Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
HeadlightArmor
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission

Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission Tune and diagnostics for engines and auto transmission.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-23-2013, 06:10 PM   #1
NYYFan325
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 295
What can I tune on my stock LS3?

So my friend has an HP tuner and he is flying out here from NY (to Vegas) for my b-day. Aside from removing my skip shift, I was wondering if there is anything else he could/should do while using the HP tuner on my car?

I realize being stock I don't have much to gain, but any little bit helps right? Thanks for any info!
NYYFan325 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 07:44 PM   #2
Iam Broke
PHAT B33
 
Iam Broke's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 TF3 Camaro 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Dark of the Moon
Posts: 1,308
He can remove the torque management, maybe bump the timing tables (make Lo & Hi octane the same) if you are going to run 93 all the time to keep from losing advance in a KR learn down. Increase the rate the PE richens up at WOT and lean it out some but you need a wideband O2 installed before I'd mess with the fueling. Too lean will cause issues long term.

Launch control can be lowered to something reasonable like 3k rpm and you can set up the no lift shift like the 'vette if you want.

Lots of possibilities since you are going to blow your warranty anyway for just the CAGS defeat. If you have an intake now is the time to tune for it also.

If all I was going to do was CAGS, I'd buy the cable for $30 instead and keep the warranty.
__________________
Another 1 of 371 '12 T3 LS3 M6's built. 10 psi on corn.
Iam Broke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 12:08 AM   #3
NYYFan325
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 295
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iam Broke View Post
He can remove the torque management, maybe bump the timing tables (make Lo & Hi octane the same) if you are going to run 93 all the time to keep from losing advance in a KR learn down. Increase the rate the PE richens up at WOT and lean it out some but you need a wideband O2 installed before I'd mess with the fueling. Too lean will cause issues long term.

Launch control can be lowered to something reasonable like 3k rpm and you can set up the no lift shift like the 'vette if you want.

Lots of possibilities since you are going to blow your warranty anyway for just the CAGS defeat. If you have an intake now is the time to tune for it also.

If all I was going to do was CAGS, I'd buy the cable for $30 instead and keep the warranty.
Car is a 2010 with 55K on her... isn't the warranty is over anyway? Thanks for the info!
__________________
NYYFan325 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 09:05 AM   #4
Iam Broke
PHAT B33
 
Iam Broke's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 TF3 Camaro 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Dark of the Moon
Posts: 1,308
I think you have a 100k mile powertrain warranty. Not sure about the 2010's. Have fun.
__________________
Another 1 of 371 '12 T3 LS3 M6's built. 10 psi on corn.
Iam Broke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 09:37 AM   #5
nele22
 
nele22's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 SS
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Ashland
Posts: 96
Correct. 5yr or 100,000 power train.
nele22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 03:18 PM   #6
QUICKSS
 
Drives: 2013 2SS
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Garage
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iam Broke View Post
He can remove the torque management, maybe bump the timing tables (make Lo & Hi octane the same) if you are going to run 93 all the time to keep from losing advance in a KR learn down. Increase the rate the PE richens up at WOT and lean it out some but you need a wideband O2 installed before I'd mess with the fueling. Too lean will cause issues long term.

Launch control can be lowered to something reasonable like 3k rpm and you can set up the no lift shift like the 'vette if you want.

Lots of possibilities since you are going to blow your warranty anyway for just the CAGS defeat. If you have an intake now is the time to tune for it also.

If all I was going to do was CAGS, I'd buy the cable for $30 instead and keep the warranty.
I never heard of this
QUICKSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 05:01 PM   #7
Iam Broke
PHAT B33
 
Iam Broke's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 TF3 Camaro 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Dark of the Moon
Posts: 1,308
Join the HPTuners forums and read a lot.

Had it on my Cobalt SS turbo stock also.
__________________
Another 1 of 371 '12 T3 LS3 M6's built. 10 psi on corn.
Iam Broke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 09:35 PM   #8
moserbe
 
moserbe's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro SS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Wellsboro, Pa
Posts: 743
The OP indicated that he had the LS3 engine so it would have the manual transmission. Isn't torque management only applicable to the automatic trans?
__________________
moserbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 09:41 PM   #9
The Stig
knows 2 facts about ducks
 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Drives: ...and they're both wrong
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The HMS Invincible
Posts: 26,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by moserbe View Post
The OP indicated that he had the LS3 engine so it would have the manual transmission. Isn't torque management only applicable to the automatic trans?
Correct.
__________________
Click to view my build thread
The Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 01:11 AM   #10
Rornls3
 
Drives: 2010 RJTC 2SS RS/SS LS3
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 159
What about increasing idle RPM? I hate that my LS3 isles at 600-800 or whatever. Just seems like the engine is starving or would be healthier with a higher idle... Is it just me?
__________________
Rornls3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 04:40 AM   #11
Iam Broke
PHAT B33
 
Iam Broke's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 TF3 Camaro 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Dark of the Moon
Posts: 1,308
Quote:
Originally Posted by moserbe View Post
The OP indicated that he had the LS3 engine so it would have the manual transmission. Isn't torque management only applicable to the automatic trans?
There are torque management tables in play on the LS3 also.
__________________
Another 1 of 371 '12 T3 LS3 M6's built. 10 psi on corn.
Iam Broke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 04:41 AM   #12
Iam Broke
PHAT B33
 
