Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Fabberge
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission

Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission Tune and diagnostics for engines and auto transmission.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-04-2013, 06:23 PM   #1
nyrfan
Let's go Rangers!
 
nyrfan's Avatar
 
Drives: 13' AGM 2SS/RS L99
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 9,873
Question regarding SCT tuner

I purchase a new one from a member and received it today. I'm not certain if and when I am going to tune but I'd like to try it out.

Can I plug it it to see how it works or will that do something to the ECM that will make it look like a tune?

My goal is just to play around for now not attempt a tune. I don't want to plug it in and poof there goes my warranty.

Thanks all!


Felix - Sent from my 2SS/RS
__________________
Soprano 4/1/00-6/14/11, Gone but NEVER forgotten!
FSP tuned: 377/389
nyrfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 06:33 PM   #2
GaBoy25


 
GaBoy25's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS/RS M6/2500HD Lmm LTZ
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: South Georgia
Posts: 2,551
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyrfan View Post
I purchase a new one from a member and received it today. I'm not certain if and when I am going to tune but I'd like to try it out.

Can I plug it it to see how it works or will that do something to the ECM that will make it look like a tune?

My goal is just to play around for now not attempt a tune. I don't want to plug it in and poof there goes my warranty.

Thanks all!


Felix - Sent from my 2SS/RS

It should lock to your vin but unless you actually LOAD the tune you should be fine.
__________________
FASTER than my SS....for now

2500HD (with a couple parts)



Quote:
Originally Posted by Coyotekiller View Post
I wonder if this could be why my car idles like its retarded...
GaBoy25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 06:48 PM   #3
LS1hawk
 
LS1hawk's Avatar
 
Drives: 11 SGM 2SS/RS
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PA
Posts: 431
I'm not sure what you would do with it if you aren't going to load a tune but when you're ready for one make sure Jannetty Racing is near the top of your contact list.
__________________
LS1hawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 06:52 PM   #4
nyrfan
Let's go Rangers!
 
nyrfan's Avatar
 
Drives: 13' AGM 2SS/RS L99
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 9,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by LS1hawk View Post
I'm not sure what you would do with it if you aren't going to load a tune but when you're ready for one make sure Jannetty Racing is near the top of your contact list.
Just want to look at the features and what it reads, essentially just get accustomed to it. And yes, Jannetty is at the top oft list unless I do a dyno tune with Matt from FSP.


Felix - Sent from my 2SS/RS
__________________
Soprano 4/1/00-6/14/11, Gone but NEVER forgotten!
FSP tuned: 377/389
nyrfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 12:21 AM   #5
Denis


 
Denis's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Lexington Park, MD
Posts: 6,029
You can't accidentally load a tune. It definitely asks if your sure a few times lol. Very hard to do it by accident.
__________________
Denis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 12:22 AM   #6
Dznts
Anabolic Connoisseur
 
Dznts's Avatar
 
Drives: Blown Camaro 2SS/RS LS3-2007 Tahoe
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 25,693
just tune it
__________________
Dznts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 12:22 AM   #7
Supercharged SS
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 12,003
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyrfan View Post
I purchase a new one from a member and received it today. I'm not certain if and when I am going to tune but I'd like to try it out.

Can I plug it it to see how it works or will that do something to the ECM that will make it look like a tune?

My goal is just to play around for now not attempt a tune. I don't want to plug it in and poof there goes my warranty.

Thanks all!


Felix - Sent from my 2SS/RS
You can still use it as a code reader and data logger.
Supercharged SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 07:15 AM   #8
LS1hawk
 
LS1hawk's Avatar
 
Drives: 11 SGM 2SS/RS
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PA
Posts: 431
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyrfan View Post
Just want to look at the features and what it reads, essentially just get accustomed to it. And yes, Jannetty is at the top oft list unless I do a dyno tune with Matt from FSP.


Felix - Sent from my 2SS/RS
No warranty issues if you just use it to log data or are just checking it out the menus and such. Enjoy your new tune when you get it!!
__________________
LS1hawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 07:52 AM   #9
nyrfan
Let's go Rangers!
 
nyrfan's Avatar
 
Drives: 13' AGM 2SS/RS L99
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 9,873
Thanks everyone. It's only a matter of time, lol! But till them I'd like to data log and learn it.


Felix - Sent from my 2SS/RS
__________________
Soprano 4/1/00-6/14/11, Gone but NEVER forgotten!
FSP tuned: 377/389
nyrfan is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.