Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Hines Performance (HPE)
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions

5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions General 5th generation Camaro topics not covered by other subforums.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-17-2012, 06:12 PM   #1
moserbe
 
moserbe's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro SS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Wellsboro, Pa
Posts: 741
Live Cigarette Lighter Recepticle

Theres one in the console and one in front of the shifter. Are either of these hot all the time? Not hot to the touch but electrically hot.
__________________
moserbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 06:16 PM   #2
Eric Baker

 
Drives: Black/Black 2SS/RS 6M
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Boston MA
Posts: 952
Yes as blackout said, they are both switched power from the key.
Eric Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 06:29 PM   #3
Comrando
SScalator
 
Comrando's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 CGM LS3
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 6,017
You don't have to run the engine. The key can be in the accessory or run position. But it has to be in. And then you have to argue with the locks.

__________________
Give me fuel. Give me fire. Give me that which I desire.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v87/Slotict/Camaro/Wink-2_zpscd6910bd.jpg
Comrando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 06:31 PM   #4
moserbe
 
moserbe's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro SS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Wellsboro, Pa
Posts: 741
Too bad. I've always used the plug in on my Vette with my Battery Tender (easy to use this way). Now what?? I could run it to the trunk with alligator clips I suppose but would rather not. Any suggestions?
__________________
moserbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 06:36 PM   #5
slick rick
SoCal Mayhem
 
slick rick's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1SS/RS
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Foothill Ranch, CA
Posts: 5,447
Under the hood?
__________________
slick rick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 06:37 PM   #6
Smart Line

 
Smart Line's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Blue1SSRS 623RWHP, 02 vette
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 1,305
Under the hood is a power point for jump starting u could use that
With clips
__________________
2011 SS Vortec V3 Si,
2002 Vette (stock)

Team LS-3
Smart Line is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 06:37 PM   #7
PalmerGA


 
PalmerGA's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 SIM 1SS/RS L99
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Southwest GA
Posts: 5,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by moserbe View Post
Too bad. I've always used the plug in on my Vette with my Battery Tender (easy to use this way). Now what?? I could run it to the trunk with alligator clips I suppose but would rather not. Any suggestions?
You can't run it to the pos and neg posts under ther hood, using gator clips?
__________________
2013 1SS/RS Coupe L99
CAI Air Intake w/ Apex Scoop
VMAX CNC Ported Throttle Body
Solo Axle-Back Exhaust w/ J-pipes
RX Catch Can
Husky Splash Guards
Heritage Grille
Oracle Chrome Turn Signal Bulbs
Emblem Pros Retro SS Badges
Emblem Pros Custom Retro SS Kickplates
Emblem Pros Under-hood Bowtie
PalmerGA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 06:38 PM   #8
PalmerGA


 
PalmerGA's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 SIM 1SS/RS L99
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Southwest GA
Posts: 5,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by PalmerGA View Post
You can't run it to the pos and neg posts under ther hood, using gator clips?
Man... you guys are quick!
__________________
2013 1SS/RS Coupe L99
CAI Air Intake w/ Apex Scoop
VMAX CNC Ported Throttle Body
Solo Axle-Back Exhaust w/ J-pipes
RX Catch Can
Husky Splash Guards
Heritage Grille
Oracle Chrome Turn Signal Bulbs
Emblem Pros Retro SS Badges
Emblem Pros Custom Retro SS Kickplates
Emblem Pros Under-hood Bowtie
PalmerGA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 06:42 PM   #9
moserbe
 
moserbe's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro SS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Wellsboro, Pa
Posts: 741
Keep the suggestions coming guys and gals.............someone must have a slick option out there.
__________________
moserbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 07:28 PM   #10
2SScamaro2010
 
2SScamaro2010's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS M6
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 121
mounted mine in the trunk
__________________
Mods: SW Retro Chambered cat back, CAI cai black, APEX scoop and ww tank, RX catch can, APEX Skip-shift Eliminator, Hurst short throw, Kooks 1 7/8 headers high flow cats, Livernois dyno tune, WHP: 415 WTQ: 407
2SScamaro2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 07:30 PM   #11
2SScamaro2010
 
2SScamaro2010's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS M6
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 121
that pic kind of sucks but its the best one i got lol
__________________
Mods: SW Retro Chambered cat back, CAI cai black, APEX scoop and ww tank, RX catch can, APEX Skip-shift Eliminator, Hurst short throw, Kooks 1 7/8 headers high flow cats, Livernois dyno tune, WHP: 415 WTQ: 407
2SScamaro2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 07:51 PM   #12
MBS

