Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
PFYC
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission

Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission Tune and diagnostics for engines and auto transmission.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-21-2013, 01:29 PM   #1
SSTOCK
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Earth
Posts: 59
Revert to stock tune?

Hey guys,

Just curious if anyone can help me figure out what the easiest & cheapest way to flash my car back to the stock tune would be?

Would someone local with a handheld tuner be able to accomplish this fairly easily?

And if you happen to be in the chicago area... how many cases of beer do you want?

Thanks!
SSTOCK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 02:34 PM   #2
The Stig
knows 2 facts about ducks
 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Drives: ...and they're both wrong
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The HMS Invincible
Posts: 26,690
You can't use someone else's handheld tuner - when you use a handheld tuner to tune a car the tuner becomes "married" to that VIN and will only work on that VIN until you use the tuner to put the "married" VIN back to it's stock tune.

You'd also need to have your car's stock tune on the handheld. But that's a whole different issue.

Why don't you just go to the shop that tuned the car and ask them to put it back to stock?
__________________
Click to view my build thread
The Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 02:42 PM   #3
SSTOCK
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Earth
Posts: 59
Ah, thanks for the info Stig..

Well, i'm pulling the thing apart in my garage, so would likely have to flatbed it to the shop since I presume a car in stock form will not like an FI tune.
SSTOCK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 02:51 PM   #4
JANNETTYRACING
PRESIDENT CALIBRATOR JRE

 
JANNETTYRACING's Avatar
 
Drives: YELLOW 2013 ZL1 AUTO
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ON THE DYNO WATERBURY CT.
Posts: 9,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by SSTOCK View Post
Ah, thanks for the info Stig..

Well, i'm pulling the thing apart in my garage, so would likely have to flatbed it to the shop since I presume a car in stock form will not like an FI tune.
I suspect the car was tuned with either HPtuners or EFI live or something similar.

In that case you do not have a Handheld unit that stored your stock tune file.

Either the Shop that tuned it or the Dealer can flash it back to stock.

The Dealer can do it as long as the Tuner did not lock the computer with his software.

If it was locked then you will either have him do it or purchase a new ECM and have the dealer do it.

Ted.
__________________
Technical information, Parts Sales, Professional Installation, and Custom Dyno Tuning.
Please vist our web sites for all your performance needs!
Ted Jannetty
Jannetty Racing Ent Inc.
2984 East Main St.
Waterbury Ct. 06705
203-753-7223
tedj@jannettyracing.com
www.jannettyracing.com
www.turboaddictionparts.com
Performance Parts
JANNETTYRACING is online now   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.