Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
B&M
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission

Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission Tune and diagnostics for engines and auto transmission.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-26-2013, 09:53 AM   #1
ROD_SS

 
ROD_SS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 1SS Camaro and a truck
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: San Antonio,TX
Posts: 960
Code pulled from my car-- p015b & p015d

I'm a newbie at some of this but had these codes pulled from my car. I'm waiting for a tune next week. My mod list is 1-7/8 kooks headers with hi flo cats,adm scoop,CAI, dual mode exhaust. Headers went on a week ago and been babying it without a single WOT moment. From what I found, those codes mean lean to rich bank 1 & 2. Is my car in any kind of trouble?
__________________
ROD_SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 10:03 AM   #2
less2010
 
less2010's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2ss camaro
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 70
If you get a tune,you will be fine.
__________________
less2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 11:01 AM   #3
Iam Broke
PHAT B33
 
Iam Broke's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 TF3 Camaro 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Dark of the Moon
Posts: 1,261
Headers slow the O2 sensor response as they are farther downstream. Could be the cause. Your tuner will correct this.
__________________
Another 1 of 371 '12 T3 LS3 M6's built. TVS on corn.
Iam Broke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 11:34 AM   #4
ROD_SS

 
ROD_SS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 1SS Camaro and a truck
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: San Antonio,TX
Posts: 960
That makes sense now. Just a little nervous, didn't want a 3k lb car as a paperweight for engine problems.
__________________
ROD_SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 05:14 PM   #5
Iam Broke
PHAT B33
 
Iam Broke's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 TF3 Camaro 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Dark of the Moon
Posts: 1,261
I completely understand.
__________________
Another 1 of 371 '12 T3 LS3 M6's built. TVS on corn.
Iam Broke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 07:43 PM   #6
Badman24
 
Badman24's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS Black W/GFX
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: South Dakota (EAFB)
Posts: 102
P0420 and p0430 are the ones for the rear o2 sensor after you put headers on and no tune
__________________
Badman24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 07:56 PM   #7
Iam Broke
PHAT B33
 
Iam Broke's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 TF3 Camaro 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Dark of the Moon
Posts: 1,261
OP is referring to the front (control) O2 codes I believe. Not where I can look them up right now.
__________________
Another 1 of 371 '12 T3 LS3 M6's built. TVS on corn.
Iam Broke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 05:47 PM   #8
mlee
H-Town Camaro Club
 
mlee's Avatar
 
Drives: Number Twenty-Three
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Conroe, TX
Posts: 23,988
I just installed headers and threw the same codes as the OP.

Hadn't heard of this one before so I guess the tune (coming next week) is needed.
__________________
.
mlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 07:22 PM   #9
Tampa Tuning
Like us on Facebook!

 
Tampa Tuning's Avatar
 
Drives: C5 Corvette/ 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tampa, Fl
Posts: 2,486
Did you use extender harness on the front O2s ?

If you did, on the newer Camaros will throw that code because that extra foot of wire delays the reading.
Tampa Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 07:40 PM   #10
mlee
H-Town Camaro Club
 
mlee's Avatar
 
Drives: Number Twenty-Three
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Conroe, TX
Posts: 23,988
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tampa Tuning View Post
Did you use extender harness on the front O2s ?

If you did, on the newer Camaros will throw that code because that extra foot of wire delays the reading.
I'll check that when I get it back in the air next week. I didn't do the install, but I thought the extenders were for the rear only.

Thanks for the help.
__________________
.
mlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 02:40 PM   #11
Destructo09
 
Drives: 2010 CGM Camaro 2SS/LS3
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Raleigh-Durham
Posts: 322
The extenders are for the front. I just installed a set of Stainless power 1 7/8" headers and haven't gotten that code using the extenders they provide.

