Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
HURST
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-30-2009, 05:13 PM   #1
H3LLJumper
 
H3LLJumper's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS VIN#11184
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Irvine, California
Posts: 580
Aftermarket built in all-in-one GPS, audio, etc?

Anyone know of any aftermarket GPS/Radio/CD/Etc that you can put in to the dash to replace the current radio? Do any fit without having to replace all of the wiring? Thanks!
H3LLJumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 05:16 PM   #2
Road_Warrior85
 
Drives: IBM 2SSRS, 05 Hemi powered Jeep TJ
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Cullman, AL
Posts: 660
Send a message via Yahoo to Road_Warrior85
Have you seen inside a camaro????

Just the shape alone (not to mention how it all ties in to the computerized everything goin on in there) tells me that there is no way you can replace it.
Hell, all the AC/Heat settings are built into it.
Road_Warrior85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 05:16 PM   #3
Silverghost
 
Silverghost's Avatar
 
Drives: Z28
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 533
Good luck with that, the radio is integrated with the car and works some of the non-radio related functions.
__________________
Speed Kills - Drive a Ford and live forever!

www.rivercityperformance.com
Silverghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 05:18 PM   #4
H3LLJumper
 
H3LLJumper's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS VIN#11184
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Irvine, California
Posts: 580
So it's going to (at least for a year or more..) for a built in GPS system?
H3LLJumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 05:44 PM   #5
Pyottboy
 
Drives: Black 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 23
get a custom dash built to house the head unit that would do audio/video/gps/back up camera and then have them wire everything so all previous functions would still work. it would take a LOT of time and a good amount of money but it definitely would be worth it in the end. this is something that im going to look into when I get my camaro. perhaps you could head over to an aftermarket audio shop and have them take a look at your car and maybe they can help you. the only way to know for sure if it can be done is to ask the experts
__________________
Black 2SS/RS 6A
Vararam/Ported TB/ARH LTs/Loudmouth 2/Dyno tuned
BMR sways/full bushings/trailing arms and toe rods/dropped an inch
Interior/exterior accents that make the car bangin
Pyottboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 07:12 PM   #6
H3LLJumper
 
H3LLJumper's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS VIN#11184
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Irvine, California
Posts: 580
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyottboy View Post
get a custom dash built to house the head unit that would do audio/video/gps/back up camera and then have them wire everything so all previous functions would still work. it would take a LOT of time and a good amount of money but it definitely would be worth it in the end. this is something that im going to look into when I get my camaro. perhaps you could head over to an aftermarket audio shop and have them take a look at your car and maybe they can help you. the only way to know for sure if it can be done is to ask the experts
If only some good ones existed in my neck of the woods.
H3LLJumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 07:15 PM   #7
Supermans
Camaro & Stang Enthusiast
 
Supermans's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Mustang 5.0 in Kona Blue
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Miami
Posts: 4,752
I don't see it as worth it.. Buy yourself a top of the line Garmin GPS, an Ipod Touch to put your music on and you're set...
__________________
Bought my Camaro from Eric Hall(817) 421-7266
Supermans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 07:49 PM   #8
patriotpa
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 02 Silverado, 09 Vue, 10 1SS
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tired of apologizing when we should be kickin' butt!
Posts: 1,966
It'd probably take a LOT of money and the services of a very good electronics engineer to bodge something together that utilizes the existing non-music related functions of the existing hardware, as well as integrate the equipment you'd like to add. Very custom. Probably do-able, but $$$$$
patriotpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 07:54 PM   #9
UCF w00t
Geek
 
UCF w00t's Avatar
 
Drives: IOM 2010 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Orlando
Posts: 4,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supermans View Post
I don't see it as worth it.. Buy yourself a top of the line Garmin GPS, an Ipod Touch to put your music on and you're set...
Why buy an iPod if you're just going to use it for the car? A USB thumb drive will do the same trick for a much smaller cost.
UCF w00t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 12:17 AM   #10
H3LLJumper
 
H3LLJumper's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS VIN#11184
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Irvine, California
Posts: 580
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supermans View Post
I don't see it as worth it.. Buy yourself a top of the line Garmin GPS, an Ipod Touch to put your music on and you're set...
If I wanted to do that, I wouldn't have made this post. Eh?
H3LLJumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2009, 01:21 AM   #11
H3LLJumper
 
H3LLJumper's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS VIN#11184
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Irvine, California
Posts: 580
Well, if anyone gets some info, post it here!
H3LLJumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 12:53 PM   #12
TomServo
 
Drives: 2007 Z06
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Swansea IL
Posts: 727
GM screwed the pooch on this, why such a proprietary design is beyond me. It’s going to cost a ton of $$$ to install any aftermarket system.

And its not like they had a space limitation to worry about.
TomServo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 02:02 PM   #13
drummerstevey
 
drummerstevey's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 VW GTI
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Sayreville, New Jersey
Posts: 88
if there is a way to do it, put in one of the kenwood systems, they have garmin gps systems in them, with traffic updates too
__________________

Good things are worth waiting for...
drummerstevey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 02:23 PM   #14
jparra2121
 
Drives: GMC Yukon
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NYC, NY
Posts: 10
This is the only system that I've seen that works with the existing interior:

http://www.navigadget.com/index.php/...ar-view-mirror
jparra2121 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.