Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
LSR Performance
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission

Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission Tune and diagnostics for engines and auto transmission.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-03-2013, 06:05 PM   #1
Crashnburn7
 
Crashnburn7's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dayville, CT
Posts: 53
Stabilitrack Servicing

Not sure if this is the right place to post, but its definatley the most viewed...soooo,

My car has been in the garage all winter, I was setting up my tuner and getting ready to send my stock to ted.

Afterwards I started my car up and in the "info gauge"(dont know what else to call it), It said my stabilitrack needs servicing.

Is this just from it sitting all winter? or did I do something I didnt realize? or does it really need servicing? Why would it need servicing? I dont get it!!!

Advice appreciated,

Steve
Crashnburn7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 06:12 PM   #2
gutterball
 
gutterball's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 1LS M6 Supercharged
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New Britain, Ct
Posts: 644
Send a message via AIM to gutterball
Mine did that once, Shutting the car off to get Gas, after restart. never saw it again.
gutterball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 06:16 PM   #3
Crashnburn7
 
Crashnburn7's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dayville, CT
Posts: 53
Tried restarting it 3 times since early this afternoon, Has done it everytime
Crashnburn7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 06:24 PM   #4
biggerisbetter
lll
 
biggerisbetter's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro ss L99
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: new orleans
Posts: 1,189
try disconnecting the battery for 30 mins and also make sure all your spark plug wires are hooked up
__________________
PERFORMANCE
DYNATECH LT 1 7/8 HEADERS, CATLESS MID PIPES, CORSA CATBACK, CAI. COLD AIR INTAKE w/ SCOOP, 1LE 3:91 GEARS, LETHAL RACING PROWLER CAM, LETHAL RACING DYNO TUNE, ENERGY CRADDLE BUSHING INSERTS, PADDLE SHIFTER RELOCATE KIT, 449RWHP/438TQ
APPEARANCE
COPO HOOD, ZL1 SPOILER, SLP BLACKOUT PANEL, PLASTI DIP WHEELS, HERITAGE GRILL, RETRO SS EMBLEMS, WEATHER TECH FLOOR MATS, ORANGE STITCHING
biggerisbetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 06:26 PM   #5
Crashnburn7
 
Crashnburn7's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dayville, CT
Posts: 53
what would spark plug wires have to do with it?

havent opened the hood or even taken it out of the garage since november, how would they have come loose?
Crashnburn7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 06:29 PM   #6
GnyaTek

 
GnyaTek's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 SIM 2SS/RS Vert
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Middle TN
Posts: 1,082
A friend had had an issue with a loose spark plug wire causing that message as well. Not sure about the "Why" it causes it, but that is the first thing that I would check.
GnyaTek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 06:29 PM   #7
v6sonoma


 
v6sonoma's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS RS
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 7,775
Did you do a dyno pull before packing it away? That will sometimes make that pop up. Usually goes away after a few miles of driving. Shouldn't be a big issue as long as it goes away once you get it on the road. :wink:
__________________

Mods: BBK Intake, BBK LT's and High Flow Cats, Corsa Cat-back exhaust, Hurst short throw shifter, SLP skip-shift eliminator.

7/1/09 Placed order for IOM/IO int/ SS/RS 6M
9/26/09 Took delivery!
v6sonoma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 06:35 PM   #8
Crashnburn7
 
Crashnburn7's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dayville, CT
Posts: 53
no dyno, ever...yet
Crashnburn7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 06:39 PM   #9
v6sonoma


 
v6sonoma's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS RS
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 7,775
Hmm... You could plug in the SCT tuner from Ted and do a code scan. See what pops up and clear the code. If it pops back up then there might be something wrong. I would say it'll most likely clear itself out but you wont know till you get it on the road.
__________________

Mods: BBK Intake, BBK LT's and High Flow Cats, Corsa Cat-back exhaust, Hurst short throw shifter, SLP skip-shift eliminator.

