Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
JUICEDMOTORSPORTS
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls

Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls Report, discuss and diagnose any issues and problems with your Camaro, including warranty discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-13-2013, 08:20 PM   #1
bumblebeecamaro
Car Lover By Nature
 
Drives: Mini Cooper S
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central FL
Posts: 2,310
Who has or has had issues with their MyLink not working properly?

I have a '13 ZL1 with MyLink and its doing something really annoying. Every time I turn the radio on the screen shows a black window that says "navigation initializing" for about 10 seconds. Then it goes to the navigation menu even though I didn't tell it to.

This happens every time I start the radio and its really annoying. I don't want it going to any navigation stuff unless I tell it to. I took it to the dealer and they were scratching their heads but couldn't find a solution. So they're going to contact GM tech support to see what the remedy is.

I'm hoping someone in this forum can throw me a lifeline as to what needs to be done. Is this a software fix or a radio replacement situation?
__________________
bumblebeecamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 01:31 PM   #2
Chevrolet Customer Svc


 
Chevrolet Customer Svc's Avatar
 
Drives: GM Vehicles
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 8,697
Quote:
Originally Posted by bumblebeecamaro View Post
I have a '13 ZL1 with MyLink and its doing something really annoying. Every time I turn the radio on the screen shows a black window that says "navigation initializing" for about 10 seconds. Then it goes to the navigation menu even though I didn't tell it to.

This happens every time I start the radio and its really annoying. I don't want it going to any navigation stuff unless I tell it to. I took it to the dealer and they were scratching their heads but couldn't find a solution. So they're going to contact GM tech support to see what the remedy is.

I'm hoping someone in this forum can throw me a lifeline as to what needs to be done. Is this a software fix or a radio replacement situation?
bumblebeecamaro,

Sorry to hear about those issues because I know how badly you want the radio to work properly. You might want to try (855)-478-7767 for Infotainment General Support. Their hours of operation: Monday to Friday 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. EST; Saturday 8:00 a.m. - 4 p.m. EST.


William R.
Chevrolet Customer Care
Chevrolet Customer Svc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 05:09 PM   #3
13GreyVert
 
Drives: Grey Vert
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Nashville
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by bumblebeecamaro View Post
I have a '13 ZL1 with MyLink and its doing something really annoying. Every time I turn the radio on the screen shows a black window that says "navigation initializing" for about 10 seconds. Then it goes to the navigation menu even though I didn't tell it to.

This happens every time I start the radio and its really annoying. I don't want it going to any navigation stuff unless I tell it to. I took it to the dealer and they were scratching their heads but couldn't find a solution. So they're going to contact GM tech support to see what the remedy is.

I'm hoping someone in this forum can throw me a lifeline as to what needs to be done. Is this a software fix or a radio replacement situation?
Sorry, I can't help you, but I can sympathize. My ZL1 has been doing the exact same thing. The radio also shuts itself off sometimes and will restart and continue on. I've searched the net and found a Volt with the same problem but no resolution.

I've tried pulling the radio fuse and disconnecting the battery, neither helped. Kind of ironic, since I didn't want navigation to begin with.

Good luck and keep the forum updated, please.
13GreyVert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 05:34 PM   #4
Ohten
Hot Sauce
 
Ohten's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Crystal Red Tincoat SS/RS
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Palm Beach,FL by way of Akron,OH
Posts: 1,314
I have had my car for 2 weeks and have noticed that some times it does not recognize my ipod.I have to unplug and plug it back in then it works,not annoying yet but I think it will be.I will wait and see how it goes.
__________________
Ohten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 07:04 PM   #5
Chevrolet Customer Svc


 
Chevrolet Customer Svc's Avatar
 
Drives: GM Vehicles
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 8,697
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ohten View Post
I have had my car for 2 weeks and have noticed that some times it does not recognize my ipod.I have to unplug and plug it back in then it works,not annoying yet but I think it will be.I will wait and see how it goes.
Congratulations on the new vehicle!

If you need me to check into anything or get you into a dealership to have this issue looked at, I'd be more than happy to assist in these matters. Feel free to contact me at anytime.

William R.
Chevrolet Customer Care
Chevrolet Customer Svc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 07:15 PM   #6
Firefighter


 
Firefighter's Avatar
 
Drives: Black '13 2SS/RS/1LE w/NPP/NAV
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Tampa by way of Miami...
Posts: 2,380
Every couple of days mine will not recognize my USB thumb drive that is plugged in. I'll unplug it then reinstall and all is well.
Firefighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 10:34 PM   #7
Ohten
Hot Sauce
 
Ohten's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Crystal Red Tincoat SS/RS
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Palm Beach,FL by way of Akron,OH
Posts: 1,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chevrolet Customer Svc View Post
Congratulations on the new vehicle!

