Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
PFYC
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission

Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission Tune and diagnostics for engines and auto transmission.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-24-2012, 12:28 PM   #1
ss/rs-matt

 
ss/rs-matt's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, Ca
Posts: 1,691
Measure boost in SCT data log?

Is there a way to calculate boost from the SCT data log?
__________________
"Want to know whats cooler than your murdered out Honda Civic? ...Any Audi." Daniel Tosh

ss/rs-matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 05:30 PM   #2
2SSCAMARO

 
2SSCAMARO's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro Auto
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fl
Posts: 781
logging boost

Just include the "MAP" pid in your log. It will log in Kpa. If you want to convert it to PSI, multiply the Kpa times .145 and subtract 14.7 and that result will be your "boost" in PSI.
2SSCAMARO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 06:12 PM   #3
ss/rs-matt

 
ss/rs-matt's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, Ca
Posts: 1,691
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2SSCAMARO View Post
Just include the "MAP" pid in your log. It will log in Kpa. If you want to convert it to PSI, multiply the Kpa times .145 and subtract 14.7 and that result will be your "boost" in PSI.
Awesome...thank you!
__________________
"Want to know whats cooler than your murdered out Honda Civic? ...Any Audi." Daniel Tosh

ss/rs-matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 06:31 PM   #4
ss/rs-matt

 
ss/rs-matt's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, Ca
Posts: 1,691
I logged "intake manifold absolute pressure" in SCT LiveLink data log. At full throttle I logged 61. Which works out to be -5.8. That can't be right. I have the ZR1 map sensor, does that change the equation?
__________________
"Want to know whats cooler than your murdered out Honda Civic? ...Any Audi." Daniel Tosh

ss/rs-matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 07:12 AM   #5
2SSCAMARO

 
2SSCAMARO's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro Auto
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fl
Posts: 781
I do not believe the ZR-1 map sensor is the problem. The pid you selected is more than likely not correct for your vehicle. Make sure you have the latest SCT Device Updater updates and the latest Live-Link updates. Plug your device into the car and choose the option to create a data log configuration file. Go down the list of pids that can be verified for your vehicle. You may find that the pids for MAP are listed more than one time and not all of them will work on your vehicle. By trial and error, you need to find the MAP pid that will work on your vehicle, then you'll be good to go.
2SSCAMARO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 10:58 AM   #6
ss/rs-matt

 
ss/rs-matt's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, Ca
Posts: 1,691
I have all the latest updates and I'm running LiveLink gen 2. I'll go through all the PID's again just to be sure I didn't miss one.
__________________
"Want to know whats cooler than your murdered out Honda Civic? ...Any Audi." Daniel Tosh

ss/rs-matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 11:29 AM   #7
2SSCAMARO

 
2SSCAMARO's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro Auto
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fl
Posts: 781
If you connect the device to your laptop and to your car to choose validated pids, you should find a manifold pressure pid that is labeled "map". I think the one you chose that was labeled "intake manifold absolute pressure" is causing the inaccurate data analysis. Keep us posted. Good luck.
2SSCAMARO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 04:29 PM   #8
ss/rs-matt

 
ss/rs-matt's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, Ca
Posts: 1,691
That's it. That's the one. I opened up the pid list "intake manifold absolute pressure" is "MAP". I'm thinkin the 3 bar zr1 sensor is throwing off the equation. If I multiply 61 times 3 I get 183. 183 times .145 equals 26.5 minus 14.7 comes out to 11.83. Could I have almost 12psi of boost?? It's a Maggie with only a 3.4 pulley.
__________________
"Want to know whats cooler than your murdered out Honda Civic? ...Any Audi." Daniel Tosh

ss/rs-matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 05:41 PM   #9
2SSCAMARO

 
2SSCAMARO's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro Auto
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fl
Posts: 781
Did you view the pid list while connected to a lap top and the OBD port and select to view only validated pids? It's been a while since I have had the need to create a new data log configuration file but I believe I viewed more than one map pid. Tomorrow I'll connect mine up and take a look. Regarding the map sensor, I run a ZR-1 sensor with a 2300 maggie with a 3.6 pulley. For reference, my SCT logs show about 151Kpa at WOT which is about 7psi. If you have selected a "validated" MAP pid and still are not able to log accurate data, you're probably going to have to contact the techs at SCT. The only time I log using a lap top is when I track the car and have the need to log and save multiple logs. On a very frequent basis, I log using the handheld only and if I want to keep the log, I download it to my desk top when I get home. Have you tried logging both ways....handheld only and "pass through" using a lap top?
2SSCAMARO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 05:50 PM   #10
Jayrcr3

 
Jayrcr3's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 IOM 2SS/RS
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Chatham, Illinois
Posts: 752
Is this a new ZR1 sensor install? If it is you have to make adjustments to the tune for proper function.

