Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Vararam
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V6 LLT Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-04-2013, 08:14 AM   #18
SC2150
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro RS, RX supercharged
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 6,070
I am willing to bet if a service center did the repair they have the timing off a tooth or two. Will still run decent, but power will be flat.
SC2150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 12:53 PM   #19
yotaman96


 
yotaman96's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS, 2000 Trans Am WS6
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Portland, TN
Posts: 2,699
There is no way a Purolator oil filter would have caused the damage. Hope you get the power issue figured out.
__________________
2010 IOM Camaro 2SS/RS manual trans
(formerly Whipplecharged, then twin turbo, now just a single On3 Turbo)
Magnacharged 2000 Trans Am WS6 manual trans
2010 Dodge Ram Crew Cab Sport 4x4
yotaman96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 03:52 PM   #20
SC2150
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro RS, RX supercharged
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 6,070
Agreed. Purolators are great. They just want to place blame elsewhere.
SC2150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 01:12 AM   #21
Ocx
 
Ocx's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Lake St. Louis, MO
Posts: 174
Pulling fuses #5 and #20 to see if this will help. GM has been notified of the issue, they've contacted the dealership. I was out of town on business this entire week, dialing into it now.
Ocx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 10:13 AM   #22
911medic

 
911medic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 SIM 2LT/1970 Camaro
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Near Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,575
Fuse pull on a V6?
__________________
All bleeding stops eventually -- 2012 2LT Auto w/sunroof -- My journal thread
Roto-Fab Intake & W/W Relocate Kit -- ADM Race Scoop -- Dynomax VT Axle-Back Exhaust -- Vitesse Throttle Controller
RX Catch Can -- Drake Bowtie Delete -- JacFab Radio Face Cover -- LED Fog Lights -- LED Dome/Trunk/Plate Lights -- Gen5DIY Dash ABL -- Diode Dynamics Cupholder Lighting
Wishlist: ACS T5 Splitter -- Hood Vent Mod -- Footwell/Door Pull/Homelink Button Lighting
911medic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 10:55 AM   #23
SC2150
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro RS, RX supercharged
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 6,070
Not on the LLT V6.....but I stand by my guess on the timing. We do these non stop here and it is easy to be a tooth or so off and have low power when it sounds fine.

The problem with a "comeback" though is the tech will have been payed flatrate on the job and now has to tear down and fix w/out being paid. He wont want to do that.
SC2150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 11:46 AM   #24
911medic

 
911medic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 SIM 2LT/1970 Camaro
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Near Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,575
Quote:
Originally Posted by 911medic View Post
Fuse pull on a V6?
Quote:
Originally Posted by SC2150 View Post
Not on the LLT V6.
Does it work on the LFX? I thought it was a V8-only trick.
__________________
All bleeding stops eventually -- 2012 2LT Auto w/sunroof -- My journal thread
Roto-Fab Intake & W/W Relocate Kit -- ADM Race Scoop -- Dynomax VT Axle-Back Exhaust -- Vitesse Throttle Controller
RX Catch Can -- Drake Bowtie Delete -- JacFab Radio Face Cover -- LED Fog Lights -- LED Dome/Trunk/Plate Lights -- Gen5DIY Dash ABL -- Diode Dynamics Cupholder Lighting
Wishlist: ACS T5 Splitter -- Hood Vent Mod -- Footwell/Door Pull/Homelink Button Lighting
911medic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 02:35 PM   #25
SC2150
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro RS, RX supercharged
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 6,070
LFX you can disconnect the negative cable (I'm not sure which fuses to pull) and rest octain tables as they have a GM PCM where the LLT has a bosch.
SC2150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 04:54 PM   #26
911medic

 
911medic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 SIM 2LT/1970 Camaro
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Near Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,575
Quote:
Originally Posted by SC2150 View Post
LFX you can disconnect the negative cable (I'm not sure which fuses to pull) and rest octain tables as they have a GM PCM where the LLT has a bosch.
I did not know that. Thanks.
__________________
All bleeding stops eventually -- 2012 2LT Auto w/sunroof -- My journal thread
Roto-Fab Intake & W/W Relocate Kit -- ADM Race Scoop -- Dynomax VT Axle-Back Exhaust -- Vitesse Throttle Controller
RX Catch Can -- Drake Bowtie Delete -- JacFab Radio Face Cover -- LED Fog Lights -- LED Dome/Trunk/Plate Lights -- Gen5DIY Dash ABL -- Diode Dynamics Cupholder Lighting
Wishlist: ACS T5 Splitter -- Hood Vent Mod -- Footwell/Door Pull/Homelink Button Lighting
911medic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 11:08 AM   #27
Ocx
 
Ocx's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Lake St. Louis, MO
Posts: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by SC2150 View Post
Not on the LLT V6.....but I stand by my guess on the timing. We do these non stop here and it is easy to be a tooth or so off and have low power when it sounds fine.