If you need me to check into anything or get you into a dealership to have this issue looked at, I'd be more than happy to assist in these matters. Feel free to contact me at anytime.

William R.
Chevrolet Customer Care

Thanks William
__________________
Ohten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 04:57 PM   #8
13GreyVert
 
Drives: Grey Vert
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Nashville
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by bumblebeecamaro View Post
I have a '13 ZL1 with MyLink and its doing something really annoying. Every time I turn the radio on the screen shows a black window that says "navigation initializing" for about 10 seconds. Then it goes to the navigation menu even though I didn't tell it to.

This happens every time I start the radio and its really annoying. I don't want it going to any navigation stuff unless I tell it to. I took it to the dealer and they were scratching their heads but couldn't find a solution. So they're going to contact GM tech support to see what the remedy is.

I'm hoping someone in this forum can throw me a lifeline as to what needs to be done. Is this a software fix or a radio replacement situation?
Any solution on this?
13GreyVert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2013, 01:17 PM   #9
Chevrolet Customer Svc


 
Chevrolet Customer Svc's Avatar
 
Drives: GM Vehicles
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 8,697
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ohten View Post
Thanks William
No problem Ohten!

William R.
Chevrolet Customer Care
Chevrolet Customer Svc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2013, 02:04 PM   #10
bumblebeecamaro
Car Lover By Nature
 
Drives: Mini Cooper S
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central FL
Posts: 2,310
Quote:
Originally Posted by 13GreyVert View Post
Any solution on this?
They replaced the entire radio which fixed the navigation issue but the other issue is still there.

I give up.
__________________
bumblebeecamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 02:19 AM   #11
CrystalRedTintcoat

 
CrystalRedTintcoat's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 2SS 1LE NPP GBE
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Bay Area, online, & in my 1LE
Posts: 2,009
My MyLink is very wonky. Doesn't register iPod app on iPhone via cable until a very long it's good and well ready (after synchronizing). Pandora doesn't always work. Even when the app is running MyLink will say that it's not. Sometimes the fan control speed indicator will freeze though the knob still works; seems like a UI hang/crash problem. I'm hoping there's a software update. I can't find one on the web.
CrystalRedTintcoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 02:21 AM   #12
CrystalRedTintcoat

 
CrystalRedTintcoat's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 2SS 1LE NPP GBE
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Bay Area, online, & in my 1LE
Posts: 2,009
I will say the MyLink bluetooth integration is pretty darn nice most of the time. I say most of the time b/c sometimes I have to monkey with the iPhone's AirPlan speaker setting to get the Camaro to play the audio through its speakers. Though the iPhone and MyLink are paired and connected (ie - I can scrub through audio) I can't hear anything until I force the iPhone to play the sound through its speakers then return the iPhone to play the sound through the MyLink speakers.
CrystalRedTintcoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 04:04 AM   #13
Tara Martin
Loves Camaros
 
Tara Martin's Avatar
 
Drives: Red 1979 Z28, VR 2013 1SS/RS/1LE
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Posts: 662
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrystalRedTintcoat View Post
My MyLink is very wonky. Doesn't register iPod app on iPhone via cable until a very long it's good and well ready (after synchronizing). Pandora doesn't always work. Even when the app is running MyLink will say that it's not. Sometimes the fan control speed indicator will freeze though the knob still works; seems like a UI hang/crash problem. I'm hoping there's a software update. I can't find one on the web.
CRT,

I get the same issues with my 1LE, and ours are about the same age I think. Manufactured 10/25. I need to get to the dealer to check for an update. I just wish I knew if there was an update and not waste a bunch of time waiting for the car just for them to tell me there isn't one...

Too bad they just can't check your VIN or radio ID and tell you before you commit to leaving your car in their care. Yeah, I don't trust them. I let em do a free oil change and they got oil all over the manifold/downpipe, and the car stank for a week...

Let me know if you hear of something, and I'll do the same for you!

Tara
__________________
Tara R. Martin

Proud 1LE Owner!

Tara Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 10:07 PM   #14
Psalm69
 
Drives: 2013 SS
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 2
I've got this same problem on a 2013 SS. It makes me so mad I'm one nights sleep away from taking the car right back. I got that message to go away one time, but that was it. I've reset the thing a dozen times, pulled the fuse, and pulled the battery. Pretty much every short of destroying the display and putting in my own radio delete. I'll see how I feel about things tomorrow.
Psalm69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 10:25 PM   #15
JimE


 
JimE's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 2SS/RS/1LE
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 2,267
USB/iPod support is a known issue and there is no fix. iPod support varies from model to model. There is a sticky somewhere which lists which ones work and which don't (or don't work properly).

The recognition issue (or lack of recognition) is typically the result of leaving the source set to USB when shutting off the car/radio. Simply change to a different source before shutting it off.

