Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
TireRack
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls

Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls Report, discuss and diagnose any issues and problems with your Camaro, including warranty discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-01-2013, 06:22 PM   #1
Amn_Bly
 
Amn_Bly's Avatar
 
Drives: IBM 2LT A6
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 133
Send a message via Skype™ to Amn_Bly
Electrical issues

http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=272535

Above is the original problem. I got my camaro back on wednesday, 30 Jan. After it was "fixed".

Today I drove my camaro into school, about an hour drive, no problem. After 3 hours, I go to start it to leave, but my remote start isn't working, didn't really think about it, but it wouldn't keyless unlock either, had to turn the lock by hand. So I knew there was some kind of screwy electrical problem again. I check the voltage, only 5 volts in the engine compartment, and 12-13 volts at the battery. I just had the main power transfer cable replaced, anyone have any idea whats going on?

I will note, that the tow guy thought it was weird, got it jumped and on the truck. At the dealership, it started no problem but once I turned it off no power, as in the radio cut out and no overhead light. Finally The radio keeps the time/date for both start ups but both times, after the jump, it informed me that i had two programed keys and the window indexing needed to be performed.
__________________
2LT, A6
MRT v2
March 27, 2010 - Delivered.
Amn_Bly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 07:27 PM   #2
Unknown SSRS
 
Drives: 2011 VR SS/RS
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Long island,NY (nassau)
Posts: 260
something is draining your battery... i would just disconnect your stereo system and see if it still does it.
Unknown SSRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 09:26 AM   #3
Amn_Bly
 
Amn_Bly's Avatar
 
Drives: IBM 2LT A6
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 133
Send a message via Skype™ to Amn_Bly
This did this before I called anything to see what was happening. Nothing changed, it is very confusing and my dealer is beginning to freak out about it as well.
__________________
2LT, A6
MRT v2
March 27, 2010 - Delivered.
Amn_Bly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 09:44 AM   #4
Amn_Bly
 
Amn_Bly's Avatar
 
Drives: IBM 2LT A6
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 133
Send a message via Skype™ to Amn_Bly
Update:

Just giving everyone another report. The dealership found that the grounding bolt did not properly fit into the drilled hole, it was too small. This would cause, when it got cold, for the surface area of contact to decrease causing problems. After they attempted to remove, in which the bolt snapped and had to drill/tap it to remove it, they noticed that from factory the contact surface was not "cleaned" or still had the paint over all surfaces. They removed some of the paint, got a slightly larger bolt and hopefully this is the last electrical problem I will have. Just wanted to let others know.
__________________
2LT, A6
MRT v2
March 27, 2010 - Delivered.
Amn_Bly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 09:53 AM   #5
Chevrolet Customer Svc


 
Chevrolet Customer Svc's Avatar
 
Drives: GM Vehicles
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 8,618
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amn_Bly View Post
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=272535

Above is the original problem. I got my camaro back on wednesday, 30 Jan. After it was "fixed".

Today I drove my camaro into school, about an hour drive, no problem. After 3 hours, I go to start it to leave, but my remote start isn't working, didn't really think about it, but it wouldn't keyless unlock either, had to turn the lock by hand. So I knew there was some kind of screwy electrical problem again. I check the voltage, only 5 volts in the engine compartment, and 12-13 volts at the battery. I just had the main power transfer cable replaced, anyone have any idea whats going on?

I will note, that the tow guy thought it was weird, got it jumped and on the truck. At the dealership, it started no problem but once I turned it off no power, as in the radio cut out and no overhead light. Finally The radio keeps the time/date for both start ups but both times, after the jump, it informed me that i had two programed keys and the window indexing needed to be performed.
So what exactly is going on with your vehicle at the moment? Is it currently in for service? Please let us know all of the details.

Brandon
Chevrolet Customer Service
Chevrolet Customer Svc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 09:29 AM   #6
Amn_Bly
 
Amn_Bly's Avatar
 
Drives: IBM 2LT A6
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 133
Send a message via Skype™ to Amn_Bly
It has returned from service, free of charge. The grounding bolt went bad. It was below 20 degrees for over a week and the bolt did not fit into the threads currently. This lose of contact resulted in improper grounding. When they tried to remove the bolt head snapped off. After drill/taping of the bolt to remove it, they replaced with a slightly different bolt that shouldn't have a similar problem. As far as my car goes, I have been watching the voltage closely. It has settled down considerably while drive, staying in the 13-14 volt range instead of anywhere from 15+ to 12. I believe this should be the solution to the problem though.
__________________
2LT, A6
MRT v2
March 27, 2010 - Delivered.
Amn_Bly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 02:39 PM   #7
TooCool5
Resident Gearhead
 
TooCool5's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1LS 3.6 LLT V6 325 HP
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Central CT
Posts: 3,569
Which bolt was it, under the hood?
__________________
2010 Camaro Auto, Inferno Orange, Titanium Interior, Gearhead Wheels AIRAID CAI
TooCool5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 10:33 AM   #8
Amn_Bly
 
Amn_Bly's Avatar
 
Drives: IBM 2LT A6
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 133
Send a message via Skype™ to Amn_Bly
No, the bolt I am referring to is the main grounding bolt in the trunk. It is located to the right of the battery.
__________________
2LT, A6
MRT v2
March 27, 2010 - Delivered.
Amn_Bly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 06:11 PM   #9
TooCool5
Resident Gearhead
 
TooCool5's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1LS 3.6 LLT V6 325 HP
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Central CT
Posts: 3,569
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amn_Bly View Post
No, the bolt I am referring to is the main grounding bolt in the trunk. It is located to the right of the battery.
I'll have to check mine next time I'm in there.
__________________
2010 Camaro Auto, Inferno Orange, Titanium Interior, Gearhead Wheels AIRAID CAI
TooCool5 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.