Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
HeadlightArmor
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls

Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls Report, discuss and diagnose any issues and problems with your Camaro, including warranty discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-19-2013, 07:09 AM   #1
TSSUNAMI
It was ninety nine cents!
 
TSSUNAMI's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Jeep Wrangler
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 1,720
Replacing AC belt. Use GM or Gates?

Hello,

I have had to replace my AC belt going on twice now. (The smaller belt on the crank pulley closest to the engine that runs the AC compressor)

Should I spend half the day at the dealership and get it done under warranty? Or just bite the bullet, and spend 40 bucks for the Gates belt, which is supposedly more durable and less prone to breaking.


http://www.jscspeed.com/catalog/Gate...S-16068-1.html

^^ link to the belt manufacturer's website ^^

Anyone have any experience with this product?

Should I be concerned that I have a bad compressor bearing? Or that something is out of whack on one of my pulleys?
__________________
TSSUNAMI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 08:11 AM   #2
Nitroman28

 
Nitroman28's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS A6
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 1,567
I couldn't find a Stretch belt local so I just used the standard Gates belt and had no problems. And my car sees 7000 rpm a lot.. If you've lost 2 belts now, I would say something is wrong.
Nitroman28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 08:26 AM   #3
Alvin@PCMofNC

 
Drives: 2010 IOM RSS
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mooresville
Posts: 363
I agree you must have a problem somewhere. does the main belt also look like its starting to get chewed up? I might would do it under warranty just so they have records of it if something truly is bad.
__________________

See what's in our shop on Facebook! Customer Build Blogs!
www.pcmofnc.com
Performance Installs - Dyno Tuning - Mail Order Tuning & Sales
704-307-4227
Alvin@PCMofNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 08:38 AM   #4
el ess A
formerly "el ess X"
 
el ess A's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 & 2013 Camaros
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Aiken, SC
Posts: 3,388
I agree, let the warranty deal with it if it's a manufacturing defect. That's why you pay for it. If it's chewing belts, it'll eat anything you buy for it.

But if you're hell bent on buying one of your own, Gates is a supplier for GM and makes a lot of belts for them. So I don't think you could go wrong using a Gates belt. I'd shop around if you want to buy the belt yourself. You can get that same part number belt from Amazon.com for $33 and change shipped to your door. Why pay more for the same part?
__________________
2010/2013 Camaro

http://www.camaro5.com/forums/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=26108&dateline=139490  3951
el ess A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 10:10 AM   #5
TSSUNAMI
It was ninety nine cents!
 
TSSUNAMI's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Jeep Wrangler
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 1,720
Thanks for the advice guys. I will have them check it out at the dealership to make sure there's no major problem.

My belts aren't splitting or chewed. The accessory belt just keeps riding up off of the crank pulley. The other belt is fine.

I'll keep Yas posted.
__________________
TSSUNAMI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 10:16 AM   #6
Jayrcr3

 
Jayrcr3's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 IOM 2SS/RS
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Chatham, Illinois
Posts: 752
That sounds like an alignment problem between the 2 pulleys.

Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 2
__________________
American Racing 1 7/8" Headers and Hi-Flow Cats, CAI cold air intake, Flowmaster AT exhaust, Vengeance Racing Stage 2 cam, VMax ported throttle body, TEA valve springs and titanium retainers, Trick Flow hardened pushrods, 180* T-stat, Comp Trunion kit, ZL1 Fuel Pump, ADM Fuel Pump Control Module, 20% window tint, Whipple Supercharger. Tuned by Mike Norris Motorsports. 656rwhp/584rwtq @10 PSI.
Jayrcr3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 02:39 PM   #7
gml1998
 
gml1998's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Synergy Green Camaro
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Minooka Illinois
Posts: 647
I think there is a TSB for this situation.
gml1998 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 12:11 AM   #8
firestone_ss

 
firestone_ss's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro ss
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Tacoma WA
Posts: 755
there is a tsb for the crank pully,perhaps worth looking into also if you do it yourself make sure you have the special tool for stretching the belt.good luck!
firestone_ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 07:46 AM   #9
BOSS_HOSS
 
BOSS_HOSS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 133
Gates makes the OEM belt for GM.
__________________
2010 2SS/RS 1 7/8" Long Tube American Racing Headers w/high flow cats, Borla S-Type Catback Exhaust, Roto-Fab CAI, VMAX Ported Throttle Body, MGW Shifter, JRE 445 Street Cam Package tuned via SCT, Pedders Street 1 Kit.
BOSS_HOSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 10:03 AM   #10
2011 SS SLP ZL427
 
2011 SS SLP ZL427's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 SS ZL427
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Drums PA
Posts: 115
It doesn't matter what belt you install on the Accessory drive you need to address the alignment problem between the two pulleys so that whatever belt you install stays lined up and on the crank pulley, the OEM belt will be fine once you correct the underlieing problem thats there.
__________________
2011 SS SLP ZL427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 04:55 PM   #11
Oldag
 
Drives: 2013 2SS Convertible, LS3
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 361
If you have a choice, go with Gates manufactured belts. I have never had a Gates fail.
Oldag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 11:49 AM   #12
TSSUNAMI
It was ninety nine cents!
 
