Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
BeckyD@RodgersChevrolet
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-17-2012, 01:16 PM   #1
Stalkker66
 
Stalkker66's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Imperial Blue Metallic
Join Date: May 2012
Location: derry nh
Posts: 82
Drive by wire conversion to Drive by cable?

Hey guys, Just curious if anyone has any input for changing the "drive by wire" to a "drive by cable" system? I perfer the better throttle response of cable. I assume a new TB and possibly pedal?
Does anyone make a full conversion kit?

Thanks guys
Jeff
Stalkker66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 01:26 PM   #2
fastball
White 'n Nerdy
 
Drives: 2009 Accord EX-L V6 coupe 6 speed
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 2,730
Not many things are impossible depending on how much money you have to spend, but this is. The engine management system/ECM is engineered for drive by wire from the start, there is no such thing as a "conversion" with any car with DBW.

If you were to remove the gas pedal on DBW systems, which has about 10 wires in a harness that plugs into a harness that goes to your ECM, and replace it with one that uses a cable, you will have check engine lights all over the place and an engine that may not even start. The gas pedal in your car now is actually an electronic potentiometer, like a volume knob on modern stereos. As you press your foot down, it takes the input voltage from the ECM and increases it. The difference in voltages is what the ECM uses to increase timing, fuel/air delivery, and everything else.

It's really completely computer controlled. You cannot operate your engine without the DBW gas pedal installed.
fastball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 01:27 PM   #3
robsls3
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 1SS
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Oaklawn, IL
Posts: 863
I think you would have to change more than the TB. Probably a few sensors and the ECM to accomodate the cable TB and not a DBW TB. Brackets and such plus a new hole drilled for the cable.
robsls3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 01:27 PM   #4
daveagogo1
TRI COUNTY TAMPA
 
daveagogo1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 1SS/RS VR/BLK A6
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Trinity, Florida
Posts: 6,278
Just get a ported TB and a good tune
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by HufferSS View Post
Fast cars have rubber on the quarter panels...you sissies need to knock it off.

daveagogo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 01:47 PM   #5
Kent2010
 
Drives: Camaro SS
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 188
How do you know that a cable has better response than the electronic?

The reason I ask is that this same question came up over in the C6 forum -- that there was a "lag" induced by the slow response of the electronic throttle system.

The easily-verifiable answer is that the electronic throttle is every bit as fast as any cable. Any "delays" are due NOT to the inability of the ETC to keep up with your foot, but are purposely in the engine's PCM programming. Attempting an old-school Bypassing of those delays without PCM reprogramming is just an (expensive) exercise in frustration.
Kent2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 03:07 PM   #6
shaffe


 
Drives: 2012 Focus
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Burr Ridge
Posts: 2,352
Not a fan of drive by wire, my way of knowing its slower than a cable system is not very scientific but proved my point to myself.

in my 04 Mustang GT I would cut on average .050-.090 lights. With a best of .009

07 mustang GT with drive by wire .250-350 with a best of around .150
shaffe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 03:36 PM   #7
Nessal


 
Drives: Exige, Miata, Ghia
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: CA, Bay Area
Posts: 2,310
Drive by cable always has better throttle response than drive by wire...however...measureable? That I think has yet to be seen.
Nessal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 06:54 PM   #8
Kent2010
 
Drives: Camaro SS
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 188
The method I used to prove to myself was to have the hood of my C6 open, stand in the open drivers door with 1 foot on the gas pedal. From that odd stance, I could see the throttle butterfly open/close as i pumped the gas pedal. (ignition on, but engine not running, of course)

To my eyes, even as fast as I could stomp the gas pedal, it sure LOOKED like the correlated response was as instantaneous as a cable. No perceptible lag between my foot hitting the floor and the throttle plate at wide open.
Kent2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 07:01 PM   #9
KMPrenger


 
KMPrenger's Avatar
 
Drives: 16 SS Camaro, 06 Colorado
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Jefferson City, Missouri
Posts: 12,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by daveagogo1 View Post
Just get a ported TB and a good tune
This.
__________________
2016 Camaro 1SS - 8-speed - NPP - Black bowties
2010 Camaro 1LT V6 (Sold. I will miss her!)
KMPrenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 07:05 PM   #10
Majic
Majic
 
Majic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 2SS/RS. Crystal Red.
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Crestview, Florida
Posts: 1,586
That butterfly lag is programmed in. I don't remember the exact numbers but I think it was .75 sec before it would go to wide open throttle. That is part of the torque management system on the engine side.
__________________

Rick
"MAJIC"
2014 2SS/RS.
Majic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 09:50 AM   #11
MikeSVX
The magic smoke genie....
 
MikeSVX's Avatar
 
Drives: Jewels (2010 RJT 1SS)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Escondido, CA
Posts: 2,294
My fathers Trailblazer SS had a bad throttle delay. A diablo programmer with a tune on it from SLP took care of the problem. He couldn't even tell it was Drive-by-wire after putting the tune in.
MikeSVX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 10:31 AM   #12
nak3dsnake


 
nak3dsnake's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro IBM 2LT/RS M6
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 2,282
Honestly, it would be cheaper to tune out the lag then remove drive by wire. A good tune will respond just as fast as a cable.
__________________
Looks: AAC P13W DRLs, Heritage Grille, RS Embroidered Headrests, GM Door Sill Plates, GM Premium Floor Mats, Body Color Engine Cover, LLT Mobile 1 Oil Cap, ZL1 Sport Pedals, 3M Clear Bra.
Performance: Vararam Ram Air Intake, Hurst Short Throw Shifter w/ Hurst Hard Drive Pistol Grip, IDEALG Clutch Master Cylinder, RX Catch can, GTO clutch fluid reservoir, Brembo Brakes, 1LE Track Pack, GMPP Exhaust Upgrade.
nak3dsnake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 11:04 AM   #13
strych9
Gone Euro!
 
strych9's Avatar
 
Drives: 6spd Manual Mercedes, Daytona 955i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 3,036
It can't be done without completely changing over the electronic engine control. The traction control, etc. is all tied in with thee ECM. In fact, all of the electronic modules on the car are networked together. You can't change anything in that structure without breaking the function of another system.

As for the Mustang guy that couldn't cut his usual light, you simply need to adjust your launch. No different than if you've changed a suspension, driveline, or engine component. Plenty of guys in those cars can cut a quick light. To blame it on the DBW isn't a good defense.
__________________
Bye bye, Bumblebee!
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
strych9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 11:14 AM   #14
Ringo64
Forever Pontiac
 
Drives: 2012 Black 2SS/RS
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 1,378
Anything with the right time and money is possible but the question is if it's worth it. IMO in this case no

Quote:
Originally Posted by nak3dsnake View Post
Honestly, it would be cheaper to tune out the lag then remove drive by wire. A good tune will respond just as fast as a cable.
THIS.

IMO if it's that big of a deal try the tune, it will be mucho cheaper.
__________________
Ringo64 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.