Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Nickey Chicago
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-07-2013, 12:53 PM   #1
hotrodder9102
 
hotrodder9102's Avatar
 
Drives: 1992 Z28,2002 Camaro SS,2013 1LE
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bullard,Texas
Posts: 201
MyLink Issues

I picked up my 1LE yesterday, and while we were pairing my IPhone 4s to the system, the system started to malfunction. The volume/power knob quit working, the buttons around the radio were not working, and the tuning/menu knob quit as well. The only way to control the radio was through the steering wheel controls. After a quick restart everyhting seemed fine. We then got out of the car, turned it off, and I assumed everything was fine. When I left the dealership later, I noticed the only control I have is through the steering wheel. I have disconnected the negative battery cable, deleted my phone from the stereo, and still, the same problem. ANYONE got any insight on this? Please tell me this is something stupid, and is an easy fix!!!!!!!!!!
hotrodder9102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 06:17 PM   #2
mattyjman
 
Drives: 2013 2SS 1LE
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 133
I have a 1LE as well, but what you are describing is more than like something defective... I'd go back asap and tell them it's still not fixed and they need to replace the center cluster/touchscreen unit.
mattyjman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 10:02 PM   #3
hotrodder9102
 
hotrodder9102's Avatar
 
Drives: 1992 Z28,2002 Camaro SS,2013 1LE
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bullard,Texas
Posts: 201
I called GM Infotainment number, they walked me through several reset functions, none of which worked. I sent my dealership 3 different emails as I was going through the process. I have a great dealer to work with, and I have no doubt it will be taken care of first thing in the morning.
hotrodder9102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 08:26 AM   #4
tcalh1
 
tcalh1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 2SS/RS
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 351
Not sure if this is your problem fix or not...
There is a recall/software update for the mylink navigation. I read about it on the forums here. I went to the dealership and they didn't know anything about it. After they did some digging, they found it. After they did the update, it solved an issue I had with my Iphone.
tcalh1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 10:15 AM   #5
hotrodder9102
 
hotrodder9102's Avatar
 
Drives: 1992 Z28,2002 Camaro SS,2013 1LE
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bullard,Texas
Posts: 201
Thanks I will have them look into it.
hotrodder9102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 11:17 AM   #6
micheller315
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro RS
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 10
I had the upgrade done on my 1st Camaro d/t the navigation not working with the voice controls. After that I had all sorts of issues. So many issues that the dealer traded out my car. My 2nd Camaro didn't have to be updated, but it now has the same issues that the 1st one had. I think most of the issues have to do with the mylink. (XM resetting to the preview station, blower motor indicator showing the wrong level, and a weird red onstar light on the mirror.) I'm so fed up and so is my dealer. A GM rep is supposed to meet with me in the next week or so. I know my dealer is dealing with my car and 3 others.
micheller315 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 05:56 PM   #7
Chevrolet Customer Svc


 
Chevrolet Customer Svc's Avatar
 
Drives: GM Vehicles
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 8,691
Quote:
Originally Posted by micheller315 View Post
I had the upgrade done on my 1st Camaro d/t the navigation not working with the voice controls. After that I had all sorts of issues. So many issues that the dealer traded out my car. My 2nd Camaro didn't have to be updated, but it now has the same issues that the 1st one had. I think most of the issues have to do with the mylink. (XM resetting to the preview station, blower motor indicator showing the wrong level, and a weird red onstar light on the mirror.) I'm so fed up and so is my dealer. A GM rep is supposed to meet with me in the next week or so. I know my dealer is dealing with my car and 3 others.
Hello micheller315,

Sorry you are experiencing these issues with your vehicle. I understand the frustrations you may have, and I am sure the GM rep will do all that is possible to straighten this situation out to the best of their ability. We are here as an additional resource to you for further assistance.

Reggie B.
Chevrolet Customer Care.
Chevrolet Customer Svc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 09:08 PM   #8
ccarnel
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Bahrain
Posts: 8
Great...... I'm having the same issue with mine. Almost brand new ZL1 1500 miles or so. System freezes after about 10-15 seconds or so, no buttons work whatsoever on the screen, power button doesn't work etc.....