Linear 312.50
Offset. -11.25


Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 2
__________________
American Racing 1 7/8" Headers and Hi-Flow Cats, CAI cold air intake, Flowmaster AT exhaust, Vengeance Racing Stage 2 cam, VMax ported throttle body, TEA valve springs and titanium retainers, Trick Flow hardened pushrods, 180* T-stat, Comp Trunion kit, ZL1 Fuel Pump, ADM Fuel Pump Control Module, 20% window tint, Whipple Supercharger. Tuned by Mike Norris Motorsports. 656rwhp/584rwtq @10 PSI.
Jayrcr3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 06:01 PM   #11
ss/rs-matt

 
ss/rs-matt's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, Ca
Posts: 1,691
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2SSCAMARO View Post
Did you view the pid list while connected to a lap top and the OBD port and select to view only validated pids? It's been a while since I have had the need to create a new data log configuration file but I believe I viewed more than one map pid. Tomorrow I'll connect mine up and take a look. Regarding the map sensor, I run a ZR-1 sensor with a 2300 maggie with a 3.6 pulley. For reference, my SCT logs show about 151Kpa at WOT which is about 7psi. If you have selected a "validated" MAP pid and still are not able to log accurate data, you're probably going to have to contact the techs at SCT. The only time I log using a lap top is when I track the car and have the need to log and save multiple logs. On a very frequent basis, I log using the handheld only and if I want to keep the log, I download it to my desk top when I get home. Have you tried logging both ways....handheld only and "pass through" using a lap top?
I am logging with the my laptop, the SCT is just being used as a pass through. The LiveLink gen 2 works much better then the old one. You can only check validated pid's when building a configuration file.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jayrcr3 View Post
Is this a new ZR1 sensor install? If it is you have to make adjustments to the tune for proper function.

Linear 312.50
Offset. -11.25


Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 2
Well Ted at JRE is doing my tune via email so I would think he knows to do that. Ill ask him though.
__________________
"Want to know whats cooler than your murdered out Honda Civic? ...Any Audi." Daniel Tosh

ss/rs-matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 06:23 PM   #12
2SSCAMARO

 
2SSCAMARO's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro Auto
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fl
Posts: 781
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss/rs-matt View Post
I am logging with the my laptop, the SCT is just being used as a pass through. The LiveLink gen 2 works much better then the old one. You can only check validated pid's when building a configuration file.



Well Ted at JRE is doing my tune via email so I would think he knows to do that. Ill ask him though.
What I was asking is, did you have the device connected to the car with the engine runing when you created your configuration file and selected the pids or did you choose generic pids from the LiveLink program while the device was not connected to the vehicle? If you did the latter, then the "generic" non-validated MAP pid could still be the problem.
2SSCAMARO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 08:20 PM   #13
Jayrcr3

 
Jayrcr3's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 IOM 2SS/RS
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Chatham, Illinois
Posts: 752
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss/rs-matt View Post
Well Ted at JRE is doing my tune via email so I would think he knows to do that. Ill ask him though.
Your good then. Just checking. Sometimes it's the easy stuff that gets ya.

Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 2
__________________
American Racing 1 7/8" Headers and Hi-Flow Cats, CAI cold air intake, Flowmaster AT exhaust, Vengeance Racing Stage 2 cam, VMax ported throttle body, TEA valve springs and titanium retainers, Trick Flow hardened pushrods, 180* T-stat, Comp Trunion kit, ZL1 Fuel Pump, ADM Fuel Pump Control Module, 20% window tint, Whipple Supercharger. Tuned by Mike Norris Motorsports. 656rwhp/584rwtq @10 PSI.
Jayrcr3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 10:42 PM   #14
ss/rs-matt

 
ss/rs-matt's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, Ca
Posts: 1,691
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2SSCAMARO View Post
What I was asking is, did you have the device connected to the car with the engine runing when you created your configuration file and selected the pids or did you choose generic pids from the LiveLink program while the device was not connected to the vehicle? If you did the latter, then the "generic" non-validated MAP pid could still be the problem.
Yes, I think so but now you got me second guessing myself. lol. I'll verify again. Thanks for your help.
__________________
"Want to know whats cooler than your murdered out Honda Civic? ...Any Audi." Daniel Tosh

ss/rs-matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 11:23 AM   #15
2SSCAMARO

