Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
RDP Motorsport
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission

Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission Tune and diagnostics for engines and auto transmission.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-17-2013, 08:32 PM   #1
Nitroman28

 
Nitroman28's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS A6
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 1,374
Question about how the Trans is commanded to shift

Problem I have is my trans don't want to shift from 1-2 when commanded to. Rest of the shifts are fine. In my tune for WOT 1-2 is set at 28mph and rpm 6300. But it's not shifting till around 6900/7000. So it likes to hit the rev limiter. Is there something else in the tune that tells it when to shift? The other shifts 2-3,3-4 seem to be shifting on the rpm but not 1-2.


I'm guessing it's hitting the rev limiter because it's pulling the throttle position to 40%, But I had the rev limiter set to 7200.
Attached Images
 

Last edited by Nitroman28; 03-17-2013 at 08:49 PM.
Nitroman28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 04:04 AM   #2
rberns


 
rberns's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 2,514
Who did your tune?
__________________
2011 Camaro 2SS/RS, GFX, Subs, RX CC, ARH 1 7/8, Cold Air Inductions.
rberns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 07:13 AM   #3
Rhino79


 
Rhino79's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS L99/Auto
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Cabot, AR
Posts: 2,107
I have to command 17 mph in first gear. It doeant care about commanded rpm, on wot mph commanded. I'd drop it down another 2-3 mph and try it. Because I'm picky I also like to make sure the wot area of all the shift tables is set the same as the wot mph table.
__________________

Specializing in LS performance and calibrations.
Remote tuning, In-house builds, and Parts. Custom Grind LS and VVT Camshaft packages.
Ryan@gogwatney.com Aaron@gogwatney.com www.Gwatneyperformance.com
Home of THE Fastest Stock Displacement Naturally Aspirated GEN 5! 10.45@133.55
Rhino79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 07:14 AM   #4
Rhino79


 
Rhino79's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS L99/Auto
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Cabot, AR
Posts: 2,107
There is also a rev limit acceleration modifier that will " soft limit" before the 7200 hard limit depending on rate of acceleration. You can 0 that table out.
__________________

Specializing in LS performance and calibrations.
Remote tuning, In-house builds, and Parts. Custom Grind LS and VVT Camshaft packages.
Ryan@gogwatney.com Aaron@gogwatney.com www.Gwatneyperformance.com
Home of THE Fastest Stock Displacement Naturally Aspirated GEN 5! 10.45@133.55
Rhino79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 08:36 AM   #5
Nitroman28

 
Nitroman28's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS A6
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 1,374
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhino79 View Post
I have to command 17 mph in first gear. It doeant care about commanded rpm, on wot mph commanded. I'd drop it down another 2-3 mph and try it. Because I'm picky I also like to make sure the wot area of all the shift tables is set the same as the wot mph table.
Thanks Ryan, I'll give that a try, Going to have to wait for this rain to go away before I can try it..
Nitroman28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 08:53 AM   #6
Rhino79


 
Rhino79's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS L99/Auto
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Cabot, AR
Posts: 2,107
Lol. I know, I got stuff I need to do today and the rain is slowing me down.
__________________

Specializing in LS performance and calibrations.
Remote tuning, In-house builds, and Parts. Custom Grind LS and VVT Camshaft packages.
Ryan@gogwatney.com Aaron@gogwatney.com www.Gwatneyperformance.com
Home of THE Fastest Stock Displacement Naturally Aspirated GEN 5! 10.45@133.55
Rhino79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 09:34 AM   #7
Matt @ FSP
Florida Speed & Power

 
Matt @ FSP's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro SS
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 2,467
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitroman28 View Post
Problem I have is my trans don't want to shift from 1-2 when commanded to. Rest of the shifts are fine. In my tune for WOT 1-2 is set at 28mph and rpm 6300. But it's not shifting till around 6900/7000. So it likes to hit the rev limiter. Is there something else in the tune that tells it when to shift? The other shifts 2-3,3-4 seem to be shifting on the rpm but not 1-2.


I'm guessing it's hitting the rev limiter because it's pulling the throttle position to 40%, But I had the rev limiter set to 7200.