Spoke with the "infortainment" number listed here.. no help with the problem. I've been told to take it to the dealership. This is extremely frustrating. Anyone here actually get their problem solved other than having them trade your entire car out?

I've read about this problem on other GM/Chevy boards with other vehicles with Mylink... I don't think i've read one thread yet where the problem is solved.... I'm hesitant to take it to the dealership if there really isn't a fix for it
ccarnel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 05:09 AM   #9
benji1997
 
benji1997's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 IOM 2LT/RS M6
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Dartmouth, Ma.
Posts: 447
Send a message via Skype™ to benji1997
Solution...trade your car in for a 2014. J/K...I'm having issues with mine that nobody seems to be able to figure out yet as well. Going on over a month now.
__________________
2013 2LT/RS IOM M6 w/DUAL-MODE EXHAUST, BLADE WING SPOILER AND ZL/1 PERFORMANCE PEDALS
benji1997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 08:41 AM   #10
ccarnel
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Bahrain
Posts: 8
I'm thinking of junking the factory touch screen radio and having an aftermarket unit installed, anyone here replace with aftermarket system to solve this problem? I really don't want to play games and waste time with the dealership if there really isn't a fix for the problem. Even if I lose on star I could care less
ccarnel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 08:53 AM   #11
benji1997
 
benji1997's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 IOM 2LT/RS M6
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Dartmouth, Ma.
Posts: 447
Send a message via Skype™ to benji1997
Why would you lose OnStar? At the least the factory will have to keep replacing MyLink units at no cost to you until one actually works. I will be insisting that they replace mine since they haven't found a fix yet. And my situation isn't even as bad as yours or micheller315.
__________________
2013 2LT/RS IOM M6 w/DUAL-MODE EXHAUST, BLADE WING SPOILER AND ZL/1 PERFORMANCE PEDALS
benji1997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 08:59 AM   #12
benji1997
 
benji1997's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 IOM 2LT/RS M6
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Dartmouth, Ma.
Posts: 447
Send a message via Skype™ to benji1997
It would be nice to at least have this available option on the MyLink backup camera screen:
__________________
2013 2LT/RS IOM M6 w/DUAL-MODE EXHAUST, BLADE WING SPOILER AND ZL/1 PERFORMANCE PEDALS
benji1997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 09:09 AM   #13
ccarnel
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Bahrain
Posts: 8
There is a cost to me... lots of wasted time...
There is nothing I hate worse than wasting time, endless trips to the dealership when there really isn't a solution makes no sense to me. Spending several afternoons getting my stereo reflashed/replaced only to have the problem reoccur is time I can better spend doing other things.
A Bluetooth touch screen radio and dash kit and install probably will cost me ~5-600 dollars and the software won't be nearly as wonky as chevy my link.

I just want to know if anyone has done this on a 2013 and if their problem was solved
ccarnel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 09:24 AM   #14
benji1997
 
benji1997's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 IOM 2LT/RS M6
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Dartmouth, Ma.
Posts: 447
Send a message via Skype™ to benji1997
I'd love to know that as well.
__________________
2013 2LT/RS IOM M6 w/DUAL-MODE EXHAUST, BLADE WING SPOILER AND ZL/1 PERFORMANCE PEDALS
benji1997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 11:42 AM   #15
tramtwo


 
tramtwo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 1LE
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: N'Awlinz
Posts: 6,554
Weighing in...

Volume on navigation ''automatically' resets to lowest level.
Phone option 'stuck' the system/display thinks there is an ongoing phone call.
Wrong fan settings displayed.
Bluetooth operation is glitch prone... sometimes it works sometimes it doesn't.