Iam Broke's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 TF3 Camaro 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Dark of the Moon
Posts: 1,308
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rornls3 View Post
What about increasing idle RPM? I hate that my LS3 isles at 600-800 or whatever. Just seems like the engine is starving or would be healthier with a higher idle... Is it just me?
You can alter the idle tables as well.
__________________
Another 1 of 371 '12 T3 LS3 M6's built. 10 psi on corn.
Iam Broke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 05:34 AM   #13
Scott@Bjorn3D


 
Scott@Bjorn3D's Avatar
 
Drives: Kami, 2013 2SS LS3 Luvin
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Eufaula, Alabama
Posts: 6,065
Send a message via MSN to Scott@Bjorn3D
Quote:
Originally Posted by moserbe View Post
The OP indicated that he had the LS3 engine so it would have the manual transmission. Isn't torque management only applicable to the automatic trans?
There are two Torque managements. One in the transmission on the automatic and one for the engine handled by the throttle body. That is why when you mash the gas it does not always just dump allot of fuel in 1st.

Sorry Stig
__________________
2013 2SS, GM Strut Tower Brace, CAI Intake Black, VMAX TB, Elite Catch Can, Hotchkis Chassis Brace, Hurst Shifter, 3.91 1LE Complete Rear End, NPP, 1LE Track Pack,Factory Reproductions Style 41 ZL1 Fitment Wheels 10" on all 4 corners
Scott@Bjorn3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 06:17 AM   #14
Tampa Tuning
Like us on Facebook!

 
Tampa Tuning's Avatar
 
Drives: C5 Corvette/ 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tampa, Fl
Posts: 2,520
Couple of incorrect statements in this thread, but if you friend knows how to use HP Tuners, he should be adjusting what's on my website in the street tuning package

www.TampaTuning.com

Or now would be a good time for you to pick up one of my Mail order tunes with HP Tuners
Tampa Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 06:23 AM   #15
The Stig
knows 2 facts about ducks
 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Drives: ...and they're both wrong
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The HMS Invincible
Posts: 26,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott@Bjorn3D View Post
There are two Torque managements. One in the transmission on the automatic and one for the engine handled by the throttle body. That is why when you mash the gas it does not always just dump allot of fuel in 1st.

Sorry Stig
No need to apologize. Learning something new about my engine is never a bad thing.
__________________
Click to view my build thread
The Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 07:04 AM   #16
Scott@Bjorn3D


 
Scott@Bjorn3D's Avatar
 
Drives: Kami, 2013 2SS LS3 Luvin
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Eufaula, Alabama
Posts: 6,065
Send a message via MSN to Scott@Bjorn3D
Good did not want you to kill me.
__________________
2013 2SS, GM Strut Tower Brace, CAI Intake Black, VMAX TB, Elite Catch Can, Hotchkis Chassis Brace, Hurst Shifter, 3.91 1LE Complete Rear End, NPP, 1LE Track Pack,Factory Reproductions Style 41 ZL1 Fitment Wheels 10" on all 4 corners
Scott@Bjorn3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 08:08 AM   #17
Iam Broke
PHAT B33
 
Iam Broke's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 TF3 Camaro 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Dark of the Moon
Posts: 1,308
The LS3 has many, many engine torque tables. Here's a screencap of a few stock limits.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Another 1 of 371 '12 T3 LS3 M6's built. 10 psi on corn.
Iam Broke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 10:58 AM   #18
Kelly@PCMofNC

 
Drives: 2010 RS/SS
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 799
Quote:
Originally Posted by NYYFan325 View Post
So my friend has an HP tuner and he is flying out here from NY (to Vegas) for my b-day. Aside from removing my skip shift, I was wondering if there is anything else he could/should do while using the HP tuner on my car?

I realize being stock I don't have much to gain, but any little bit helps right? Thanks for any info!
That's cool! Is he actually a tuner or does he just have HPT? If he is actually a tuner, then have him do a full tune for you, like what someone would do during a dyno tune but on the street. If he is not a tuner, I would suggest getting an email file from someone (we offer these as well) to start with, that will be a great improvement, and all he has to do from there is tweak the small stuff.
__________________

See what's in our shop on Facebook! Customer Build Blogs!
www.pcmofnc.com
Performance Parts & Installs - Dyno Tuning - Mail Order Tuning
704-307-4227
Kelly@PCMofNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 12:18 PM   #19
f5journal
Senior Camaro Fanatic
 
f5journal's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 SS/RS manual - White
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: aiken, sc
Posts: 1,911
So just what does it take to see and edit the tables like posted above. (I do have an SCT).

Is there some way to just open the actual file and edit it manually, provided you can find the correct data
__________________
Former '68 and '69 Z/28 Owner...........Now sporting around in a 2011 RS/SS with........Kooks LT's and cats, JRE tune, CAI, scoop, ZL1 Bumper conversion, custom ZL-1 grille, halo harness, Painted silver stripes, GM GFX, black painted lower edge of skirts and rear bumper. MGW shifter
f5journal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 12:23 PM   #20
Iam Broke
PHAT B33
 
Iam Broke's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 TF3 Camaro 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Dark of the Moon
Posts: 1,308
I use HPTuners Pro, sorry, don't know the SCT.
__________________
Another 1 of 371 '12 T3 LS3 M6's built. 10 psi on corn.
Iam Broke is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.