 
MBS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 rs 2lt
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 1,649
Yah that has always annoyed me. Why couldnt they just made both of them always hot? Who is the guy who got paid to say , "Do we let them charge something without the key being turned on or not?" Nah make them have the key turned on Not like the owner will ever have to charge their phone or anything , Ok build it!
MBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 07:57 PM   #13
menendez1293
Emerald Coast Camaros
 
menendez1293's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2LT/RS M6
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Tallahassee FL
Posts: 9,042
When i charge my car i just alligator clamps on the positive terminal under the hood and then i place the ground (black) on the stud that is left over from where the stock intake used to go.
__________________
Proud owner of litho #179 Click Picture for Build Thread
menendez1293 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 08:27 PM   #14
PalmerGA


 
PalmerGA's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 SIM 1SS/RS L99
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Southwest GA
Posts: 5,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by menendez1293 View Post
When i charge my car i just alligator clamps on the positive terminal under the hood and then i place the ground (black) on the stud that is left over from where the stock intake used to go.
Why not use the ground stud that is there specifically for jump starting? Just wondering...
__________________
2013 1SS/RS Coupe L99
CAI Air Intake w/ Apex Scoop
VMAX CNC Ported Throttle Body
Solo Axle-Back Exhaust w/ J-pipes
RX Catch Can
Husky Splash Guards
Heritage Grille
Oracle Chrome Turn Signal Bulbs
Emblem Pros Retro SS Badges
Emblem Pros Custom Retro SS Kickplates
Emblem Pros Under-hood Bowtie
PalmerGA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 08:29 PM   #15
booenson
 
Drives: 2010 1SS/RS M6
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 115
I attached a fused ring terminal, on the right in the pic, to my battery. Now there's some small plastic grommets that you can take out in your trunk that will leave a hole between your trunk and the outside, so I ran the cable from the ring terminals through the hole then stuck the grommet back in place to half assed seal it up. The particular ring terminals that I have are quick disconnect too.

Still plenty accessible even with a cover on, and with the quick disconnect it makes periodically charging the battery a snap.

booenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 09:10 PM   #16
moserbe
 
moserbe's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro SS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Wellsboro, Pa
Posts: 741
Quote:
Originally Posted by menendez1293 View Post
When i charge my car i just alligator clamps on the positive terminal under the hood and then i place the ground (black) on the stud that is left over from where the stock intake used to go.
That was what I was considering doing also. I have the CAI which leaves that stud available. I wasn't sure if that stud went to ground or not but it must. Thanks.
__________________
moserbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 09:12 PM   #17
moserbe
 
moserbe's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro SS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Wellsboro, Pa
Posts: 741
Quote:
Originally Posted by booenson View Post
I attached a fused ring terminal, on the right in the pic, to my battery. Now there's some small plastic grommets that you can take out in your trunk that will leave a hole between your trunk and the outside, so I ran the cable from the ring terminals through the hole then stuck the grommet back in place to half assed seal it up. The particular ring terminals that I have are quick disconnect too.

Still plenty accessible even with a cover on, and with the quick disconnect it makes periodically charging the battery a snap.

I was also considering running the ringed ones from the battery out of the "spare tire cover". I use these on our C4 Vette.
__________________
moserbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 09:24 PM   #18
booenson
 
Drives: 2010 1SS/RS M6
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by moserbe View Post
I was also considering running the ringed ones from the battery out of the "spare tire cover". I use these on our C4 Vette.


Is your car parked? I run it through the little black grommet in this pic along the right side. This way you can keep the trunk closed with a cover on
booenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 09:31 PM   #19
moserbe
 
moserbe's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro SS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Wellsboro, Pa
Posts: 741
Quote:
Originally Posted by booenson View Post


Is your car parked? I run it through the little black grommet in this pic along the right side. This way you can keep the trunk closed with a cover on
Good idea, yes it is parked for the winter.
__________________
moserbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 09:44 PM   #20
Ricamaro

 
Drives: RocketZed Red13
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Center of the known Universe
Posts: 841
Chalk one up for Chrysler - the Acc Plug in my Challenger can be made always hot by moving a fuse. I'm surprised that GM does not offer this convenience.
Ricamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.