Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
TireRack
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V6 LLT Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons

Camaro V6 LLT Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-04-2010, 10:18 AM   #1
mydreamcar
My Dream Car
 
mydreamcar's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 SIM LS3 1SS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: staten island
Posts: 1,342
Code p2099 bank 2 rich (2 codes)

I am running the Solo HFC, for roughly 3 weeks. Ck eng light came on today. Any one else with the solo HFC getting a cell. I am thinking either the O2 sensors are bad or I need a tune.

Question one can both O2 sensors go bad at the same time

Question two assuming its just result of the HFC will the trifecta tune get rid of it. I assume yes.

Thanks
__________________
CAI intake/ADM Scoop/Stainless Power Headers/Doug Thorley Catback Exhaust/Vitesse Throttle Control/ Ported Throttle Body/QTP Electric Cutouts/ Tuned by ECS. 428hp/426tq
mydreamcar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 10:54 AM   #2
dagolfguy
 
dagolfguy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2LT RS
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Saratoga County, New York
Posts: 172
Hi,
I've got the SOLO HFC, called the rescats. I've had them on the car since the end of July. I've got no codes, and no CEL. I had them installed by the folks at SOLO out in Buffalo.
I've also got the Trifecta tune. Not sure if the tune is keeping the codes away or not, but I do know that I'm not getting any.
Thanks,
-Dave
dagolfguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 11:26 AM   #3
PoorMansCamaro



 
PoorMansCamaro's Avatar
 
Drives: Really Slow
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 54,559
You should talk with SOLO. They have extenders that are suppose to work with their setup. Other then that, yes a tune will work.
__________________
PoorMansCamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 11:40 AM   #4
mydreamcar
My Dream Car
 
mydreamcar's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 SIM LS3 1SS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: staten island
Posts: 1,342
Have the extenders in and was running close to a month (1000 miles) with no problems. Want to make sure before I purchase from Trifecta that it is indeed a tuning issue and not that both O2 sensors went bad on me. Can't really see that happening but who knows
__________________
CAI intake/ADM Scoop/Stainless Power Headers/Doug Thorley Catback Exhaust/Vitesse Throttle Control/ Ported Throttle Body/QTP Electric Cutouts/ Tuned by ECS. 428hp/426tq
mydreamcar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 11:49 AM   #5
PoorMansCamaro



 
PoorMansCamaro's Avatar
 
Drives: Really Slow
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 54,559
Pretty sure the tune will fix it. Me, along with a lot of others are getting the same code with high flow cats and/or long tubes.
__________________
PoorMansCamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 11:51 AM   #6
PoorMansCamaro



 
PoorMansCamaro's Avatar
 
Drives: Really Slow
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 54,559
You should be getting a 2097 code as well, right? One is forthe left bank the other is for right.
__________________
PoorMansCamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 01:03 PM   #7
mrray13


 
mrray13's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 1LT RS Rally Yellow
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: southern Illinois
Posts: 3,059
Also, make sure that the clamp(s)/weld(s) before the rear most o2 sensor(s) is tight. If you have a leak in front of that sensor, it can cause that code as well.
__________________
PacMan
mrray13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 03:48 PM   #8
mydreamcar
My Dream Car
 
mydreamcar's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 SIM LS3 1SS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: staten island
Posts: 1,342
no only code P2099, will check those clamps out when I get the car back from the body shop adding a spoiler and painting the stripes on it. Thanks guys
__________________
CAI intake/ADM Scoop/Stainless Power Headers/Doug Thorley Catback Exhaust/Vitesse Throttle Control/ Ported Throttle Body/QTP Electric Cutouts/ Tuned by ECS. 428hp/426tq
mydreamcar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 05:00 PM   #9
BaylorCamaro
Track > 1/4 Mile
 
BaylorCamaro's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kemah, TX
Posts: 5,268
Like everyone said, check the clamps and make sure everything is secure. I got this codes when I put my headers and cats on, however for me I just need an updated tune.
BaylorCamaro is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 08:48 PM   #10
mydreamcar
My Dream Car
 
mydreamcar's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 SIM LS3 1SS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: staten island
Posts: 1,342
Thanks for the help guys. We check all clamps, o2 sensors, and all connections no leaks, my freind who has been helping me , has been in the racing business for 30 years has one of the OBD scanners that scans like everything and fixes the codes. He cleared it . Will See what happens. As all readings look good according to him . Only thing he could think of is that I have been using super for the past few months and maybe the code got triggered with the HFC. Is that possible? I am not running a tune for super, he said its a waste of money unless the car mfg calls for it or you have a tune to take dvantage of it.
__________________
CAI intake/ADM Scoop/Stainless Power Headers/Doug Thorley Catback Exhaust/Vitesse Throttle Control/ Ported Throttle Body/QTP Electric Cutouts/ Tuned by ECS. 428hp/426tq
mydreamcar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 09:14 PM   #11
scrming
Red Brick of Vengeance!
 
