Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Phastek Performance
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-08-2009, 09:33 AM   #1
The_Blur
Jayhawk USN
 
The_Blur's Avatar
 
Drives: 6.2L of AWESOME! 2011 L99 2SS
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NAS Whiting Field
Posts: 14,306
Send a message via AIM to The_Blur
Potential Solutions to Radio Problems

Feel free to post permanent solutions to radio problems in this thread. In addition, to the solutions to radio problems, we should also address the pitfalls of these solutions. I provide an example below.

Solution: Install an aftermarket head unit using a specific wiring harness that fits the 2010 Camaro. Scosche may make one in the near future.

Pitfall: This solution may render steering wheel buttons useless.

Additional Solution: Find an aftermarket steering wheel without any buttons. [Indpower, can you make one?]

I thought I'd make this thread because I don't want to have significant problems with my radio as I really appreciate car audio and would be furious to find that I can barely use my iPod. After extensively updating my audio systems, I'd hate to find it repeatedly fail on me upon delivery of my Camaro.
The_Blur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 09:35 AM   #2
UCF w00t
Geek
 
UCF w00t's Avatar
 
Drives: IOM 2010 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Orlando
Posts: 4,456
Unless GM has provided some detailed information on the radio design, I doubt anyone is going to be able to make a replacement. And I highly doubt GM would provide the level of detail needed to do this. Tons of stuff for the rest of the car is controlled through the radio interface.
UCF w00t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 09:39 AM   #3
The_Blur
Jayhawk USN
 
The_Blur's Avatar
 
Drives: 6.2L of AWESOME! 2011 L99 2SS
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NAS Whiting Field
Posts: 14,306
Send a message via AIM to The_Blur
Quote:
Originally Posted by UCF w00t View Post
Unless GM has provided some detailed information on the radio design, I doubt anyone is going to be able to make a replacement. And I highly doubt GM would provide the level of detail needed to do this. Tons of stuff for the rest of the car is controlled through the radio interface.
Traditionally, Scosche has been able to make a wiring harness for about $15 for every car. My Cobalt harness cost over $100 in order to allow functionality of all door chimes and other equipment. It was a pain, so I'm wondering if any electronics experts, GM insiders, or knowledgeable persons could propose a solution. I understand how the radio is a functional piece of equipment for the car, but if I can't listen to music then it isn't doing its job.
The_Blur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 10:24 AM   #4
Chewy
My boredom isn't safe
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS Camaro
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,254
Send a message via AIM to Chewy Send a message via MSN to Chewy
i plan on seeing what i can do with it once i get my car. going to be a pain in the ass w/o a wiring diagram but i'll do some tracing and metering to figure out as much as I can.
__________________
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 10:25 AM   #5
UCF w00t
Geek
 
UCF w00t's Avatar
 
Drives: IOM 2010 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Orlando
Posts: 4,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Blur View Post
Traditionally, Scosche has been able to make a wiring harness for about $15 for every car. My Cobalt harness cost over $100 in order to allow functionality of all door chimes and other equipment. It was a pain, so I'm wondering if any electronics experts, GM insiders, or knowledgeable persons could propose a solution. I understand how the radio is a functional piece of equipment for the car, but if I can't listen to music then it isn't doing its job.
This problem will require MUCH more than a wiring harness. The Camaro deck actually has a full interface to adjust settings for the rest of the car. I don't know why they didn't just put this in the DIC with the other stuff. Now, maybe these settings are just modified by the head unit and are actually stored in some other part of the car's electronics? If that's the case (unlikely) you could potentially replace it.

I think the only person who could really shed much light on this is codeman71.
UCF w00t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 07:27 AM   #6
codeman71
GM Employee
 
codeman71's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 Pontiac G6
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Shelby Township, MI
Posts: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by UCF w00t View Post
I think the only person who could really shed much light on this is codeman71.
I'm not gonna say it's impossible, but it would be extremely difficult to replace the headunit. The only solution that I've seen is to leave what's already in the vehicle intact and just add on to it. I know that's not the most elegant solution, but I don't know of another way short of replicating all of the software that's running on the headunit and have the replacement be able to respond to all of those commands.
__________________
I work for GM and I designed the interface for the Camaro USB and Bluetooth audio streaming interface. Feel free to ask me any questions you have about how the USB or Bluetooth works!

