Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
dave@hennessey
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Members Area > Off-topic Discussions

Off-topic Discussions Discuss any off-topic subjects with other members.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-15-2009, 12:24 PM   #1
Hemlawk
AwesomeBillDawesonville
 
Hemlawk's Avatar
 
Drives: CGM 2SS/RS =)
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 2,073
Tech geek help needed

Hey guys I need heep

I have my Xbox hooked up to a 22'' pc monitor through HDMI. The monitor has speakers, but they are very weak and I can barely hear the game. Is there any way I can hook up the Xbox through my pc to use my pc speaker?

The only other solution I can think of, is to get an HDMI Reciever and run new speakers(basically a stereo system).

Thanks
Ed
__________________

Order placed on 1/13/11 - Purchased 2/22/11 2SS/RS CGM
Hemlawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 12:39 PM   #2
moto-camaro
CEO of the Internet
 
moto-camaro's Avatar
 
Drives: the Roflcopter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Halifax, NS
Posts: 1,335
Send a message via AIM to moto-camaro Send a message via MSN to moto-camaro
xbox 360, right? and i assume you want to use a computer speaker system on your xbox?

if you're running hdmi, hopefully you bought the kit that's built out for the xbox, it comes with this other adapter that plugs into the standard A/V output (if you were using component or VGA).
now, my 360 is from the first batch before they added HDMI, but my brother has a newer system, i set it up for him.

from that box that plugs into the A/V on the back of the xbox, i have standard red/white audio cables, then i have a converter cable that switches the Red/White to a female 1/4" jack, and that gets plugged into the computer speakers (which should use a 1/4" male jack)

if you have a media center PC with tv tuner you CAN run a xbox through your computer, but i've never attempted it.


edit:
just found this, this is the cable to gets plugged into the speakers on one end, and the red/white on the other.
__________________
moto-camaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 12:45 PM   #3
MTron
 
Drives: 99 Grand Prix
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 334
Well, you can first check to see if the speaker volume in either the xbox settings or in the monitor settings is turned down. If that isnt the problem, and it really is just crappy speakers, then take a careful look at the back of the monitor, you should see a 1/8 inch stereo mini plug...aka the headphone jack...this is an audio output (called a passthrough) for the HDMI (since your monitor has speakers you would likely have 2 jacks, one u might already be using, the audio input). You can hook up an external speaker to the outout jack to play whatever sound comes over the hdmi

if you give me the model of the monitor i could give you some more specific advice
MTron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 01:14 PM   #4
Hemlawk
AwesomeBillDawesonville
 
Hemlawk's Avatar
 
Drives: CGM 2SS/RS =)
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 2,073
I have the Acer H213H 21.5" Heres my desk. Sorry its messy, we just moved in last month. (yay bought my first house)



Pc is hooked up through vga, xbox through hdmi. Pc sound is through the Sound Blaster Live on 2.1 Boston Acoustics. (also buying a new gaming rig soon )

I dont want to lose the 1080p quality of the video. I do have a Xbox DVI cable. Not sure how to split the sound out...
__________________

Order placed on 1/13/11 - Purchased 2/22/11 2SS/RS CGM
Hemlawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 01:52 PM   #5
moto-camaro
CEO of the Internet
 
moto-camaro's Avatar
 
Drives: the Roflcopter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Halifax, NS
Posts: 1,335
Send a message via AIM to moto-camaro Send a message via MSN to moto-camaro
similar setup as i had when i lived in residence at university. i had it rigged so when i played xbox i just pulled the speaker cord from the computer and plugged it into the adapter for the xbox. i had a laptop however so i didn't lose all my sound for my computer, so slightly different situation i suppose. that's how i'd do it though.

i've never used a monitor as MTron said, but it definitely sounds worth a try. sounds a little more convenient if it works out.
__________________
moto-camaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 02:37 PM   #6
shank0668


 
shank0668's Avatar
 
Drives: 1998 Sahara
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 8,573
Send a message via AIM to shank0668
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hemlawk View Post
I have the Acer H213H 21.5" Heres my desk. Sorry its messy, we just moved in last month. (yay bought my first house)



Pc is hooked up through vga, xbox through hdmi. Pc sound is through the Sound Blaster Live on 2.1 Boston Acoustics. (also buying a new gaming rig soon )

I dont want to lose the 1080p quality of the video. I do have a Xbox DVI cable. Not sure how to split the sound out...
You stole my background. LOL
shank0668 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 04:14 PM   #7
Hemlawk
AwesomeBillDawesonville
 
Hemlawk's Avatar
 
Drives: CGM 2SS/RS =)
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 2,073
Quote:
Originally Posted by shank0668 View Post
You stole my background. LOL
Thats such an awesome photograph and the color scheme I want
__________________

