Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
HeadlightArmor
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission

Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission Tune and diagnostics for engines and auto transmission.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-30-2013, 10:25 PM   #1
mat300z
Emerald Coast Camaro's
 
mat300z's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: P.C.B. Florida
Posts: 586
Camaro died on me twice today....P0601

Ok guys my 12 SS stalled on me two times today and threw a code P0601 some kind of memory malfunction P1401 evap issue and " Reduced engine power "(service stabilitrac) came up on the screen From what I have found on the site its a pcm issue. I put jba high flows and a Vmaxx on it last week but I dont see a correlation. What do you think? Its under warranty so I am not to worried about it. I was in traffic when it happened both times and each time it took two minutes for the car to start again.

Last edited by mat300z; 03-31-2013 at 03:00 PM. Reason: added descriptions
mat300z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 02:58 PM   #2
mat300z
Emerald Coast Camaro's
 
mat300z's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: P.C.B. Florida
Posts: 586
Anyone?
mat300z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 03:46 PM   #3
adrwhi
 
adrwhi's Avatar
 
Drives: Black SS Camaro w/red stripes
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Valdosta Ga
Posts: 105
Answer

Quote:
Originally Posted by mat300z View Post
Ok guys my 12 SS stalled on me two times today and threw a code P0601 some kind of memory malfunction P1401 evap issue and " Reduced engine power "(service stabilitrac) came up on the screen From what I have found on the site its a pcm issue. I put jba high flows and a Vmaxx on it last week but I dont see a correlation. What do you think? Its under warranty so I am not to worried about it. I was in traffic when it happened both times and each time it took two minutes for the car to start again.
I had the same issue before. I took my car straight to the dealership and they replaced my throttle body. I haven't had any problems since then.
adrwhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 03:53 PM   #4
mat300z
Emerald Coast Camaro's
 
mat300z's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: P.C.B. Florida
Posts: 586
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrwhi View Post
I had the same issue before. I took my car straight to the dealership and they replaced my throttle body. I haven't had any problems since then.

The throttle body came from Ivan at Southwest speed. Its a Vmaxx ported TB but it does seem weird that my car has never had one problem and now its dying every few minutes. Maybe the TB is defective?
mat300z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 04:05 PM   #5
SSDan

 
SSDan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS LS3 VR
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Leesville, SC
Posts: 874
Just a guess to help you eliminate possibilities - Have you checked/cleaned the MAF sensor, cleared the codes and tried driving it again?
__________________
Vengeance cam, Vararam, ARH-full system, DMH cutouts, Pfadt Stage II springs/sway bars, MGW shifter, Axis "Allies" w/ 275/315 Nitto Invos, 1LE 3.91 gears
SSDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 04:13 PM   #6
mat300z
Emerald Coast Camaro's
 
mat300z's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: P.C.B. Florida
Posts: 586
The car is spotless with about 10,000 miles on it. Only reason its ever been to the dealer was for oil changes(free). I dont even have one door ding (knock on wood). I cleared the codes last night and it died again right after with the same codes. I am not driving it anymore cause I dont want it to leave me stranded. I wish I could trade out the TB and test that theory but I already sent my core back to Ivan.

It's spring break here on the beach so I was in the cruising crowd going to see my wife for her dinner break when it died. You know how embarrasing it was to push that beast off the road

Last edited by mat300z; 03-31-2013 at 09:23 PM.
mat300z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 07:52 PM   #7
quincy speeder
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro SS
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Quincy.Ma
Posts: 203
Check the recent work and make sure everything is hooked up tight. You could of knocked off the evap line next to the tb.
__________________
2010 SS, 230 Cam, ARH headers,Airaid intake, 160 t-stat,3.90 gears 475hp/430tq. -old setup
added- Procharger F1-D, alky control,FIC 96lb,fuel system- 810hp/735tq- 10.3 at 136mph , 1.75 60'. see how long it lasts.
Thanks to Slowhawk Performance.