TSSUNAMI's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Jeep Wrangler
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 1,720
Just got back from the service department. Everything was lined up as it should be, somehow the belt just slipped. They replaced the belt under warranty. Sound is gone for now. Let's see how it holds up.
__________________
TSSUNAMI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 08:19 PM   #13
rontammy0
Dr feelgood
 
rontammy0's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/ RS INFERNO ORANGE L99
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: ontario
Posts: 1,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by TSSUNAMI View Post
Hello,

I have had to replace my AC belt going on twice now. (The smaller belt on the crank pulley closest to the engine that runs the AC compressor)

Should I spend half the day at the dealership and get it done under warranty? Or just bite the bullet, and spend 40 bucks for the Gates belt, which is supposedly more durable and less prone to breaking.


http://www.jscspeed.com/catalog/Gate...S-16068-1.html

^^ link to the belt manufacturer's website ^^

Anyone have any experience with this product?

Should I be concerned that I have a bad compressor bearing? Or that something is out of whack on one of my pulleys?
i had my replaced by the dealer..the belt was split..there is a few posts on here with this problem.....the thinking is that the compressor face where it bolts up is not machined square so it doesnt align right with the crank pully..the dealer may replace the compresssor for you
__________________


K@N CAI....Vmax ported throttlebody...JBA shorty headers...SOLO hi flow cats....JBA Powercables...Magnaflow competition exhaust.
rontammy0 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 09:29 PM   #14
DCC1464
Emerald Coast Camaros
 
DCC1464's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 SS/RS CGM
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 700
I've thrown three ac belts now and was told those were just defective belts......... we will see how long this one last. Hope yoh don't have this issues it is just stupid that they (gm) don't really care to find the underlying issue
__________________
DCC1464 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 12:46 AM   #15
rontammy0
Dr feelgood
 
rontammy0's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/ RS INFERNO ORANGE L99
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: ontario
Posts: 1,919
three belts is not right..i can see one belt being bad..but not 3 i think gm is aware of this..if you search you might find the post describing how the dealer replaced the ac compressor because it was not square with the crank pully...the belts were not the problem i would ask your dealer to check if gm has issued any type of bulletin..im keeping a close eye on my new belt..good luck
__________________


K@N CAI....Vmax ported throttlebody...JBA shorty headers...SOLO hi flow cats....JBA Powercables...Magnaflow competition exhaust.
rontammy0 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 05:38 PM   #16
DCC1464
Emerald Coast Camaros
 
DCC1464's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 SS/RS CGM
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 700
did this. had them check for TSB and they did a "laser aligment" on all points for the belt and check the crank pully for lateral movement during rotation. all check good.
There is clearly another issue at hand. if it happens again im going to a differnt dealership as there end "root cause" has that my headers (no tune) cause my belt to slip
__________________
DCC1464 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 11:32 PM   #17
TSSUNAMI
It was ninety nine cents!
 
TSSUNAMI's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Jeep Wrangler
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 1,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by DCC1464 View Post
did this. had them check for TSB and they did a "laser aligment" on all points for the belt and check the crank pully for lateral movement during rotation. all check good.
There is clearly another issue at hand. if it happens again im going to a differnt dealership as there end "root cause" has that my headers (no tune) cause my belt to slip
Wow

Go to a different dealership.

I have headers, and an OTR intake. My dealership never even asked about my mods. Nor did they make any mention of them when replacing my belt.

How a set of headers could possibly cause a belt to slip, split, and ride off of a pulley is beyond me.

It's an all too common problem. I put about 200 miles on my car this past week and a half and no belt noise, everything seems to be holding up for now. Keeping my fingers crossed.
__________________
TSSUNAMI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 04:22 AM   #18
TSSUNAMI
It was ninety nine cents!
 
TSSUNAMI's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Jeep Wrangler
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 1,720
And two months later, the noise returns.

Fabulous.

I'm going to a different dealership. This is going to be my THIRD belt in less than two years.
__________________
TSSUNAMI is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.