Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Apex Paul
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission

Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission Tune and diagnostics for engines and auto transmission.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-09-2013, 05:11 PM   #1
danielblack60
 
danielblack60's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 1SS LS3, 1998 K1500 5spd
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Russell Springs, Kentucky
Posts: 125
Tuned my first a6 SS today!

I am a drivability technician at a gm dealer and in my spare time, I tune gm cars and trucks for friends using hptuners. I have tuned several m6 camaros (including my own) but I never had the chance to wake up an a6 camaro until today.

The only automatic transmissions i had ever dealt with until today were the older 4L series transmissions, so it took me a few minutes to get familiar with the parameters and layout of the 6l80, but I got the hang of it fairly quickly.

Wow! I had read about how a transmission tune really wakes these cars up, but I didn't know it would help that much! It feels like a totally different car now and the owner is very pleased with it.

Just thought I would share my first experience tuning an l99 camaro
__________________
*ASE Master Certified and L1 Certified. Now working on GM World Class Status

*2010 1SS, hennessey cold air intake, SW long tubes, catless midpipes, flowmaster catback, 3.91's, trailing arms, custom tune with HP tuning software. 12.144 @ 114MPH

*1998 Chevrolet K1500, 6' superlift, 35' pro-comp tires, cammed 355ci with forged internals, 4.56 gears, eaton locker, k&n cold air intake, shortie headers, custom tune with Hp tuning software. SOON TO BE TRADED IN TO A 2014 GMC SIERRA!
danielblack60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 06:26 PM   #2
Skylane765
Splitter washers, jack pd

 
Skylane765's Avatar
 
Drives: 13 ZL1, 14 Z/28, Cessna 182T
Join Date: May 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,767
What wideband do you use?
Skylane765 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 12:01 AM   #3
danielblack60
 
danielblack60's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 1SS LS3, 1998 K1500 5spd
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Russell Springs, Kentucky
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skylane765 View Post
What wideband do you use?
Didn't bother hooking it up today since I didn't do much changes to fuel or airflow. Today i only tuned the transmission, spark advance, and played with PE enable rpm/ enrichment rate. He is getting a cold air intake and catless down pipes sometime soon so I will hook it up then and tune the map, maf, and PE eq ratio.

But to answer your question, it's an innovate LM2
__________________
*ASE Master Certified and L1 Certified. Now working on GM World Class Status

*2010 1SS, hennessey cold air intake, SW long tubes, catless midpipes, flowmaster catback, 3.91's, trailing arms, custom tune with HP tuning software. 12.144 @ 114MPH

*1998 Chevrolet K1500, 6' superlift, 35' pro-comp tires, cammed 355ci with forged internals, 4.56 gears, eaton locker, k&n cold air intake, shortie headers, custom tune with Hp tuning software. SOON TO BE TRADED IN TO A 2014 GMC SIERRA!
danielblack60 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.