Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Vector Motorsports
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission

Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission Tune and diagnostics for engines and auto transmission.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-17-2013, 09:32 PM   #1
Nitroman28

 
Nitroman28's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS A6
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 1,570
Question about how the Trans is commanded to shift

Problem I have is my trans don't want to shift from 1-2 when commanded to. Rest of the shifts are fine. In my tune for WOT 1-2 is set at 28mph and rpm 6300. But it's not shifting till around 6900/7000. So it likes to hit the rev limiter. Is there something else in the tune that tells it when to shift? The other shifts 2-3,3-4 seem to be shifting on the rpm but not 1-2.


I'm guessing it's hitting the rev limiter because it's pulling the throttle position to 40%, But I had the rev limiter set to 7200.
Attached Images
 

Last edited by Nitroman28; 03-17-2013 at 09:49 PM.
Nitroman28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 05:04 AM   #2
rberns


 
rberns's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 2,854
Who did your tune?
__________________
2011 Camaro 2SS/RS, Circle D 3200, ADM Transmission Cooler, BTR Valvetrain, Cam Motion .621 .595 228/244 113+4, ARH 1 7/8, Cold Air Inductions, Katech C5R TC, Melling HV, BTR SLR lifters, Trunion Upgrade, LS2 Dampner, LS9 head gaskets, RX CC, GFX, Subs.
rberns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 08:13 AM   #3
Rhino79



 
Rhino79's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS L99/Auto
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Cabot, AR
Posts: 2,367
I have to command 17 mph in first gear. It doeant care about commanded rpm, on wot mph commanded. I'd drop it down another 2-3 mph and try it. Because I'm picky I also like to make sure the wot area of all the shift tables is set the same as the wot mph table.
__________________

Specializing in LS performance and calibrations.
Remote tuning, In-house builds, and Parts. Custom Grind LS and VVT Camshaft packages.
Ryan@gogwatney.com Aaron@gogwatney.com www.Gwatneyperformance.com
Home of THE Fastest Stock Displacement Naturally Aspirated GEN 5! 10.45@133.55
Rhino79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 08:14 AM   #4
Rhino79



 
Rhino79's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS L99/Auto
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Cabot, AR
Posts: 2,367
There is also a rev limit acceleration modifier that will " soft limit" before the 7200 hard limit depending on rate of acceleration. You can 0 that table out.
__________________

Specializing in LS performance and calibrations.
Remote tuning, In-house builds, and Parts. Custom Grind LS and VVT Camshaft packages.
Ryan@gogwatney.com Aaron@gogwatney.com www.Gwatneyperformance.com
Home of THE Fastest Stock Displacement Naturally Aspirated GEN 5! 10.45@133.55
Rhino79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 09:36 AM   #5
Nitroman28

 
Nitroman28's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS A6
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 1,570
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhino79 View Post
I have to command 17 mph in first gear. It doeant care about commanded rpm, on wot mph commanded. I'd drop it down another 2-3 mph and try it. Because I'm picky I also like to make sure the wot area of all the shift tables is set the same as the wot mph table.
Thanks Ryan, I'll give that a try, Going to have to wait for this rain to go away before I can try it..
Nitroman28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 09:53 AM   #6
Rhino79



 
Rhino79's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS L99/Auto
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Cabot, AR
Posts: 2,367
Lol. I know, I got stuff I need to do today and the rain is slowing me down.
__________________

Specializing in LS performance and calibrations.
Remote tuning, In-house builds, and Parts. Custom Grind LS and VVT Camshaft packages.
Ryan@gogwatney.com Aaron@gogwatney.com www.Gwatneyperformance.com
Home of THE Fastest Stock Displacement Naturally Aspirated GEN 5! 10.45@133.55
Rhino79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 10:34 AM   #7
Matt @ FSP

 
Matt @ FSP's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro SS
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 2,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitroman28 View Post
Problem I have is my trans don't want to shift from 1-2 when commanded to. Rest of the shifts are fine. In my tune for WOT 1-2 is set at 28mph and rpm 6300. But it's not shifting till around 6900/7000. So it likes to hit the rev limiter. Is there something else in the tune that tells it when to shift? The other shifts 2-3,3-4 seem to be shifting on the rpm but not 1-2.