scrming's Avatar
 
Drives: 12 Second Brick
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: at my pulpit
Posts: 7,744
Quote:
Originally Posted by mydreamcar View Post
Thanks for the help guys. We check all clamps, o2 sensors, and all connections no leaks, my freind who has been helping me , has been in the racing business for 30 years has one of the OBD scanners that scans like everything and fixes the codes. He cleared it . Will See what happens. As all readings look good according to him . Only thing he could think of is that I have been using super for the past few months and maybe the code got triggered with the HFC. Is that possible? I am not running a tune for super, he said its a waste of money unless the car mfg calls for it or you have a tune to take dvantage of it.
That's the old way of thinking as far as running premium... Basically the car appears to be over-sparked and then relies on the knock sensors... one of the guys here did some dyno testing and show some HP gains just buy running premium vs 87...
scrming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 09:16 PM   #12
dagolfguy
 
dagolfguy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2LT RS
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Saratoga County, New York
Posts: 172
Regarding higher octane fuel, and please this is not a thread-jack!
At the risk of setting off another debate on this and with the acknowledgment that there are quite a few previous discussions on this topic, here's my opinion on using higher octane fuel in the LLT:
Me, and others who routinely monitor their engine telemetry using in-car computers such as the Dash Hawk, or Dashdaq, can confirm that the car does make more power with fuel that resists pre-ignition. This car's computer seems to simply advance the timing until the car starts knocking (knock sensors, not audible), and then retards the timing. If your choice of fuel allows the timing to remain advanced because the knock sensors are quiet, the car is making more power.
Speaking for me, this is the case. I also got a 2 mpg bump when I switched to premium.
That's my experience for what it's worth.
Thanks,
Dave
dagolfguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 08:35 PM   #13
mydreamcar
My Dream Car
 
mydreamcar's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 SIM LS3 1SS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: staten island
Posts: 1,342
I hear what your saying, can't say I am getting more mpg. as being in the city, stop and go, traffic , lots of traffic its tough to get a good read on mpg. However my freind made a good point if the HFC had any leaks then wouldn't I lean out instead of being rich as the code implied. O2 sensors were good. All connections were good. Not saying its the end all answer but maybe. Will switch to 87 for now and see if the problem comes back Only way to really find out . car ran for almost a month with no cell and about 1000 miles. But thanks for the imput
__________________
CAI intake/ADM Scoop/Stainless Power Headers/Doug Thorley Catback Exhaust/Vitesse Throttle Control/ Ported Throttle Body/QTP Electric Cutouts/ Tuned by ECS. 428hp/426tq
mydreamcar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 05:16 PM   #14
gahammerle

 
gahammerle's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro LS M6 Inferno Orange
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lebanon, OH
Posts: 1,606
I got the P2099 on my way home from work today. Have had the SOLO res-cats & cat back for about 6,000 miles without coding.

I'm supposed to be heading to Michigan tomorrow which is about 300 miles one-way.

Is it OK to drive with this condition or am I risking trouble?
__________________
Gordy

Injen CAI / Solo Mach-X LLT / Solo High-flow res-cats / Barton short shifter / RX Catch Can / RPI Gills / 35% tint / LED Footwell Lighting Front & Rear / Pedders Street 1 / Pedders steering rack bushing / SS struts / Pfadt drop springs / VMax Ported Throttle Body / Spohn Toe Rods / Spohn Trailing Arms / Trifecta Tune / MACE 25mm Intake Spacers



Find me on Facebook:
http://www.facebook.com/gahammerle
gahammerle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 05:40 AM   #15
devildoc

 
devildoc's Avatar
 
Drives: '12 Toyota Tacoma Dbl
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Beaufort, SC
Posts: 1,278
I wouldn't say you are risking it.....seems to be one of the more common codes with HFC
__________________
STANDING 1/4MI: 13.948@99.87
6600RPM HP/TQ Gains - 30.54HP/24.3TQ (NOT PEAK)
devildoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 10:48 AM   #16
PoorMansCamaro



 
PoorMansCamaro's Avatar
 
Drives: Really Slow
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 54,559
I've been driving with that code for 8k miles are so
__________________
PoorMansCamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 08:32 PM   #17
efpardo
Deep6
 
efpardo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro# 8212 | 2LT | RS | CGM
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 1,082
Send a message via Skype™ to efpardo
Anybody still getting these codes after maybe a long winter slumber?
I'm getting a p2099. Shop can't find any leaks and cleared it. Over the weekend it came back. Could this be a fuel problem? Carbon on the valves?
__________________

#8212 | 2LT | RS | CGM | Litho #165 |

My Journal: Erick’s Mistress
efpardo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 09:15 PM   #18
scrming
Red Brick of Vengeance!
 
scrming's Avatar
 
Drives: 12 Second Brick
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: at my pulpit
Posts: 7,744
Quote:
Originally Posted by efpardo View Post
Anybody still getting these codes after maybe a long winter slumber?
I'm getting a p2099. Shop can't find any leaks and cleared it. Over the weekend it came back. Could this be a fuel problem? Carbon on the valves?
Possibly:

Bad O2 sensor
The high flow cats
maybe bad gas.
scrming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 03:03 PM   #19
efpardo
Deep6
 
efpardo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro# 8212 | 2LT | RS | CGM
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 1,082
Send a message via Skype™ to efpardo
Thinking it's the cats. I hate seeing that engine light, but at least it goes away at 35mph. Hidden, by the speedometer needle.
__________________

#8212 | 2LT | RS | CGM | Litho #165 |

My Journal: Erick’s Mistress
efpardo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 07:03 PM   #20
Chevrolet Customer Svc


 
Chevrolet Customer Svc's Avatar
 
Drives: GM Vehicles
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 8,813
Quote:
Originally Posted by efpardo View Post
Anybody still getting these codes after maybe a long winter slumber?
I'm getting a p2099. Shop can't find any leaks and cleared it. Over the weekend it came back. Could this be a fuel problem? Carbon on the valves?

efpardo,

Any updates on the p codes? Did you have this concern inspected? We would appreciate any updates you have on this situation when you get a chance.

William R.
Chevrolet Customer Care
Chevrolet Customer Svc is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.