The problem with a "comeback" though is the tech will have been payed flatrate on the job and now has to tear down and fix w/out being paid. He wont want to do that.
I tried the fuse pull, didn't help as already stated...worth the try at this point.

Issues noticed:
-Idle RPM seems to hover around 600-700 RPM's.

-RPM's at 50-60mph are around 1200 rpm's where before they were around 1800-2000. I have to give the car more gas on the pedal to maintain a constant cruising speed. Hard to describe but it seems like I have to give it more gas to maintain the same cruising speed. When I give it a little more gas to maintain speed on a hill for example, it not downshifts instead of before it would stay in the same gear. It kind of bogs down before it shifts. The gas pedal is not the same "shifting point".

-Won't break loose from completely stopped. It's like it lost all 1st gear acceleration.

-1st gear ratios are decreased significantly. Before if I was in 1st gear and didn't shift I would get to maybe 15mph. Now I can use 1st all the way up 30mph before shifting.

Sounds like you could be spot on?
Ocx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 11:17 AM   #28
2010SLVRBULIT


 
2010SLVRBULIT's Avatar
 
Drives: G5(LLT) & C6(LS3)
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: MARS
Posts: 7,404
if the rubber seal on the filter was the culprit, wouldn't you have noticed a pool of oil?
2010SLVRBULIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 11:19 AM   #29
DJ ATOMIX
<< CRAZY BEE >>
 
DJ ATOMIX's Avatar
 
Drives: 400HP 2LT/RS
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Alberta
Posts: 1,151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ocx View Post
I tried the fuse pull, didn't help as already stated...worth the try at this point.

Issues noticed:
-Idle RPM seems to hover around 600-700 RPM's.

-RPM's at 50-60mph are around 1200 rpm's where before they were around 1800-2000. I have to give the car more gas on the pedal to maintain a constant cruising speed. Hard to describe but it seems like I have to give it more gas to maintain the same cruising speed. When I give it a little more gas to maintain speed on a hill for example, it not downshifts instead of before it would stay in the same gear. It kind of bogs down before it shifts. The gas pedal is not the same "shifting point".

-Won't break loose from completely stopped. It's like it lost all 1st gear acceleration.

-1st gear ratios are decreased significantly. Before if I was in 1st gear and didn't shift I would get to maybe 15mph. Now I can use 1st all the way up 30mph before shifting.

Sounds like you could be spot on?
1200rpm at 60mph? Rpms should be at around 1800rpm at 60mph. Sounds like you have a ecm tune issue reporting inaccurate rpm levels or a transmission issue at this point.

I would be taking this back to the dealership asap. For reference, a Dodge Charger 8 speed tranny gets about 1400rpm with 8 gears so 1200rpm is for sure wrong in any aspect with current six speeds.
__________________

CRAZY BEE - IOM 2LT/RS (more)
Cosmetic Mods - 24 | Performance Mods - 14
ROTO-FAB CAI - DT HEADERS - CUSTOM 3-INCH PIPE EXHAUST - RES DEL - R-CATS DEL - MAGNAFLOW RES X-PIPE - 91 OCTANE TUNE - FULL ADM KIT - PORTED IM - PORTED TB - PORTED CH - BLACK 3/8 ISOLATOR - TRIFECTA TUNED
DJ ATOMIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 11:41 AM   #30
htoniv
 
Drives: Camaro
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ ATOMIX View Post
1200rpm at 60mph? Rpms should be at around 1800rpm at 60mph. Sounds like you have a ecm tune issue reporting inaccurate rpm levels or a transmission issue at this point.

