Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
dave@hennessey
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-03-2013, 06:24 AM   #155
Pagliaro
RIP Betsy ( Vitara )
 
Pagliaro's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 SGM 1LT/RS '05 Ford Escape XLT
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 781
Send a message via AIM to Pagliaro Send a message via MSN to Pagliaro Send a message via Yahoo to Pagliaro
Quote:
Originally Posted by KOKOPUFF View Post
Can't wait to see it! Do you if the 2010's will loose the door unlock/lock feature?
It's not on the mylink faceplate. Perhaps a relocation kit will be made.

If not we still have our key fobs.

I have 3 sets of keys for mine. 1 with auto start and two without.
Pagliaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 10:06 AM   #156
KOKOPUFF
FLCFA
 
KOKOPUFF's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Red Jewel Tintcoat 2LT/RS
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 30
The key fobs will not work while the vehicle running. At least not on mine. Should be interesting to see what they come up with.
__________________
KOKOPUFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 10:15 AM   #157
skuttduck


 
skuttduck's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 RJT 2LT Camaro
Join Date: May 2009
Location: East Lansing, MI
Posts: 2,530
Send a message via ICQ to skuttduck Send a message via AIM to skuttduck Send a message via Yahoo to skuttduck
Quote:
Originally Posted by KOKOPUFF View Post
The key fobs will not work while the vehicle running. At least not on mine. Should be interesting to see what they come up with.
Losing the door unlock feature does suck, but one could upgrade to the 2012 door panels for that.

You can still pull open the door twice to unlock, and press down to lock when you are in the car. I have found myself using the door lock feature on the controls there though.
__________________
skuttduck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 10:55 AM   #158
The Stig
knows 2 facts about ducks
 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Drives: ...and they're both wrong
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The HMS Invincible
Posts: 26,132
Quote:
Originally Posted by skuttduck View Post
Losing the door unlock feature does suck, but one could upgrade to the 2012 door panels for that.

You can still pull open the door twice to unlock, and press down to lock when you are in the car. I have found myself using the door lock feature on the controls there though.
True, but say you are picking someone up - how would you unlock the passenger side door from the driver's seat?

Not trying to put a hole in your idea, just playing devil's advocate.
__________________
Click to view my build thread
The Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 11:01 AM   #159
skuttduck


 
skuttduck's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 RJT 2LT Camaro
Join Date: May 2009
Location: East Lansing, MI
Posts: 2,530
Send a message via ICQ to skuttduck Send a message via AIM to skuttduck Send a message via Yahoo to skuttduck
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Stig View Post
True, but say you are picking someone up - how would you unlock the passenger side door from the driver's seat?

Not trying to put a hole in your idea, just playing devil's advocate.
Without the door unlock button, just reach over and open the door for them. Or pull on the drivers door once to unlock the doors.
__________________
skuttduck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 11:02 AM   #160
chathen613
 
chathen613's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Chevy Camaro 2LT RS
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Detroit Metro
Posts: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Stig View Post
True, but say you are picking someone up - how would you unlock the passenger side door from the driver's seat?

Not trying to put a hole in your idea, just playing devil's advocate.
..I put the car in park to unlock the doors..
__________________
2010 2LT RS Black w/ Synergy Green Stripes

My ride: http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=242142
chathen613 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 11:05 AM   #161
KOKOPUFF
FLCFA
 
KOKOPUFF's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Red Jewel Tintcoat 2LT/RS
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 30
I wonder if you can use the mylink screen with the Metra Kit? That way you still get the unlock/lock buttons with the gm settings for your can and onstar.
__________________
KOKOPUFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 11:07 AM   #162
KOKOPUFF
FLCFA
 
KOKOPUFF's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Red Jewel Tintcoat 2LT/RS
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by chathen613 View Post
..I put the car in park to unlock the doors..
That is true, typically would need to stop when you open the doors.
__________________
KOKOPUFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 11:21 AM   #163
Aubrey64


 
Aubrey64's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro LLT/RS
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 2,687
I feel like there is going to have to be some sort of lock/unlock relocation kit. You wouldn't even have to get the whole door panel, just the door pulls and some sort of switch
__________________
Aubrey64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 12:28 PM   #164
DWALEX

 
DWALEX's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS Garnet, Adrenaline A8,MRC,NPP..
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 902
__________________
DWALEX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 02:39 PM   #165
skuttduck


 
skuttduck's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 RJT 2LT Camaro
Join Date: May 2009
Location: East Lansing, MI
Posts: 2,530
Send a message via ICQ to skuttduck Send a message via AIM to skuttduck Send a message via Yahoo to skuttduck
Quote:
Originally Posted by DWALEX View Post
Yes you are all ready for it.

I can just reach across the car for the time being to unlock though.
__________________
skuttduck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 02:47 PM   #166
2SSRS@Gen5diy

 
2SSRS@Gen5diy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS IOM ,2014 Z/28, 66 Nova
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: By the lake in AZ
Posts: 13,340
that i have worked out for non 2012 cars going to use a swich that can be mounted on the side of the center console.
__________________
<img src=images/smilies/thumbdown.gif border=0 alt= title=Thumbdown class=inlineimg />
2SSRS@Gen5diy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 03:51 PM   #167
The Stig
knows 2 facts about ducks
 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Drives: ...and they're both wrong
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The HMS Invincible
Posts: 26,132
Quote:
Originally Posted by chathen613 View Post
..I put the car in park to unlock the doors..
You guys and your automatics.
__________________
Click to view my build thread
The Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 04:12 PM   #168
DWALEX

 
DWALEX's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS Garnet, Adrenaline A8,MRC,NPP..
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 902
Quote:
Originally Posted by skuttduck View Post
Yes you are all ready for it.

I can just reach across the car for the time being to unlock though.
Just kidding.


For safety and some settings it is important to have at least one switch
__________________
DWALEX is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.