7/1/09 Placed order for IOM/IO int/ SS/RS 6M
9/26/09 Took delivery!
v6sonoma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 06:45 PM   #10
Crashnburn7
 
Crashnburn7's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dayville, CT
Posts: 53
I thought that only checked CEL codes
Crashnburn7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 06:48 PM   #11
GnyaTek

 
GnyaTek's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 SIM 2SS/RS Vert
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Middle TN
Posts: 1,082
Did ya check all the spark plug wires yet? Seriously ... this has caused this issue for multiple folks.
GnyaTek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 06:51 PM   #12
Crashnburn7
 
Crashnburn7's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dayville, CT
Posts: 53
I will tommorow, no electricity in my garage.

Thanks for your help, Ill let you know
Crashnburn7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 06:52 PM   #13
OmniCamaro
US Veteran
 
OmniCamaro's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Silver Ice Metallic 2SS/RS A6
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Bossier City, La
Posts: 1,018
Mine does this same thing on occasion. I just ignore it and it goes away. I tried taking it to the dealer but we all know how those trips go. Intermittent issues=fun times.
__________________
Dear Lord, give me the strength to carry on despite my Camaro addiction!
JRE iTSX tune, full cat-less Dynatech exhaust, CAI intake, Stillen Slotted/Drilled Rotors, RB braided brake lines, BMR lowering springs, 1LE suspension, (reserved for future MODS)
OmniCamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 06:54 PM   #14
biggerisbetter
lll
 
biggerisbetter's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro ss L99
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: new orleans
Posts: 1,189
i dont know why the spark plug wire causes it i think it is something to do with limp mode but it does. just check them when u can i bet thats what it is.
__________________
PERFORMANCE
DYNATECH LT 1 7/8 HEADERS, CATLESS MID PIPES, CORSA CATBACK, CAI. COLD AIR INTAKE w/ SCOOP, 1LE 3:91 GEARS, LETHAL RACING PROWLER CAM, LETHAL RACING DYNO TUNE, ENERGY CRADDLE BUSHING INSERTS, PADDLE SHIFTER RELOCATE KIT, 449RWHP/438TQ
APPEARANCE
COPO HOOD, ZL1 SPOILER, SLP BLACKOUT PANEL, PLASTI DIP WHEELS, HERITAGE GRILL, RETRO SS EMBLEMS, WEATHER TECH FLOOR MATS, ORANGE STITCHING
biggerisbetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 06:54 PM   #15
Crashnburn7
 
Crashnburn7's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dayville, CT
Posts: 53
Well shortly my car will be tuned, so I can just imagine the dealer will blame it on that, although I could be wrong. Just an assumption
Crashnburn7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 06:56 PM   #16
Crashnburn7
 
Crashnburn7's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dayville, CT
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by biggerisbetter View Post
i dont know why the spark plug wire causes it i think it is something to do with limp mode but it does. just check them when u can i bet thats what it is.
Limp Mode? lol.. sorry Im fairly new, although I am on this forum almost all the free time I have and learned a lot.... still a ways to go
Crashnburn7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 08:25 PM   #17
Cam 427
 
Cam 427's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Washington
Posts: 630
The engine is considered a part of the Stabilitrack system. A fault with the engine will trigger the Stabilitrack indication. Is your Service Engine light on? Usually if a miss in the engine is detected, this will set the Service engine and Stabilitrack lights.

Another possibility is... since the car was stored for a while, check under the hood for chewed up wiring by rodents.
Cam 427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 05:09 PM   #18
Crashnburn7
 
Crashnburn7's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dayville, CT
Posts: 53
Checked my car, spark plug wires are snug, no signs of rodents (I took precautions on this). I did start it up, and no warning..