2008 C6, 427ci,YSI,mcleod clutch,Alky control, built tranny, custom fuel system. 985rwhp, best 1/4 -9.4 at 152mph. still trying to get the shifting down:(
quincy speeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 07:58 PM   #8
RJT-SS
 
RJT-SS's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 2SS/RS A6
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 505
^^^^^Yes, yes. There was another thread in the last day or so that had the same issue and it wound up being the hose attached to the bottom of the TB came off. Did you check that you have a "strong" mass airflow sensor? Bolts on the TB may be loose, etc.
__________________
Performance Mods:
Kooks 1-7/8 LTs; Calico coated w/HFCs, Solo Mach XL catback w/J-pipes, VMax TB, C.A.I. Intake, JRE Tune, RX Catch-Can
RJT-SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 09:44 PM   #9
mat300z
Emerald Coast Camaro's
 
mat300z's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: P.C.B. Florida
Posts: 586
Quote:
Originally Posted by RJT-SS View Post
^^^^^Yes, yes. There was another thread in the last day or so that had the same issue and it wound up being the hose attached to the bottom of the TB came off. Did you check that you have a "strong" mass airflow sensor? Bolts on the TB may be loose, etc.


Everything is tight and done right. I have the strong mass airflow. We checked it when the CAI was put on. I will take it to the dealer in the morning and let them check it out. If they tell me its the throttle body then I will hit Ivan up for an exchange. Its possible the core that they ported is bad but didn't show up in a test because of intermittent issues. Mine was painted rally yellow when ordered he will know its his. I met Ivan here in florida at our ECC meets thats why I chose him for the deal and also because I am from New Mexico where South West Speed is located. Stuff happens sometimes and I can deal with it. I sent Ivan a PM to this thread but I haven't heard from him yet. Hopefully will know something tomorrow.
mat300z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 06:08 AM   #10
quincy speeder
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro SS
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Quincy.Ma
Posts: 203
Dealer? I'll bet something is not correct or tight.
__________________
2010 SS, 230 Cam, ARH headers,Airaid intake, 160 t-stat,3.90 gears 475hp/430tq. -old setup
added- Procharger F1-D, alky control,FIC 96lb,fuel system- 810hp/735tq- 10.3 at 136mph , 1.75 60'. see how long it lasts.
Thanks to Slowhawk Performance.

2008 C6, 427ci,YSI,mcleod clutch,Alky control, built tranny, custom fuel system. 985rwhp, best 1/4 -9.4 at 152mph. still trying to get the shifting down:(
quincy speeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 06:20 AM   #11
Scott@Bjorn3D


 
Scott@Bjorn3D's Avatar
 
Drives: Kami, 2013 2SS LS3 Luvin
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Eufaula, Alabama
Posts: 6,158
Send a message via MSN to Scott@Bjorn3D
Do you still have you old TB? Put it on if the car does not die it is the new one. I kept mine old TB just for a spare they do not cost that much.
__________________
2013 2SS, GM Strut Tower Brace, CAI Intake Black, VMAX TB, Elite Catch Can, Hotchkis Chassis Brace, Hurst Shifter, 3.91 1LE Complete Rear End, NPP, 1LE Track Pack,Factory Reproductions Style 41 ZL1 Fitment Wheels 10" on all 4 corners
Scott@Bjorn3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 08:03 AM   #12
mat300z
Emerald Coast Camaro's
 
mat300z's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: P.C.B. Florida
Posts: 586
Quote:
Originally Posted by quincy speeder View Post
Dealer? I'll bet something is not correct or tight.

Once again everything is hooked up and tight. The car is under warranty and throwing a P0601 PCM Internal control Memory Fault. It is under warranty so I will let the dealer figure it out. There are 4 bolts on the throttle body and a gasket. Kinda hard to screw that up. The sensors are all connected and the one hose that goes back into the intake is on. All the research I have done on the net shows it to be a computer related problem. It threw me for a loop when it was mentioned above that his problem was caused by a throttle body. So maybe its a coincidence and maybe not that I just put a throttle body on last week. I have done 3 throttle bodies for my friends here on the beach. Mostly because I have tools and a garage and they don't. None of them have had any problems. I used to work on cars for a living and always do my own work that way I know its done right. I can't check the PCM in my SS which I think is suspect. Yes I could rule out the throttle body if I had another one but mine is on its way back to Ivan.
mat300z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 08:04 AM   #13
mat300z
Emerald Coast Camaro's
 
mat300z's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: P.C.B. Florida
Posts: 586
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott@Bjorn3D View Post
Do you still have you old TB? Put it on if the car does not die it is the new one. I kept mine old TB just for a spare they do not cost that much.