I got a P0420 and a code for voltage low on the bank 1 sensor 2, that turned out to be a exhaust leak, so far i've only gotten the efficiency code on a cold day, other wise i've been through over a tank of gas and only gotten the one efficiency code.
Destructo09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 02:47 PM   #12
ROD_SS

 
ROD_SS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 1SS Camaro and a truck
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: San Antonio,TX
Posts: 960
Didn't know this thread came back to life. Just an update, it's been a year and no codes since tuning.
__________________
ROD_SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 02:27 PM   #13
JANNETTYRACING
PRESIDENT CALIBRATOR JRE

 
JANNETTYRACING's Avatar
 
Drives: YELLOW 2013 ZL1 AUTO
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ON THE DYNO WATERBURY CT.
Posts: 9,147
Quote:
Originally Posted by ROD_SS View Post
I'm a newbie at some of this but had these codes pulled from my car. I'm waiting for a tune next week. My mod list is 1-7/8 kooks headers with hi flo cats,adm scoop,CAI, dual mode exhaust. Headers went on a week ago and been babying it without a single WOT moment. From what I found, those codes mean lean to rich bank 1 & 2. Is my car in any kind of trouble?
These codes are common when adding LT Headers, on 2013 and newer models, these codes were not there in the 12 and older models.

As the cars get newer there are more and more diagnostics running in the background.

Your car is not in any trouble.

If I can help with a Tune let me know.

I can tune it right in your Driveway via the SCT tuners.

Ted.
__________________
Technical information, Parts Sales, Professional Installation, and Custom Dyno Tuning.
Please vist our web sites for all your performance needs!
Ted Jannetty
Jannetty Racing Ent Inc.
2984 East Main St.
Waterbury Ct. 06705
203-753-7223
tedj@jannettyracing.com
www.jannettyracing.com
www.turboaddictionparts.com
Performance Parts
JANNETTYRACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2014, 12:23 AM   #14
DefiantXSoldier
 
Drives: 2014 Red Hot 2SS/RS/1LE NPP Recaros
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 311
Quote:
Originally Posted by JANNETTYRACING View Post
These codes are common when adding LT Headers, on 2013 and newer models, these codes were not there in the 12 and older models.



I can tune it right in your Driveway via the SCT tuners.



Ted.

Ted will the same SCT SF3 tuner that I have now for my 2010 SS work on my 2014 SS I have coming in a few weeks?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
DefiantXSoldier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2014, 10:43 AM   #15
JANNETTYRACING
PRESIDENT CALIBRATOR JRE

 
JANNETTYRACING's Avatar
 
Drives: YELLOW 2013 ZL1 AUTO
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ON THE DYNO WATERBURY CT.
Posts: 9,147
Quote:
Originally Posted by DefiantXSoldier View Post
Ted will the same SCT SF3 tuner that I have now for my 2010 SS work on my 2014 SS I have coming in a few weeks?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Yes as long as you return the 2010 to stock and free up the tuner for use on the 2014.

Make sure you update the tuner before you use it on the 2014 car.

You will need to purchase a tune for the 2014

Thank you
Ted.
__________________
Technical information, Parts Sales, Professional Installation, and Custom Dyno Tuning.
Please vist our web sites for all your performance needs!
Ted Jannetty
Jannetty Racing Ent Inc.
2984 East Main St.
Waterbury Ct. 06705
203-753-7223
tedj@jannettyracing.com
www.jannettyracing.com
www.turboaddictionparts.com
Performance Parts
JANNETTYRACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2014, 02:58 PM   #16
DefiantXSoldier
 
Drives: 2014 Red Hot 2SS/RS/1LE NPP Recaros
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 311
Quote:
Originally Posted by JANNETTYRACING View Post
Yes as long as you return the 2010 to stock and free up the tuner for use on the 2014.



Make sure you update the tuner before you use it on the 2014 car.



You will need to purchase a tune for the 2014



Thank you

Ted.

Ok great. I put the stock tune back on the car already. Since I did that do I still have to unmarry the device?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
DefiantXSoldier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2014, 03:02 PM   #17
JANNETTYRACING
PRESIDENT CALIBRATOR JRE

 
JANNETTYRACING's Avatar
 
Drives: YELLOW 2013 ZL1 AUTO
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ON THE DYNO WATERBURY CT.
Posts: 9,147
Quote:
Originally Posted by DefiantXSoldier View Post
Ok great. I put the stock tune back on the car already. Since I did that do I still have to unmarry the device?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
It is now unmarried
__________________
Technical information, Parts Sales, Professional Installation, and Custom Dyno Tuning.
Please vist our web sites for all your performance needs!
Ted Jannetty
Jannetty Racing Ent Inc.
2984 East Main St.
Waterbury Ct. 06705
203-753-7223
tedj@jannettyracing.com
www.jannettyracing.com
www.turboaddictionparts.com
Performance Parts
JANNETTYRACING is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.