
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss/rs-matt View Post
Well Ted at JRE is doing my tune via email so I would think he knows to do that. Ill ask him though.
Your good then. Just checking. Sometimes it's the easy stuff that gets ya.

Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 2
__________________
American Racing 1 7/8" Headers and Hi-Flow Cats, CAI cold air intake, Flowmaster AT exhaust, Vengeance Racing Stage 2 cam, VMax ported throttle body, TEA valve springs and titanium retainers, Trick Flow hardened pushrods, 180* T-stat, Comp Trunion kit, ZL1 Fuel Pump, ADM Fuel Pump Control Module, 20% window tint, Whipple Supercharger. Tuned by Mike Norris Motorsports. 656rwhp/584rwtq @10 PSI.
Jayrcr3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 11:42 PM   #14
ss/rs-matt

 
ss/rs-matt's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, Ca
Posts: 1,718
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2SSCAMARO View Post
What I was asking is, did you have the device connected to the car with the engine runing when you created your configuration file and selected the pids or did you choose generic pids from the LiveLink program while the device was not connected to the vehicle? If you did the latter, then the "generic" non-validated MAP pid could still be the problem.
Yes, I think so but now you got me second guessing myself. lol. I'll verify again. Thanks for your help.
__________________
"Want to know whats cooler than your murdered out Honda Civic? ...Any Audi." Daniel Tosh

ss/rs-matt is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.