Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Rick@Livernois
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-01-2013, 01:16 AM   #1
BUMBLE-B-TUNA
 
BUMBLE-B-TUNA's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lake Cowichan BC, Canada/Buckeye AZ
Posts: 417
Audio Control LCQ-1

Any audio Guru's out there? I'm thinking of buying the Audio Control LCQ-1 to clean up my sound and give me some tuning capabilities. Am I going in the right direction with this unit? I have the BA system with aftermarket amps and speakers with subs. I'm using Subthumps FARK harness, if I install this unit would I then have to directly wire to the speakers? Any help is appreciated
__________________
JRE 470 RWHP Rough Idle Cam & Tune, Stainless Power LT Headers w/cats, Dynatech exhaust (no drone baby) CAI Intake, 4.10 Gears, JRE Posi Mod, JRE Billet Caps, LPW Diff Cover, Pfadt Diff Bushings, MGW Shifter, SJM Line-lock and bald tires.
BUMBLE-B-TUNA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 06:37 AM   #2
BigPopa71
 
BigPopa71's Avatar
 
Drives: Dark Knight
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 524
Before I got the scosche unit and aftermarket head unit I had one in my Camaro. Its a must have for anyone sticking with a stock Head Unit but changing the rest of the system out. It really cleans up the audio signal. My music sounded much better once I installed it. They retail for about $150.00 and I'm selling mine on in the Market place for $80 shipped. It was only used for a few months and is still like new.I just placed it there a few days ago in the audio section.
BigPopa71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 06:40 AM   #3
BigPopa71
 
BigPopa71's Avatar
 
Drives: Dark Knight
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 524
The speaker wires would go into the audio co trol unit
BigPopa71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 10:45 AM   #4
2010SSRSM6
SoCal C5 Family Member
 
2010SSRSM6's Avatar
 
Drives: My wife crazy with my C5 usage.
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,963
AudioControl makes a great product!
__________________
Powered by Cunningham MotorSports
2010SSRSM6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 11:49 AM   #5
crashprime
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1SS IOM M6
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 171
After all the reading I've done on line-out converters, I don't think you're going to find a better product for that price range. I was looking at the LCQ-1 and LC7i (both feature the AccuBass technology) long and hard and every review I could find was glowing. If you want to spend more, there's the JBL MS-8 ... but you're talking a 3-5x increase in price.

If I would have seen the LCQ-1 on the marketplace for $80 shipped I think I'd have gone that direction. For that price, it's a no brainer.
crashprime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 04:26 PM   #6
BUMBLE-B-TUNA
 
BUMBLE-B-TUNA's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lake Cowichan BC, Canada/Buckeye AZ
Posts: 417
Thanks for all the input guys, this is what I wanted to hear. Now to go shopping.
__________________
JRE 470 RWHP Rough Idle Cam & Tune, Stainless Power LT Headers w/cats, Dynatech exhaust (no drone baby) CAI Intake, 4.10 Gears, JRE Posi Mod, JRE Billet Caps, LPW Diff Cover, Pfadt Diff Bushings, MGW Shifter, SJM Line-lock and bald tires.
BUMBLE-B-TUNA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2013, 04:06 AM   #7
BUMBLE-B-TUNA
 
BUMBLE-B-TUNA's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lake Cowichan BC, Canada/Buckeye AZ
Posts: 417
Well now that I have installed it I have picked up alternator whine. If I turn the gain way down it goes away but I lose the volume that I want. Love the accubase feature, dunno what I did without it. Anyone have any advice on getting rid of the whine would be great. Already checked the grounding. It's wierd, it wasn't there before installing???
__________________
JRE 470 RWHP Rough Idle Cam & Tune, Stainless Power LT Headers w/cats, Dynatech exhaust (no drone baby) CAI Intake, 4.10 Gears, JRE Posi Mod, JRE Billet Caps, LPW Diff Cover, Pfadt Diff Bushings, MGW Shifter, SJM Line-lock and bald tires.
BUMBLE-B-TUNA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2013, 11:55 AM   #8
mbober99
 
mbober99's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro SS
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Elyria, Ohio
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by BUMBLE-B-TUNA View Post
Well now that I have installed it I have picked up alternator whine. If I turn the gain way down it goes away but I lose the volume that I want. Love the accubase feature, dunno what I did without it. Anyone have any advice on getting rid of the whine would be great. Already checked the grounding. It's wierd, it wasn't there before installing???
using the same grounding point as your amps? If not you should.
mbober99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2013, 03:13 PM   #9
BUMBLE-B-TUNA
 