I'm guessing it's hitting the rev limiter because it's pulling the throttle position to 40%, But I had the rev limiter set to 7200.

Sure that is not a ECM Torque limiter that you are hitting? All of these programs are now based off of predicted torque and if the scaling is not correct and/or you are above the predicted torque range it will pull throttle out. I see you have HPTuners, you can ask me for my config file if you want just shoot me a PM with your email.. You'll have to log at least these to find out whats going on:

ETC Source
ETC Commanded Pedal
Accelerator Pedal Pos
Fuel TQ Mngt Type
Spark TQ Mngt Type
Engine Torque
ETC Position

You'll see the ETC Source go from Pedal to Torque and it will cut back the Torque.

- Matt
__________________
BLACK FRIDAY DEALS IN FULL EFFECT, PM US!!!

We carry all the best products lines! Driveshaft Shop, Fore Innovations, American Racing Headers, Diablosport, East Coast Supercharging, Vortech Superchargers, Borla Exhaust, Magnaflow Exhaust, VMax Motorsports, Mantic Clutches, LG Motorsports
Matt @ FSP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 11:08 AM   #8
Nitroman28

 
Nitroman28's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS A6
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 1,570
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt @ FSP View Post
Sure that is not a ECM Torque limiter that you are hitting? All of these programs are now based off of predicted torque and if the scaling is not correct and/or you are above the predicted torque range it will pull throttle out. I see you have HPTuners, you can ask me for my config file if you want just shoot me a PM with your email.. You'll have to log at least these to find out whats going on:

ETC Source
ETC Commanded Pedal
Accelerator Pedal Pos
Fuel TQ Mngt Type
Spark TQ Mngt Type
Engine Torque
ETC Position

You'll see the ETC Source go from Pedal to Torque and it will cut back the Torque.

- Matt
I've still got your email, I'll send one over..
Nitroman28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 11:39 AM   #9
Matt @ FSP

 
Matt @ FSP's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro SS
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 2,599
Shot you back a mail..
__________________
BLACK FRIDAY DEALS IN FULL EFFECT, PM US!!!

We carry all the best products lines! Driveshaft Shop, Fore Innovations, American Racing Headers, Diablosport, East Coast Supercharging, Vortech Superchargers, Borla Exhaust, Magnaflow Exhaust, VMax Motorsports, Mantic Clutches, LG Motorsports
Matt @ FSP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 03:20 PM   #10
Rhino79



 
Rhino79's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS L99/Auto
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Cabot, AR
Posts: 2,367
For what its worth, I have to lead my 1-2 shift by 17 mph for it to execute at the rpm I want to shift at. Sure I have a shorter 1st gear, but mine tops 1st at 35 mph @ 6900 rpm.
__________________

Specializing in LS performance and calibrations.
Remote tuning, In-house builds, and Parts. Custom Grind LS and VVT Camshaft packages.
Ryan@gogwatney.com Aaron@gogwatney.com www.Gwatneyperformance.com
Home of THE Fastest Stock Displacement Naturally Aspirated GEN 5! 10.45@133.55
Rhino79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 10:13 PM   #11
Tampa Tuning
Like us on Facebook!

 
Tampa Tuning's Avatar
 
Drives: C5 Corvette/ 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tampa, Fl
Posts: 2,694
Your not a low horsepower caramo, and the computer doesnt have a chance to react to how fast your hitting your 1-2 shift point exchange, plus your losing traction at that shift point which is making it spool faster and blowing passed your shift point.

Lowing your shift point on the 1-2 shift.
__________________

Read these testimonials :
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showth...20#post7838320
Follow us on INSTAGRAM #TAMPATUNING
www.TampaTuning.com
Camaro Corvette CTS GTO Tuner Tampa Orlando Bradenton
Tampa Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 10:37 PM   #12
Nitroman28

 
Nitroman28's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS A6
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 1,570
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tampa Tuning View Post
Your not a low horsepower caramo, and the computer doesnt have a chance to react to how fast your hitting your 1-2 shift point exchange, plus your losing traction at that shift point which is making it spool faster and blowing passed your shift point.

Lowing your shift point on the 1-2 shift.

Yea I'm going to try and lower the mph and drop the RPM down about 600 and see what happens, Hard to test it on the road, will have to wait till I get back to the track.
Nitroman28 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.