Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Hellion Power Systems
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission

Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission Tune and diagnostics for engines and auto transmission.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-26-2012, 09:05 PM   #1
Caswell239

 
Caswell239's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2ss/rs
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,168
SCT on a Mac?

hey all, i just finished up a cam install and uploaded my stock tune on the SCT. cant seem to install the updater on my Mac as it is all windows files. There website seems to be all windows aswell. Im sure im not the only one on this forum using a mac and a sct programmer, its the 3400 if that matters. Thanks for your help!
Caswell239 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 09:29 PM   #2
jordan 572

 
jordan 572's Avatar
 
Drives: none
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: MN
Posts: 1,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caswell239 View Post
hey all, i just finished up a cam install and uploaded my stock tune on the SCT. cant seem to install the updater on my Mac as it is all windows files. There website seems to be all windows aswell. Im sure im not the only one on this forum using a mac and a sct programmer, its the 3400 if that matters. Thanks for your help!
I have all macs also, I went out and bought a 300 dollar pc laptop. It sucks but then it works, I tried many times to get it to work on the mac but it wouldn't.
jordan 572 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 09:54 PM   #3
Adadda
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro SS. L99
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Panama City FL
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by jordan 572 View Post
I have all macs also, I went out and bought a 300 dollar pc laptop. It sucks but then it works, I tried many times to get it to work on the mac but it wouldn't.
Why not just put VMware or parallels on your Mac and that way you can run windows or Mac OSx
Adadda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 11:14 AM   #4
murdered
 
Drives: 2012 2SS 45th Ann. Edition
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 108
IIRC VirtualBox supports hardware passthrough, so you could install Windows with that and use it. Free (except for the license cost of Windows).
__________________
2012 2SS 45th Anniversary Edition
murdered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 12:47 PM   #5
jordan 572

 
jordan 572's Avatar
 
Drives: none
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: MN
Posts: 1,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adadda View Post
Why not just put VMware or parallels on your Mac and that way you can run windows or Mac OSx
Idk, I tried some stuff like that but just bought a computer as it was easiest and I kind of needed a pc here and there.
jordan 572 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 03:14 PM   #6
murdered
 
Drives: 2012 2SS 45th Ann. Edition
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 108
Caswell, where do you live? If you're near Minnesota I'd be happy to help you out. I'm a software developer who runs a ton of VMs, so it's no problem to do it.
__________________
2012 2SS 45th Anniversary Edition
murdered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 03:59 PM   #7
Caswell239

 
Caswell239's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2ss/rs
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,168
Nope I'm northern Canada. I remember my fiancé has a little net book she uses for school that has windows. So ill just use that thing for now. Thanks!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapat
Caswell239 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 05:55 PM   #8
slickmetal
 
slickmetal's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Black ZL1 A6
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: AZ
Posts: 375
dual boot that Mac...
__________________
- 2013 Black ZL1 - A6 - Lingenfelter 650 package - JBA Mids + Hi-Flo Cats - Borla/Magnaflow - Savini 3pc Forged - APL CF Front Splitter - Underhood Dress Up (ACC & Drake) - Hurst Shifter Kit - Custom Audio w/ JBL Sub/Amp/Stealthbox -
slickmetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 06:42 PM   #9
kobSS
 
kobSS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 536
Run VMWare Fusion - Only good thing about owning a Mac. You ran run both OS's at the same time.
__________________
2010 CGM 2SS/RS:
Pfadt'ed Out Level 4, Pfadt Featherlight Coilovers, Pfadt ZL1 Sways, Pedders Radius Rod Inserts, CTS-V Brakes, Borla S-Type, Quad Tips, Forgestar 22" F14's (Show), CAI Intake w/ scoop, Rx Catch-Can, AAC Lighting, Showstopper Sidemarkers

"Information is the oxygen of the modern age"

Build Thread
kobSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 07:03 PM   #10
Caswell239

 
Caswell239's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2ss/rs
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,168
Hmm, is it free off the net? Simple to setup?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapat
Caswell239 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 10:31 AM   #11
Parabolica
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2011 2SS
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: CA.
Posts: 309
I've tried Parallels, VMWare & Crossover. Boot Camp is by far the best way to go and comes with Lion / Mountain Lion...

http://www.apple.com/support/bootcamp/
Parabolica is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.