Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Flowmaster Exhaust
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > Camaro ZL1 Forum - ZL1 Specific Topics

Camaro ZL1 Forum - ZL1 Specific Topics Camaro ZL1 specific topics

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-10-2014, 03:26 PM   #1
Wvzl1
 
Drives: 12 zl1
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Wv
Posts: 5
a little input

I started a thread in the tuning section about my zl1 I hope you guys can help me here's the link thank you

http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=384121
Wvzl1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2014, 08:11 PM   #2
DrkPhx

 
DrkPhx's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Triple Black ZL1 / 2006 TB SS
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: St Michael, MN
Posts: 1,035
Quote:
my wb o2 is a little off by about .5 off on the data log vs the gauge. the gauge is .5 lower than the readout on the log
How do you know the gauge is correct? IF the log is correct; it's a little too lean at WOT for that much timing. I would shoot for 11.3-11.5 AFR.
DrkPhx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2014, 08:58 PM   #3
Wvzl1
 
Drives: 12 zl1
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Wv
Posts: 5
the gauge reads 14.7 when the log reads 15.2 at idle so it seems off. Ill try to get my afr down a little thank you for the input. 1% duty cycle at idle is ok and 14.7 is a good afr at idle too?
Wvzl1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2014, 10:00 PM   #4
ZO6 Bryan

 
ZO6 Bryan's Avatar
 
Drives: 02 Z06, 95 Trans Am, 2012 ZL1
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southeast
Posts: 816
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrkPhx View Post
How do you know the gauge is correct? IF the log is correct; it's a little too lean at WOT for that much timing. I would shoot for 11.3-11.5 AFR.
You can correct it so the log reads the same as the gauge. You need to open up your user defined aux inputs and fix it. What wideband are you using? Did you configure it yourself in HPtuners or use one of the pre-defined wideband inputs? You have to configure you analog 0-5V output of the wideband and then define it the same in HPtuners. Play with the equations to increase or decrease the slope.
__________________
Bryan 672 RWHP 2012 ZL1 9.55 pulley custom cam and Kooks headers, 2002 Z06 447 RWHP, 2006 Trailblazer SS, 1995 S/C Vortech Trans Am 570 RWHP(for sale)
ZO6 Bryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2014, 10:19 PM   #5
ZO6 Bryan

 
ZO6 Bryan's Avatar
 
Drives: 02 Z06, 95 Trans Am, 2012 ZL1
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southeast
Posts: 816
That tune is not what you had in in when you logged is it? In the log you are commanding 13.35 AFR at WOT. In the tune you've uped it in the higher rpms. Either way that is way too lean. You commanded should match your actual on the wideband. Everything needs work.
__________________
Bryan 672 RWHP 2012 ZL1 9.55 pulley custom cam and Kooks headers, 2002 Z06 447 RWHP, 2006 Trailblazer SS, 1995 S/C Vortech Trans Am 570 RWHP(for sale)
ZO6 Bryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2014, 07:25 AM   #6
Wvzl1
 
Drives: 12 zl1
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Wv
Posts: 5
My wideband o2 is an innovate motorsports Mtx-L I did the custom setup and tried following the instructions on tuning schools web site to set it up but it still read a little off so I'll redo the setup. My AFR is set to be 1.1 because if I go any higher like 1.2 it will be in the 10.x AFR. This is what I'm having some trouble with thank you for looking at my tune. Wound you say that the part throttle is ok or does that need a lot of work to. Thanks for the input
Wvzl1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2014, 08:55 AM   #7
ZO6 Bryan

 
ZO6 Bryan's Avatar
 
Drives: 02 Z06, 95 Trans Am, 2012 ZL1
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southeast
Posts: 816
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wvzl1 View Post
My wideband o2 is an innovate motorsports Mtx-L I did the custom setup and tried following the instructions on tuning schools web site to set it up but it still read a little off so I'll redo the setup. My AFR is set to be 1.1 because if I go any higher like 1.2 it will be in the 10.x AFR. This is what I'm having some trouble with thank you for looking at my tune. Wound you say that the part throttle is ok or does that need a lot of work to. Thanks for the input

The first thing you need to do is properly scale the MAF table. It doesn't look like you logged the MAF Hz. You need a histogram to plot MAF Hz vs LTFTs and MAF Hz vs AFR error. Once that is done when you command a certain AFR that is what you will get on the wideband also.
Curious as to what you used as a starting point for the changes you've done already. I noticed alot of desensitizing of the knock sensors. Which is not wise on a supercharged engine. Especially until not until the basics are worked out. And your HO spark table only goes to 1.36 g/cyl but in your log you are hitting 1.70 g/cyl. You're going to need to extend your spark tables higher.
__________________
Bryan 672 RWHP 2012 ZL1 9.55 pulley custom cam and Kooks headers, 2002 Z06 447 RWHP, 2006 Trailblazer SS, 1995 S/C Vortech Trans Am 570 RWHP(for sale)
ZO6 Bryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2014, 09:03 AM   #8
white ZL1

 
white ZL1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1 #7922
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: DFW area
Posts: 1,749
All great advice from Bryan!

But I haven't extended my spark tables past 1.36 g/cyl and as of yet don't see a need to. As soon as the car is under boost it's past 1.36 and I just use that row.
Then again, maybe on an M6 car you have more ability to modulate throttle and boost in a given gear than I do with an A6?


OP, if you'd like I can share one of my config files tonight and all you'd probably need to do is plug in your wideband data where I have mine. Everything else should be reasonably close to what you need?
__________________

2013 ZL1 #7922
ADM CAI, 90mm tb, 9.55 lower, LS9 cam, FIC 95s, SW headers, Ron Davis hx
white ZL1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2014, 10:24 AM   #9
Wvzl1
 
Drives: 12 zl1
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Wv
Posts: 5
The car had a tune in it before for a 5% overdrive pulley rotofab cai and the jba down pipes so I went with what he had for the maf calibration and most of the other stuff. I installed the 10% and injector myself and went with a lot of what he did so I guess he did not do a good job with the first tune or is the new setup completely different and I should start over from scratch.Thank you z06 Bryan

White zl1 if you don't mined I would love to look at your tune all the help I can get the better I'm going over book after book and internet forms I can find to try to get it right.
Thank you

The story is I got my car 2 years ago after a year I put a 5% lower rotofab cai jba cat less down pipes and the 90mm tbody and had a shop about 5 1/2 hours away tune it. I drove it for a while and 6 months ago the ECM went out in it so I got a new one had gm program it and then found a shop 1/2 hour away from me I got just a 10% pulley installed it took it to the shop the guy tried tuning it he called me told me he could not get it to tune right so I said the 5% was in the trunk just tune it with that. He called me an hour later and said that he could not get it to tune right so I said get it as good as you can it was tune good the first time. He called me back and said he can't get it safe I need injector so I said I'll just take my car. I went and got my car ordered hp tuner changed my injectors and when I went to change my pulley the throttle body bolt where hanging halfway out so this is why I am doing everything from here on myself.

Thank you guys for all the help.

Last edited by Wvzl1; 11-11-2014 at 02:17 PM.
Wvzl1 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.