If there is a tsb a copy of it or the number would be helpful...
Attached Images
 
__________________
tramtwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 03:39 PM   #16
benji1997
 
benji1997's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 IOM 2LT/RS M6
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Dartmouth, Ma.
Posts: 447
Send a message via Skype™ to benji1997
Tramtwo....take a number then get in line.
__________________
2013 2LT/RS IOM M6 w/DUAL-MODE EXHAUST, BLADE WING SPOILER AND ZL/1 PERFORMANCE PEDALS
benji1997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 07:24 PM   #17
JimE


 
JimE's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 2SS/RS/1LE
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 2,267
Wow, I must be lucky. I haven't seen any of that.
__________________
Perm-a-grin in place.....
JimE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 08:17 PM   #18
CrtRS13
 
CrtRS13's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Crystal Red Tint 2LT RS
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by benji1997 View Post
It would be nice to at least have this available option on the MyLink backup camera screen:
Are you talking about the warning symbol? Cause mine has that, it goes from yellow to red when getting closer to an object. Plus it beeps. I only wish it had the guide lines like my g37 had

When I first picked up the car, the nav showed that I was in Michigan and there was no sat signal. The dealer had to reload the software.

Other than the mylink being slow, it's worked for the most part.

I have had the hud not show the song info twice, but seemed to correct itself after the car is turned off.
CrtRS13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 05:38 AM   #19
benji1997
 
benji1997's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 IOM 2LT/RS M6
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Dartmouth, Ma.
Posts: 447
Send a message via Skype™ to benji1997
CrtRS13...all my backup screen shows is the yellow warning symbol in lower left hand corner. And the HUD issue with the station/music issue showing/not showing happens with the not showing happening more often than the showing. In the general scheme of things, this seems a rather small issue but I firmly believe everything I am paying for on this rather pricey commodity should work 100% of the time. The yellow to red blinking warning symbol in the backup screen is available on your unit as well as others, so it should be available on mine, but isn't. It's not as good as having the guidelines on the screen but it's better than nothing.
__________________
2013 2LT/RS IOM M6 w/DUAL-MODE EXHAUST, BLADE WING SPOILER AND ZL/1 PERFORMANCE PEDALS
benji1997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 08:09 AM   #20
Glen e

 
Drives: Cyber/Red C7
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 2,005
two ipod classics - both synced on same computer thru itunes - both contain the exact same songs.

One hooked to mylink shows many songs missing, the other shows all songs...

both ipods carrying the most recent update....

???
__________________
Glen
2LT C7 Cyber/Red
Glen e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 07:49 PM   #21
CrtRS13
 
CrtRS13's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Crystal Red Tint 2LT RS
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 140
Benji, i would not call it a small issue. I too would want everything to work. Did the dealer reload the software with the latest version , if they did, maybe the unit is faulty. Mine was updated the 1st week of April. I don't know what version I have though. I'll have to check tomorrow when I figure out how too.
CrtRS13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 05:07 AM   #22
benji1997
 
benji1997's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 IOM 2LT/RS M6
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Dartmouth, Ma.
Posts: 447
Send a message via Skype™ to benji1997
I think the unit is faulty and will have to be replaced. They are trying everything to avoid the expense of a new unit. Since they obviously haven't succeeded I think will have to give me a new unit or a new car....their choice.
__________________
2013 2LT/RS IOM M6 w/DUAL-MODE EXHAUST, BLADE WING SPOILER AND ZL/1 PERFORMANCE PEDALS
benji1997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 05:12 AM   #23
Glen e

 
Drives: Cyber/Red C7
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 2,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by benji1997 View Post
I think the unit is faulty and will have to be replaced. They are trying everything to avoid the expense of a new unit. Since they obviously haven't succeeded I think will have to give me a new unit or a new car....their choice.
do your homework on lemon law...a new car is not an option...
__________________
Glen
2LT C7 Cyber/Red
Glen e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 05:52 AM   #24
The Stig
knows 2 facts about ducks
 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Drives: ...and they're both wrong
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The HMS Invincible
Posts: 26,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glen e View Post
do your homework on lemon law...a new car is not an option...
I got a new Camaro under lemon law. Just saying.
__________________
Click to view my build thread
The Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 06:04 AM   #25
Glen e

 
Drives: Cyber/Red C7
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 2,005
not on a mylink issue...."just sayin"....LOL
__________________
Glen
2LT C7 Cyber/Red
Glen e is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.