Order placed on 1/13/11 - Purchased 2/22/11 2SS/RS CGM
Hemlawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 11:50 PM   #8
2KZ28_For_Now
SS Shotgun Ride?!??! :-)
 
2KZ28_For_Now's Avatar
 
Drives: 2000 Z28
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,552
Quote:
Originally Posted by MTron View Post
Well, you can first check to see if the speaker volume in either the xbox settings or in the monitor settings is turned down. If that isnt the problem, and it really is just crappy speakers, then take a careful look at the back of the monitor, you should see a 1/8 inch stereo mini plug...aka the headphone jack...this is an audio output (called a passthrough) for the HDMI (since your monitor has speakers you would likely have 2 jacks, one u might already be using, the audio input). You can hook up an external speaker to the outout jack to play whatever sound comes over the hdmi

if you give me the model of the monitor i could give you some more specific advice
^ good advice. But your monitor does not have an audio out, from what I have seen. That's a bummer.

You would be better off getting an above average sound card on the computer (Turtle Beach or SoundBlaster) and using the standard RCA output (or HDMI) from the 360 to the computer directly.

Only drawback is you also have to route the PC sound to a good pair of PC speakers, or better yet, a stereo. (Optical out to a stereo would be nice).

This is only assuming you cant or wont route the sound from the 360 to a good TV.

If you have more questions, fire away.
__________________
LT LS RS SS LS3 **LSA-Z28 (Skip the body kit)**
2KZ28_For_Now is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 12:58 AM   #9
MTron
 
Drives: 99 Grand Prix
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2KZ28_For_Now View Post
^ good advice. But your monitor does not have an audio out, from what I have seen. That's a bummer.

You would be better off getting an above average sound card on the computer (Turtle Beach or SoundBlaster) and using the standard RCA output (or HDMI) from the 360 to the computer directly.

Only drawback is you also have to route the PC sound to a good pair of PC speakers, or better yet, a stereo. (Optical out to a stereo would be nice).

This is only assuming you cant or wont route the sound from the 360 to a good TV.

If you have more questions, fire away.
Unfortunately 2KZ28_For_Now is correct, your monitor does not have an audio pass through for the HDMI, so your options are limited, mostly by practicality and cost

Routing the Xbox through the PC first would require either using the digital or analog (and thus not High Def) output for the xbox, buying (if you don't have) a video capture card for the pc, and then having everything just run through the computer.
Unfortunately this is not a realistic solution. All the extra processing steps involved in having the computer relaying the signal would add a noticeable amount of lag to the game (ie the time span between hitting fire, and you actually seeing you fire would increase) and would, imho, severely diminish the playability of any game

Even if you shelled out the cash for a HDMI capture/HD capture card, there would still be lag added, and the cost prohibitive

I think the best option would be to just buy the cable set that 2KZ28_For_Now suggested. One of the cables is the standard HDMI cable, the other is an AV output cable, and it plugs into the larger slot that is just above the HDMI cable on the XBox. It will provide you with a set of analog audio outputs. You can go to any electronics store to get a cable that goes from the dual (left and Right) RCA audio connectors to the standard 1/8 " stereo mini jack (AKA the headphone jack). Since you only need the AV cable, check to see if you can buy it separately or even on eBay to save yourself some cash since you have the HDMI

Now, as for what you do with the analog audio. You have 3 options really.
1. New set of speakers. Either one that has multiple input options, or run a second set in tandem with your current setup
2. Run the audio only into the computer (Line in/Mic jack on the sound card) and have the computer just pass the audio through (not difficult). I would suggest attempting this solution first, as it is the cheapest, but it is also possible some delay in the sound could be experienced, it may not be noticeable, but keep it in mind.
3. Buy a separate source selector. When you want to play xbox, set the selector to change the speakers input from the computer to the xbox, something like this would do the job http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=2049645


Whew!!! lots of writing...lol

if you have any questions feel free to ask

Last edited by MTron; 06-17-2009 at 02:28 PM.
MTron is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GM High Tech Performance magazine is looking for YOU! JustinCesler 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 15 04-27-2009 11:53 PM
GM High Tech Performance magazine is looking for YOU! JustinCesler USA - Southeast 2 04-27-2009 02:31 PM
Seeking Tech Help: Axle "clunk?" 2KZ28_For_Now 4th Generation Camaros 10 02-21-2009 08:38 AM
Tech Gurus needed ASAP for bios questions. Mindz Off-topic Discussions 1 11-28-2007 10:48 AM
Announcing GM Tech Center Fbody Show TAG UR IT Off-topic Discussions 9 08-01-2007 02:20 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.