Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
HeadlightArmor
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions

5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions General 5th generation Camaro topics not covered by other subforums.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-22-2013, 12:26 PM   #1
Regio_42
Ready...Set...Gone.....
 
Regio_42's Avatar
 
Drives: 10' Camaro SS/RS "Stacy"
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Houston,TX
Posts: 203
Angry My car wont open with the remote control!!!!

Okay so this is the weirdest day ever. So i get out my door and open the garage to get my camaro out and the remote control does not work so i, said maybe my battery is dead let me get my other control and get to work. Well that control doesn't work either. I start to think that's not normal so since i took a long time looking for my spare key i get my Avalanche keys and wont you know it the control would not unlock the doors also. I changed the batteries on all three and nothing. I called work and asked if i could go in late due to my problem.

I open the truck with the key and head over to autozone for a battery after i found the fuse for the horn. And installed new batteries to remotes and still nothing. I found how to reprogram the control on the avalanche and the thing would not work. I went to a chevy dealer to get new remote for the avalanche since i only have one.

Well once i arrive at the parts department i lock the truck with the remote, forgetting it does not work and it locks . I asked the guy for a new remote just in case something i have a spare and asked him if he had the instructions to reprogram my camaro keys and said he didn't have them.

So does anyone know how to program the camaro remote control or if its the same as my truck. I have not tried it on the car since i'm at work now. Also what could have happen that all the controls stop working at the same time?
__________________
Regio_42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 12:35 PM   #2
NOT URSS
 
NOT URSS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS Camaro
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: St. Cloud, FL
Posts: 403
Send a message via AIM to NOT URSS
Have to learn the transmitter with a scan tool (GDS) is best way! you can try this without.. you can try this



To initiate, this procedure requires that 1 learned key be available.
  • A total of eight keys maybe be learned to a single vehicle.
  • This procedure adds keys only. The procedure does not erase previously learned keys.
  • The keys to be learned must duplicate the mechanical cut of the current key.
  1. With a previously learned key, turn the ignition ON.
  2. Turn the ignition OFF and remove the key.
  3. Within 10 seconds of turning OFF the ignition, insert the key to be learned and turn ON the ignition. The vehicle has now learned the new key and key.
__________________
632RWHP/556RWTQ
NOT URSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 12:41 PM   #3
The Stig
knows 2 facts about ducks
 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Drives: ...and they're both wrong
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The HMS Invincible
Posts: 26,675
to program the camaro key:

1) put in working key, turn to "ON" position
2) remove key
3) put key you want to program into ignition
4) turn to "ON" position
5) should get a message on your DIC saying key was successfully programmed.
__________________
Click to view my build thread
The Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 12:45 PM   #4
Regio_42
Ready...Set...Gone.....
 
Regio_42's Avatar
 
Drives: 10' Camaro SS/RS "Stacy"
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Houston,TX
Posts: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by NOT URSS View Post
Have to learn the transmitter with a scan tool (GDS) is best way! you can try this without.. you can try this



To initiate, this procedure requires that 1 learned key be available.
  • A total of eight keys maybe be learned to a single vehicle.
  • This procedure adds keys only. The procedure does not erase previously learned keys.
  • The keys to be learned must duplicate the mechanical cut of the current key.
  1. With a previously learned key, turn the ignition ON.
  2. Turn the ignition OFF and remove the key.
  3. Within 10 seconds of turning OFF the ignition, insert the key to be learned and turn ON the ignition. The vehicle has now learned the new key and key.
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Stig View Post
to program the camaro key:

1) put in working key, turn to "ON" position
2) remove key
3) put key you want to program into ignition
4) turn to "ON" position
5) should get a message on your DIC saying key was successfully programmed.
Thanks i will try it later today and see if that works, and thanks for the fast replys
__________________
Regio_42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 04:17 PM   #5
Chevrolet Customer Svc


 
Chevrolet Customer Svc's Avatar
 
Drives: GM Vehicles
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 8,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by Regio_42 View Post
Okay so this is the weirdest day ever. So i get out my door and open the garage to get my camaro out and the remote control does not work so i, said maybe my battery is dead let me get my other control and get to work. Well that control doesn't work either. I start to think that's not normal so since i took a long time looking for my spare key i get my Avalanche keys and wont you know it the control would not unlock the doors also. I changed the batteries on all three and nothing. I called work and asked if i could go in late due to my problem.

I open the truck with the key and head over to autozone for a battery after i found the fuse for the horn. And installed new batteries to remotes and still nothing. I found how to reprogram the control on the avalanche and the thing would not work. I went to a chevy dealer to get new remote for the avalanche since i only have one.

Well once i arrive at the parts department i lock the truck with the remote, forgetting it does not work and it locks . I asked the guy for a new remote just in case something i have a spare and asked him if he had the instructions to reprogram my camaro keys and said he didn't have them.

So does anyone know how to program the camaro remote control or if its the same as my truck. I have not tried it on the car since i'm at work now. Also what could have happen that all the controls stop working at the same time?
Hello Regio_42,

This is a very strange situation you have encountered here. Please keep me updated on if this issue continues. In the meantime, could you also private message me your VIN and current mileage so that I may investigate further?

Reggie B.
Chevrolet Customer Care
Chevrolet Customer Svc is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.