 
2SSCAMARO's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro Auto
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fl
Posts: 781
I connected my device to the OBDII this morning and made a new configuration file. I did a manual select of pids that were shown as being "validated as found on my ECM" There were 189 pids displayed. Of the ones I selected, several were off in magnitude i.e. the fuel pressure pid logged at 133Kpa which is off by a factor of 3 as it should be 400 kpa. I believe the MAP pid you are using is off by a factor of 2.8 That should shake out like this. 61Kpa X 2.8=170.8 X .145=24.76 minus 14.7=10.06psi. If you cannot find a map pid that will analyze the data correctly, you will need to get with a SCT tech and they can massage the pids with a "strategy" that will enable the pids to calculate correctly. I'll try to be potlitcally correct and just say the SCT software functionality leaves a lot to be desired.
2SSCAMARO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 12:03 PM   #16
ss/rs-matt

 
ss/rs-matt's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, Ca
Posts: 1,691
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2SSCAMARO View Post
I connected my device to the OBDII this morning and made a new configuration file. I did a manual select of pids that were shown as being "validated as found on my ECM" There were 189 pids displayed. Of the ones I selected, several were off in magnitude i.e. the fuel pressure pid logged at 133Kpa which is off by a factor of 3 as it should be 400 kpa. I believe the MAP pid you are using is off by a factor of 2.8 That should shake out like this. 61Kpa X 2.8=170.8 X .145=24.76 minus 14.7=10.06psi. If you cannot find a map pid that will analyze the data correctly, you will need to get with a SCT tech and they can massage the pids with a "strategy" that will enable the pids to calculate correctly. I'll try to be potlitcally correct and just say the SCT software functionality leaves a lot to be desired.
Ok, I spoke with Ted this morning. He said that the SCT pid already factors in atmospheric pressure and subtracts it, which is 100kpa or 14.5psi So that equates to simply [(61).145] which comes out to about 8.845psi. That sounds right.
__________________
"Want to know whats cooler than your murdered out Honda Civic? ...Any Audi." Daniel Tosh

ss/rs-matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 12:59 PM   #17
2SSCAMARO

 
2SSCAMARO's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro Auto
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fl
Posts: 781
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss/rs-matt View Post
Ok, I spoke with Ted this morning. He said that the SCT pid already factors in atmospheric pressure and subtracts it, which is 100kpa or 14.5psi So that equates to simply [(61).145] which comes out to about 8.845psi. That sounds right.
Mine must be a stick of dynomite with the fuse burning. I log 151Kpa at WOT. If my SCT pid factored atmospheric pressure and subtracted it then I'm boosting 151Kpa X .145 = 21.9 psi. That ain't shabby on a 3.6 pulley.
2SSCAMARO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 01:07 PM   #18
ss/rs-matt

 
ss/rs-matt's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, Ca
Posts: 1,691
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2SSCAMARO View Post
Mine must be a stick of dynomite with the fuse burning. I log 151Kpa at WOT. If my SCT pid factored atmospheric pressure and subtracted it then I'm boosting 151Kpa X .145 = 21.9 psi. That ain't shabby on a 3.6 pulley.
lol! I'm calling SCT. Which version of LiveLink are you using Gen2?
__________________
"Want to know whats cooler than your murdered out Honda Civic? ...Any Audi." Daniel Tosh

ss/rs-matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 03:12 PM   #19
2SSCAMARO

 
2SSCAMARO's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro Auto
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fl
Posts: 781
GenII version 1.0
2SSCAMARO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 04:11 PM   #20
ss/rs-matt

 
ss/rs-matt's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, Ca
Posts: 1,691
Well I called SCT and they were clueless. lol. The only thing I can think is its the way Ted inputs the equation when he builds the tune file. If your running a 3.6 pulley and making 151kpa and I'm running a 3.4 pulley and making 161 kpa then I'd say that's right.
__________________
"Want to know whats cooler than your murdered out Honda Civic? ...Any Audi." Daniel Tosh

ss/rs-matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 04:14 PM   #21
JANNETTYRACING
PRESIDENT CALIBRATOR JRE

 
JANNETTYRACING's Avatar
 
Drives: YELLOW 2013 ZL1 AUTO
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ON THE DYNO WATERBURY CT.
Posts: 9,205
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss/rs-matt View Post
Well I called SCT and they were clueless. lol. The only thing I can think is its the way Ted inputs the equation when he builds the tune file. If your running a 3.6 pulley and making 151kpa and I'm running a 3.4 pulley and making 161 kpa then I'd say that's right.
Yep.
__________________
Technical information, Parts Sales, Professional Installation, and Custom Dyno Tuning.
Please vist our web sites for all your performance needs!
Ted Jannetty
Jannetty Racing Ent Inc.
2984 East Main St.
Waterbury Ct. 06705
203-753-7223
tedj@jannettyracing.com
www.jannettyracing.com
www.turboaddictionparts.com
Performance Parts
JANNETTYRACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 05:26 PM   #22
2SSCAMARO

 
2SSCAMARO's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro Auto
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fl
Posts: 781
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss/rs-matt View Post
Well I called SCT and they were clueless. lol. The only thing I can think is its the way Ted inputs the equation when he builds the tune file. If your running a 3.6 pulley and making 151kpa and I'm running a 3.4 pulley and making 161 kpa then I'd say that's right.
The big difference is that during WOT my logs show 151 Kpa and yours at WOT shows 61 Kpa. It appears that your MAP pid subtracts 100 Kpa and mine subtracts 0 Kpa.
2SSCAMARO is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.