Pretty tempremental huh?
Crashnburn7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 06:19 PM   #19
MA2010SS
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Somerset MA
Posts: 510
Timing and fuel management work with stabilitrac, an engine misfire could cause a service stabilitrac because the engine management will not be able to pull timing properly. If you are getting that code at start up and you are not driving the vehicle that could mean that the wheel sensors are not receiving signal. If you drive the car does it go away? Pull it out of the garage and drive it back in, that maybe enough to get the wheel sensors to register with GM LAN...let us know what you find
__________________
2010 Camaro SS Whipple SC, CAI Inc Intake, JRE 4.11 Gears, TSP 1 7/8" LT headers no cats, 3" magnaflow exhaust, HPT, RX Catch Can, LSR Toe Rods, LSR Trailing Arms, ALKY Control Meth, McLeod RXT Twin Disc, DSS 1000HP alxes, DSS aluminum DS, ZL1 fuel pump, Tuned by SLOWHAWK Performance Bridgewater MA 577RWHP
MA2010SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 08:29 PM   #20
Cruz-lo
 
Drives: 2010 2ss RS
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: N KY
Posts: 96
Weak Batt or slow cranking etc will cause it as well.
Goes away after
Overnight sit or
Reflash of the ECM or
After disconnecting the batt for a while.

Ask me how I know!

I would add when it happens to me the tach no longer works and the car runs like crap!
Cruz-lo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 09:41 PM   #21
talltom
 
talltom's Avatar
 
Drives: Silver LS
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Silsbee, Texas
Posts: 187
Had the stabilitrack service light, too

The warning came up Friday and car would not accelerate properly. I think the notification indicates a misfire. Of course the engine light came on and stayed on. The acceleration problem went away when I drove it later in the day, but the engine light stayed on. I suspected the injectors might need cleaning so had that done today. Tech said it was a misfire code and cleared it. Been fine since.
__________________

Silver LS - manual, white stripes, black interior, and those swell 18" black steelies! (18" Bavarian aluminum in the garage).
talltom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 08:05 AM   #22
JANNETTYRACING
PRESIDENT CALIBRATOR JRE

 
JANNETTYRACING's Avatar
 
Drives: YELLOW 2013 ZL1 AUTO
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ON THE DYNO WATERBURY CT.
Posts: 9,107
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crashnburn7 View Post
Checked my car, spark plug wires are snug, no signs of rodents (I took precautions on this). I did start it up, and no warning..

Pretty tempremental huh?
Could very well be a low battery, Make sure you keep a battery tender on the car while in storage, Or disconnect the Battery.

There have been Multiple complaints about batteries when storing the car.

The SCT can Scan for any codes and report them to me and I will help.

Ted.
__________________
Technical information, Parts Sales, Professional Installation, and Custom Dyno Tuning.
Please vist our web sites for all your performance needs!
Ted Jannetty
Jannetty Racing Ent Inc.
2984 East Main St.
Waterbury Ct. 06705
203-753-7223
tedj@jannettyracing.com
www.jannettyracing.com
www.turboaddictionparts.com
Performance Parts
JANNETTYRACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 12:05 PM   #23
SPCBA
Blake
 
SPCBA's Avatar
 
Drives: pleather and Chiclets
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: a VA line somwhere
Posts: 3,686
pretty sure our car uses that service stabilitrak for a lot of things. mine used it for a cracked sparkplug....
__________________
SPCBA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 04:08 PM   #24
Crashnburn7
 
Crashnburn7's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dayville, CT
Posts: 53
I will scan it with the SCT and let you know Ted, thanks

**Side note: I did not have my battery on a tender, asked a few of my "knowledgable friends" if I should, and they said you shouldnt need unless you are storing your car for more extensive periods of time. And it did sound a tad weak starting up, like the battery was drained.

-Steve
Crashnburn7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 06:47 PM   #25
JohnnyBfromPeoria

 
JohnnyBfromPeoria's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 LS M6, Black
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 2,037
It'll never hurt to have a battery tender on a stored vehicle.

John B.
__________________
12 LS M6, IPF S/C, ASA GT-5 wheels, VMax PTB
1995 Mitsubishi Montero SR
1987 Dodge Raider Turbo Project
1986 Mitsubishi Montero 2.4l FI Transplant
JohnnyBfromPeoria is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.