BUMBLE-B-TUNA's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lake Cowichan BC, Canada/Buckeye AZ
Posts: 417
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbober99 View Post
using the same grounding point as your amps? If not you should.
Yes I am 😎
__________________
JRE 470 RWHP Rough Idle Cam & Tune, Stainless Power LT Headers w/cats, Dynatech exhaust (no drone baby) CAI Intake, 4.10 Gears, JRE Posi Mod, JRE Billet Caps, LPW Diff Cover, Pfadt Diff Bushings, MGW Shifter, SJM Line-lock and bald tires.
BUMBLE-B-TUNA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 08:35 AM   #10
BUMBLE-B-TUNA
 
BUMBLE-B-TUNA's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lake Cowichan BC, Canada/Buckeye AZ
Posts: 417
Come on.......anyone........anyone!!! Hard to beleive with all the audio freaks out there that no one has a remedy for this.
__________________
JRE 470 RWHP Rough Idle Cam & Tune, Stainless Power LT Headers w/cats, Dynatech exhaust (no drone baby) CAI Intake, 4.10 Gears, JRE Posi Mod, JRE Billet Caps, LPW Diff Cover, Pfadt Diff Bushings, MGW Shifter, SJM Line-lock and bald tires.
BUMBLE-B-TUNA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 10:45 AM   #11
mbober99
 
mbober99's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro SS
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Elyria, Ohio
Posts: 75
I have seen alot of people had same issue thru searching google but never seen a solution to the problem. Im guessing that maybe there is a certain procedure to setting the gains between the ones on the lcq-1 and the amps maybe. My advice would be to calltech service at audio control as they very possibly could know the answer.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk 2
mbober99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 10:47 AM   #12
mbober99
 
mbober99's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro SS
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Elyria, Ohio
Posts: 75
I also have a brand new white one for sale, i bought a 3sixty.3 dsp to use instead because i cant get anywhere with my install i keep making changes... Lol

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk 2
mbober99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 12:43 PM   #13
BUMBLE-B-TUNA
 
BUMBLE-B-TUNA's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lake Cowichan BC, Canada/Buckeye AZ
Posts: 417
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbober99 View Post
I have seen alot of people had same issue thru searching google but never seen a solution to the problem. Im guessing that maybe there is a certain procedure to setting the gains between the ones on the lcq-1 and the amps maybe. My advice would be to calltech service at audio control as they very possibly could know the answer.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk 2
Ya, I have yet to find a solution so far. I'll take your advice and give them a call, never even crossed my mind, duh. Thanks man
__________________
JRE 470 RWHP Rough Idle Cam & Tune, Stainless Power LT Headers w/cats, Dynatech exhaust (no drone baby) CAI Intake, 4.10 Gears, JRE Posi Mod, JRE Billet Caps, LPW Diff Cover, Pfadt Diff Bushings, MGW Shifter, SJM Line-lock and bald tires.
BUMBLE-B-TUNA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 12:54 PM   #14
mbober99
 
mbober99's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro SS
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Elyria, Ohio
Posts: 75
Hopefully they get ya goin

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk 2
mbober99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 05:16 PM   #15
suzook
 
Drives: camaro
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Stony Brook,NY
Posts: 571
These are known for noise...shame as they have many user adjustable controls available.
__________________
2013 2SS A6 Dusk Edition 1 of 307!
suzook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2013, 03:51 AM   #16
BUMBLE-B-TUNA
 
BUMBLE-B-TUNA's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lake Cowichan BC, Canada/Buckeye AZ
Posts: 417
Quote:
Originally Posted by suzook View Post
These are known for noise...shame as they have many user adjustable controls available.
Awe Crap 💩, and here I was trying to clean things up. It's a shame about the alternator whine, drives me nuts 😫😫😫
__________________
JRE 470 RWHP Rough Idle Cam & Tune, Stainless Power LT Headers w/cats, Dynatech exhaust (no drone baby) CAI Intake, 4.10 Gears, JRE Posi Mod, JRE Billet Caps, LPW Diff Cover, Pfadt Diff Bushings, MGW Shifter, SJM Line-lock and bald tires.
BUMBLE-B-TUNA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2013, 11:55 AM   #17
Old as Dirt
 
Old as Dirt's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Monroe, Washington
Posts: 88
Audio tach...
Old as Dirt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 02:25 PM   #18
2010SSRSM6
SoCal C5 Family Member
 
2010SSRSM6's Avatar
 
Drives: My wife crazy with my C5 usage.
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by BUMBLE-B-TUNA View Post
Awe Crap 💩, and here I was trying to clean things up. It's a shame about the alternator whine, drives me nuts 😫😫😫
What have you done to get rid of the whine? Changed ground location? I have an older unit and haven't had any issues with it. I'm using one of the original amp mounting locations for my ground and it works great. If that doesn't work you can always put in a high value resistor from radio shack and see if that helps. Worst case you're out a buck.
__________________
Powered by Cunningham MotorSports
2010SSRSM6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 09:49 AM   #19
BUMBLE-B-TUNA
 