Sure that is not a ECM Torque limiter that you are hitting? All of these programs are now based off of predicted torque and if the scaling is not correct and/or you are above the predicted torque range it will pull throttle out. I see you have HPTuners, you can ask me for my config file if you want just shoot me a PM with your email.. You'll have to log at least these to find out whats going on:

ETC Source
ETC Commanded Pedal
Accelerator Pedal Pos
Fuel TQ Mngt Type
Spark TQ Mngt Type
Engine Torque
ETC Position

You'll see the ETC Source go from Pedal to Torque and it will cut back the Torque.

- Matt
__________________
www.floridaspeedandpower.com

Deals On All Our Product Lines: Driveshaft Shop, East Coast Supercharging, Pfadt Race Engineering, Corsa Exhaust, Borla Exhaust, BMR Suspension, Stoptech Brakes, Hawk Pads, AEM, Autometer, Seibon Carbon, HPTuners, And More!!!
Matt @ FSP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 10:08 AM   #8
Nitroman28

 
Nitroman28's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS A6
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 1,374
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt @ FSP View Post
Sure that is not a ECM Torque limiter that you are hitting? All of these programs are now based off of predicted torque and if the scaling is not correct and/or you are above the predicted torque range it will pull throttle out. I see you have HPTuners, you can ask me for my config file if you want just shoot me a PM with your email.. You'll have to log at least these to find out whats going on:

ETC Source
ETC Commanded Pedal
Accelerator Pedal Pos
Fuel TQ Mngt Type
Spark TQ Mngt Type
Engine Torque
ETC Position

You'll see the ETC Source go from Pedal to Torque and it will cut back the Torque.

- Matt
I've still got your email, I'll send one over..
Nitroman28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 10:39 AM   #9
Matt @ FSP
Florida Speed & Power

 
Matt @ FSP's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro SS
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 2,467
Shot you back a mail..
__________________
www.floridaspeedandpower.com

Deals On All Our Product Lines: Driveshaft Shop, East Coast Supercharging, Pfadt Race Engineering, Corsa Exhaust, Borla Exhaust, BMR Suspension, Stoptech Brakes, Hawk Pads, AEM, Autometer, Seibon Carbon, HPTuners, And More!!!
Matt @ FSP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 02:20 PM   #10
Rhino79


 
Rhino79's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS L99/Auto
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Cabot, AR
Posts: 2,107
For what its worth, I have to lead my 1-2 shift by 17 mph for it to execute at the rpm I want to shift at. Sure I have a shorter 1st gear, but mine tops 1st at 35 mph @ 6900 rpm.
__________________

Specializing in LS performance and calibrations.
Remote tuning, In-house builds, and Parts. Custom Grind LS and VVT Camshaft packages.
Ryan@gogwatney.com Aaron@gogwatney.com www.Gwatneyperformance.com
Home of THE Fastest Stock Displacement Naturally Aspirated GEN 5! 10.45@133.55
Rhino79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 09:13 PM   #11
Tampa Tuning
Like us on Facebook!

 
Tampa Tuning's Avatar
 
Drives: C5 Corvette/ 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tampa, Fl
Posts: 2,391
Your not a low horsepower caramo, and the computer doesnt have a chance to react to how fast your hitting your 1-2 shift point exchange, plus your losing traction at that shift point which is making it spool faster and blowing passed your shift point.

Lowing your shift point on the 1-2 shift.
__________________

Read this: http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=197715
Vendor : Cold Air Induction/Magnuson
HP Tuners Mail order tuning program
VMAX Throttle body Vendor
www.TampaTuning.com
Tampa Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 09:37 PM   #12
Nitroman28

 
Nitroman28's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS A6
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 1,374
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tampa Tuning View Post
Your not a low horsepower caramo, and the computer doesnt have a chance to react to how fast your hitting your 1-2 shift point exchange, plus your losing traction at that shift point which is making it spool faster and blowing passed your shift point.

Lowing your shift point on the 1-2 shift.

Yea I'm going to try and lower the mph and drop the RPM down about 600 and see what happens, Hard to test it on the road, will have to wait till I get back to the track.
Nitroman28 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.