Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Phastek Performance
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-28-2013, 04:50 PM   #1
simt3k

 
Drives: 2011 Camaro RS 2LT
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Edmonton Alberta Canada
Posts: 762
Metrakit steering wheel controls don't work.

I have the metra kit installed and everything works except the volume control and source control on the steering wheel. My stereo is AVH-Pioneer 3300BT.

Its all installed, Is there a separate cable for the steering wheel control or does it need updating or programming?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
simt3k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 05:18 PM   #2
simt3k

 
Drives: 2011 Camaro RS 2LT
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Edmonton Alberta Canada
Posts: 762
Am I missing something?
simt3k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 11:50 PM   #3
Drago77
Treasure Coast Camaro 5
 
Drago77's Avatar
 
Drives: SW 11' 2SS/RS LS3 Vert, Blk/Blk
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Posts: 4,554
I did the Scosche... but...

Did you do the install yourself?

Did you use a Pac SWI interface? Its about $40; blue unit with several wires... connects from the radio to.stereo with hot wires to the BCU and a neg.... I didn't think it was really necessary; but perhaps for different stereos...
Drago77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 12:52 AM   #4
Wuiquen


 
Wuiquen's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Summit White 2LT/RS
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NorCal
Posts: 2,997
Did you reprogram the interface the radio??
__________________
Wuiquen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 12:55 AM   #5
Wuiquen


 
Wuiquen's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Summit White 2LT/RS
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NorCal
Posts: 2,997
In the instructions, it says it might auto detect ur radio but when i install my pioneer it didnt
So i had to reprogram it. Its simple.. read the instructions.. all u have to do if i remember right is hold the volume down button. The led in the interface should start blinking rapidly then u.need to select ur radio number using the volume button. Pioneer is 6. Then i believe u press volume down again and the led should blink 6 times confirming it is recognized... follow the instructions... let me know if u need more help.. ill look at the instructions tom if u need more help
__________________
Wuiquen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 12:16 PM   #6
simt3k

 
Drives: 2011 Camaro RS 2LT
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Edmonton Alberta Canada
Posts: 762


Thanks Man I thought I needed to order another part for the kit.
simt3k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 12:47 PM   #7
chevy 3
NEcamaro5
 
chevy 3's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2ss rs 1LE
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: mass
Posts: 4,105
My god!!! This is great. I just installed my kenwood and have the same problum. Can't wait to go home and try.
chevy 3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 01:03 PM   #8
simt3k

 
Drives: 2011 Camaro RS 2LT
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Edmonton Alberta Canada
Posts: 762
http://www.amazon.com/Axxess-ASWC-1-.../dp/B00B4PJC9K
(Axxess Metra ASWC-1 Universal Steering Wheel Control Interface)

Are you guys positive I don't need this cable?
simt3k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 02:55 AM   #9
Wuiquen


 
Wuiquen's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Summit White 2LT/RS
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NorCal
Posts: 2,997
Positive... all you have to do is once all install if the interface do not recognize the radio (
Controls wont work at the steering), turn the key to acc on, then hold down the volume down until the LED in the inrerface goes solid red. Then release and press Volume up six times which is pioneer number. Then press volume down again.. the LED should blink six times again... and then it should work..
__________________
Wuiquen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 08:08 PM   #10
simt3k

 
Drives: 2011 Camaro RS 2LT
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Edmonton Alberta Canada
Posts: 762
hold volume control on steering wheel right?
simt3k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 01:08 AM   #11
Wuiquen


 
Wuiquen's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Summit White 2LT/RS
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NorCal
Posts: 2,997
Yes.. then volume up on steering too
__________________
Wuiquen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 10:14 PM   #12
Monchy36
ZLT!!! COTW (8/5/13)
 
Monchy36's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 IOM 1LT RS M6
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Slatington, PA
Posts: 4,748
hey guys! i have this problem, i did this steps and nothing happen... can somebody tell me or show me witch is the connection for the wheel control to make sure i got everything right...
Monchy36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 10:58 AM   #13
FrankT
400HP used to be enough..
 
FrankT's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS rs manual
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Central NC
Posts: 698
For a Kenwood it is two times on the up volume. You need to do this within 30 seconds of turning the ignition on. All this info is in the Metra book that came with the interface kit.
__________________
Currently in the fleet... 2010 ZR1 Corvette, 2014 Cadillac CTS-V, 2010 Camaro SS single turbo, 2014 GMC Sierra Denali crew cab, 1967 Camaro SS350, 1969 Camaro SS427.

Build thread: http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=47925
FrankT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 12:43 PM   #14
Monchy36
ZLT!!! COTW (8/5/13)
 
Monchy36's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 IOM 1LT RS M6
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Slatington, PA
Posts: 4,748
UPDATE!: searching on why the wheel control was not working finally I find the answer... There's 2 metra kit for the Camaro, 99-3010S and 99-3010S LC... The last one is a basic version that doesn't have the same interface like the original to make it cheaper... So if the OP have the LC he need the hardness for make the wheel control work...
Monchy36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 05:19 PM   #15
Wuiquen


 
Wuiquen's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Summit White 2LT/RS
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NorCal
Posts: 2,997
True.. But that new metra kit just came out not long ago. I think the OP should have the old version.. Maybe he can tell us. It is weird that the metra kit controls arent working for him.
__________________
Wuiquen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 05:20 PM   #16
Wuiquen


 
Wuiquen's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Summit White 2LT/RS
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NorCal
Posts: 2,997
I think that the OP might have not connected the Steering wheel interface cable to the back of the radio. in the first post, he is wondering if there is a separate cable for it so I am guessing that he either missed it or does not have it line monchy said
__________________
Wuiquen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 03:37 PM   #17
gradov
 
Drives: Chevy Camaro 2LT
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Russia
Posts: 6
Here is the answer I got from support:
Good afternoon.*The newest version of the 99-3010S will include a harness to plug into our ASWC-1, but, the unit no longer has steering wheel controls built in.* The original 99-3010S has the steering wheel controls built into the kit.
gradov is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.