Check out my videos on YouTube here. Let me know if you'd like to see any other type of video.
codeman71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 09:13 AM   #7
The_Blur
Jayhawk USN
 
The_Blur's Avatar
 
Drives: 6.2L of AWESOME! 2011 L99 2SS
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NAS Whiting Field
Posts: 14,306
Send a message via AIM to The_Blur
Quote:
Originally Posted by codeman71 View Post
I'm not gonna say it's impossible, but it would be extremely difficult to replace the headunit. The only solution that I've seen is to leave what's already in the vehicle intact and just add on to it. I know that's not the most elegant solution, but I don't know of another way short of replicating all of the software that's running on the headunit and have the replacement be able to respond to all of those commands.
Would a CleanSweep unit be able to improve functionality? I'm just trying to figure out a way to improve audio quality by making sure that my music plays, displays titles, and sounds better than stock.
The_Blur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 09:20 AM   #8
UCF w00t
Geek
 
UCF w00t's Avatar
 
Drives: IOM 2010 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Orlando
Posts: 4,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by codeman71 View Post
I'm not gonna say it's impossible, but it would be extremely difficult to replace the headunit. The only solution that I've seen is to leave what's already in the vehicle intact and just add on to it. I know that's not the most elegant solution, but I don't know of another way short of replicating all of the software that's running on the headunit and have the replacement be able to respond to all of those commands.
Pretty much what I was thinking. And unless GM releases some sort of tech doc on what commands those are it would be a pain in the ass to reverse engineer all that. This is MUCH more than just a simple door chime heh.
UCF w00t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 05:33 PM   #9
ZENX
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1LT
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 6
I suppose this is the best place to ask this question:

Do you guys know of any wiring harness that would work with the 2010 Camaro in order to install the Parrot MKi 9200 bluetooth kit such that the audio from the Parrot can be channeled through the car's speakers and the parrot and mute the audio when there is a call coming in.
ZENX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 09:11 PM   #10
Steve@Subthump
 
Steve@Subthump's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS IOM Vert
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,098
Quote:
Originally Posted by codeman71 View Post
I'm not gonna say it's impossible, but it would be extremely difficult to replace the headunit. The only solution that I've seen is to leave what's already in the vehicle intact and just add on to it. I know that's not the most elegant solution, but I don't know of another way short of replicating all of the software that's running on the headunit and have the replacement be able to respond to all of those commands.
I was thinking the same thing... Like where in the car can I stash a kenwood deck so it doesn't look silly and still be able to access it.
Steve@Subthump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 09:25 PM   #11
PolishMike
 
PolishMike's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS RS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tracy/San Diego CA
Posts: 224
Too much is controlled by the head unit to replace it. I doubt anyone will ever be able to do it and if they do you will most likely lose a LOT more than radio controls.

The easiest option is to add a head unit somewhere else, run new wires to the speakers (or most likely RCA's to the amp and speaker wires to the amp. Not a big deal.
__________________
IOM w/ White Stripes 2SS RS M6 #17772
Now - Stainless Works 2" Headers, Intake, Cam, tune, ect
And shepherds we shall be, For thee my lord for thee. Power has descended forth from thy hand, that our feet may swiftly carry out thy commands. So we shall flow a river forth to thee, and teeming with souls shall it ever be.In nomine Patri, Et Fili, Spiritus Sancti
PolishMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 10:54 AM   #12
Rogue Leader
Iatefiberglassinsulation
 
Rogue Leader's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS M6
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,590
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZENX View Post
I suppose this is the best place to ask this question:

Do you guys know of any wiring harness that would work with the 2010 Camaro in order to install the Parrot MKi 9200 bluetooth kit such that the audio from the Parrot can be channeled through the car's speakers and the parrot and mute the audio when there is a call coming in.
If the parrot has a miniplug you can use that to the audio jack for the factory PDIM. As for having it mute the car's audio when a call comes in, good luck....
__________________
I'm Brick Tamland. People seem to like me because I am polite and I am rarely late. I like to eat ice cream and I really enjoy a nice pair of slacks. Years later, a doctor will tell me that I have an I.Q. of 48 and am what some people call mentally retarded.