Nope already sent the core in
mat300z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 08:06 AM   #14
mat300z
Emerald Coast Camaro's
 
mat300z's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: P.C.B. Florida
Posts: 586
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrwhi View Post
I had the same issue before. I took my car straight to the dealership and they replaced my throttle body. I haven't had any problems since then.
Did it throw the same codes?
mat300z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 08:10 AM   #15
Tampa Tuning
Like us on Facebook!

 
Tampa Tuning's Avatar
 
Drives: C5 Corvette/ 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tampa, Fl
Posts: 2,697
Im not saying it cant happen, but throttle bodies rarely go bad. There's only like three moving parts. He'll make good if it is, but do me a favor and check the arrow direction of the airflow on the MAF. Sometimes, they get put in wrong. The arrow should be facing the motor

If this only happen after your free oil change, check your vacuum lines and see if one is off or cracked around the manifold or catch can if you have.

Not much you can do wrong on an oil change.

Phil
www.TampaTuning.com
__________________

Read these testimonials :
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showth...20#post7838320
Follow us on INSTAGRAM #TAMPATUNING
www.TampaTuning.com
Camaro Corvette CTS GTO Tuner Tampa Orlando Bradenton
Tampa Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 09:25 AM   #16
mat300z
Emerald Coast Camaro's
 
mat300z's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: P.C.B. Florida
Posts: 586
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tampa Tuning View Post
Im not saying it cant happen, but throttle bodies rarely go bad. There's only like three moving parts. He'll make good if it is, but do me a favor and check the arrow direction of the airflow on the MAF. Sometimes, they get put in wrong. The arrow should be facing the motor

If this only happen after your free oil change, check your vacuum lines and see if one is off or cracked around the manifold or catch can if you have.

Not much you can do wrong on an oil change.

Phil
www.TampaTuning.com


No problems with the MAF I haven't touched it in a year since the CAI install. The oil change thing was just for reference to the only time its been to the dealer.
.
mat300z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 12:05 PM   #17
SSDan

 
SSDan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS LS3 VR
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Leesville, SC
Posts: 874
Have you cleaned and re-oiled the cai filter recently? Others have accidentally over- oiled their filters which in turn oiled down the MAF leading to idling, stalling issues.
__________________
Vengeance cam, Vararam, ARH-full system, DMH cutouts, Pfadt Stage II springs/sway bars, MGW shifter, Axis "Allies" w/ 275/315 Nitto Invos, 1LE 3.91 gears
SSDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 12:21 PM   #18
mat300z
Emerald Coast Camaro's
 
mat300z's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: P.C.B. Florida
Posts: 586
Quote:
Originally Posted by SSDan View Post
Have you cleaned and re-oiled the cai filter recently? Others have accidentally over- oiled their filters which in turn oiled down the MAF leading to idling, stalling issues.

No not enough miles on it for a cleaning. I guess stalling is the wrong word it dies and wont turn over at all. All other electronics work.
mat300z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 12:50 PM   #19
SSDan

 
SSDan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS LS3 VR
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Leesville, SC
Posts: 874
Quote:
Originally Posted by mat300z View Post
No not enough miles on it for a cleaning. I guess stalling is the wrong word it dies and wont turn over at all. All other electronics work.
Well - as you've mentioned it - time to put that warranty to work. Good luck and let us know how it turns out.
__________________
Vengeance cam, Vararam, ARH-full system, DMH cutouts, Pfadt Stage II springs/sway bars, MGW shifter, Axis "Allies" w/ 275/315 Nitto Invos, 1LE 3.91 gears
SSDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 01:26 PM   #20
mat300z
Emerald Coast Camaro's
 
mat300z's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: P.C.B. Florida
Posts: 586
So the Dealer just got back to me and said the Fuel Pump is going out. Why would it throw a P0601 for a fuel pump? They ordered the new pump and said it should be ready tomorrow. I will keep you guys updated on the problem.
mat300z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 01:32 PM   #21
PQ
Booooosted.
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Blown beast.
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,916
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
I'm with TampaTuning, I don't think it's the TB at all.