At least that is what works for me. I have the USB recognition issue with both my 2013 MyLink AND the Alpine in my DD. The same work around solves the problem in both cars.
__________________
Perm-a-grin in place.....
JimE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 01:55 PM   #16
Kastuder
 
Drives: 2013 2LT Camaro
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 26
I have 745 songs on my iPhone but MyLink shows 3086. It has from 1-6 copies of each song that is on my phone. Has anyone experienced this problem and if so, is there a way to fix it?
Kastuder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 04:39 PM   #17
Ambush
Rawr!
 
Ambush's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Camaro 2LT RS
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Parsippany, NJ
Posts: 130
One minor Mylink problem:

sometimes when I change the volume of the music on sirius xm, the channel changes instead.

Very strange...
__________________
:3
Kev
Ambush is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 07:31 PM   #18
JimE


 
JimE's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 2SS/RS/1LE
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 2,267
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kastuder View Post
I have 745 songs on my iPhone but MyLink shows 3086. It has from 1-6 copies of each song that is on my phone. Has anyone experienced this problem and if so, is there a way to fix it?
I don't recall the specifics, but I read somewhere of a similar issue with an iPod. The user renamed the iPod (iTunes allows you to name each device), MyLink saw it as a new device and then indexed with the correct number of songs.
__________________
Perm-a-grin in place.....
JimE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 07:32 PM   #19
JimE


 
JimE's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 2SS/RS/1LE
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 2,267
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ambush View Post
One minor Mylink problem:

sometimes when I change the volume of the music on sirius xm, the channel changes instead.

Very strange...
Using what (the volume knob or the steering wheel controls)?
__________________
Perm-a-grin in place.....
JimE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 10:17 PM   #20
Ambush
Rawr!
 
Ambush's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Camaro 2LT RS
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Parsippany, NJ
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimE View Post
Using what (the volume knob or the steering wheel controls)?

i use the volume knob :x
__________________
:3
Kev
Ambush is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 10:41 PM   #21
KSMYSS
 
KSMYSS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ambush View Post
One minor Mylink problem:

sometimes when I change the volume of the music on sirius xm, the channel changes instead.

Very strange...
Mine does the same thing.. except mainly when I'm changing songs playing on my phone. But I'm changing the song through the steering wheel controls.

Also, when I use the navigation and I'm playing music, the music will turn down automatically so I may hear the directions, but then its like I can't hear the lady talking.it's weird.
__________________


KSMYSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 09:22 AM   #22
Chevrolet Customer Svc


 
Chevrolet Customer Svc's Avatar
 
Drives: GM Vehicles
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 8,697
Hello everyone!

If you are experiencing issues with your Infotainment system, you may contact our Infotainment team at 855-478-7767. The hours of operation are 8:00am to 10:00pm EST, and they are open seven days a week. They would be happy to assist! If further assistance is needed and dealership appointments are needing to be made, please send us a private message with your full contact information, VIN, vehicle mileage, and name of preferred dealership. Thank you!

Jessica
Chevrolet Customer Care
Chevrolet Customer Svc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 09:35 AM   #23
SlowSS


 
SlowSS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro 2SS/RS 1LE
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Commerce, GA
Posts: 3,835
I have also had an issue here lately with mine not recognizing my phone. What is weird though is, it worked fine with my iPhone 4, but I just got the iPhone 5s and that is when are started having the issues.
__________________

Last edited by SlowSS; 10-11-2013 at 09:48 AM.
SlowSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 09:51 AM   #24
nyrfan
Let's go Rangers!
 
nyrfan's Avatar
 
Drives: 13' AGM 2SS/RS L99
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 9,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chevrolet Customer Svc View Post
Hello everyone!

If you are experiencing issues with your Infotainment system, you may contact our Infotainment team at 855-478-7767. The hours of operation are 8:00am to 10:00pm EST, and they are open seven days a week. They would be happy to assist! If further assistance is needed and dealership appointments are needing to be made, please send us a private message with your full contact information, VIN, vehicle mileage, and name of preferred dealership. Thank you!

Jessica
Chevrolet Customer Care
For what? They are completely useless! My issues have been documented for months and there is still no fix.

I’ve been a big supporter of the GM customer care reps on these boards, but I am sick of the robotic replies when it comes to mylink. Stop telling us to call when obviously nothing is being done to correct the issues!

You want to help us, try calling them and asking them why a fix is not yet released and when it will be and give us the details!
__________________
Soprano 4/1/00-6/14/11, Gone but NEVER forgotten!
FSP tuned: 377/389
nyrfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 10:06 AM   #25
The Stig
knows 2 facts about ducks
 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Drives: ...and they're both wrong
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The HMS Invincible
Posts: 26,690
I also noticed that you can't type in lowercase when saving an address, but if you look up a location through the POI's - it populates the name in lower case.

Not really an issue, just something I noticed - it's in the case category as my oil pressure being displayed in Bar units.
__________________
Click to view my build thread
The Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.