Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Solo Performance
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission

Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission Tune and diagnostics for engines and auto transmission.

Old 01-06-2013, 01:10 PM   #1
Retro69

Drives: 2011 2SS M6 Synergy Green
Tech II Scantool: Are they with their cost?

Many moons ago I was a driveability/tuneup tech at Chevrolet dealers. At that time I had a personal OTC scantool. The latest gear the dealer had was a CAMS
machine. The Tech II scanner was just on the horizon as I made a career change out of the car business.

Fast forward to 2013. Assuming working on only GM vehicles is the Tech II scanner a good investment? How does it compare to the third party alternatives?

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2

Comp Cams cam and trunion upgrade
CAI intake, Rotofab washer bottle
Dynatech 1 7/8" long tube headers, hi-flow cats
VMAX CNC Ported TB. Pfadt Performance Kit - Stage 2 ZL-Spec
Ideal Garage clutch master cylinder with remote reservoir
Retro69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 04:01 PM   #2
camaro1

Drives: 550+RWHP 2010 camaro
tech 2 is old news, not even really used at our dealer anymore. the latest gm scan tool is the MDI unit, you use it with a laptop and gds2 software for all 2010 and newer gm global vehicles. and for the older gm's and new non global vehicles they have gm tech2 win software that emulates a tech2 scanner on the laptop when used with the mdi unit.

if you do decide to get a tech 2 make sure its a real one and not a chinese clone, basically if they are advertising it as new with a candi module for less than $2000 its a fake.

i own a tech2 with candi module, gm mdi unit and a snap on solus. the solus is nice but for gm its no tech2