2010 Chevrolet Camaro SS - Daily Driver
2008 Chevy Silverado 2500 HD LT 6.0 - Tow Vehicle
1993 Volkswagen Fox - Race Car (yes seriously)

"Like" my race team on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/farfrumwinnin
Rogue Leader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2009, 02:45 AM   #13
Hess RS
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 91 Camaro RS
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA
Posts: 324
im doing a double din conversion right now, so stay tuned, and check out the double din post. steering wheel controls, onstar, door and light chimes will all still work. Someone had to do it :-)
Hess RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2009, 04:01 AM   #14
jayson71
 
Drives: 2010 Victory Red Camaro
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sacramento California
Posts: 284
Quote:
Originally Posted by UCF w00t View Post
Pretty much what I was thinking. And unless GM releases some sort of tech doc on what commands those are it would be a pain in the ass to reverse engineer all that. This is MUCH more than just a simple door chime heh.
Sometimes it's good to be tone def. Never though it would make my life easier.

Good luck guys keep us posted.
jayson71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2009, 09:53 AM   #15
bhamze
 
Drives: nope
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: florida
Posts: 15
Hello all,

We are currently developing two fiberglass enclosures for new Camaro , and part of our research is to analyze the factory audio system. From that research we will determine the best approach for integrating aftermarket electronic equipment utilizing the factory head unit. If its anything like the Corvette audio system, there will be no need for audio correction (CleanSweep) as the audio signals present a flat full-range frequency response. We have Camaro scheduled for audio testing in two weeks. We will be completing a full install including components speakers, amplifiers, and one of our Stealthboxes. We will post pictures and results.

Bill Hamze
JL Audio
bhamze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2009, 02:08 AM   #16
Hushhush
 
Drives: Opel
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Away
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Blur View Post
Feel free to post permanent solutions to radio problems in this thread. In addition, to the solutions to radio problems, we should also address the pitfalls of these solutions. I provide an example below.

Solution: Install an aftermarket head unit using a specific wiring harness that fits the 2010 Camaro. Scosche may make one in the near future.

Pitfall: This solution may render steering wheel buttons useless.

Additional Solution: Find an aftermarket steering wheel without any buttons. [Indpower, can you make one?]

I thought I'd make this thread because I don't want to have significant problems with my radio as I really appreciate car audio and would be furious to find that I can barely use my iPod. After extensively updating my audio systems, I'd hate to find it repeatedly fail on me upon delivery of my Camaro.
There are seriously a LOT more problems than losing your steering wheel buttons. Basically without a new head unit that has a lot of specialized programming to do what the Camaro's does you will never be able to replace the head unit. It will always still have to be in the car until (and that's a big if) that happens.
Hushhush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 09:00 PM   #17
rambunctious
 
Drives: F250
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Holland, michigan
Posts: 22
does anyone have pics or instruction to get the center stack bezel off and get to the radio harness ( without scratching or breaking anything)
thanks

working on a project too

Ramb
rambunctious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 11:23 PM   #18
G Fo12ce
 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Socal
Posts: 1
If companies like Metra ECT do make an integration kit for aftermarket stereos this is the device you would use to retain steering wheel controls:

http://www.pac-audio.com/Products.aspx?CategoryId=29

Made by PAC. There are different models depending on what brand stereo you use.

I hope they figure it out, it would be nice for those that want Nav and Bluetooth in models not equipped with it.

Hope that helps.
G Fo12ce is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD Radio? rolnslo Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 37 08-19-2010 05:07 PM
Potential Problems With Dealer Installed Stripes 69er 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 36 05-12-2010 09:17 PM
sorry to cross post but need someone who can get onto chevylaunch.com Adam Camaro Price | Ordering | Tracking | Dealers Discussions 7 06-04-2009 05:40 PM
ordering problems at the dealer? pinkcamaro10 Camaro Price | Ordering | Tracking | Dealers Discussions 27 10-14-2008 12:43 AM
Sirius XM Radio drummerstevey Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 7 08-04-2008 10:12 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.