I don't have any ideas as to what it is, but I'd be surprised if it's the TB.

The code is PCM problem. Dealer will be your best option.

The rest is normal. Service Stabilitrac/Reduced engine power is common and the exhaust recirculation is another function of the computer. I'd just take it to the dealer.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 01:41 PM   #22
mat300z
Emerald Coast Camaro's
 
mat300z's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: P.C.B. Florida
Posts: 586
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
I'm with TampaTuning, I don't think it's the TB at all.

I don't have any ideas as to what it is, but I'd be surprised if it's the TB.

The code is PCM problem. Dealer will be your best option.

The rest is normal. Service Stabilitrac/Reduced engine power is common and the exhaust recirculation is another function of the computer. I'd just take it to the dealer.

Yeah diagnosis is the fuel pump . I don't agree with it but it is what it is. Maybe the fuel pump is the weak link and the new exhaust and TB commanded more fuel and pushed it over the edge? Even if it's not the fuel pump at least I get a new one out of it. It just doesn't make sense to throw the P0601 code for a fuel pump.



Ivan is watching the thread and keeping up with the problem. He said he would help in any way possible . He is definitely a reputable dealer and I would never have anything negative to say about him or Southwest Speed.
mat300z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 02:23 PM   #23
PQ
Booooosted.
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Blown beast.
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,916
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by mat300z View Post
Yeah diagnosis is the fuel pump . I don't agree with it but it is what it is. Maybe the fuel pump is the weak link and the new exhaust and TB commanded more fuel and pushed it over the edge? Even if it's not the fuel pump at least I get a new one out of it. It just doesn't make sense to throw the P0601 code for a fuel pump.



Ivan is watching the thread and keeping up with the problem. He said he would help in any way possible . He is definitely a reputable dealer and I would never have anything negative to say about him or Southwest Speed.
Oh, I know from experience myself that Ivan will take care of you if needed. I'd just be shocked if it were the TB.

These computer issues are funny. I won't be surprised at all if it is a fuel pump issue causing the weird computer codes. Service Stabilitrac comes on for a number of different issues that have nothing to do with Stabilitrac.

If it is the FP it was going to go bad anyway. The TB and exhaust/intake isn't going to demand THAT much more fuel.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 02:30 PM   #24
mat300z
Emerald Coast Camaro's
 
mat300z's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: P.C.B. Florida
Posts: 586
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
Oh, I know from experience myself that Ivan will take care of you if needed. I'd just be shocked if it were the TB.

These computer issues are funny. I won't be surprised at all if it is a fuel pump issue causing the weird computer codes. Service Stabilitrac comes on for a number of different issues that have nothing to do with Stabilitrac.

If it is the FP it was going to go bad anyway. The TB and exhaust/intake isn't going to demand THAT much more fuel.

Thanks for your input PQ I will be down your way soon for a tune. I was just waiting to put a few more miles on my car just in case something like this pops up before the warranty expires.
mat300z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 04:01 PM   #25
Dyk-NO
Trust me I'm a Scientist.
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro LS M6
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 939
I had this issue 2 years ago with my 2010 and I came back so many times coz all they did was reset the codes. and then of course they blamed my mods for it and at that time I only had my HIDS and intake installed. but luckily after weeks of frustration a service rep from chevy helped me from this forum and he's the one who personally call my local dealer to fix my car. theyhad my car for a week and found an electrical wiring issue in the steering column that sends those codes and stalls my car and that reduced engine power keeps coming up too. It happens alot when turning and backing up but now its fixed.

I keep seeing people having issues like this countless threads were created with this issue including mine before, GM needs to seriously look into this.
__________________
"From ZERO to a Tire-Burning HERO!"


Dyk-NO is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.