Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Solo Performance
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission

Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission Tune and diagnostics for engines and auto transmission.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-09-2012, 01:33 AM   #1
con10der
Con10der
 
con10der's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS M6 IOM Rally Stripes
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Carlsbad, New Mexico
Posts: 97
ECM Tuning and Warranty??

So its my understanding that if we tune our rides that it will void our warranties. And if tuned, we can re-tune back to stock...BUT the dealer can detect that as well.

So if the above holds true...Can we by-pass that risk by buying a second tuned ECM. And if one must need to go to dealer, just replace the stock ECM?

And if yes...will the ECM's be plug-n-play? No others adjustments required?
__________________
2010 2SS/RS M6 IOM w/Rally Stripes. BLK CAI w/ADM,WW Relo,2" Kooks,3" Cats-Mids,Vmax Ported TB,Muff Del,Janetty SCT Tuned,Drill/Slot BLK Hawk rotors,Red Grani Brake Lines,Motul 600,IDEAL Master w/res,Moroso CC,Accel Silver Tips w/TVolt 10.4mm,MGW shift w/Retro hand/ball,ABL Kit,Billet/IOM pedals, ZL1 split,Lloyds SS mats,PC Droid4/MAXX docking,HW Solo2.
Pend Install: Launch/Shift Light,BMR Susp/1" Drop/Sways/Track Pack,GM 3.9. Future: Janetty Pumpkin w/PosiTrac,1400HP axl,CF DS,Tick Stage 2 Trans,3 Disc Clutch,4"quad tip,center exit AB w/diff...
con10der is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 02:04 AM   #2
SSMickey
SECC
 
SSMickey's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IBM 2SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Columbia S.C.
Posts: 1,428
Just do a search, your question has been asked and answered several times. Bottom line is it will not work. GM has thought this through.
__________________
Vengeance Stage II Cam, Halltech CAI, RX Catch Can, Full ARH Exhaust, QTP Cutouts, Powerbond 25% Underdrive, MGW Shifter, MTI Drop Springs, Forgeline RB3C Wheels, 3.91 gears, Night Owl LED Control System
SSMickey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 09:38 AM   #3
JANNETTYRACING
PRESIDENT CALIBRATOR JRE

 
JANNETTYRACING's Avatar
 
Drives: YELLOW 2013 ZL1 AUTO
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ON THE DYNO WATERBURY CT.
Posts: 9,829
Quote:
Originally Posted by con10der View Post
So its my understanding that if we tune our rides that it will void our warranties. And if tuned, we can re-tune back to stock...BUT the dealer can detect that as well.

So if the above holds true...Can we by-pass that risk by buying a second tuned ECM. And if one must need to go to dealer, just replace the stock ECM?

And if yes...will the ECM's be plug-n-play? No others adjustments required?
Each ECM has it's own Unique ID for security reasons, and if you get one computer to work the other one won't.

And you need the Dealer to Calibrate the computer so they then have a record of replacement ECM.

Trust me they are not coming to your house to void your warranty

With over 1200 JRE tuned Customers Voiding has Never happened that I Know of.
__________________
Technical information, Parts Sales, Professional Installation, and Custom Dyno Tuning.
Please vist our web sites for all your performance needs!
Ted Jannetty
Jannetty Racing Ent Inc.
2984 East Main St.
Waterbury Ct. 06705
203-753-7223
tedj@jannettyracing.com
www.jannettyracing.com
www.turboaddictionparts.com
Performance Parts
JANNETTYRACING is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 09:44 AM   #4
Mr_Draco


 
Mr_Draco's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS/RS
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 6,352
Quote:
Originally Posted by con10der View Post
So its my understanding that if we tune our rides that it will void our warranties. And if tuned, we can re-tune back to stock...BUT the dealer can detect that as well.

So if the above holds true...Can we by-pass that risk by buying a second tuned ECM. And if one must need to go to dealer, just replace the stock ECM?

And if yes...will the ECM's be plug-n-play? No others adjustments required?
Nope. Using a second ECM isn't possible.

First they are strictly controlled by GM. Getting a blank ECM requires you sending in your old ECM. Second they can tell if you swap out the ECMs. Third ECM's are not plug and play, a dealer has to activate it every time you swap it out.
Mr_Draco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 02:54 PM   #5
East Coast Supercharging

 
East Coast Supercharging's Avatar
 
Drives: 8 second C5 Drag Car, C6 Road racer
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Cream Ridge, NJ 609-752-0321
Posts: 776
We have performed thousands of mail order tunes, and many more custom tunes over the last 15 years now, to date I have never had a warranty voided because of it.
East Coast Supercharging is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 03:36 PM   #6
Mike Norris
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 591
The only time they will check the ECM is if there is a major drive-train failure where tuning could have been part of the cause or the actual cause.

Contrary to what was mentioned here, you can have a second ECM and use it for tuning and then keep the stock ECM available in case of an issue. I have seen it done.

Mike Norris
Mike Norris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 04:30 PM   #7
IndeedSS1


 
IndeedSS1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS LS3
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern MO
Posts: 3,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Norris View Post
Contrary to what was mentioned here, you can have a second ECM and use it for tuning and then keep the stock ECM available in case of an issue. I have seen it done.

Mike Norris
While I've swapped ECMs on other platforms, are you 100% sure about this on the Gen 5 Camaro with the GDS and what about the odometer that is supposedly referenced in the ECM as well as the BCM?
__________________


She is only memory now.
IndeedSS1 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.