Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Dyno Max
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Forced Induction - V6

Forced Induction - V6 V6 Supercharger, turbo, nitrous discussions

Old 11-30-2012, 02:18 PM   #1
CodyBanks
CodyBanks

Drives: 2011 Camaro
Supercharger or twin turbo

I'm new to all of this. So what will give you overall more HP and Torque, Supercharger or Twin Turbo? I have a V6. I've been reading the new IPF supercharger is showing real good results. What twin turbo would you recommend. What kind of maintenance is needed for both. I plan to add other upgrade such as cold air intake, throttle body, exhaust and what not, but would I need to remove any of that later for the super or twin set up or can it be added on top of it.

Sorry lots of questions for a new member
CodyBanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 03:23 PM   #2
lscamaro

Drives: 2011 CGM Camaro LS A6
They really honestly both give about the same hp. The turbos give more torque. Twin turbo will require more maintenance than a supercharger.

If you decide to go twin turbo or the current superchargers, you'll have to give up your cold air intake. If you ever do headers, the twins will force you to take those off too. The supercharger can be had with headers.

We all have to start somewhere. And the best way to learn is simply to ask questions so anymore you have and we will do our best to answer them for you

Click Picture for Build Thread
lscamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 03:43 PM   #3
Sikoriko

Drives: 2011 V6 IOM
The Vortec V3 doesn't require any oil lines, or will it get packed with snow, location of the turbo's mostly under the car. At least with a sc it is a simple to take off and go back stock.
Sikoriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 04:36 PM   #4
SC2150
Account Suspended

Drives: 2012 Camaro RS, RX supercharged