Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
dave@hennessey
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-03-2013, 06:05 PM   #1
Crashnburn7
 
Crashnburn7's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dayville, CT
Posts: 53
Stabilitrack Servicing

Not sure if this is the right place to post, but its definatley the most viewed...soooo,

My car has been in the garage all winter, I was setting up my tuner and getting ready to send my stock to ted.

Afterwards I started my car up and in the "info gauge"(dont know what else to call it), It said my stabilitrack needs servicing.

Is this just from it sitting all winter? or did I do something I didnt realize? or does it really need servicing? Why would it need servicing? I dont get it!!!

Advice appreciated,

Steve
Crashnburn7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 06:12 PM   #2
gutterball

 
gutterball's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 1LS M6 Supercharged
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New Britain, Ct
Posts: 886
Send a message via AIM to gutterball
Mine did that once, Shutting the car off to get Gas, after restart. never saw it again.
gutterball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 06:16 PM   #3
Crashnburn7
 
Crashnburn7's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dayville, CT
Posts: 53
Tried restarting it 3 times since early this afternoon, Has done it everytime
Crashnburn7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 06:24 PM   #4
biggerisbetter
lll
 
biggerisbetter's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro ss L99
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: new orleans
Posts: 1,176
try disconnecting the battery for 30 mins and also make sure all your spark plug wires are hooked up
__________________
PERFORMANCE
DYNATECH LT 1 7/8 HEADERS, CATLESS MID PIPES, CORSA CATBACK, CAI. COLD AIR INTAKE w/ SCOOP, 1LE 3:91 GEARS, LETHAL RACING PROWLER CAM, LETHAL RACING DYNO TUNE, ENERGY CRADDLE BUSHING INSERTS, PADDLE SHIFTER RELOCATE KIT, 449RWHP/438TQ
APPEARANCE
COPO HOOD, ZL1 SPOILER, SLP BLACKOUT PANEL, PLASTI DIP WHEELS, HERITAGE GRILL, RETRO SS EMBLEMS, WEATHER TECH FLOOR MATS, ORANGE STITCHING
biggerisbetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 06:26 PM   #5
Crashnburn7
 
Crashnburn7's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dayville, CT
Posts: 53
what would spark plug wires have to do with it?

havent opened the hood or even taken it out of the garage since november, how would they have come loose?
Crashnburn7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 06:29 PM   #6
GnyaTek

 
GnyaTek's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 SIM 2SS/RS Vert
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Middle TN
Posts: 1,127
A friend had had an issue with a loose spark plug wire causing that message as well. Not sure about the "Why" it causes it, but that is the first thing that I would check.
GnyaTek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 06:29 PM   #7
v6sonoma


 
v6sonoma's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS RS
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 8,078
Did you do a dyno pull before packing it away? That will sometimes make that pop up. Usually goes away after a few miles of driving. Shouldn't be a big issue as long as it goes away once you get it on the road. :wink:
__________________

Mods: BBK Intake, BBK LT's and High Flow Cats, Corsa Cat-back exhaust, Hurst short throw shifter, SLP skip-shift eliminator.

7/1/09 Placed order for IOM/IO int/ SS/RS 6M
9/26/09 Took delivery!
v6sonoma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 06:35 PM   #8
Crashnburn7
 
Crashnburn7's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dayville, CT
Posts: 53
no dyno, ever...yet
Crashnburn7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 06:39 PM   #9
v6sonoma


 
v6sonoma's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS RS
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 8,078
Hmm... You could plug in the SCT tuner from Ted and do a code scan. See what pops up and clear the code. If it pops back up then there might be something wrong. I would say it'll most likely clear itself out but you wont know till you get it on the road.
__________________

Mods: BBK Intake, BBK LT's and High Flow Cats, Corsa Cat-back exhaust, Hurst short throw shifter, SLP skip-shift eliminator.

7/1/09 Placed order for IOM/IO int/ SS/RS 6M
9/26/09 Took delivery!
v6sonoma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 06:45 PM   #10
Crashnburn7
 
Crashnburn7's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dayville, CT
Posts: 53
I thought that only checked CEL codes
Crashnburn7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 06:48 PM   #11
GnyaTek

 
GnyaTek's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 SIM 2SS/RS Vert
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Middle TN
Posts: 1,127
Did ya check all the spark plug wires yet? Seriously ... this has caused this issue for multiple folks.
GnyaTek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 06:51 PM   #12
Crashnburn7
 
Crashnburn7's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dayville, CT
Posts: 53
I will tommorow, no electricity in my garage.

Thanks for your help, Ill let you know
Crashnburn7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 06:52 PM   #13
OmniCamaro
US Veteran
 
OmniCamaro's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Silver Ice Metallic 2SS/RS A6
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Bossier City, La
Posts: 1,170
Mine does this same thing on occasion. I just ignore it and it goes away. I tried taking it to the dealer but we all know how those trips go. Intermittent issues=fun times.
__________________
Dear Lord, give me the strength to carry on despite my Camaro addiction!
JRE iTSX tune, full cat-less Dynatech exhaust, CAI intake, Stillen Slotted/Drilled Rotors, RB braided brake lines, BMR lowering springs, 1LE suspension, (reserved for future MODS)
OmniCamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 06:54 PM   #14
biggerisbetter
lll
 
biggerisbetter's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro ss L99
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: new orleans
Posts: 1,176
i dont know why the spark plug wire causes it i think it is something to do with limp mode but it does. just check them when u can i bet thats what it is.
__________________
PERFORMANCE
DYNATECH LT 1 7/8 HEADERS, CATLESS MID PIPES, CORSA CATBACK, CAI. COLD AIR INTAKE w/ SCOOP, 1LE 3:91 GEARS, LETHAL RACING PROWLER CAM, LETHAL RACING DYNO TUNE, ENERGY CRADDLE BUSHING INSERTS, PADDLE SHIFTER RELOCATE KIT, 449RWHP/438TQ
APPEARANCE
COPO HOOD, ZL1 SPOILER, SLP BLACKOUT PANEL, PLASTI DIP WHEELS, HERITAGE GRILL, RETRO SS EMBLEMS, WEATHER TECH FLOOR MATS, ORANGE STITCHING
biggerisbetter is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.