Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
MPD1
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions

5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions General 5th generation Camaro topics not covered by other subforums.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-01-2012, 04:35 PM   #1
DarkneZZ
 
DarkneZZ's Avatar
 
Drives: '13 Camaro 2LT/RS
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 390
2013 Speedometer/Tach Needles do not move all the way up and down

When I start the car. :( Why?
My friend has a 2010 2LT/RS and whenever he starts his car, speed/tach needles go up and down.
DarkneZZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 04:39 PM   #2
Mr. iNCREDIBLE


 
Mr. iNCREDIBLE's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 2SS/RS Convertible
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: SoCal Baby...
Posts: 2,316
the cycling gauges is part of the computers self test at startup to be sure everything is functioning correctly..

GM had been using this for many years, I recall my 2000 Silverado did this..

If yours is not doing it I suspect there might be a problem, I doubt GM would discontinue the feature all of a sudden, but I could be wrong.


hopefully some other 2013 owners can chime in..


BTW my 2012 does it..
__________________
"A world 100% full of Prius drivers is still 100% addicted to oil. " ~ E. Musk
Mr. iNCREDIBLE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 04:47 PM   #3
DarkneZZ
 
DarkneZZ's Avatar
 
Drives: '13 Camaro 2LT/RS
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 390
I was thinking it is a feature that you can turn on/off, but couldnt find anything like that in a configuration menu or DIC.
Also, other gauges (oil press, transmission temp etc.) do go up and down. Weird shit.
DarkneZZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 05:57 PM   #4
Mr. iNCREDIBLE


 
Mr. iNCREDIBLE's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 2SS/RS Convertible
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: SoCal Baby...
Posts: 2,316
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkneZZ View Post
I was thinking it is a feature that you can turn on/off, but couldnt find anything like that in a configuration menu or DIC.
Also, other gauges (oil press, transmission temp etc.) do go up and down. Weird shit.

sounds like there might be an issue. as I said the computer does that to self test the gauge cluster for errors.
__________________
"A world 100% full of Prius drivers is still 100% addicted to oil. " ~ E. Musk
Mr. iNCREDIBLE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 05:58 PM   #5
strych9
Gone Euro!
 
strych9's Avatar
 
Drives: 6spd Manual Mercedes
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 3,034
See if another 2013 does this. My guess is that the full sweep was redundant, so they changed the cluster strategy.
__________________
Bye bye, Bumblebee!
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
strych9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 06:06 PM   #6
RxRated
 
RxRated's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 SS/RS LS3 NPP/Hurst
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 53
My "4 pack gauges" cycle but my speedo/tach do not.
RxRated is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 06:35 PM   #7
DarkneZZ
 
DarkneZZ's Avatar
 
Drives: '13 Camaro 2LT/RS
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 390
Quote:
Originally Posted by RxRated View Post
My "4 pack gauges" cycle but my speedo/tach do not.
I guess it is 2013 then.
Too bad, I love it when it cycles ;[
DarkneZZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 06:40 PM   #8
Powhusku

 
Powhusku's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Laramie/Cody, WY
Posts: 1,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkneZZ View Post
I guess it is 2013 then.
Too bad, I love it when it cycles ;[
Dang, why would they remove that. It looks so cool! :(
__________________
Powhusku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 06:44 PM   #9
C586
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro LS
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NY
Posts: 1,117
I thought it was incredibly annoying.
C586 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 06:51 PM   #10
DarkneZZ
 
DarkneZZ's Avatar
 
Drives: '13 Camaro 2LT/RS
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 390
Quote:
Originally Posted by Powhusku View Post
Dang, why would they remove that. It looks so cool! :(
agree:(
DarkneZZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 08:31 PM   #11
DefianceDan
VroomVroom
 
DefianceDan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 45th RS
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Defiance, OH
Posts: 363
Wow..you guys that like the gages to cycle - try changing from mph to kph while driving and watch what happens. LOL
__________________
DefianceDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 08:38 PM   #12
Coyotekiller
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2012 AGM 2SS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Beaufort, NC
Posts: 1,389
Quote:
Originally Posted by DefianceDan View Post
Wow..you guys that like the gages to cycle - try changing from mph to kph while driving and watch what happens. LOL
Nothing happens when you do that. It goes from one reading to the next.


As for the guages cycling, I have always hated it. I wanna know what rpm my car is turning right when it starts, not 5 seconds later when the sweep is done. Btw, if you hit the gas while the gauge is sweeping, it will revert back to reading like normal.
Coyotekiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 01:12 PM   #13
dkdariusz885
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro 2LT RS, Convertible.
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 53
2013 Camaro 2LT Convertible

Yep, only the 4 pack in the center console sweep, not the dash gauges.
dkdariusz885 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.