BUMBLE-B-TUNA's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lake Cowichan BC, Canada/Buckeye AZ
Posts: 417
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2010SSRSM6 View Post
What have you done to get rid of the whine? Changed ground location? I have an older unit and haven't had any issues with it. I'm using one of the original amp mounting locations for my ground and it works great. If that doesn't work you can always put in a high value resistor from radio shack and see if that helps. Worst case you're out a buck.
I've tried changing the grounding settings on the unit, it has 3 and changed nothing. If I turn the gain way down it goes away but then I lose volume. I have e-mailed Audio Control tech services and they don't respond. As far as the grounding goes one member mentioned grounding everything in one spot which I have, the negative battery post.

What type of resistor do I need and where do I put it? I'm no pro but I'll try anything at this point.
__________________
JRE 470 RWHP Rough Idle Cam & Tune, Stainless Power LT Headers w/cats, Dynatech exhaust (no drone baby) CAI Intake, 4.10 Gears, JRE Posi Mod, JRE Billet Caps, LPW Diff Cover, Pfadt Diff Bushings, MGW Shifter, SJM Line-lock and bald tires.
BUMBLE-B-TUNA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 11:50 AM   #20
BUMBLE-B-TUNA
 
BUMBLE-B-TUNA's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lake Cowichan BC, Canada/Buckeye AZ
Posts: 417
OK, I talked to tech support at Audio Control and by the sounds of it I have the wrong unit. The LCQ-1 is for OEM interface but I have the Subthump Harness that basically does that, I think. This thing is for the output of the factory amp, something to do with the signal output being low. So I'm lowering the signal 2x thus the need for me to turn up the gains so high to get power output and revealing the alternator whine. He told me to ground the head unit in the same spot (negative battery post). Anyone know where the stock head unit is grounded?

Looks like I may be getting in over my head here I just wanted plug and play, wish me luck. Any advice would be great.
__________________
JRE 470 RWHP Rough Idle Cam & Tune, Stainless Power LT Headers w/cats, Dynatech exhaust (no drone baby) CAI Intake, 4.10 Gears, JRE Posi Mod, JRE Billet Caps, LPW Diff Cover, Pfadt Diff Bushings, MGW Shifter, SJM Line-lock and bald tires.
BUMBLE-B-TUNA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 07:31 AM   #21
2010SSRSM6
SoCal C5 Family Member
 
2010SSRSM6's Avatar
 
Drives: My wife crazy with my C5 usage.
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by BUMBLE-B-TUNA View Post
OK, I talked to tech support at Audio Control and by the sounds of it I have the wrong unit. The LCQ-1 is for OEM interface but I have the Subthump Harness that basically does that, I think. This thing is for the output of the factory amp, something to do with the signal output being low. So I'm lowering the signal 2x thus the need for me to turn up the gains so high to get power output and revealing the alternator whine. He told me to ground the head unit in the same spot (negative battery post). Anyone know where the stock head unit is grounded?

Looks like I may be getting in over my head here I just wanted plug and play, wish me luck. Any advice would be great.
Good luck. I haven't pulled the factory HU out yet.

I can't imagine not being able to get rid of the whine. Check on DIYMA.com (Do It Yourself Mobile Audio) and I'm sure you'll get a ton of advice from guys with waaaayyyyy more experience than on here.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Powered by Cunningham MotorSports
2010SSRSM6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 07:51 AM   #22
BUMBLE-B-TUNA
 
BUMBLE-B-TUNA's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lake Cowichan BC, Canada/Buckeye AZ
Posts: 417
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2010SSRSM6 View Post
Good luck. I haven't pulled the factory HU out yet.

I can't imagine not being able to get rid of the whine. Check on DIYMA.com (Do It Yourself Mobile Audio) and I'm sure you'll get a ton of advice from guys with waaaayyyyy more experience than on here.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thanks for the advice, I'll check them out. I think I may have a fix, just have to wait a couple weeks till I get home. If I relocate the HU ground I should be OK. I'm adding an Audiocontrol Matrix Plus to boost the signal. I should then be able to turn the gain down on my amps but still acheive better overall volume levels.....I hope.
__________________
JRE 470 RWHP Rough Idle Cam & Tune, Stainless Power LT Headers w/cats, Dynatech exhaust (no drone baby) CAI Intake, 4.10 Gears, JRE Posi Mod, JRE Billet Caps, LPW Diff Cover, Pfadt Diff Bushings, MGW Shifter, SJM Line-lock and bald tires.
BUMBLE-B-TUNA is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.