I would be taking this back to the dealership asap. For reference, a Dodge Charger 8 speed tranny gets about 1400rpm with 8 gears so 1200rpm is for sure wrong in any aspect with current six speeds.

hmm? i think mine is around 1200-1300rpm at 60 and seems fine. my 2000rpm is 75-76mph
htoniv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 02:55 PM   #31
KMPrenger


 
KMPrenger's Avatar
 
Drives: 16 SS Camaro, 06 Colorado
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Jefferson City, Missouri
Posts: 11,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ocx View Post
I tried the fuse pull, didn't help as already stated...worth the try at this point.

Issues noticed:
-Idle RPM seems to hover around 600-700 RPM's.

-RPM's at 50-60mph are around 1200 rpm's where before they were around 1800-2000. I have to give the car more gas on the pedal to maintain a constant cruising speed. Hard to describe but it seems like I have to give it more gas to maintain the same cruising speed. When I give it a little more gas to maintain speed on a hill for example, it not downshifts instead of before it would stay in the same gear. It kind of bogs down before it shifts. The gas pedal is not the same "shifting point".

-Won't break loose from completely stopped. It's like it lost all 1st gear acceleration.

-1st gear ratios are decreased significantly. Before if I was in 1st gear and didn't shift I would get to maybe 15mph. Now I can use 1st all the way up 30mph before shifting.

Sounds like you could be spot on?
Are you manual or auto? In an auto, at 70mph cruising in 6th, the rpms should be just a hair under 2,000 rpm. at 50mph, not sure, but if it is really only 1,200 or 1,300 at 60, you have an issue.

Please explain your issue with first gear. In an auto equipped car, under light to medium throttle, the car will shift to 2nd somewhere around 10 - 12 mph. If you floor it, it should hold 1st until somewhere into the 30+mph range. This is normal. If you are saying it never shifts until you are 30+mph...again you have a problem!

If the car is a manual, and you are saying even under full throttle (before the work was done) you couldn't get past 15 mph, well than that WAS a problem.

So which is it?

If what I said in the first two paragraphs describes your car as it is now....please take it back to the dealer and demand they fix it. It is not right!
__________________
2016 Camaro 1SS - 8-speed - NPP - Black bowties
2010 Camaro 1LT V6 (Sold. I will miss her!)
KMPrenger is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 04:04 PM   #32
Vgav1221
 
Vgav1221's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2LT/RS/M6 Black w/ Orange Guts
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by KMPrenger View Post
Are you manual or auto? In an auto, at 70mph cruising in 6th, the rpms should be just a hair under 2,000 rpm. at 50mph, not sure, but if it is really only 1,200 or 1,300 at 60, you have an issue.

Please explain your issue with first gear. In an auto equipped car, under light to medium throttle, the car will shift to 2nd somewhere around 10 - 12 mph. If you floor it, it should hold 1st until somewhere into the 30+mph range. This is normal. If you are saying it never shifts until you are 30+mph...again you have a problem!

If the car is a manual, and you are saying even under full throttle (before the work was done) you couldn't get past 15 mph, well than that WAS a problem.

So which is it?

If what I said in the first two paragraphs describes your car as it is now....please take it back to the dealer and demand they fix it. It is not right!
i can go 40 in my M6 2lt before having to shift into 2nd gear, but thats redlining it hard haha
Vgav1221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 06:38 PM   #33
KMPrenger


 
KMPrenger's Avatar
 
Drives: 16 SS Camaro, 06 Colorado
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Jefferson City, Missouri
Posts: 11,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vgav1221 View Post
i can go 40 in my M6 2lt before having to shift into 2nd gear, but thats redlining it hard haha
Yeah I just wasn't sure of the exact high speed in first, so I just said 30+ . But you right, 40ish or so should be doable.
__________________
2016 Camaro 1SS - 8-speed - NPP - Black bowties
2010 Camaro 1LT V6 (Sold. I will miss her!)
KMPrenger is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 08:42 PM   #34
DarkneSS
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS 6MT
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Westchester, New York
Posts: 3,715
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vgav1221 View Post
i can go 40 in my M6 2lt before having to shift into 2nd gear, but thats redlining it hard haha
Whattttt I'm pretty sure 1st ends at 37 MPH at 7k RPms, redline. I start my shift at 35 MPH in 1st, 65 in 2nd, then ride out third as it ends around 110ish.
DarkneSS is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.